Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1986 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Web search. We had a family room at the top corner with a bay window with a small view of the sea with the sound of the waves throughout the night. Absolutely loved the building and the location is fantastic - just a few minutes walk to everything including the Newcastle Sea Baths/ Pool. My favourite experience was the coastal walk down to Bar Beach & Merewether. I highly recommend this place for families, there is a small toy section with a lot of kids books at the top of the stairs to the humongous kitchen/ dining room. There is a ping pong table, & even a trampoline out the back.
100%
Kirsty I 13/11/2017
Love the feeling of the hostel. The space in the lounge tv area. The open fire opposite the gracious wooden stair case. Favourite would be going to sleep with the sounds of the waves breaking on the shore a short walk away. Hurrah go all the beach walks and the lovely buildings in Newcastle. One for those who love the sea, comfort of an urban environment and all that has to offer.
100%
Mary A 12/11/2017
Comfortable, great location and friendly staff
100%
Saba N 11/11/2017
All good we enjoyed our stay
90%
Pete D 10/11/2017
Close to beach. Amazing friendly staff. Great room, tv facility, and clean kitchen.
100%
Helen S 02/11/2017
would definitely go there again :)
85%
Mia A 31/10/2017
The hostel is in the perfect area. Exactly 2min from the beach. I could even see the sea from my window! The staff is nice and they even do free bbq on Thursday and rent for free boards. I really recommand this hostel.
92%
Margaux S 27/10/2017
Spacious and very nice. Clean. Good value.
100%
Dianne D 27/10/2017
Neat and tidy, not too much of a party hostel. Facilities are good and the staff friends. Nice and close to the beach and cafes and restaurants.
85%
Kiia K 23/10/2017
This was my first stay at a YHA establishment.. I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the whole place.. kitchen was extremely good and clean, lounge area great... a couple of observations.. perhaps the large dog should not be around the dinning room. And I applaud for banning smoking.. however you should also ban "vaping". Over all, 10 out of 10. I am going to stay in a YHA in Byron bay next week as a result of my pleasant stay in Newcastle.
100%
James R 22/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

94%
customer rating, based on 1986 reviews
Cleanliness
91%
Condition of facilities
91%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
95%
Value for Money
95%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL