Search YHA

Melbourne Central YHA

91%
Melbourne , VIC

Stay in the heart of the city at vibrant Melbourne Central YHA!

$28.50
Check availability
  • Melbourne Central YHA - Rooftop Sunset
  • Melbourne Central YHA - Exterior
  • Melbourne Central YHA_Reception
  • Melbourne Central YHA - Cafe
  • Melbourne Central YHA-Kitchen
  • Melbourne Central YHA - Indoor Balcony
  • Melbourne Central YHA - TV room
  • Melbourne Central YHA - 4 Share Mixed Dorm Room
  • Melbourne Central YHA - Twin Share Female Room
  • Twin/Double
  • Melbourne Central YHA - Double Room
  • Melbourne Central YHA - Laneway
  • Melbourne Central YHA - Graffiti
Right now in Melbourne ...
07:41 AM
|
8°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4078 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    A great place to stay when visiting Melbourne
    100%
    Helen M July 2015
    So close to Southern Cross that you can get anywhere
    82%
    Isabelle v July 2015
    Satisfying!
    90%
    Sheilah Lynn D July 2015
    Would highly recommend this hostel to any baby boomer ( 60 something)like us. With the best customer service of anywhere we have stayed, including overseas. Their younger Staff and young guests were so courteous to our generation . Always met our day to day needs, with no questions asked. All the best Marilyn and Robin
    100%
    Marilyn E July 2015
    very clean and quiet! very eco-friendly. nice graffiti. the best hostel I have ever stayed!
    100%
    Siyang Z July 2015
    Overall I was really happy with this hostel. It is a great location, within walking distance of both the Southern Cross train station and many of the inner city attractions. The downside of this is there was a fair bit of traffic noise during the night and early morning. The room and facilities were clean, but the metal bunks in my room did creak a lot, any time someone moved in them.
    92%
    Ralph B June 2015
    Really cool place very friendly other travellers, staff, clean place, well maintained! (Fridge seals are new was impressed!)
    95%
    Max K June 2015
    The overuse of deodorizers or cleaning agents in the poorly ventilated room (can't open a window and no vents) meant that I spent the first night sleeping with my singlet over my head as a filter. Corridors were bad too. Should be using neutral cleaning agents. Improved on the second night presumably because the room hadn't been cleaned because it was full. Second day the shower was cold. Thin mattresses but even thinner pillows - guess that's pretty standard in a YHA. Warm enough. The staff were friendly and helpful when I asked for directions and downstairs lounge area comfortable but the staff provided no information about location of kitchens and other facilities such as TV room or where wifi could be used.
    45%
    Roxanne B June 2015
    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was nice and clean, though the room could have used a vacuum. The location is perfect - walking distance to everything in the CBD and easy to get everywhere. Overall this was a great stay!
    92%
    Birgit H June 2015
    Best hostel I have stayed in. Always enjoy coming back here
    100%
    Vicky B June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    4078 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & security
    94%
    Value for money
    88%