Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

  • Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1256 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I went to the beach outside YHA to see the sunrise! It is very convenient to go to the beach!
    90%
    Jingning Z September 2015
    Staff were fabulous. Loved the fireplaces and big common areas. Room was comfortable.
    95%
    Jean S September 2015
    Fantastic location, stones throw from the beach and free bus shuttle around the cbd. Stayed in a twin room. It wasn't flash as expected by the price but I do expect them to have a curtain that spans the length on the window. The curtain when drawn still left 1/3 of the window completely uncovered meaning the room was lit up with moonlight and then sunlight as soon as sunrise. A toilet seat in the shared toilet block upstairs was broken. The showers were good. Great surf close by and free board hire from the yha.
    68%
    Mark d August 2015
    Overall it was a good stay with very nice and helpful staff. The only negative point to mention: in our 6 share bedroom there were only two power outlets (too less for 6 people in my opinion).
    92%
    Magdalena J August 2015
    Short stay,overnight, but great location for a great surfing beach.
    88%
    Neil James S August 2015
    The location is perfect. The bedroom and bathroom were clean ! The staff was friendly.
    85%
    Florence B August 2015
    Would stay here again, felt safe, was quiet, good lockers, comfy beds! However 'clean' sheets were covered in hair. Disgusting! Reasoning for this was the dryer was broken - go to a laundromat then and get them clean!!!!
    78%
    Rhiannon M August 2015
    Very pleasant, welcoming atmosphere. All our expectations were meet as details need to be changed at the last minute & staff were very happy to oblige. One simple problem that bother us were the creaks in the stair case which could be easily fix with a few nails in each step.
    100%
    Donna P July 2015
    The hostel is probably the best option in Newcastle for backpackers. Lets put something straight right away - the staff at reception is very friendly and helpful, the other service staff members that also seem to stay at the hostel as guests/ backpackers were what disturbed the atmosphere for me (and I know of other guests who felt the same way). They behaved as if they own the place and could not be bothered to even return a simple "hello". The hostel's slightly rough appearance makes up some of its charme and suits Newcastle somehow. Its still a decent place to stay and Newcastle is always well worth a visit!
    62%
    Annie G July 2015
    In an amazing location right by the beach and hunter street. it was also close to the museum and the marina (if you like fresh fish here's the place to go!). The people staying there were very friendly and made my move to Australia a lot more fun!
    98%
    Nicole L July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    1256 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    79%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & security
    86%
    Value for money
    83%