Search YHA

Yamba YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Yamba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (640 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I urge you to stay here. This has been my favourite hostel I've stayed at since starting my travels almost 6 months ago. The staff cannot do enough for you and you feel so welcome from the moment you arrive. The activities on offer are great fun and good value too. Food at the cafe is delicious and the general vibe of the hostel is really chilled and friendly. Bedrooms and bathrooms are light and clean, just what you want from a hostel. Will be back soon Yamba!
    100%
    Candi B September 2016
    Favourite place in Australia so far!
    100%
    Zara G September 2016
    The staff were incredibly friendly and hospitable. Had great recommendations for things to do and were very helpful. Would definitely tell friends about it and will definitely be back
    95%
    Brendan M September 2016
    I walked in without expectations and was VERY PLEASED with all aspects of the Yamba YHA.
    82%
    Peter M August 2016
    Loved the family feel of the hostel! Shane was hilarious, and his tour was as legendary as it is rumored to be. His mom was also so sweet and picked me up from the Shelley Beach walk last-minute so I could make it to the tour on time! Pretty quiet in August, but I definitely want to come back and see Yamba in its peak.
    88%
    Phoebe S August 2016
    Good, clean, friendly hostel in excellent location. Good bar and restaurant attached.
    95%
    Clare M August 2016
    Lovely place, locations great and staff friendly but just no atmosphere in the place and struggled to get internet for emails and booking travel etc
    88%
    Ruth B August 2016
    Great hostel, clean rooms, huge security lockers and extra storage, great cafe downstairs with an amazing chef. The owners are wonderful. Take Shane's tour. He is a really friendly guy and will talk to you like a friend. He and his brother are going to open a brewery and I think it's going to be an amazing addition. The only improvement is to extend Wi-Fi throughout the entire building not just in the cafe.
    100%
    Tana V August 2016
    Excellent hostel. We booked the double room with the bathroom - very clean, comfortable and plenty of space. Staff here were fantastic and gave us some good tips for exploring Yamba and other sites across NSW.
    100%
    Eloise N July 2016
    We stayed two nights a week apart on way to Brisbane and then on way back to Sydney. We made sure we came back to Yamba as its by far one of the best highlights of our trip, one main reason-seeing the wild dolphins feed in the bay.The hostel has a great atmosphere and that's partly to do with the staff, on arrival they make you feel welcome, they are really friendly and ask you to join in the daily activities without being pushy. We stayed in a four dorm both times just the two of us the only ones in the room which was a added bonus and the beds were really comfortable. If we ever come back to oz we will definitely be back to Yamba and stay at the yha :)
    100%
    Sarah B July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    96%
    640 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    93%
    Condition of facilities
    91%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    99%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    96%
    Safety & Security
    96%
    Value for Money
    96%