Esperance YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Esperance YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (219 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This is a great hostel and the new owners are going the extra mile to ensure guests have a great stay. Loads of communal space, excellent kitchen for self catering. No problems whatsoever with parking, showers, loos, laundry etc. Great lounge with TV. Nice quiet hostel and the new owners are committed to keeping it that way!
95%
Sarah A 18/10/2017
I didn't really want to book into the Esperance Hostel but you can not get any rooms in Esperance for under $100, the caravan park charge $35 for a camp site with no power or tent. I only paid $36 for a single room and was pleasantly relieved when I arrived. I was greeted by name and a friendly helpful smile and was given the Wifi password, Laundry Capsule and Earplugs which I wasn't expecting. The hostel has lots of character and the bright white clean kitchen and lounge areas were very inviting. My room had clean crisp linen and I feel was an absolute bargain for the price. I have been converted to using YHA Hostels in the future. You feel really safe and feel really welcome. Thank you very much for a surprisingly nice stay!!
98%
Alexia H 16/10/2017
Very friendly and helpful staff and the view from and position of the hostel is amazing Esperance is a beautiful place to visit would be best to have access to a car to visit the national parks and coastline
68%
Stacey S 15/10/2017
I had a fantastic stay at the YHA, the location is perfect for anyone visiting Esperance. I stayed in a single room. The owners are very friendly and do their best to accommodate their patrons. The owners are currently renovating and what has been done looks wonderful - including new kitchen facilities. The bathrooms/showers are outside and there is one toilet inside. The rooms are not very soundproof but the bed and linen was comfortable and warm! (: the hostel is very well priced for what you get on your stay. I'd recommend and stay again.
90%
Jade 15/10/2017
Staff is very very friendly and kindly!! Had lovely to stay there♥️
92%
Atsu 13/10/2017
The hostel itself was great. Everything was clean and fresh. Management and staff were a pleasure to deal with. On the overall it was a very friendly and comfortable warm and welcoming atmosphere. I will stay here every time I come to Esperance and will also recommend the Esperance YHA to my friends.
100%
Shane S 09/10/2017
The new owners are really giving the place a face lift and bringing a new lease of life to the buildings. We love the friendly approach of the staff, the relaxed atmosphere & location.
95%
Andrew K 05/10/2017
Amazing place to stay and staff we're the best,
100%
Ryan B 01/10/2017
Unfortunately was not worth the money, while the owners were friendly-it did not stand up to other yha locations.there seemed to be more people staying there who worked locally than travellers. No lock on the outside toilet door made it feel unsafe. Average atmosphere.
58%
Emily M 29/09/2017
Great staff, super friendly and helpful. Comfortable rooms with heaters (cold when we stayed so this was a great help) short 15min walk to centre of town along the sea 👌
95%
Dale J 16/08/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

82%
customer rating, based on 219 reviews
Cleanliness
79%
Condition of facilities
68%
Efficiency of service
85%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
82%
Value for Money
79%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL