Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (7378 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Bedroom could of done with being cleaner. Dirt and wrappers behind beds ect. Excellent staff.
78%
Daniel L 16/07/2018
I was not very impressed with this hostel. The bed I slept in was quite unstable and squeaked very loudly every time I moved, which caused a bit of tension between the other people in the room and I. There was no hot water for showers on my floor. It cost extra to store my luggage for just a couple of hours, and the sheet/blanket provided were very uncomfortable. I would not come back to this specific hostel.
68%
Karli G 15/07/2018
Very good location in the heart of CBD, clean, very energetic lobby, clean kitchen, friendly stuff.
82%
S.A M 14/07/2018
Music too loud.
90%
Wenhao W 14/07/2018
The front rooms are noisy as it is opposite the fairway line. Next time, we can ask for a back room.
100%
Julie P 14/07/2018
Very clean and great location
80%
Kerrie G 14/07/2018
I loved how positive and welcoming the atmosphere was in the hostel, both the staff and other guests contributed massively to this happy atmosphere. Moreover, it was kept impeccably clean in the toilets and in the rooms. The staff vacuumed the hallways and made sure to change the sheets whenever patrons left. The staff kept the rooms and hall very clean.The only complaint would be that the internet is only available on the ground floor unless you pay extra and this G floor internet is very slow.
98%
Sumin L 14/07/2018
Yes, was very happy to stay in a 3 bed dorm for the first time in any YHA. Much better bathroom facilities (size of shared bathrooms, as well as independent bathrooms) than bathrooms at any YHA in Australia. Two televisions including one large one in TV room that made watching the World Cup football even at 4a.m a delight. Happy hours at bar is good to have liqueur like Kahlua or drinks like Jim Bean & coke for 5 bucks.Roof top was decent. Southern cross station is only a 5 mins walk.
95%
Anindya G 10/07/2018
A very nice and new setup in the heart of the CBD. 24h reception, friendly staff, clean facilities, comfy bed, good coffee.
95%
Kai G 10/07/2018
I stayed in 2013,&bk now in 2018 every thing is excellent please maintain the standing ,its much better and the sale rates for dorms are good , the laundry and kitchen yea its all good ,I want the gallery on level 1 to be open till 11:00 pm to chill out like the one on 5th floor there is no better place in the city than yha ,cheers team who make it happen !!!!!!!!!! Ratings *****
100%
Lance D 10/07/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
85%
Safety & Security
89%
Value for Money
85%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL