Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1560 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel is partly under construction, so a little strange smelling during my stay. But overall it is a very good hostel.
    92%
    YUE C September 2016
    Loved this hostel- friendly staff, great location and lots of info about things to do in the local area.
    98%
    Annie B September 2016
    loved it
    100%
    Mark P September 2016
    Only 2 of the 6 powerpoints in the room worked. No locks were supplied for people in dormitories to secure valuable. Otherwise very friendly staff, clean facilities and good location
    88%
    Eleesheva M August 2016
    Great to see this great hostel getting some t l c. The cleaning team during my stay were very efficient and thorough and doing a wonderful job.
    98%
    Sandra C August 2016
    I've stayed here on many occasions & can highly recommend staying here at this 'home away from home'. It's a very friendly place to stay with fantastic staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. They are there to make sure you have a wonderful stay. There's a couple of free BBQs every week, a movie night with popcorn & a popular pizza night. It's very central & very close to transport, the beach & many cafes & restaurants. I love it :)
    100%
    Susan H August 2016
    Unfortunately I could only stay for one night on my way through town, but I will definitely be back! Fantastic location, beautiful spacious building. Even in the midst of renovations it was very comfortable. Loved the fireplace and all the sitting areas.
    100%
    Elise B August 2016
    the smell of paint make me sick.the bed is too narrow, while there is a gap between wall and bed, you could drop everything and no bed light and no small shelf. 油漆味太重了,熏死了!床太窄,缝隙掉东西,太老旧了!还那么贵!坑爹!
    70%
    Catherine B August 2016
    Very friendly guy at the reception! Nice atmosphere!
    88%
    Dominik F August 2016
    The problem was that it's beint painted fresh. It will only be a temporary inconvenience. For the rest it's a good YHA. If something may be rated up, it's the place where the kitchen is. Eating with no windows is not very nice. The welcoming was great.
    90%
    Francoise L August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    1560 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    87%