Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6868 guests have reviewed this hostel)
It was pleasant and in a good location - friendly staff and had all the amenities. Not as sociable as most traveler hostels I've been to. This is where it fell down for me. I was also excited about the activities promised (quiz and ping pong tournament) - which didn't take place in the end. The ping pong table did come out at one stage but I was in such a state of disrepair as to be almost unplayable.
78%
Mr Henry S 15/12/2017
Had a great stay. This hostel is close to everything. Great staff.
100%
Jeanette G 12/12/2017
Great hostel. Bit pricey but great location and met some really cool folks up on the roof top.
98%
Matt H 12/12/2017
The hostel staff were so friendly, the place was clean and the location is perfect for exploring the city!
100%
Chloe F 12/12/2017
Good location. Convenient. Value for money and clean
100%
Lee L 11/12/2017
Fantastic location in the CBD with a tram stop at the door. You can get to the majority of tourist sites for free within the CBD. There is a lot to see and experience even if you only have a couple of days. This time I managed to get to the Fitzroy Gardens and Cooks Cottage as well as a day tour organised through the hostel to the Great Ocean Road. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment although there were no glasses or cups the night I needed one.
92%
Helene J 09/12/2017
The hostel is great, the staff are super friendly and always willing to go the extra mile.
95%
Natasha A 07/12/2017
Good location, however both mine and my friends key cards kept on playing up
90%
Shannon C 07/12/2017
Conditions are spartan but position and low cost more than makes up for any inconveniences especially for a single traveller
92%
Roman C 06/12/2017
I live only an hour out of Melbourne in a suburb on a metro train line. But when I have a concert or event on in the city, I always book a nights stay at Melbourne central yha. I get value for money, a clean bed and bathroom facilities. Plus the location is terrific for getting out and about, right out front of a tram stop, and a short walk to southern cross station.
100%
Melissa E 06/12/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
customer rating, based on 6868 reviews
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
85%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
82%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL