Search YHA

Melbourne Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4238 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Only stayed one night for a better connection to the Airport and it was perfect. But it would also have been a great base to explore Melbourne, everything is really close or good to reach. Room was quite dark because it faced a yard but I suppose facing the main road would have been quite loud. Would stay there again anyway!
    92%
    Nicole O September 2015
    The staff is nice. But the room is not quite small.
    65%
    Tong H August 2015
    very good,quiet,cheap,good kitchen,good staff.Absolutely five stars quality!!
    100%
    Chunying Z August 2015
    All wonderful except the 3 bedded dorm suffered from the noise from the lane below. When the construction is finished next door, noise should abate. Breakfast was quick and very tasty.
    98%
    John W August 2015
    The staff here are excellent, very friendly and very keen to help. I recommend doing the Thursday night pub crawl, it was a great way to see some of the nightlife and meet people, + cheap drinks. The bathrooms were immaculate my entire stay and are very nice. There is storage under the beds which could be bigger but was sufficient. Make sure you bring your own lock for the storage.
    95%
    kristin w August 2015
    Staff were really lovely, honestly the best I've seen in Australia! Very friendly and the hostel was AMAZINGLY clean!! I will happily stay again next time I visit Melbourne.
    100%
    Nathan P August 2015
    The hostel is located on a very noisy street, but this is not surprising given the ideal central location. The hostel had all the facilities we needed. The room was compact but comfortable. Not a lot of storage space in the room.
    95%
    Roger B August 2015
    I love the setting of this hostel. It is designed like a hotel and it is not noisy like other hostels I have stayed in. Very good place to stay
    100%
    CHINENYE I August 2015
    Great location,although keep in kind you're in the cbd,so there's going to be noise.Unfortunately there is building construction next door which mean 7am wake up,but that's not too bothersome if you're up and out the door all day.Very easy to jump on the tram,easy walking distance to Southern Cross Station. I found the staff helpful,and there are a couple of areas for hanging out. The room was at the back of the building,which was probably more quiet.It was clean and basic,I could see they're also renovating the communal bathrooms,so that's a plus. The only thing I didn't like was the colour of the room,green and dingy,but I didn't spend much time there!I had one cool shower in 5 days,so test the hot water if you're showering in peak times. Good private room,would stay there again.
    90%
    Jessica R August 2015
    only thing that annoys me is the internet connection! Not very convenient and always have glitches. Nowadays one person normally need more than 2 devices to access internet but the WIFI access there only allow 1 devices. This is definitely an disappointment and the connection is not user friendly. This is the only issue i have . the others are great!!!
    98%
    yang z August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    4238 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    95%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & security
    93%
    Value for money
    90%