Sydney Glebe Point YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Glebe Point YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (2028 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Glebe was the perfect location, with a quick 10-15 minute bus ride to central! Love the proximity to the bus stop
85%
Annabelle M 11/10/2018
My stay was average. Staff were friendly but the kitchen needs to be cleaned more regularly as it is almost always a mess. Most guests don’t take responsibility for the mess they make and leave dirty dishes in the sink or don’t put dishes away after cleaning, which means you have to clean them yourself in order to use them. Kitchen was also not large enough to support the amount of guests. I cooked once in my entire stay as the stoves are always in use in the evening.
75%
David T 11/10/2018
I had a negative experience this time. I had booked 4 female share room but was given 5-bed share upstairs because the 4-bed female share rooms on the ground floor were occupied with 2 related females each. I found both too messy with stuff spread all over the bunk beds and floor, to move in with my luggage. Unfortunately, I had been advised by my GP to avoid climbing stairs because of an injury. I had sinuses, bronchitis + joints pain and I shared the 5-bed cold room with an alcoholic with flu
68%
Mona H 09/10/2018
I think we are a little old for this youth hostel life! The hostel was so noisy and it kept us awake for most of the night. Lots of screaming customers and doors banging. It was clean and the public areas were kept clean at all times especially the bathrooms and toilets. Very important. There are no doors between the outside reception and the downstairs rooms. Maybe this would reduce the noise at night? Remember to take your toiletries back to your room as if left they will disappear.
68%
Susan L 08/10/2018
Generally this is my favourite hostel in Sydney because of the atmosphere and location, however the noise level on my last stay was beyond expectations, very late into early morning, outside in the laneway, and inside the hostel, which meant a very disrupted night's sleep.
90%
Lisa R 08/10/2018
Great supply of fridges and great free BBQ on the rooftop.
62%
Lisa H 08/10/2018
Awesome hostel, good facility.. travel tip: use 431 bus to go to city, Broadway mall, glebe.. and also use light rail only 7 mins away to get to central as soon as you can.
98%
Kushal U 07/10/2018
At checkin staff were so professional and at checkout too where Ethan promptly confirmed return of my access card which is appreciated
100%
Christine D 04/10/2018
A problem with the booking meant that a room booked for four people didn’t work. We were given the key to a shared room with four beds and only one left. Then moved to a three bed room we had to squeeze into. The rooms and shared bathrooms are getting old and tired.
78%
Belinda M 21/09/2018
Great location. Easy to get to the city via public transport with a bus straight across the road and the light rail within walking distance. Also the Tramsheds is a great place to go with friends or family with awesome eateries and atmosphere.
78%
Cecilia J 17/09/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
75%
Condition of facilities
78%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
88%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL