Esperance YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Esperance YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (261 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Just old timber huts with extremely thin walls. Can hear every footstep, snore, movement in the bed next door and the sound of every guest peeing overnight. We had a double room but feels like your all just in a bunk room with a curtain. Decoration and building is so poor it’s woeful. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Kitchen very clean and reasonably equipped. Bedding clean. Showers hot. Not the usual YHA standard,
55%
Joe C 12/05/2018
The interior is friendly with bright colours. The Wi-Fi range was big and they even offered Netflix to enjoy for free in the community room. It felt like watching movies with friends in the evenings. What I especially liked was the very clean kitchen.
95%
Franziska H 07/05/2018
I enjoyed my stay here overall, Rochelle is very friendly and sweet. It has a comfortable, homey vibe and a fantastic kitchen. It might be a bit cold in winter.
95%
Joel A 07/05/2018
It was one of the best hostels I've ever been in Australia! Everything was in good condition, the kitchen was fully equipped and the wifi was even in the rooms very good! You can rent a bike for free and the owners are more than welcoming! Thanks for the amazing stay!
98%
Christina W 03/05/2018
Tom & Rochelle are very friendly and helpful. I am very grateful for the lift to hostel & from hostel to bus station on day of departure. Great value for money. You will really need a car to benefit much from Esperance.
98%
Sophia N 02/05/2018
The staff are absolutely amazing, really welcoming and help you meet the others staying there! They know the area well and can help suggest places to go and if you can’t get there will try their best to take you Travel tips: definitely go to Cape le Grand (good day trip and worth the $13 entry).
95%
Emily P 01/05/2018
I booked online for a three night stay but was very disappointed after the first night - I had a private room but the walls were so thin I may as well have been in a dorm room. I could hear everything in the room next door, making for an unpleasant sleep. I decided to cancel the booking the next day, and was charged for the first night, despite my complaints, and was only given a partial refund for the other two nights. I'm frustrated I paid so much money for such sub-standard accommodation.
52%
Jane K 31/03/2018
Great friendly staff and clean facilities. Sleeping in a 24-person dorm wasn’t bad at all. Curtains gave the privacy you needed. Toilet and shower facilities where clean and nice. Even got free breakfast! Would stay again!
100%
Anna S 31/03/2018
One of the friendliest hostels I've stayed at. The new management are doing their very best to make everything as comfortable as possible. The kitchen and facilities there are excellent and a surprise help yourself basic breakfast provided . This is an old building that is gradually being updated. The location right by the beach and not far from the town is good. A comfortable place to spend a few days holiday. Lots to see in Esperance and the beaches are spectacular. Thank you all for my mini b
92%
Barbara U 30/03/2018
Great location, friendly, welcoming and very helpful staff and has a lot of character about it. Perfect for the location.
95%
Steve K 29/03/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
87%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL