Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1524 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Whilst under going refurbishment still maintained quiet tranquillity.
    88%
    Rebecca P July 2016
    I liked my stay at Newcastle YHA. There were only some issues I had: The stairs to the first level always creaked and made loud noises. The kitchen was very large, as well as the common room. There was free Wi-Fi and it was only a short walk to the beach.
    75%
    Alex S July 2016
    Great experience, super friends staff member. Can't wait to be back.
    85%
    Shane L July 2016
    A great place to stay. I have stayed there several times. The location is very near to good beaches and shopping.
    88%
    Janette C July 2016
    This is the only building that has improved in this part of Newcastle which once housed a majestic hospital and railway line with smart Victorian and Art Deco buildings overlooking the ocean. Clean, and brilliantly old fashioned leather lounges, open fire and heavenly stairwell, through satisfaction and style, remind me of what might have been for the city that was Newcastle.
    98%
    Rawling A July 2016
    It's lovely and clean and so close to the beach. Love the gas wood fire heater downstairs. The free wifi was really slow and quite useless.
    85%
    K H July 2016
    The best hostel we've stayed in so far, a lot better than many of the hostels found in Sydney and a lot more worth the money. Wifi is free and very good.
    100%
    Emily W July 2016
    Building work going on for the next 2 months. Woken up at 7:30am from drilling and hammers by workmen that continued for next two hours on the other side of the wall we were sleeping beside. Hostel would have been really good if it was not for all the constant work going on.
    70%
    J July 2016
    Great location in a city worth visiting.
    92%
    Christine L July 2016
    Magic old building. Amazing for free spirit and family. Really relax. 3 day jump in the past, too short time in thi fast world. Necessary a stop in this building for all traveller in the east cost
    100%
    John C June 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    1524 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    85%