Search YHA

Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1484 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This YHA is very cosy! The location near the beach makes it a perfect hostel. The staff is very friendly and everything is clean. Also they have nice evening activities to connect with other travelers. Loved my stay, thank you!
    95%
    Dilemin Y May 2016
    This hostel in a heritage building is a place worth seeing for itself. Loved the fake-open-fire gas heater at night.
    82%
    Merrall G May 2016
    Recommended A+
    100%
    Miguel E May 2016
    Great facilities and only 2 minutes to the local beach.
    92%
    Ronan G May 2016
    Great location, bit of noise outside, thin walls, big rooms, just needs a cleaner look.
    70%
    Craig W May 2016
    The staff were amazing and so accommodating!
    92%
    harriet R May 2016
    Perfect location facilities are clean and the common areas for socialising are great, I would recommend Yha for any traveller, many social dinner nights in the week are available for guests
    100%
    Miguel E May 2016
    Really friendly staff on hand to answer any questions especially about the local area. The hostel is in a beautiful old building with the common room set in the old ballroom which only added to its brilliant original character!!
    95%
    Lorna M May 2016
    Very nice Hostel. More experience than for Exemple in Cairns, but still good value. Perfect Location. Close to beach, esplanade and streets with Coffes and Bars
    92%
    Carolin May 2016
    Had a great stay! The rooms are very spacious and bright and all the facilities made my stay very relaxed. I loved the huge lounge area with the sofas and the record player in the laundry room. I also asked reception to keep my laptop safe which they did each night I stayed. Great service! And the location is awesome. Great hostel and great town!
    95%
    Holly S May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    1484 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    79%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & security
    84%
    Value for money
    81%