Search YHA

Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1610 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Regularly stay here - It is convenient and comfortable
    98%
    Anthony D May 2016
    Beautiful suburb only one short bus ride to CBD, Central Station, etc. It has everything you need and it is a hostel whether you are simply making a pit stop on your backpacking vacation or whether you want to look for work on your working holiday visa. TV, cable, video games, kitchen, sink in room, and chillspot on roof. Give it a try and see for yourself.
    90%
    Jack W May 2016
    Sydney is not an easy city to find one's way around, so for one who had a rent-a-car, getting there was not easy. Once I found the street, I noticed that the numbers on one side of the street were in the 200s while across the street they were in the 500s, which made finding the site difficult. My bunk didn't have a pillow to start and it took several hours before one was out of the wash and available. Otherwise, things went well.
    75%
    Allan L May 2016
    Staff are always very helpful!
    80%
    Piero P May 2016
    It was friendly and it was a good location but the fridges were too full for food in compariason to how many guest there are.. not being managed. clean the fridges.
    78%
    Tanietta D May 2016
    I'm not sure if it's an aspect of all inner city hostels, but this one was no where near the quality and service of the country-based hostels, or even budget motels. Im a big fan of the YHA at the Hunter Valley, for example. The Glebe hostel seems to be largely focused on the young backpacker crowd. Hygiene is poor, rooms are small and smelly, and I had to clear the bedding off my bed from the last guy. Everything seems to have an extra layer of greese on it. Luckily the staff were nice and friendly.
    60%
    John Paul T May 2016
    Great location/lovely neighbourhood, excellent kitchen, very cheap, good facilities, but a bit noisy.
    80%
    Shona H May 2016
    As a regular I enjoy being greeted by the professional friendly staff.. We will particularly miss our Mr Ed! You are one of a kind Eddy! Take care of self and family and thanks for your attention to detail and friendly demeanour! We all benefit from it! Thank you! Keep up the good work Craig and team!
    95%
    Piero P May 2016
    Quiet friendly hostel away from central smog but still easy access to all.
    85%
    Katherine May 2016
    I arrived at the staff break time so had to wait a little while. My room mates were friendly and I thought the kitchen was cleaner and tidier than last time. They now have free tea and coffee again too. Also the three point electrical plugs beside the bed now has a portal for charger cords.the advice about the cooler bags in the fridge to keep them open is good.
    92%
    Katherine M April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    1610 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    88%