Search YHA

Yamba YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Yamba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (606 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great place,filled with wonderful people. Only unfortunately stayed for one night but got the chance to go out for some of their planned activities which were wonderful! Would have loved to stay longer. Very large and spacious rooms as well.
    100%
    Erin P May 2016
    If you love a small town vibe you are at risk of falling in love with Yamba. The hostel does a great job of organizing activities daily. I'll head back to Yamba for sure!
    92%
    Blake H May 2016
    This was the best stay I`ve ever had in a Hostel in Australia!!! :) It was just amazing! Only 4 nights...but I totally fell in love with Yamba! It is a wonderful Place on Earth! Thank you so much Shane and the whole Henwood Family to make my stay that awesome!!
    100%
    Marina M May 2016
    Fantastic family owned and operated hostel. I felt welcome from my first step into reception as I met Kellie and Melissa Henwood, these ladies professionalism is second to none and run a tight ship. Shane's surf lessons were excellent and during his extreme tour of Yamba his charisma and true passion for his job really shined through. Justin runs the night event's with precision and often joins in the fun, whether it's beer pong, poker night, camp fires, etc. Chrissy seems to blend into the background as a cleaner and night attendant, but she must work countless hours to keep the hostel so clean. Chrissy's husband Chook who is supposed to be retired seems to always have a hammer in his hand and a smile on his face while fixing and maintaining the property. Charlie the family Cockapoo was always friendly and after a while I found myself taking him for walks. I booked in for 1 day and stayed for a month! All the long term workers were great as well and Sadie even mended my shorts.
    100%
    Matthew C May 2016
    ein kleiner geheimtip, nette kleine Stadt -auch das Heimatmuseum ist zu empfehlen, das hostel strandnah -natürlich sollte man shane´s kurse und stadttour mitmachen da erlebt man sein" blaues wunder",wir waren sehr froh dort gewesen zu sein unbedingt empfehlenswert,mindestens 2 nächte einplanen und ruhig mal öffentlichen bus benutzen
    100%
    Henriette P May 2016
    Great atmosphere and a lovely staff. Thanks for the tour Shane.
    98%
    Nanna H May 2016
    Loved staying here. Friendly service and perfect area right in town. ....XxX
    98%
    Linda H April 2016
    Absolutely amazing hostel, great atmosphere and so lovely people - I felt like home here! They will all look after you :) Fun activities during both day and night! At night you can enjoy beer downstairs at the bar/restaurant and upstairs you can watch TV, play ping pong or sit outside at the rooftop - which as a pool! YHA is also located close to the beach - make sure you hire a surfboard and go surfing! But most important - do Shane's tour while at Yamba YHA :) They say that many people comes back after their first stay - so did I! So happy with my stay-so many great memories! Go to Yamba YHA and you will have a good time :)
    100%
    Louise N April 2016
    We were recommended to visit YHA Yamba by another backpacker, and we are so glad we did! We enjoyed our stay, the staff were friendly and the hostel was very clean. However we had originally booked an 8 bed female dorm, but when we walked into our room it was infact a 4 bed mixed dorm. This wasn't a problem for us though. One other thing is that none of the locks in the girls toilets worked! Which was a slight issue! Apart from that we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to other backpackers as a nice stop off between Byron Bay and Sydney!
    80%
    Lauren Mae M April 2016
    Very friendly stuff, great atmosphere and many very nice people. Had a great time!
    92%
    Lisa Maria H March 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    606 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    97%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    91%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    89%