Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2640 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Such a beautiful old building, charming. I stayed here with my children and felt safe and welcome. Great atmosphere but not rowdy and not drunken idiots (we stayed on a Saturday night). Incredible location for beach. Clean amenities. Loved the piano and my youngest bashed out some tunes. Lots of comfortable places to hang out. Great value for money considering the location.
100%
Sam M 17/11/2019
Bed smelled like vomit
80%
Aldo Luiz G 16/11/2019
This is one of the best hostels I've ever been in. The entire house (kitchen, bathroom, living room...) is cleaned up every single day, it is just a pleasure to use all these facilities. The neighborhood is quiet and the (really tiny) distance to the beach gives you this wanting to go there every day again.
100%
Gauthier P 15/11/2019
Nice,friendly staff, great location!
100%
Magdalena J 14/11/2019
Very friendly staff, good location, nice historic building! I will definitely recommand it!
100%
Eric H 14/11/2019
Such a great getaway from Sydney! Location is fantastic, right near the beach, coastal walks and surf right on your doorstep. Loved the hostel building. Beds were v good quality. Really clean rooms and bathrooms and the staff are brilliant and work really hard. Plugs in the lockers in the rooms are so useful and I felt my stuff was safe the whole time. Great set up and really glad I stopped by. Thanks guys!
100%
Milly M 13/11/2019
Lovely hostel and dedicated staff! We enjoyed our stay to the fullest.
100%
Sebastian T 13/11/2019
This hostel is great value for money, cosy and only a 2 minute walk down to the beach. Everywhere was clean, room was great and staff were friendly. There’s plenty of trips and free walks around the area too:)
95%
Mikki C 12/11/2019
WiFi only at the ground floor !?!?
62%
Alain Noel R 02/11/2019
Love the location if this Hostel lots delicious cafes nearby, beach very close & hardly any traffic noise. Hostel has plenty of space for all with very comfortable sofas. Will be back thank u
90%
Rebecca P 27/10/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
87%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL