Search YHA

Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Glebe Point YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1408 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It would be good if there were family rooms at this hostel, as it is actually a family friendly place: Gaming room, ping pong table, great location etc.
    edwina h October 2015
    I've been staying this venue a couple of days every other week sort of thing for the last 14 months or so. Generally speaking it is around the mark, and that's why I keep coming back. It's mostly it's location to where I am working though that's the main attraction. The ups then are: its location, staff generally (Eddie a buzz & the others pleasant in general), often get the room I request (when available), showers and toilets are generally clean although they could do with some attention later in the day as they get a bit messy (paper on the floor, etc), although they are quite run down on the ground floor (rotting doors, etc). I think it's pretty okay, although I only use it to sleep and shower, etc.
    Mike T September 2015
    Great value accommodation for Sydney and there is ready access to Central Station, the Airport and the CBD by bus at the door and the light rail a short walk away. Taxis cruise past frequently as well.
    Glen D September 2015
    Meet some really lovely people and the location is beautiful.The staff were all nice and friendly. Glebe is a really great location. Love it.
    Stephanie H September 2015
    Hostel and location is great...staff are friendly. Room was a little basic but clean & comfortable, and we were only there for one night for the footy finals so suited the purpose.
    Warren S September 2015
    super friendly staff, great rooms, I was in a five people room and there were never more than three in it. The free breakfast things and the Friday BBQ were also quite great.
    Franziska C September 2015
    Cockroach in bedroom No bedding for other half of twin Bathroom being renovated - might have liked to know that when i booked - if place had been full, it might have been trickier having 2 floors of guest sharing a bathroom
    Stuart C September 2015
    Incredibly noisy. Others in adjacent rooms disruptive until 0300. Sorry I didn't book at Railway YHA.
    Michael C September 2015
    The overall atmosphere is great, the staff friendly and accommodating. Made new friends, and would love to come back anytime!
    Prateek C September 2015
    The hostel showers/toilets and corridors are cleaned every morning at 7am and the kitchen every evening; the showers are hot and roomy and sufficient in number on each floor so you don't have to queue; the staff are very friendly and helpful; the beds are comfy and the lockers in dorms are big and deep; the kitchen is spacious and well stocked with pans and cutlery and has sufficient numbers of hobs and ovens. There is a games room and a tv lounge and a library. The area is well serviced with shops, cafes and other facilities and there is a frequent bus service stopping outside the hostel, giving quick and easy access to the city centre and harbours. Negatives... none!!
    John C September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1408 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money