Search YHA

Yamba YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Yamba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (621 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We stayed two nights a week apart on way to Brisbane and then on way back to Sydney. We made sure we came back to Yamba as its by far one of the best highlights of our trip, one main reason-seeing the wild dolphins feed in the bay.The hostel has a great atmosphere and that's partly to do with the staff, on arrival they make you feel welcome, they are really friendly and ask you to join in the daily activities without being pushy. We stayed in a four dorm both times just the two of us the only ones in the room which was a added bonus and the beds were really comfortable. If we ever come back to oz we will definitely be back to Yamba and stay at the yha :)
    100%
    Sarah B July 2016
    This hostel was fabulous and staff were wonderful. Great location in yamba. Kitchen was a bit untidy when we were there as other guests didn't clean up but I'm sure staff would have cleaned it up later in evening. Great restaurant attached to YHA and spotlessly clean. Thanks for upgrading us - much appreciated. Bea
    95%
    Bea d July 2016
    Great and friendly well located place to stay. Good value for money. I had a 4 bed dorm all to myself 😄 I couldn't have dreamed better.
    100%
    Francoise L July 2016
    It was empty.
    92%
    Christopher A June 2016
    Shane is what makes this hostel one of the best in Australia. In total the staff are very friendly, helpful and full of energy but Shane is another league. They have this cute hostel dog as well, Charlie. What an amazing and homely feel this hostel has! MAKE SURE TO GO ON SHANE'S TOUR WHEN YOU VISIT YAMBA YHA ;-)
    100%
    Anne L June 2016
    Loved my stay at the YHA. It had a real family vibe to it, everyone was so friendly and great activities arranged. Loved surfing with Shane and of course his tour. I shall 100% be recommending!
    95%
    Laura W June 2016
    Very well located accommodation, friendly staff, great bar and food well suited to the traveler, all you require for a short term stay.
    88%
    Keith S June 2016
    Yamba will always have a place in my heart after staying here. The owner and staff are all very friendly. There are a lot of long termers staying at the hostel, and they all make you feel so welcome! Book more than just a few days - I promise you'll want to stay longer! And don't miss Shane's tour!!
    95%
    Jenna C June 2016
    I booked for one night and ended up staying for three (which seems to happen to most people, and three nights is a short stay)! The staff was amazing, and all the other travelers were friendly. It was easy to meet people in the common areas and there were group activities each night I stayed. Shane puts on an unforgettable tour (must-do!) and offers surf lessons (cancelled while I was there due to the massive storms) for just $15! Definitely recommend this hostel :)
    95%
    Brandy A June 2016
    Best hostel experience...super friendly staff and backpackers and amazing activities for such good value!
    98%
    Issy s June 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    621 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    95%
    Friendliness of staff
    98%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    94%
    Safety & Security
    94%
    Value for Money
    92%