Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

  • Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1373 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great location, great hostel, very spacious and very clean.
    90%
    Claire B February 2016
    Beautiful old building with a great vibe. The common areas are furnished with lovely old couches and the location is a great spot in Newcastle.
    95%
    Bryce H February 2016
    Excellent, great location. Good value. Comfy beds. Only downfall very hot and stuffy in rooms otherwise great !
    92%
    Cliff D February 2016
    I really enjoyed my stay at the Newcastle Beach YHA. Very friendly stuff, a hugh common area and not a minute from the beach. The kitchen appears to be small but since they are organizing almost every evening different events (Pizza night, Chicken Schnitzel, Free BBQ), it wasn't too crowded so there wasn't a time when I wasn't able to get a stove. If you like a little bit more space then choose the 10 dorm room with a private bathroom. Place yourself to the window, bring a sleep mask and you will enjoy it as well.
    100%
    Nick February 2016
    The YHA hostel in Newcastle is a great place to stay and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Should I even return to Newcastle I will be shore to return the to YHA once again
    100%
    Chris F February 2016
    Family Friendly, great location, family and doyble rooms good value.Thanks Newcastle for a good and easy stay.......
    95%
    Ann M January 2016
    There is a lot of noise on the street, so try to avoid getting rooms at the front of the hostel if you can. We were woke up very early every morning by trucks and rubbish collection.
    85%
    Jay A January 2016
    Crazy location, one minute walk away from the beach. Facilities are run down but overall clean and perfectly fine. Even though there are cockroaches all over Newcastle the YHA did a good job keeping them out of their common areas and especially the rooms (only saw a single one in 3 days which was in the basement). Free bodyboards and surfboards are great, as well as the free—bus—zone that allows you to get to all the shops (BigW, Coles, Woolworths, Officeworks etc.) for free. Good stay overall, would recommend to give it a go for a couple of days when in the Newcastle area.
    72%
    Leif M January 2016
    Nice location, just a 2 minutes walk to the beach. Over all the hostel is clean, but especially the rooms and bathrooms are run down..
    72%
    Lisa N January 2016
    Lovely building in a great location close to beach, shops and restaurants.
    85%
    Sandra C January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    85%
    1373 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    77%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & security
    84%
    Value for money
    84%