Search YHA

Yamba YHA

  • Customer reviews of Yamba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (489 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very friendly and helpful staff, clean well-appointed rooms and a top location. What is not to like?!
    98%
    Jann M August 2015
    My friend and I had booked a private twin room and were very pleased with it. The manager was friendly and helpful and the dinner and breakfast at the cafe/bar were delicious and very reasonably priced. This is the second time I have stayed at Yamba Hostel and highly recommend it.
    98%
    Toni V August 2015
    Shane & Justin are absolute legends.
    100%
    Robert G August 2015
    Our room was excellent - clean, tidy and well ventilated. However, the kitchen area, tv room, garage and outside patio area all need a big clean up. Lots of rubbish, and broken stuff laying about. The Block cafe was very nice. Overall we had a good experience, but management need to get the communal areas cleaned now.
    82%
    Brian C August 2015
    Clean room but dirty carpet in hallways. Good party atmosphere.
    82%
    Gregor C August 2015
    It was awesome😆
    100%
    Zoe C August 2015
    No free WiFi, a bit filthy but great hostel
    75%
    Dirk R July 2015
    My husband and I had the most memorable time in yamba and it was mostly due to Shane and his staff at Yamba YHA. Hands down - Shane's tour and morning surfing lessons captured the best Yamba has to offer. His staff were always friendly and Derek even offered to drop us off at dolphin beach during his brief work break. The Block Cafe served a wicked flat white and the place was filled with happy go lucky travellers and the vibe was just always positive. Clean and spacious private room. Great common areas and ready to go hot water in the kitchen. Overall - would stay here again next time in Yamba and definitely send people as well.
    100%
    Angel L July 2015
    Loved the all-age acceptance here and the relaxed ambiance. The room was excellent, clean and well-appointed and as a solo older traveller I appreciated the use of a private, ensuite room. I have already recommended this hostel to younger friends with children but feel this hostel can cater to a variety of travelers. Top spot!
    100%
    Susan D July 2015
    Best place on the entire East coast! Such a chilled, happy surfer vibe.
    100%
    Hector H June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    94%
    489 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    91%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    99%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    96%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    92%