Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1845 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel is in a nice enough area, kind of out of the way, but does have lots of nice restaurants near by. Located right on a bus route. 5 share female room had direct auditory access to the parties on the roof. At times it was quite loud.
    82%
    C G June 2017
    I booked a private room, bed sheets were unclean, lots of hair in the bed when I pulled the top sheet back. Bathrooms were clean but hallways weren't, the same rubbish was noted three days in a row despite seeing the cleaners present, not actually cleaning though. The building is falling apart, I barely slept with creaking and slamming doors all night. A little CRC in the hinges wouldn't go astray. Constant stomping noises as people walked around. The other guests were generally respectful but the lack of soundproofing in the rooms was disappointing. Every common area of the hostel felt very segregated except the rooftop so there wasn't a good atmosphere for interaction with others. Keycard access made the rooms feel quite secure and safe. Bit expensive and out of the way although public transport does stop right at the front so easy to get there. I don't recommend staying here if you value your sleep.
    60%
    Sarah d June 2017
    I went by Light Rail, which was OK. The bus is easier though.
    73%
    Pamela I June 2017
    Awesome place! Met friends for life. So chilled. Thank you😘
    96%
    Charlotte M June 2017
    Two weeks stay in a share male room. Clean and neat in public area. Basically quite after 10pm. You'll get free barbecue on Friday if 1 week stay is booked.
    98%
    Huan Z May 2017
    Hostel has got a good location and nearby parking is possible.
    87%
    Jozef P April 2017
    The staff were friendly and helpful and the hostel was good value for money for Perth. Some of the facilities could do with an upgrade!
    91%
    John B April 2017
    Staffs are are friendly and helpful.
    78%
    Jinna Y April 2017
    Single room was very good as was shower room.Older place,no sound insulation,mostly OK 11pm-7am.Some hostel users should bring their mothers to tidy up for them! Kitchen bins need replacing,wheelie bins with lids easily kept looking clean.
    82%
    Kevin Max W April 2017
    This hostel has lovely staff & in a wonderful (& still central location). Things are undergoing improvements as the building is older but everything works ok. I would personally recommend it over Railway YHA for its location.
    89%
    Angela P April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    82%
    customer rating, based on 1845 reviews
    Cleanliness
    74%
    Condition of facilities
    74%
    Efficiency of service
    79%
    Friendliness of staff
    82%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    77%
    Safety & Security
    85%
    Value for Money
    82%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!