Search YHA

Melbourne Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4472 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    One of the best YHA we have stayed at! We had the rooftop room! Amazing!
    Marie-Josee G November 2015
    I enjoyed staying in the Melbourne Central as it was very close to the City.Also very handy having the free tram stop out side the door.
    Roy J November 2015
    great place to chill, the location was handy and within 20 seconds of the hostel was a tram stop. staff where friendly and the overall atmosphere was engaging, great value for money.
    anthony r November 2015
    I stayed with another hostel nearby the previous night and the contrast was remarkable. The YHA was cleaner, the room much more appealing, the security card access was great; preventing anyone from freely roaming around. Unlike its competitor, there were no loud drunks yelling out after midnight in the halls. The staff at YHA went out of their way to be helpful with advice on meals and security for my bags. It is only 500m from Southern Cross station plus the double room I booked was well priced. I would definately stay there again.
    Andrew P M November 2015
    very good experience.
    Mohammed H November 2015
    Around corner from Southern Cross Rail Station where one catches the Sky bus direct to the airport. Trams outside to connect with other lines to get places.
    Raymond P November 2015
    Great location with lots of cafes n eateries nearby. Tram station is right in front of hostel, n abt 5-10 min walk to southern cross station Room comes with towel n Heater n fan which is a bonus :) Complimentary filtered water available - another bonus :)
    Han S November 2015
    perfect! accomplished every aspects a traveller is looking for. cleanliness was great! location couldn't be better! hostel also offers breakfast: cheap prices but tastes good!
    Julia L November 2015
    Convenient to access for everthing
    Toshiyuki T November 2015
    Great location with abundant excellent cheap or fine dining. Tram noise is unavoidable so you need ear plugs. The kitchen is clean and neat. The room was warm, comfortable with an excellent ensuite. There is a heater and a fan for cold or hot days respectively. This is the place We will be staying at for the medical meetings we need to attend. Inexpensive, half the price of apartments or hotels within cooee.
    Bruce Howard B November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4472 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money