Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2491 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Have stayed here on several occasions when travelling north from Melbourne. Love the location, the nature of the building itself, the friendly and helpful staff, the facilities, and the welcome I receive as an older traveller.
100%
Christopher M 21/05/2019
Plz try to get free parking for guests from local authorities around YHA new castle Regards
100%
Sunny N 19/05/2019
Courteous and friendly staff. Cozy, rustic building. Amazing place to stay in Newcastle.
100%
Ashish Kumar C 13/05/2019
Great location and friendly staff as always. Bathrooms and kitchen clean.
85%
Marg R 12/05/2019
It was just fine except for the doors that all had to bang loudly to close. Good for walking to some lovely beaches and walk to the lighthouse.
85%
Sandra E 12/05/2019
Close to beaches and city
82%
Scott A 11/05/2019
Loved it so stayed an extra day.
100%
Lois T 08/05/2019
Stunning building! The common room and outdoor area is perfect. The dorm rooms cupboards could be bigger and a screen (to get dressed behind) would be a nice extra. Staff exceptionally good🙂
98%
Beba M 06/05/2019
V good, clean and staff were friendly and offered assistance with walking recommendations etc. Only thing I would suggest is making the price lower for this location as I only paid $23 pn in blue mountains and this is similar distance from Sydney in opp direction. Not sure why it is costing more than what I paid to stay at railway sq in Sydney centre. Like that there is the offer of free surf and bodyboards. Bikes would also be good if could be hired.
95%
Stephanie W 05/05/2019
Great place to stay! VERY clean, customer service was amazing - very friendly and informative. The common area is one of a kind - very cool place to hang out. Kitchen is super clean and has everything you need and more. Location is good, close to the beach! Very comfortable, safe and quiet for a solo traveller needing a place to sleep! Would highlyyyyyyy recommend!!!
100%
Olivia H 03/05/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

94%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
96%
Friendliness of staff
99%
Location
98%
Overall atmosphere
95%
Safety & Security
95%
Value for Money
92%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL