Search YHA

Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5453 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nice hostel with great staffs. Provided us a free one day internet pass which cost $5.00. Advice by the staffs r great..
    82%
    Alec L September 2016
    I decided to book a 6 share female dorm instead of a 3 or 4 share female this time and there was bed confusion when I arrived back at the dorm that evening. I checked in earlier that day and took the bottom bunk as it was empty however there were no sheets on it and a stain on the mattress cover so I put my suitcase at the end of the bed. When I arrived back someone dumped their backpack on my bottom bunk and only the top bunk looked empty but was it? Someone had left a face washer hanging from it and all the other 4 beds were full as well. I removed the heavy back pack from my bottom bunk and left a note. Luckily the roommate who owned it did not mind taking the top bunk but she was confused as to whether it was empty or not when she arrived as with other 2 bunks and other 2 roommates. Going back to booking a 3 or 4 share if possible. Not happy.
    72%
    Dulcinea L September 2016
    A filtered water station to refill non-plastic bottles was greatly appreciated to discourage the use of single-use plastic water bottles. Bravo to this 'green' initiative!
    85%
    Wendy M September 2016
    I had a great time the staff there were amazing keep up the great work and I'll back soon again. Thank for a great few day. Regards Mark
    100%
    Mark g September 2016
    Peaceful attentive excellent.
    92%
    Angie T September 2016
    Awesome atmosphere an nice activities in the evenings!!
    98%
    Christoph M September 2016
    A very clean and comfortable hostel. The bar was brilliant and the lobby / lounge area was a great place to relax. The staff were friendly and welcoming. I will definitely return. Thanks!
    100%
    Nigel S September 2016
    will for sure go back again.
    90%
    blake v September 2016
    Extra friendly and helpful staff. Great location and hostel in excellent condition - loved the penthouse! Thanks for another great YHA experience.
    100%
    Vicky T September 2016
    Fantastic, great staff very helpful and informative, nice atmosphere.
    95%
    Xavier D September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    5453 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    92%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & Security
    95%
    Value for Money
    91%