Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1587 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great staff, friendly residents, awesome location. Love the gentlemen's lounge (ladies welcome). Efficient check in. So relaxed when I walked in the door. thanks again.
    Joshua C October 2016
    Very good experience, nice people and beautiful place!
    virginie s October 2016
    Great location and facilities, and recently renovated, recommended A+++. Thank you
    Miguel E October 2016
    Great location, friendly staff, lots of cool stuff to do in Newcastle.
    Salome B October 2016
    This place has a lovely vibe, spacious with the character of the turn of the century building that has seen eras come and go, but so cared for, you really do feel at home. Hardly any rules, everything is thought of and service is warm and low attitude, how pleasant.
    Catharine C October 2016
    If you like the atmosphere of an old building, with high ceilings, a huge living-room with chesterfields, spacious communal facilities then it is recommended to stay in this fantastic hostel!
    marco d September 2016
    Great place, nice heritage building, my own downfall was that the bin in the toilet was completely overloaded and there was no where to put your toothpaste when brushing your teeth.
    Yalenka C September 2016
    The hotel was amazing, the service was great and the atmosphere was fantastic. I would recommend having slightly softer beds. The room we stayed in didn't pick up tv channels, but was overall fantastic. The best bonus was having a reading spot and a wonderful view.
    Chris F September 2016
    Great location, friendly and great atmosphere
    Adrian S September 2016
    This hostel is fun. An old building in a choice location for activity. Cant get much closer to two excellent surfing beaches, a very large and historical swimming pool, & surrounded by old pubs and top coffee. Chris
    Christopher L September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1587 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money