Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (6368 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The staff was very helpful to help me plan my tours. The kitchen is big and well equiped. But there is a lack of atmosphere in the dining room. I booked several more nights when I was there, and I had to change dorm. Which is alright. Except that I could not leave my bags in any dorms between 10 and 13, because they clean the rooms, and they made me pay for the bagage locker during that time. Unbelievable.
    80%
    Sylvie D May 2017
    Overall the vibes were pretty good, other people in the hostel made it a friendly atmosphere and I was surprised at how kind everyone was, I spoke to so many different people! Staff were also super chill and it seemed like I was having a chat to a friend and it felt super comfortable. However, the facilities on the ground floor were pretty limited, there weren't enough cups and tea towels seemed to be pilling up in the dirty pile with no one washing them. I also saw a mouse in the foyer on my final night which made me question how clean the hostel was kept.
    78%
    Laura Y May 2017
    Great hostel, stayed here many times before. Beds, especially top bunk is a bit rickety. Overall great stay, lovely kitchen and bathrooms.
    92%
    Gavin C May 2017
    Some of the rooms are very small (saw some of the others and they were okay in size but the one i stayed in was very small) the reception staff is very friendly. And shout out to the guy (sorry didnt get the name) who pointed out all the cool stuff to do on the map (not just the basic but the special places)
    80%
    Nicklas M May 2017
    Hostel in good location near a 7 Eleven store the staff of whom were pretty friendly. I think the hostel should have more facilities e.g. a spa & sauna on the roof, a pool and reading room where one can also play table tennis. The kitchen was generally clean. The rooms were average and cold. Toilet and shower facilities good. I was disappointed that Friday Night's jam session did not go ahead. I found the staff very helpful and friendly!
    78%
    gregory j May 2017
    Great and beautiful hostel. Loved the facilities! The only thing I didn't like that much was that my room had no window..
    98%
    Pamela B May 2017
    Good location, nice and friendly staff
    100%
    Alena H May 2017
    Too noisy due to location Free internet only available on ground floor level
    75%
    Lucy W May 2017
    The cheapest, bestest place to stay in the Melbourne CBD. Recommended!
    88%
    Dannie James L May 2017
    I wanted to catch the 5am bus to airport and this was a great yha to stay for the night.
    100%
    Barbara C May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    87%
    customer rating, based on 6368 reviews
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    81%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!