Search YHA

Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (6011 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I was traveling alone and found this hostel to have a really good atmosphere. All communal areas were clean and welcoming. It was very chilled (not party-centric) and I met lots of super nice people during my stay. No complaints at all. I would definitely stay at this hostel again if the opportunity arose. I partook in the Friday morning walking tour and had an excellent day: The host, Alka, was a passionate local with brilliant energy - she was very helpful and insightful. Overall, a very happy guest :)
    92%
    J C February 2017
    The YHA Melbourne Central was our number 1 in Australia! The staff was very friendly a knew everything we wanted to know! Thanks!
    100%
    Anne L February 2017
    YHA is a good place to stay. I feel like home. I can meet the people around the world that is very interesting. The only problem is some troublemaker can get in there easily and disturb the guests.
    78%
    Ellruorr kin shing L February 2017
    had a great time at yha melbourne central. appreciated that the place is well-kept and clean, especially the bathrooms. the rooms are very comfortable - bedding was nice and warm (great for this unexpected cold weather). staff was extremely friendly in sharing where to go and what to see.
    88%
    Raewyn K February 2017
    Good place, nice and friendly staff, on the city's CBD.
    100%
    Yaad E February 2017
    Very nice place to stay.
    100%
    Yingzhou S February 2017
    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to an ensuite when we arrived.
    92%
    Marcia j. B February 2017
    The hostel is very close to the southern cross station, which was the main reason I stayed there. But it is very close to the railway tracks and surounded by noise street. Since there is no aircon the window needs to stay open and it was pretty noisy all night. Was ok for one night but wouldn't stay there much longer. Other than that it was a decent place.
    82%
    Cordula M February 2017
    Ace staff and set up.
    98%
    Venetia S February 2017
    great stay
    98%
    MARK S February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    6011 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    86%