Esperance YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Esperance YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (254 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I booked online for a three night stay but was very disappointed after the first night - I had a private room but the walls were so thin I may as well have been in a dorm room. I could hear everything in the room next door, making for an unpleasant sleep. I decided to cancel the booking the next day, and was charged for the first night, despite my complaints, and was only given a partial refund for the other two nights. I'm frustrated I paid so much money for such sub-standard accommodation.
52%
Jane K 31/03/2018
Great friendly staff and clean facilities. Sleeping in a 24-person dorm wasn’t bad at all. Curtains gave the privacy you needed. Toilet and shower facilities where clean and nice. Even got free breakfast! Would stay again!
100%
Anna S 31/03/2018
One of the friendliest hostels I've stayed at. The new management are doing their very best to make everything as comfortable as possible. The kitchen and facilities there are excellent and a surprise help yourself basic breakfast provided . This is an old building that is gradually being updated. The location right by the beach and not far from the town is good. A comfortable place to spend a few days holiday. Lots to see in Esperance and the beaches are spectacular. Thank you all for my mini b
92%
Barbara U 30/03/2018
Great location, friendly, welcoming and very helpful staff and has a lot of character about it. Perfect for the location.
95%
Steve K 29/03/2018
Very friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, clean environment. Good option if you looking for accommodation in Esperance.
100%
Kwanngai T 19/03/2018
Un precioso albergue muy cercano al centro de Esperance y justo enfrente de la playa. Los empleados y dueños eran muy amables (especialmente Chris), y estoy seguro que volveré a quedarme aquí.
100%
Jeremy S 08/03/2018
Great place - was welcomed with a pick up from the bus and it was all brilliant from there on. New management have done a complete turn around, it is bright, clean, friendly and welcoming. Staff are super friendly and polite, and rooms and kitchen are both clean and hygienic. A full choice of movies/tv shows for when you want to flake out, plenty of books to read and huge outdoor space for relaxing in. And a beach being in front of the door is the icing on the cake!
100%
Tash W 27/02/2018
To much noise from the doors nearby private room. A group of 26 people far to big because the whole YHA was confiscated. They went at 10.00 pm to a disco and came back at 3.00 am with a lot of noise
52%
Jacob S 25/02/2018
Would highly reccomend! The staff go above and beyond for you and even got our friend a birthday cake on his birthday. You meet loads of cool people there and they have a huge lounge area to chill and watch Netflix. They are in the process of doing the place up so don't be too critical of the old building. It's also right across the road from the beach :)
98%
Hayleigh G 14/02/2018
I have travelled through various countries and stayed at many hostels. I really enjoyed my stay here and I recommend this particular hostel to absolutely anyone! The manager was super accommodating and ensure that my and my friends safety (all girls) was priority at all times. The staff have really taken to ensure the facilities are maintained and that there is a fun, safe and comfortable environment for all their guests.
95%
Richa M 05/02/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
81%
Efficiency of service
91%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
89%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
88%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL