Search YHA

Yamba YHA

  • Customer reviews of Yamba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (516 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This was the best hostel I stayed in here in Australia. The staff is so incredibly friendly and there are no little groups in the hostel, everyone is together and it's just one big family over there! Getting in contact with people is really easy and I just didn't want to leave. I'll definitely come back!
    Fleur B November 2015
    Location map needs improving we had difficulty finding the place. Good meal in the restaurant. In good surfing area so full of young people. Room clean and comfortable with large kitchen/eating area on top floor.
    Eileen W November 2015
    Great atmosphere, great and super-helpful staff, great organized activities and tours.
    Bojula T November 2015
    Great staff and one of the best YHA hostels I have been to. Even though stayed there only for 1 night - would recommend this hostel too anyone. Thanks :)
    Amorina C November 2015
    the hostel is in a good location and has good facilities, but long term residents and part time staff/backpackers take over kitchen and lounge room and leave belongings in hallways and generally treat hostel as their home at the expense of true travellers.
    william k October 2015
    The place was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was a minor challenge.
    Erin F October 2015
    To the owner, or the manager who was running the place. Congratulations on having an amazing venue and an absolutely awesome attitude towards this place. My partner and I had an ensuite room for 2 nights and ate downstairs for once each for dinner and breakfast and couldn't fault anything! (Even though boss man wasn't happy with the gristle in the steaks) and complimented me with a free beer, that's how you run a business!! we'll be back to Yamba, thank you so much Yamba YHA Backpackers!!
    Jozee W October 2015
    Wonderful staff and owners made this a very welcoming place to stay in. They are always trying to organise activities for us like shane's tour and beach walks which I enjoyed tremendously and survived(as shane would say). Facilities were also much more modern than I expected.
    Megan K October 2015
    The hostel is like a family, all The facilities work well, and I het you will linger tot linger tot The amazing atmosphere and all The things to do in Yamba.
    Anna N September 2015
    As a person in late 60's this was my first experience at staying in a hostel. Would recommend to others, the food, drinks and the friendly staff in the café.
    Shirley D September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    516 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money