Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1751 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very nice hostel! Would recommend it to everyone :)
    100%
    Sussana T February 2017
    Main room has the air of an old colonial club - most excellent! There are minimal notices telling you how to behave, so do the staff a favour and clean up after yourself, it's not hard and that way the cost stays low and we can all enjoy our stay. Great hostel.
    95%
    Chris F February 2017
    Fantastic facilities and great atmosphere. LOVED the chesterfield lounge and the kitchen is HUGE! Great place, good price, fabulous location.
    88%
    Milo K February 2017
    I love the big lockers in the room she which also have private power points in them. Lots of hooks too. Mattresses a big too soft for my liking.
    98%
    Kathryn H February 2017
    Staff is helpful and friendly, location is excellent, bed comfortable
    100%
    Maureen M February 2017
    Great hostel, well kept. Only gripe was there is no aircon and in some rooms, no fans, so we had to leave doors open which affects security and let's mozzies in.
    92%
    Jade H February 2017
    Just stayed for one night. The rooms and also the public areas are very spacious and clean. There are lockers in the rooms with a socket in it but there is no aircon in the rooms. IMO a bit too pricey.
    92%
    Lukas February 2017
    This is a very nice hostel. The location is central. 5 minutes from walking to the bus station. The Beach is also only a 7 minute walk. It is a quiet town but it is nice for take a rest.
    98%
    Bianca L February 2017
    Very clean and great location. Staff are very friendly and overall a great atmosphere.
    100%
    Anne Gabrielle S February 2017
    great location, almost on the beach. Room was quite large as a 4 share dorm. Staff were helpful and friendly. The space was clean and well cared for, all in all it was quite q reasonable place to spend a few days close to the beach at a reasonable price with reasonable people.
    90%
    Chris j February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    1751 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    92%
    Value for Money
    86%