Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1863 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Lovely old building x nurses accommodation, friendly service, very informative, excellent location (directly across from the beach), great shopping, easy access, very clean and quiet at this time of year. I had a good nights rest.
    100%
    Elly L May 2017
    Awesome room, tidy, great lockers and the old fireplace in the corner - very homely...
    82%
    Julia S May 2017
    Best location in town!
    90%
    Thay Guan T May 2017
    The staff were very kind and caring! I had a wedding on and no where to put my luggage, they let me use the storage room for the day which is secure and they said i could still use all the amenities :)! Great price too, thanks guys!
    100%
    Jess S May 2017
    Excellent location. Pleasant helpful staff.
    95%
    Martin T May 2017
    Nice hostel and great location. The only thing that I did not find that great is the sofas. Would recommend to anyone.
    95%
    George F May 2017
    Newcastle YHA has a good vibe and is close to Nobby beach. staff are freindly Service is excellent they just need to fix the TV its still not working properly since last visit. Its a good location to explore the Hunter Region of NSw
    92%
    David M May 2017
    The rooms and hostel were very nice! Clean, atmospheric and spacious. Sadly the there wasn't really a group feeling and everyone was in their own bubble. Maybe it's due to low season
    95%
    Anouk V May 2017
    Beautiful! Best hostel in Australia...
    100%
    Austin C May 2017
    The staff of the hostel is friendly. The hostel is pretty clean, one of the best kitchens I've seen. The location is great, the only disadvantage is the distance to the supermarket. I found the code from the lugage room on the ground, just outside the room which means everyone has access to this room..
    78%
    Linda J May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    92%
    92%
    customer rating, based on 1863 reviews
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    91%
    Safety & Security
    91%
    Value for Money
    92%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!