Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

86%
Newcastle, NSW

Opposite Newcastle Beach, and right in the centre of town, this friendly YHA is perfect for backpackers looking for affordable accommodation.

$33
Check availability
  • Newcastle Beach YHA Backpackers Hostel
  • Newcastle Beach YHA 4 share male
  • Newcastle Beach YHA Backpackers Hostel - Lounge
  • Newcastle Beach YHA Backpackers Hostel - Internet
  • Newcastle Beach YHA Backpackers Hostel - Multi-Share Dorm Room
  • Newcastle Beach YHA Backpackers Hostel - Aerial
  • Newcastle Beach YHA Backpackers Hostel - Double Room
  • Newcastle Mall
  • Newcastle Queens Wharf
  • Newcastle Beach YHA 4 share female
Right now in Newcastle...
05:41 AM
|
11°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1213 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Decent facilities, good location. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.
    92%
    Austin H May 2015
    Great location, easy walk to town, beach, bogey hole etc...... Amazing common room
    88%
    Thomas P April 2015
    Great base to see Newcastle
    88%
    Alice V April 2015
    The hostel is very dirty (rooms, kitchen, bathrooms, ...) and the walls are paper thin, so you will hear absolutely everything that goes on in other rooms or the hallways. Next to my bed I found leftovers of some fruit that the previous guests had eaten, so rooms are definitely not cleaned or checked after guests check out. There are way too few bathrooms, and the ones that they do have are located in strange places. Some members of staff seem more interested in flirting with some of the guests than actually doing their job. There is no free wifi, only payable "premium access" which actually only works in a tiny section of the building. This is the most expensive hostel we stayed at in Australia and for the amount we paid I expected at least to get clean bedsheets, but alas.
    52%
    Winne B April 2015
    Amazing everything
    100%
    Emily T April 2015
    Stayed 2 nights Great Staff and Manager fantastic location.
    88%
    Christopher Lloyd M April 2015
    Room was smelly, so were the bathrooms. Otherwise OK.
    80%
    Nicholas L April 2015
    Loved the quaint looking place with its awesome common room. The common room is cozy and comfortable. The room wasn't perfect but it was definitely value for money. Best of all was the location and facilities provided. This would be my first choice the next time I'm in Newcastle!
    90%
    Jaya Kumar K April 2015
    Great location, clean and comfortable.
    80%
    Peter L April 2015
    Great hostel can't find any faults with the place to be honest...
    92%
    Triona M April 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    1213 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    76%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & security
    87%
    Value for money
    83%