Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6923 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Superclean rooms and good facilities. Everyone is chillaxed.
95%
Robert M 16/01/2018
We arrived a Thursday afternoon, on a hot day. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the air con didn't seem to be on. We walked into our 4 room door share and met one of our roomies. Asked if we could turn on the fan because it was scorching hot. She said no because she felt fine and answered us with attitude. She was very rude to us and didn't make us feel comfortable at all. We were suppose to stay a week but cut it down to one night. There was no way we were going to stay another night without a fan in the room. Turns out the girl who was rude to us is actually part of the staff. We were so shocked to find out someone who works there could be so rude to clients like that. Worst experience I've had in any dorm. Other than that, everyone else was nice but not going to be coming back. She made us feel very unwelcome and did not have a good night sleep.
75%
Olivia B 16/01/2018
Great value for money. We came here after we checked into a horrid AirBnB apartment, and regretted taking that AirBnB in the first place when YHA provides: a fantastic central location (you don't even have to pay anything if you're doing the attractions in the free tram zone; easy access to Chinatown, Spanish cafes and rock-and-roll bars); clean linen and towels; great counter service. The YHA quality appears to be very consistent as I have visited friends at YHA in Adelaide. Will be staying at YHA in Australia!
100%
Jamie W 13/01/2018
The room 502 is perfect and the staff very friendly, thank you very much we had a great stay.
100%
Audrey C 13/01/2018
Permanent good vibe.
98%
Charles P 12/01/2018
I received a very professional and friendly service from all staff members with a particular attention from Kass. She helped me to book flights, cars, tours and was always providing the help with happiness and smile. My stay was perfect thanks to her. Thank you.
100%
Marc V 10/01/2018
Great location: close to Southern Cross Train station and in the free tram area. I usually stay here when I'm in Melbourne.
100%
Morag W 10/01/2018
The staff was so nice and helpful and i like the atmosphere more. Perfect stay for a backpacker.
100%
Sumit L 10/01/2018
Booked in for 2 nights, was very happy overall, very very very friendly staff who were always up for a chat where possible which was great. Rooms overall were comfortable, the premium WiFi was very good value and great browsing speed. Also very good information present inside the hostel on tours, food, shopping etc. Very good hostel would certainly recommend and stay again without hesitation. Thanks again!
98%
Ben D 10/01/2018
THIS HOSTEL WAS VERY FRIENDLY, VERY OPEN TO ALL AGE GROUPS;EXCEPTIONALLY HELPFUL WITH ADVICE AND TIPS.IT HAD A GREAT WELCOMING COMMUNITY FEEL, AND AS MUCH OLDER PEOPLE WITH OUR SON, WE HAD A VERY ENTERTAINING AND RELAXING STAY.
100%
Louisa S 09/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
85%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL