Yamba YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Yamba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (768 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Amazing experience in Yamba.! The people are so welcomming and fun to be around. The hostel have many activities and a cheap but good surflesson. Everybody should visit Yamba.
    91%
    Julie H May 2017
    YHA Yamba is one of the best hostels I've been so far. The rooms and everything are good, but what makes Yamba to an absolute must-visit are the dudes. Surfing with Shane-o and Shane was amazing (and the cost of $15 is a joke, they are worth 5 times that money). And you can't call yourself adventurer till the moment you survived Shane's Tour!!
    100%
    Tim N May 2017
    This was one of the best experiences of my life! This Hostel is the best because of nearly everything. Everything is clean, safe and you are only a 5 minutes walk away from the beaches. You have to do a surfing lesson with Shane, I highly recommend to do Shanes' Tour! It's all worth it. Thank you guys for this brilliant stay.
    100%
    Martin H May 2017
    One of the most friendly hostels we've ever stayed in. The staff are amazing, rooms clean and everything you could need. Yamba is amazing! If you're not sure whether to go... go.
    100%
    Fran M May 2017
    Lovely hostel ! Staff were on great form and would 100% recommend this to any other backpacker. Shanes tours a must. Beware of the piranhas !!!
    100%
    Josh A May 2017
    Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The hostel was really clean and comfortable. Unfortunately we were there when 3 of the staff were away for the week so none of the activities were on for our first 2 days. Despite this, Chris, known as the hostel mum, gave us a lift to do the Shelley beach walk and was very helpful in giving us directions and advice. On our last day, I had an accident during the surf lesson. I got a bit bashed up but everyone was so lovely. Shano gave me his shirt which I then covered in blood - sorry! Two of the staff came to collect me from the beach and then looked after me, giving me ice and checking up on me all the time. Yamba YHA is definitely one of the East coasts hidden gems and I would highly recommend staying here. Thank you so much to everyone for looking after us so well!
    98%
    Katy T May 2017
    Awesome Hostel. The owners are amazing, friendly and were so helpful. Probably the best experience I've had yet in any hostel.
    100%
    Darren L May 2017
    Tour with Shane, Surfing, 80's Party, ANZAC Day Remembering at sunset, feeling myself at home.
    98%
    Marita V May 2017
    Great staff, great well priced food and clean rooms.
    100%
    John N April 2017
    Extremely friendly owners and staff, good situated, reading lamps at the bed A pearl to be discovered!!
    100%
    Dagmar K April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    92%
    92%
    customer rating, based on 768 reviews
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    98%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & Security
    89%
    Value for Money
    88%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!