Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

88%
Canberra, ACT

Canberra City YHA is right in the heart of the nation's capital, 5 minutes from the interstate bus terminal.

$31
Check availability
  • Canberra YHA - Exterior
  • Canberra YHA - rooftoop
  • Canberra YHA-Pool table
  • Canberra YHA - Twin
  • Canberra YHA-Spa
  • Canberra YHA - Common Room
  • Canberra YHA - Bytes Cafe
  • Canberra YHA - Lake Burly
  • Canberra YHA tourist shots - paliment house
  • Canberra YHA - Multi Share Female
  • Canberra YHA - Multi Share Male
  • Canberra YHA - Parliament House
Right now in Canberra...
05:19 PM
|
8°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4148 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Best location in the heart of city centre. Shops, restaurants and civic bus interchange are all very close by. Friendly and helpful staff. Good kitchen facilities. Self service laundry is a bit expensive. Overall pleasant and lively place to stay.
    98%
    Tareq I July 2015
    Disappointing. I stayed four nights in a four bunk share dorm. Although the room was clean the linen was stained and covered with hair. The mattress was warped and horribly uncomfortable, even flipping it over made no difference. It was the middle of winter and the showers were freezing! There was never any hot water! It was really disappointing as I have stayed at the YHA before in winter and had found it to be really good. I would not recommend staying here. The fact that they do not have their own car park made the experience worse as it is near impossible to find all day carparking within cooee of the city without paying a fortune (expect to pay upwards of $13 for four hours at surrounding carparks). Staff at the counter couldn't provide any tips on where to find cheap all day parking so I ended up driving around the city until I managed to park my car on a random street 30mins walking distance away.
    72%
    C W July 2015
    Not bad at all.
    95%
    Mark T July 2015
    This is a good, decent hostel
    90%
    Paulo O June 2015
    Location is perfect, close to downtown and major transportation.
    75%
    yinwei d June 2015
    Excellent
    100%
    Cheng-Wei H June 2015
    Super well located in Civic, plenty of good eating and drinking nearby, as well as cinemas. Ambient noise from the pub in the basement a little loud for my tastes (including after midnight on a Tuesday), but high spirits are good for the vibe overall.
    80%
    Duncan R June 2015
    Great hostel, the pool was a brilliant bonus!
    98%
    Jonas E June 2015
    Good space rooms, clean bathrooms. Friendly staff and central location
    100%
    Danielle W June 2015
    I was surprised with the place, such a good place and a nice price. Perfect combination
    100%
    Arthur G June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    4148 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    85%