Search YHA

Melbourne Central YHA

89%
Melbourne , VIC

Stay in the heart of the city at vibrant Melbourne Central YHA! This hostel features a newly renovated ground floor with a cafe/bar, funky communal areas, 24 hour reception and rooftop social space.

$29.50
Check availability
Right now in Melbourne ...
12:35 PM
|
9°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4173 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The bathrooms are the best I've ever had in a hostel before. Please make all the YHAs have bathrooms like that.
    98%
    Roxanne O July 2015
    The hostel is clean, tidy, convenience. It has free Wi-Fi. Close to the Station, tram station, Sky bus terminal. I like the idea of free cloth or goods to take away. And also free food for the next person. Its Warm and kind hostel.
    90%
    AYAKO T July 2015
    Great hostel - I put a good for location but in fact it is very good because of Melbourne's free trams in the city - it doesn't matter where you are located: You are still within reach of every thing.
    95%
    Greg P July 2015
    Inconsistent customer service and poor disability provision despite advertising otherwise. Metro is a safer bet despite being further away.
    80%
    Andrew O July 2015
    Terrific for our group booking. Attitude and manners of the Night Shift Manager on Friday night could use some improvement, but apart from that - Great!
    90%
    Brendan F July 2015
    good location good value for money
    82%
    Andrew I July 2015
    No singals at room (Level 1) iiNet & vodaphone both not working. Have to buy wifi from reception.
    65%
    YUZHI C July 2015
    The hostel was very clean. The bathrooms were fairly modern though the rooms were very basic. Staff were nice enough and the location was great. It was a bit pricey for a backpackers, but it wasn't unreasonable. Overall, a good stay.
    85%
    Meagan T July 2015
    Melbourne Central is my go to Hostel in Melbourne. Great location, friendly staff & good faciliites. 5 minutes walk to Southern Cross Station. Near Cafes & Bars & Entertainment
    100%
    Keith S July 2015
    Everything in the 'Very Good' column for me - I had a more comfortable time here than I do in my own home!!! Such a great friendly place for independent travellers to base themselves and do whatever they please anywhere in Melbourne. Nice attention to detail - quietly-closing dorm doors, spacious bathrooms with good showers, clean kitchen, nice social spaces, loved the rooftop for bfast!
    100%
    J S July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    4173 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    93%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & security
    92%
    Value for money
    89%