Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (7138 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This is a great place to stay at. The only inconvenience I had was that the shower would run out of hot water pretty quickly and I had to take cold water showers in the chilly weather.
88%
Aditya g 19/04/2018
Nice staff. But......too noisy and matteresses in bunk were uncomfortable. Carpet in room was dirty, needed to be vacuumed.
62%
Elaina Pat L 19/04/2018
Bathrooms spotlessly clean & bright, great - can't say same about the rooms. Really need renovation - dark, dingy, no decent lighting, dirty windows. Most hostels have proper lockers for each person - this one still has old fashioned under bed lockers - not convenient for anyone & a nightmare if people are asleep! Stayed here nearly every year since 2010 - while facilities & location are fantastic, the rooms are worn. Also, $5 now (prev $2) for towel hire...!
62%
Nidhi 19/04/2018
Little loud as located next to the tram and railway. Hostel had a great atmosphere, staff were incredibly polite and helpful. Many friendly faces and great conversation. Facilities were great, best hotel shower I've ever used. 10/10 enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend!
95%
Brin M 18/04/2018
The reception staff ware great, very friendly and willing to help out when needed, room was a bit old and roof was chipping off onto beds not sure if it was the paint or plasta! Otherwise bathrooms ect.. wear clean.
82%
Melissa B 18/04/2018
It has a friendly atmosphere and vibe. The main ground floor was super resourceful.
82%
Chloe 18/04/2018
Decent hostel, staff are really friendly. great rooftop and good access to the city.
88%
Elissa B 16/04/2018
Loved our stay here, very modern clean facilities and fantastic staff!
100%
Sarah C 15/04/2018
Best hostel in Oz
95%
Sukant S 15/04/2018
Loved the atmosphere of the hostel! Tons of friendly people, great music in the common area, helpful staff! The location was close to everything you could need. The condition of the rooms weren't great, but the beds were comfortable and we had a great stay overall.
80%
Mikaela J 12/04/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

85%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
80%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
81%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
81%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL