Newcastle Beach YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Newcastle Beach YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2568 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I’d booked a female only dorm, only to have a guy move in on my last morning, before check out time. Super awkward and culturally insecure to be in a room with a bloke when I wasn’t in full day clothes. Chilli the Red Kelpie is the main reason this place didn’t get a lower score from me.
65%
Kelly C 20/08/2019
Good location. Easy going.
72%
David G 20/08/2019
Only short term so cant say much. It was great, just a little to chilly everywhere
90%
Samira B 16/08/2019
Stayed in a private room with my son and staff and fellow travellers were very welcoming. Hostel was clean and well equipped...definitely recommended.
80%
Laura C 16/08/2019
As always, it was a wonderful place to stay.
100%
Daniel T 10/08/2019
This is a wonderful hostel. I have been staying at the Newcastle Beach for some 10 years or more and hope to do so for another 10. It is a great place to be for a few days. The hostel is very conveniently located to public transport as well as excellent beaches and seaside walks. The facilities in the hostel are excellent and well maintained under supervision of its long-term resident manager Damien.
100%
Peter M 01/08/2019
Lovely common room, big yet cosy. Kitchen area is very good. Bathrooms ok but dated. Fantastic location near beach, tramway and small grocery store.
58%
Margaret N 31/07/2019
Absolutely a great place to stay
100%
Michael P 29/07/2019
Couldn’t really fault it .. as my first experience for a long while , I was very impressed.
100%
Stuart R 25/07/2019
Une seule nuit dans cette auberge, très propre, très calme et très belle. Douches très fonctionnelles. Personnel extrêmement gentil.
100%
Anna M 25/07/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
85%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
84%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

Start Now