Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1467 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Perfect location facilities are clean and the common areas for socialising are great, I would recommend Yha for any traveller, many social dinner nights in the week are available for guests
    100%
    Miguel E May 2016
    Really friendly staff on hand to answer any questions especially about the local area. The hostel is in a beautiful old building with the common room set in the old ballroom which only added to its brilliant original character!!
    95%
    Lorna M May 2016
    Very nice Hostel. More experience than for Exemple in Cairns, but still good value. Perfect Location. Close to beach, esplanade and streets with Coffes and Bars
    92%
    Carolin May 2016
    Had a great stay! The rooms are very spacious and bright and all the facilities made my stay very relaxed. I loved the huge lounge area with the sofas and the record player in the laundry room. I also asked reception to keep my laptop safe which they did each night I stayed. Great service! And the location is awesome. Great hostel and great town!
    95%
    Holly S May 2016
    Newcastle beach yha has been one of my favorites in Australia! The location is perfect and if you get lucky, the sounds of the ocean will rock you to sleep from your room. It's very spacious and insanely relaxing. You'll enjoy you're time here!
    100%
    Sarah C April 2016
    Very good in everything.
    100%
    Fabrizio N April 2016
    Just about perfect
    92%
    Paul H April 2016
    Great location and a beautiful building - the staff are always helpful. I've stayed several times and will stay again.Pleasant surprise to find free WiFi this time. Some of the pans in the kitchen are starting to look a bit tired - maybe time to replace them? Overall: highly recommended.
    95%
    ROGER H April 2016
    Wonderful hostel, has everything you need. Large common area and the kitchen was the cleanest i have seen so far on our trip staying in hostels. Really enjoyed our stay in newcastle, beautiful city by the beach with plenty of coastal walks and free activities. Would recommend staying here.
    98%
    stina April 2016
    The hostel is excellent and in a great position in Newcastle close to beaches, shops and transport.
    80%
    paul r April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    1467 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    81%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & security
    85%
    Value for money
    84%