Search YHA

Yamba YHA

  • Customer reviews of Yamba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (562 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I absolutely fell in love with yamba and this hostel was one of the main reasons. Excellent staff, brilliant people, great atmosphere and a town that has a special kind of magic. Loved it!
    98%
    Fiona W February 2016
    Spend 5 nights here in the 4 Bed Dorm with private bathroom, Yamba is a really nice town to stay, only thing that is a bit unconvenient is that there is only an expensive "friendly grocer" and a small "Spar" next door and the coles supermarket is quite far away on the other side of the town. Going there by public transport is a bit expensive, but the hostel provided a free bus service there two times a week when we stayed there. Yamba YHA is a very tidy hostel with modern and clean facilities. Only the kitchen is a bit dirty in the morning, but in the evenings it was alright. They don't really have a free food shelf just a small box, so when you go there make sure to bring yourself the basics as they might not have oil, salt or pepper like in other YHA's. But apart from the kitchen it was one of the cleanest hostels I ever stayed at. By the way the cleaning staff is very nice aswell as they are asking you every day if everythings alright with your room or if you need some toilet paper for example. The Hostel is family-run and they are all awesome, they drove us to Maclean at 5 am to catch the premier bus on our last day. The building is rather small and the dorms are in the 1st floor only. If you are after some cheap drinks definetly try the rooftop bar, it is run by the hostel owners aswell and worth a visit too. I will really recommend stopping in Yamba to everyone considering to travel the eastcoast. We really enjoyed our stay and would have loved to stay longer. Thank you so much.
    88%
    Lisa N February 2016
    This Hostel was my Home for nearly 14 months in total and I think that speaks for itself really. What an amazing place, A little bit of Paradise as the saying goes, The Henwood Family who own the Hostel are some of the most kind, Genuine and Respectful people that you will meet, Who go out of there way to make sure that your stay is Comfortable and Enjoyable, I would recommend this hostel to Any one that is traveling the East Coast, You definitely wont be disappointed when you stay here, Also make sure that you go on " Shane's Tour ", Its a must do if you stay there !!
    100%
    Jamie R February 2016
    Sean and his tour are great, friendly staff, good surfing, cheap board hire, perfect for stay for surfing
    98%
    Yevgeniya A January 2016
    Non guests were walking around rooms apparently invited by other guests. Other people in my dorm used door stoppers so nothing stopped them from going into rooms and no member of staff checked wristbands. WiFi was broken and staff did not inform anyone, offer a discount or be seeking go fix.
    48%
    Michael F January 2016
    Very close to all amenities, awesome.
    80%
    David C January 2016
    My boyfriend and I stayed in a double room for 1 night, the room was really clean and a good size. The bed was super comfy and the shower was massive! The only thing is that the kitchen is a little cramped but apart from that this was 100% one of the best hostels we've stayed in! Staff were all super lovely as well and made a fuss of us both!
    98%
    Ella H January 2016
    Amazing hostel! Feels like a hotel!! Staff are really friendly and reliable service from them. If u going on east coast don't miss this place, I'm coming back for sure!
    92%
    Tobias E January 2016
    Yamba Backpackers is an outstanding hostel: it is run with super efficiency and everyone is quick to make you feel welcomed to the town. There are plenty of activities on offer - Shane's Tour is a must for those new to the town! It's super - 10/10!
    100%
    Alex B January 2016
    Fantastic hostel to stay in, very clean, modern facilities and friendly staff, right in the heart of the city. Be sure to check out Shane's tour including cliff jumping at the rock pools!
    100%
    Kit January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    562 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    93%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    90%