Search YHA

Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5554 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    My first time in Melbourne Central and only needed a bed to sleep overnight in CBD and saved major travel times and loss of sleep. So was very satisfactory thank you.......
    Peter P October 2016
    We have great experiences during this stay and we will absolutely recommend this hostel to other budget traveller.
    Chui Kam Y October 2016
    Great location as the tram stops 20 metres from the door.
    Ross E October 2016
    The only bad point is that towels and wifi in the room has to be pay it a part. The rest is perfect!
    Amaya c October 2016
    The staff was friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. The lounge area had plenty of seating for everyone and great music. The bathrooms could have def. been cleaner and the elevator always reeked for some reason, even though I could tell they tried to clean it up. There was a mix of really young groups and older people which made for an interesting stay, but generally everyone was fine. I'd recommend it based on location and friendliness of staff.
    Coco Chanel October 2016
    This is the 2nd time I have stayed here. It is well situated and security very good, I would highly recommend this YHA to everyone travelling alone or with friends.
    Patricia M October 2016
    Great location in terms of seeing the city, but the proximity to the Metro and Tram lines means that there is significant traffic noise throughout the night. Would recommend strong ear-plugs.
    Joanne D October 2016
    Good hostel, great location, awesome staff. A bit expensive ( 7$ for a breakfast)for the quality, dorms are tight and not very comfortable.
    Simon P October 2016
    We had a private 2 bed room. It would be good to have ensuite facilities but realise it is an old building and probably not possible. Brilliant central location and within walking distance of station, trams supermarkets etc
    Susan G October 2016
    This a good hostel you can't do much about messy dirty roommates but the hostel is solid. Would go back.
    Basco S October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    5554 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money