Search YHA

Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1687 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I stayed only two or three time on this hostel, and met some incredible girls... I mean incredible people! The room was good (and still good btw) with a cink and a big mirror (perfect for the boy like me with long and curly hair !). what else ? oh the carpet on the room, it's so soft and clean, i'm serious. if you don't trust me go check now ! th BBQ the friday night is just amazing ! this hostel is the best just go ;) Hakuna matata
    90%
    Gaetan L September 2016
    I adore the Glebe Point Road YHA. It's my favourite place to stay whenever I'm visiting USyd. The roof space is a divine spot to hang out, check e-mails, Skype friends, etc. Staff are friendly and approachable, and the whole place is clean. Nice neighborhood, and you can open the windows in your room for a nice spring breeze at night.
    95%
    Teresa N September 2016
    The room and facilities were fine, clean and basic which was what we expected. What we didn't expect was the person walking into our room while we were in bed at about 8 in the morning saying "sorry, they must have given me the wrong key" To bad if we weren't in the room, he could have helped himself to our belongings!
    82%
    Emma S September 2016
    Staff members Joe, Sophie and Nat are all totally rad! The hostel has a great community vibe - everyone looks out for each other, are super friendly and fun!
    100%
    Monique September 2016
    To be honest I have not used a hostel for ten years since I was in my 30s so don't really know how Glebe YHA compares to others operating currently. I stayed with my daughter in a twin share room. I had a bad nights sleep in part due to being over buzzed at our exhibition opening and partly due to poor condition of foam mattress that was a bit hard and had a slope. Found the pipes really loud too when others had late showers. On the positive we enjoyed our game of pool and the staff were friendly and welcoming to my child even though hostels normally are full of 20 something backpackers. Shame the shared spaces are a bit small, but must admit we did not check out rooftop which may make up for it. Not bad for location and budget for area. Glad of recycling facilities and good prompts towards customers pulling weight in keeping kitchen clean.
    80%
    Alison I September 2016
    Really nice location and staff, and bird calls - bird life :)
    92%
    Adrian R September 2016
    Staff was great as well as the cleanliness however the 'cliquey' atmosphere that some guests brought ruined it for me
    75%
    James C September 2016
    Amazing hostel with a professional staff and tons of interesting people. It's a bit more expensive than so other hostels, but worth it.
    98%
    Jason M September 2016
    lovely roomates!
    90%
    Yuxi S September 2016
    Because I travel so much (International volunteer) I want somewhere that is like a homebase to me, and Glebe Point hostel is that place. The staff are very friendly, the location is great. I can be walking along the harbour foreshore and parks in 10 minutes. There are great restaurants and cafes nearby. Darling Harbour 20 minute walk
    92%
    Michael S August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    1687 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    83%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    93%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    86%