COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2946 guests have reviewed this hostel)
How lovely to have a wine and cheese evening on the Wednesday of our stay. We fully expected just one glass of wine each and a cracker with cheese, but there was plenty and it was free. A chance to sit and chat with other people staying at the hostel. A perfect position right by the beach. We could see the sea from our room. The staff were very friendly. Lovely that you provided towels.
95%
Philippa S 25/02/2021
Good place with lovely people ☺️ very friendly and helpful! I'll be back soon ❤️
100%
Sezgun S 25/02/2021
Great experience, would come back
95%
Arthur G 25/02/2021
Terrific place ! Really nice roomy building with high ceilings, lots of space - great common area, snug single room with a fan and flat screen TV. I honestly would NOT expect a TV in the room in a hostel, maybe its been awhile since my backpacking days ! The one staff member I met in my flying visit was very friendly, helpful, and prompt. Showers and bathrooms were fine, so was the kitchenette I used. Quiet ... buuut ... COVID :o( I would absolutely stay here again or recommend it to anyone.
98%
John O 23/02/2021
Fabulous location within a walk from Newcastle Beach and the wonderful Newcastle Ocean Baths (one of my favourite places in the world). I was warmly welcomed on check-in, given sheets and a pillowcase for my bed and sold a lock for my locker for $5. The room was nice and dark at night, enabling a good sleep, although some noisy other tenants in the garden below my window kept me awake for a while one night -- young people having fun (no big deal and to be expected). I will stay there again.
100%
Carolyn P 22/02/2021
Our sleep last night was interrupted by a grinding type noise which continued all night
78%
Allan G 21/02/2021
2nd time staying. Enjoyed both times. Very convenient location.
80%
Margaret G 18/02/2021
I loved this hostel. Everyone is super friendly and you can't beat the location. My few days turned into a month and a half. I'll most likely be back in the future 😊
100%
Amanda P 16/02/2021
Very nice manager Lovely old building Great location
100%
Rowan S 14/02/2021
Loved it
100%
Daniel M 10/02/2021

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
95%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL