Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (2134 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This hostel is great I really liked the atmosphere of the place. Everything was clean and the rooms are pretty big. I would recommend it to anyone interested in staying in Newcastle.
100%
Claude-Alice H 17/06/2018
Loved it. Great location and staff. Had a great time exploring the area and my perception of Newcastle and surrounds is up 100%. Unexpectedly good
92%
David M 13/06/2018
Great place to stay. A few problems with public transport but with all the road work going on in the Newcastle CBD it was understandable. Would definitely go again.
80%
Janice N 11/06/2018
Not bad
48%
Pierrot L 11/06/2018
So close together the beach and accessible to activities in the area. Staff are very helpful. Clean and quiet at night.
88%
Lilia B 05/06/2018
This was the best hostel I’ve stayed at so far!
95%
Bryan I 04/06/2018
I had an awesome time! Thanks to all staff for them effort to make this place amazing!
100%
Lorenzo C 04/06/2018
It’s not LGBTIQ friendly, and I could really have done without the religious diatribe spewing from another guest. It’s a very old place with tiny rooms, paper-thin walls, double-hung windows that bang around in the breeze, and windows above the door that let in light from the corridor all night (hint - pack an eye mask and builder’s ear plugs - only way I got any sleep). The building location is fantastic, and the great room is beautiful, though I’d suggest staying elsewhere.
35%
April W 03/06/2018
Convenient, good value. Quaint building and lovely decor to suit. The kitchen leaked with heavy rain. We did the Anzac bridge walk with fabulous views of ocean and the city with list of Newcastle WW1 veterans. We had a fun game of table tennis at the hostel.
82%
Rosemary C 03/06/2018
It was in a great location near the beach. Had a friendly atmosphere and was value for money. Loved the staff who were friendly.
100%
Emma C 03/06/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

85%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
79%
Condition of facilities
81%
Efficiency of service
86%
Friendliness of staff
87%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
86%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL