Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (2024 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Friendly Family atmosphere and not noisy!
92%
Barbara P 13/01/2018
Great location just a short walk from the beach, parking outside the hostel very handy! Try the Grand Hotel for a good pub meal.
82%
Kathryn P 11/01/2018
A fantastic place and so central to the very best parts of Newcastle. It was an enjoyable and relaxing stay for our family. Thank you!
100%
Fiona 10/01/2018
Loved the hostel, it’s beautiful. Would like to know what the building was originally used for?
100%
Margaret M 09/01/2018
Super nice place and great hostel! Nice Beach, supermarket, seawater pools, everything only 2 minutes away. greyhound bus station 5 minutes walk. The staff are extremely nice and helpful, I felt in the hostel directly like home. It was very relaxed 3 days for me with 100% holiday feeling :) Absolutely recommended!
95%
Nicole M 08/01/2018
I liked that there were recycle bins and waterfountain. The location was great and there was quick service by staff with explanation of the area. The free surfbodyboard rental (though I did not make use of it) was a great touch.
95%
Krisna B 04/01/2018
Perfect hostel, we love to stay there.
88%
Cornelia V 02/01/2018
Bikes were advertised as free hire but the young guy at the counter charges $10 for half a day. Misleading advertising.
80%
Luong N 25/12/2017
It's very affordable and well located. Charming building. Staff are consistently good - particularly Damien.
78%
Ella L 25/12/2017
Really cool hostel with a nice, clean and safe atmosphere, would recommend it to backpackers and families! Great location and staff!
98%
Rena M 24/12/2017

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
84%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
98%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
92%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL