Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (8366 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The hostel is in a great location and good for just sleeping in. No noise appart from the street noises- cars and trams. I've stayed at the hostel a few times and this time got a better room (double room with toilet). I was disappointed as the heater didn't work very well and only went on for a little bit at a time so it was really cold. Last time the heater was good tho. Staff didn't let us check in 20mins early even tho i had emailed and was bit rude. Other staff were lovely and helpful tho.
75%
Ilona J 19/05/2019
Easy to find, Tram Station is nearby for you to hop on/off the tram to explore different attractions in this city.
62%
Ka Wing W 17/05/2019
Shared bathrooms are normally a thing to be avoided but these were cleaner than most 4 star hotels. No noise from hall or neighbouring rooms. Staff welcoming and helpful
92%
Kristian F 17/05/2019
The music was insupportable...
78%
Maelle Danielle G 17/05/2019
Awesome place, friendly staff, great ammenities
100%
Jamie S 15/05/2019
The hostel was good. Minor issues: The mattress was worn thin. There is unnecessary loud music in the hallways. Baggage storage costs money. No outlets for top bunk beds. Location is great however. Kitchen is spacious. Super clean place. Efficient and nice staff. No idea how good wifi is. Didn't use it
82%
SK 14/05/2019
the staff were really warm and welcoming which really started off my stay well. The room was clean and fitted to my needs perfectly. The location of the hostel in relation to the rest of the city was perfect as everything was only a short walk away.
98%
Tara S 13/05/2019
Great location, breakfast awesome...but room upgrade was so not worth the money!
68%
Roger Trevor Peter M 12/05/2019
Nice and clean tidy and happy holidays to you and your family have a wonderful day to get together with empty room and happy to be able to do shopping around the street
82%
Chung-Chi C 12/05/2019
Great location, clean and modern building with friendly staff. Love staying here
100%
Amie F 10/05/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
89%
Condition of facilities
89%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
89%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL