Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2513 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Lovely stay
85%
Louise W 17/06/2019
Really good hostel I loved it.
100%
Illy H 16/06/2019
The hostel is really clean and tidy. Ambiance is great. Very nice place to stay. And i was super impressed by the cleanliness of hostel. Seemed people stayed there also co-operated to maintain that way.
98%
Shwetha D 16/06/2019
Rooms were cold and need heaters. A window in our room was broken so it was super cold. Also a sandwich toaster would be nice in the kitchen.
80%
Jessica F 14/06/2019
I think it was my third stay at this hostel, twice in the same room. I didn't try the WiFi sp can't comment on the speed. I think the building is feeling its age and I really don't know about its eco-friendliness.
98%
Graeme A 03/06/2019
Fab location close to the beach and centre. The hostel is nice and has character. Staff were really lovely and very helpful!
100%
Abbey M 03/06/2019
It was a nice experience to stay in this hostel. The German receptionist was super friendly! The facilities are kept clean and well maintained. Only negative was the quality of the mattress, everything else was good! I
100%
Pamela D 02/06/2019
Very much, felt at home and correct advice to the best transport, very important! Nice room mates. Very comfy chairs in lounge gas log fires created warm atmosphere. Ideally close to both Harbour beach and ocean beach on this narrow stretch of land. The light rail stop was very near and good eating all around.
98%
Patricia M 01/06/2019
It was a good experience like three years ago when I was here for the first time. The atmosphere is very relaxing.
90%
Branislav D 30/05/2019
One of the best YHA’s in Australia that I stayed in. An old building with spacious rooms, clean bathroom and kitchen and great location.
95%
Susanna C 28/05/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

94%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
92%
Efficiency of service
96%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
94%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
93%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL