Sydney Glebe Point YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Glebe Point YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (1910 guests have reviewed this hostel)
They have done a lot of work upgrading the bathrooms, toilets and security system and it is a big improvement. What has remained the same is the staff are always helpful and most of the guests are friendly.
100%
Anthony D 07/12/2017
Liked the place. Clean room, male toilet a bit small and smelly, but that could be easily fixed. Public transport close by and cafes and restaurants in easy walking distance. I’d be happy to come back.
82%
Mike B 26/11/2017
It has a nice atmosphere but the kitchens need a proper clean every day with dishes cleaned and put away.
95%
Beryl J 25/11/2017
lt appears the permanent staff member is the female who col1ects/washes used linen and receptionists。The room was not cleaned up even a vacuum cleaner was placed on the corridor。Ⅰn room 311 the bin was not cleared for days。0n the 4th day a new bin with a Iid replaced the full open bin。 0n the fifth night the bin was gone。The door of the bathroom did not w○rk。The soIution。。it was left open and so was another dorm r○○m。Some guests did not clean up kitchen utencils after use。 With better management,the hostel can earn better reputation and more patronage。 B。M。Hsing Brisbane
78%
Bit Mo H 21/11/2017
The hostel is fantastically located in a wonderful part of Sydney. The rooftop area is really nice with great views over the city. The room had everything we needed for our stay.
88%
Claire A 20/11/2017
Only stayed one night but friendly atmosphere easy location
85%
Angelo G 16/11/2017
I had plans change and could not check in until 1130 and they are there until 230am. This was so great!
90%
Tanietta d 11/11/2017
location, location, location.
90%
Gary M 04/11/2017
Glebe YHA is apparently, a 'work in progress' - improvements being made. Upon arrival, initially, thought the choice of Glebe YHA was a mistake - the tiny foyer is not as welcoming as the expanse of Railway Square or Harbourside YHA; and the mere thought of only 3 "uni-sex" (male) toilets and 4 showers between 15 rooms (est. 60 guests) caused dread; the state of the kitchen left much to be desired; television was not functioning (due to a guest spilling fluids into the equipment - not fault of YHA) and the free wifi is so poor that it would be less frustrating if they simply advertised NO free wifi. However, the "uni-sex toilets" and showers were cleaned regularly - thus only found the toilet seats splashed with male urine a few times - and males behaved like gentlemen in the "uni-sex" bathroom; and the lack of free wifi was an opportunity to break the Netflix addiction. On the upside - Glebe Point YHA has a nice homey ambiance and the location is great - including really nice park at bottom of the hill - complete with billionaire yachts moored in the bay and view of Sydney Harbour bridge and Anzac bridge; new food court and IGA style supermarket in Tramsheads and tram stop are an easy stroll nearby; bus stop out the front and buses are regular; great cafes nearby - including Madam Frou Frou; nice rooftop area with views (and clothes lines); area is leafy, attractive and quiet at night; and you cannot complain about the price - especially the weekly special deal - great value for money.

Manager's response:
Hi Morgan,
Thank you for your feedback into your stay I am glad you enjoyed yourself and the awesome area that is Glebe.
In relation to your feedback we are aware of issues with the wifi and have our technical people working on it to get it up to speed (pun intended) and hopefully will all be rectified shortly.
I do hope we see you again soon.
Craig Tester
Manager
85%
Morgan M 02/11/2017
Great hostel,in a suburban area of Sydney,great city, good bus service into the city, a fab walking path to the great fish market ,and near shops and eateries,
92%
Joanna N 30/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

81%
customer rating, based on 1910 reviews
Cleanliness
73%
Condition of facilities
77%
Efficiency of service
83%
Friendliness of staff
84%
Location
87%
Overall atmosphere
79%
Safety & Security
84%
Value for Money
81%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL