Search YHA

Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5046 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Paid a lot of money for a private room that was slightly bigger than the bed itself! The bathroom was a hole in the wall with shower, sink and toilet all in one. Just the shower curtain seperating you from everything. Water did not drain properly from the floor and just ran onto the bedroom carpet which stayed wet all night and gave the room a horrible smell (you could already smell mould). Breakfast not even included which I found pretty poor considering the price we paid! Location was alright, but CONSRRUCTION NOISE ALL NIGHT! Made for the worst of sleeps, even with ear plugs in! Would not reccommend.
    62%
    Eva M April 2016
    Brilliant location, less than 10 mins from Southern cross station. Guaranteed a comfortable night here!!
    98%
    Emma Marie L April 2016
    A comfortable hostel, well located and with very helpful staff. There are free trams right outside the door and the intercity train station and long distance bus station are only a few blocks away. I met all sorts of interesting people also staying at the hostel.
    88%
    Deirdre F April 2016
    I stayed here having arrived on my second backpacking trip, very jet lagged knowing I had to leave again the next day. I chose to sleep in a smaller room because of this, the room was clean and tidy, my bed was comfy. In the evening I used the free wifi and the computers to watch a film, with a glass of wine, as suggested by the friendly staff, throughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend others to stay
    95%
    Laura T April 2016
    nice location, near train and tram, and got lot of shops or pubs near by
    88%
    ming l April 2016
    I didn't spend a lot of time in the hostel, as I was only there for a couple nights and spent it mainly in the city, but the bed was comfortable, all the facilities worked well, and it was a pleasant and friendly place to come home to. All prices were very reasonable and the location was great (just down the street from Federation Square and between two train stations!).
    92%
    Emma S April 2016
    close to all important amenities, station, south bank food outlets, opera, mso etc.
    88%
    Pat B April 2016
    Loved it here! I met some really cool people and the staff was fantastic.
    100%
    Emily H April 2016
    Nice hostel, very clean, staff extremely friendly. Good location
    95%
    Benjamin M April 2016
    The staff was outstanding - everything was perfect!
    100%
    Elisabeth B April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    5046 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    89%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    82%