COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2980 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Incredibly well located. Was fun to be in a hostel as opposed to a motel.. Got a great recommendation for local meal as well which delivered true to form! Appreciated!
88%
Steve P 06/05/2021
Comfortable, cosy hostel with a fireplace lit in the foyer! Friendly, relaxed and welcoming staff. Best location in Newcastle for seeing the historic buildings and walking to the beach. Great food options very close by. Best value for money, couldn't ask for more!
90%
Zoe A 29/04/2021
Keep going back. Love this big, old, grand place. Clean and welcoming and cosy. Staff are lovely, facilities are very good. Corridors are a bit noisy when you're trying to sleep, but you get used to it.
98%
Jeani A 26/04/2021
Newcastle YHA is one of a few 'best' in Australia and a must-stay for visitors from abroad.
100%
peter m 22/04/2021
I’ve been staying at YHA Newcastle since starting a new job. It’s well located to transport and you get to enjoy a nice coastal walk, swim or yoga session when it suits. Staff are always friendly and helpful
100%
Sue C 18/04/2021
Pretty basic, but the big communal areas and friendly people, staff and guests, made up for it. The Wifi was good in the common areas, but non-existent elsewhere.
95%
Fraser R 18/04/2021
I wouldn't keep going back if I didn't love it there. But I do!
95%
Isa S 18/04/2021
The location is really convenience. Only 3 mins walk to Newcastle beach and to the Newcastle Beach light rail station. Bathroom and toilet are quite clean. The kitchen is well organized. I would recommend everyone to stay here.
95%
Kuliga T 12/04/2021
A clean hostel in a great location.
98%
Renee E 09/04/2021
Great location near beach plus restaurants & bars. Beautiful old building with lots of space. Quiet & peaceful during the night. They offer free activities such as wine & Cheeses & BBQs.
95%
Cecilie Y 07/04/2021

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
92%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

YHA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia. We acknowledge and pay our respects to Elders past, present, emerging and the extended Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island community.