Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2338 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great stay as usual! :-)
100%
Amber C 14/01/2019
Very nice hostel that I highly recommend. Staff was super nice and helpful. It was really easy to meet new people as solo traveller.
100%
Rilla T 10/01/2019
Really Enjoyed this hostel, a grand old building with character. The room was a Great size and happy people !! The shower was good too. There was pizza left over so that was a Great after arriving a bit later
88%
Emma S 08/01/2019
Fabulous location and lovely building. Bedrooms great.
85%
Marg R 08/01/2019
Staff were always available, friendly and helpful. Spacious rooms and common room, plenty seating space all over the hostel to relax by yourself or socialise. Great facilities and a good location. Would stay again!
95%
Heather M 08/01/2019
We had a comfortable night in the family room. Facilities were a little older but clean.Of all YHAs I have stayed in with my family of 2 young children this felt the least welcoming. The communal lounge felt like there was a private party. (It was wine tasting night). Kitchen area downstairs was drab. Avoid arriving at dinner time as bars and restaurants take all the parking places. Made for a stressful arrival as we had nowhere to even stop. Proximity to beach was good and great cafe there.
68%
Sally F 07/01/2019
Best Hostel I have been in Australia and want to continue my stays with YHA where ever possible...free BBQ food/Wine & cheese get together A hop skip to the beach!
95%
David J 05/01/2019
Very spacious hostel, very chilled and clean. Staff is nice and helpful. Loved the common area. Every bed has a locker, no plug though. Not that many showers and toilets. Very close to the bus-station for greyhound/premier motor service. I totally recommend it.
98%
Mandy L 04/01/2019
Interesting visitors. Clean, neat, tidy, friendly. Interesting history. Great location. Easygoing. Would stay again
98%
Colette E 02/01/2019
All good
100%
Wenzhu Z 31/12/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
84%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
91%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
88%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL