COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (3003 guests have reviewed this hostel)
A very old school/classy vibe with great staff and the location, maybe 200 meters away from the beach how can you lose?
100%
Jay Z 19/06/2021
Newcastle YHA great place to stay, wonderful facilities suit just about everyone! So close to Beaches , nice scenic walks , easy trip to City. All good! Be back again.....sooooooon
95%
Mark M 18/06/2021
The staff go above and beyond to help me with every little thing, even giving me a pack of tampons! The common room is so beautiful and I feel like I'm in a castle, it's so easy to chat to everyone there, I felt really safe and welcomed. It was really warm, as I was visiting in winter!
98%
Suzannah Z 10/06/2021
Location is very good. Also staying on Saturday and Sunday meant that I could park my car right outside the Hostel for 2 days without having to pay parking fees
90%
Allan G 02/06/2021
I loved this hostel & hope to come back soon. Such a great location & everyone was really friendly- staff & guests alike. Close to the light rail too!
98%
Noni B 31/05/2021
Very welcoming and warm homely atmosphere. Damien is a legend! Thanks
100%
Itai A 31/05/2021
Heritage with growing value.
88%
Lakshmanaswamy K 29/05/2021
Beautiful old building located in a spectacular part of Newcastle - so close to beaches and restaurants. The biggest letdown was the smell that pervaded throughout the entire building - we could not work out what it was but it was unpleasant. The bedroom was reasonably clean but needs some updating - the mattress was a thin foam thing, the fan which was quite rusty and grotty. Doona cover cleanliness was a bit suspect. The bathroom was ok - kitchen was pretty good as was the communal lounge.
68%
Alison C 27/05/2021
absolutely loved it. highly recommend
100%
Anna S 27/05/2021
Damien, the manager, allowed me to check in way early which really helped me since I’ve been travelling overnight. The place itself needs to be updated as it is, but it is clean. It was a bit noisy with kids causing a bit of a ruckus, but at least they didn’t carry on forever so it was bearable. I would definitely recommend to families with children, budget travellers and solo backpackers.
85%
Angelina T 26/05/2021

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
98%
Overall atmosphere
89%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
92%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

YHA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia. We acknowledge and pay our respects to Elders past, present, emerging and the extended Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island community.