Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6815 guests have reviewed this hostel)
A good clean hostel. Central location. Friendly staff.
75%
Leanne T 19/11/2017
The service was great. I particularly liked the toilets including the showers. What I was not quite happy about was my dormitory. It was stuffy. Ventillation was not good enough.
90%
Kwaku A 18/11/2017
The room I stayed in were totally occupied by two (3?) persons Who had their stuff all over The place. Could hardley find a place to put mycket feet. Maybe "room sevice staff" could check these kind of things. Even kitchen. Often VERY messy! Staff Could hang around and keep an eye more Often. Been to very many hostels. This one was too much mess! Not to be recommended.
72%
Sture W 18/11/2017
I came alone and left with many friends.
95%
Emma K 17/11/2017
Busy but good hostel. Nice kitchen but not loads of shared spaces otherwise. Problems dealt with very efficiently by staff.
82%
Lucy A 16/11/2017
Possibility to recharge phones etc. inside the dorm lockers was missing.
95%
Roberto P 16/11/2017
I will be back. Mark my words!
100%
Alexander W 12/11/2017
Our ensuite room was excellent value with great shower and comfortable bed, could have done with a bit more space but we managed to fit our two suitcases in. As requested we were allocated a very quiet room at the back of hostel and had a good nights sleep on each of our five nights. Staff on reception very friendly and helpful.
100%
Wilma R 11/11/2017
great location , especially if travelling by train
100%
John B 09/11/2017
Location brilliant. Staff lovely and able to help you have a good stay. Internet access excellent. I bought the $15 for 7 days premium service. Laundry and cooking facilities excellent. SeaLife Aquarium just across the road. Walk to all major transport easily. Free trams around Melbourne Centre make exploring easy and accessible to many attractions such as museums, theatres, night clubs, restaurants, grocery stores, special events etc. plenty of good food places nearby if you don’t want to cook! No free parking but I arrived by plane and train.
90%
Pauline M 08/11/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
customer rating, based on 6815 reviews
Cleanliness
91%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
86%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL