Search YHA

Melbourne Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4698 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The location couldn't be better and the staff are really friendly. Having a 24-hour front desk not only helps with safety, but also brings the confidence that there will be somebody in charge in case you need anything at any time. There are people responsible for keeping the premises clean at different times during day and night, and this routine stimulates mots guests to keep the place in order. However, even hostels are way expensive in Australia.
    92%
    Simone G February 2016
    位置绝佳,到哪儿都方便。入住手续简单,前台帅哥美女亲和并高效。遇到友好的室友,遇见来自不同国家年轻或心仍然年轻的人们,是独立自主者的家园
    98%
    Ling Z February 2016
    Very good location and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would defentitly recommend this YHA
    98%
    Julia E February 2016
    comfortable bed, clean showers with hot water, clean good sized kitchen facilities.
    100%
    Catherine M February 2016
    Shower room is amezing for a hostel. Few hostel would provide space to dry your body. Also toilett is surprisingly clean.
    92%
    Yeh J February 2016
    Location was so convenient to airport bus shuttle and city circle tram. Facilities basic but very clean, great staff and lots of cool communal hanging around space.Highly recommended!!! We stayed at Melbourne Central YHA when we went to the Aus open. We flew in early morning, put our bags in the YHA lockers and caught the free tennis tram shuttle from directly outside the hostel straight to Melbourne Park. Fantastic 3 days.
    98%
    Julie B February 2016
    I was very impressed that my bed had been reserved for me! A single bed was quite unexpected and gratefully appreciated!!! As a 61 year old with Arthritis it is simply impossible for me to climb up to a top bunk so I was extremely impressed because another place I booked into refused to do that for me!
    100%
    Gwen B February 2016
    Good Location, close to the City Center; free tram in front of the hostel; easy to reach the bus to the airport
    85%
    Bettina G February 2016
    Staff were very helpful and the guests were very friendly and easy to talk to
    100%
    David T January 2016
    Perfect location, easy walking to Southbank & Yarra river, transport right outside the door.
    92%
    Russell B January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    4698 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    93%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & security
    94%
    Value for money
    81%