Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2655 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great location close to beach and tram. Loved the communal area, it has retained the gentleman's club feel very well but obviously no bar service!! Huge kitchen. Bed was adequate and rooms clean. Would definitely stay here again.
82%
Patricia W 09/12/2019
Very nice atmosphere, big community area and a big great kitchen with a lot of facilities
90%
Katharina G 08/12/2019
Great place a lot of history right in the centre of town 👍
85%
Kerrie P 08/12/2019
Very friendly helpful staff. Lovely lounge with squashy sofas. Well equipped kitchen. Nice and close to the beach and places to eat. All very good
100%
Joy P 02/12/2019
I liked that there are several different common spaces to use downstairs. So it's possible to be in the main socialising space - big lounge area - if you want to connect with others, or to have a quiet space to yourself, out of the main lounge area, if you want to concentrate on your own agenda.
78%
Merrall G 01/12/2019
This is the third year of staying here whilst volunteering for Supercars and I feel it is the best place in Newcastle to stay for all volunteers. Each year I notice that repairs and maintenance is done to keep amenities in tip-top condition.
100%
David R 25/11/2019
Such a beautiful old building, charming. I stayed here with my children and felt safe and welcome. Great atmosphere but not rowdy and not drunken idiots (we stayed on a Saturday night). Incredible location for beach. Clean amenities. Loved the piano and my youngest bashed out some tunes. Lots of comfortable places to hang out. Great value for money considering the location.
100%
Sam M 17/11/2019
Bed smelled like vomit
80%
Aldo G 16/11/2019
This is one of the best hostels I've ever been in. The entire house (kitchen, bathroom, living room...) is cleaned up every single day, it is just a pleasure to use all these facilities. The neighborhood is quiet and the (really tiny) distance to the beach gives you this wanting to go there every day again.
100%
Gauthier P 15/11/2019
Nice,friendly staff, great location!
100%
Magdalena J 14/11/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
84%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
89%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL