Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (9002 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Room 407 is very small to share 3 clients, that room gets really 🥵 where are the air conditionings? Overall I had a pleasant stay despite an intruder breaching security with a room mate, house rules to be reinforced daily. Thanks
95%
Sharmain C 17/01/2020
Great hostel, 5 mins walk from South Central station. Really nice vibe, friendly staff, good beer and a comfy tv room. I would definitely stay here again.
95%
Penelope K 16/01/2020
this is the only yha hostel worth staying at among the ones I have seen in Australia Sydney Central Sydney the rocks and Hobart all have very small kitchens which defeats the purpose of staying at a hostel
98%
Julia S 15/01/2020
Location ans the staff is good and nice. The bathroom as well as the rooms on the first floor smell.
68%
Loraine M 15/01/2020
Great facilities,Hate mixed dorms but was pleased that when I requested all in my dorm were male and that the bathrooms weren't mixed. Very noisy situation-railway-but realise that close to transport is important. A central "rule" is to respect the needs of others, yet the noise from others wouldn't let me sleep-I had to get up & read till after midnight.
68%
Ian B 13/01/2020
Friendly staff, very central and easy to walk with pack/luggage to Southern Cross Station.
95%
Ann J 13/01/2020
Great location being next to southern cross station & the cbd
95%
Jonathan M 12/01/2020
Cannot rate this hostel highly enough, it is a fantastically located, clean and friendly place to stay. Really well priced and the staff always go the extra mile for you. The room was spacious and comfortable, plus clean as can be! I will really miss staying here.
100%
Claudia E 12/01/2020
I was grateful for this hostel as a human oasis in a hive of melbourne activity. I loved chatting with the staff and guests, and had no trouble accessing bathroom and kitchen facilities. While the trains/trams were loud and the room a bit warm, the short walk to Southern Cross Station was ideal and the ceiling fan helpful. The bar serving drinks and snacks was a bonus. When I arrived the staff had worked out how I could stay in the one room despite my late booking. Thankyou.
92%
Kate S 10/01/2020
We stayed in a private room and it was the best hostel experience for us so far. The room was clean and spacious, just as the public areas (kitchen, bathroom, social area). I was really impressed about the female shower facilities that seemed to be super clean and well maintained. Overall we had a good time and would definetly recommend this accomodation! :)
98%
Jana C 10/01/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
78%
Efficiency of service
84%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
83%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
82%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL