Search YHA

Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1440 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We stayed for over 2 weeks and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and keen to make us feel welcome. The the room was great, bathroom was clean and the kitchen was good too. Would definitely recommend.
    Jen C November 2015
    Ostello pulito, raccolto.. Possibilità di aderire ad eventi,gite organizzate Unico grosso inconveniente è la distanza rispetto alla città. Per girare a piedi è una luuuunga passeggiata (anche se piacevole)
    letizia v November 2015
    The hostel is in a good area for restaurants and for walking and catching the bus into the city. The building is well designed but is very tired and uncared for. Daily cleaning seems thorough but the kitchen gets crowded and messy and the few pans desperately need replacing. There is insufficient freezer, fridge and shelf space.
    John M November 2015
    As a regular, it's great having had my own room with beds already made on arrival. Great value for money! Old style place but very clean and tidy, public transport at the door, close to pubs and eating places down the street. A short 10 min trip to Central is very easy to handle. Highly recommend your place any time for all ages..... Thanks staff for allowing me to enjoy your great haven while I have been working in Sydney from country NSW 3 nights per week.. Sorry that for now my work days have reduced so no need for regular accommodation. Thank you one and all! A particular thanks to Eddie, and Craig for your great hospitality allowing me to stay these past months...much appreciated - till my next stint!! Cheers PP
    Piero P November 2015
    Brilliant kitchen. Great location. I love the Glebe area. But noise travels very well at this hostel , especialy with windows open in this warm early summer weather. I would stay again only in cooler weather.
    Shona H November 2015
    I really love this hostel and its location! I would recommend everyone to stay here. Staff is very helpfull and friendly and is able to recommend you good spots in the area. Glebe is not in the LP, but it is such a great area with great breakfast and diner spots. Furthermore just 15-20 minutes walk to darling harbour passig by the fish market! Keep up the good work guysn
    Angela November 2015
    The only YHA that offers a 3 bed dorm. I personally prefer this over a 4 bed and more. love the location close to a beautiful park and the frequency of buses taking to Central station is very good as well. my second time.
    Ali K November 2015
    Very good hostel, attractive suburb, great city, great country (but I'm biased, because I live in Australia)! But really, why would you waste money on a hotel when you can stay in YHA Glebe?
    John H November 2015
    Thanks for the good hospitality :-)
    Grace W November 2015
    Room was clean. Staff was friendly. I liked the ping pong table. It was rather quiet.
    Katharina Maria Z November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1440 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money