Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1540 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very friendly guy at the reception! Nice atmosphere!
    88%
    Dominik F August 2016
    The problem was that it's beint painted fresh. It will only be a temporary inconvenience. For the rest it's a good YHA. If something may be rated up, it's the place where the kitchen is. Eating with no windows is not very nice. The welcoming was great.
    90%
    Francoise L August 2016
    The hostel is well located near the train station and buses. It is a good base to explore the region- you can get to Nelson Bay, Fingal and Shoal Bay from here by bus as well as other places. Lots of good restaurants, pubs and cafes nearby.
    90%
    Barbara M August 2016
    Beautiful accommodation and friendly staff made my trip wonderful. I also love the quiet and clean town - Newcastle - a good place to see the sunrise and to hear sounds from the near ocean.
    92%
    I-Ling C August 2016
    Nice and relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff and guests.
    92%
    Jeff M August 2016
    Amazing location and staff!
    100%
    Grace F August 2016
    When the renovations are complete it will be great :)
    82%
    Robyn August 2016
    Everything was great. Room smelled a bit too much like fresh paint. Otherwise it was in a good location and staff were great. I would go back.
    85%
    judi a August 2016
    Third stay as a solo traveler in Winter, love the fireplace in the evening. Value for money, clean, safe, secure.
    98%
    Dawn K August 2016
    Another great stay. Renovations were in progress but didn't impact my stay at all - it's assuring to see YHA investing in maintaining it's properties.
    98%
    Dawn K August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    1540 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & Security
    91%
    Value for Money
    88%