Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4247 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very comfortable, convenience to access to bus station for sightseeing, quiet at night and won't have noise to disturb you if sleep early.
    100%
    Yoong Lee W August 2015
    Centrally located, safe n secure, nice n clean, facilities are just above average as it was difficult to shower in cold weather because of lack of hotwater supply, walkable distance to parliament, queston, shopping center n others. Overall was good experience.
    72%
    Prashanth B August 2015
    Honestly. The main issue was the cleanliness. Very very poor. Spit on male toilet walls was there when I arrived and left. Toilet surfaces cleaned with the bloody floor mop! Disgusting! From my point of view, very slack/inexperienced cleaners with little or no supervision. Having watched inspections while staying at YHA Adelaide, I just wonder what's going on in Canberra. Also, you can always tell poor cleaning practices when the edges of the carpet are grey with dust! It's not hard to take of the end of a vacuums cleaner to clean edges. Not impressed at all. It just makes me wonder what else is or isn't going on there? Also had a privacy issue but it was sorted satisfactorily.
    75%
    Simon Edward O August 2015
    Hi guys, only thought would be a soap rack in the pool shower. Would make life a little easier, if it doesnt cause another issues. Cheers Ian
    100%
    Ian C August 2015
    I enjoyed my stay!
    98%
    Doug R August 2015
    Was in room with long term occupants of hostel - one snored so loud it kept the whole room up. There was food on the desk (not in the kitchen as where it should be). When I went to shower, there was a torn condom package on the floor in the shower. Gross.
    60%
    Janice W August 2015
    Very good location, if you like walking you can do the Parliament House and the War Memorial by foot but there also are buses just down the road. Very friendly and helpful staff, I wanted to change rooms after the first night and it was no problem. As it is a big hostel it can happen that there are large school groups staying, as happened when I was there, and they arrived quite late and were very loud but thats just like children are and not the hostels fault ;) Bathrooms on the third floor are o.k. but quite old, the ones on the first and second floor are really very nice! The kitchen is really big and a excellent feature is the adjoined café where you can buy a delicious breakfast if you don't want to bother doing your own.
    92%
    Nicole O August 2015
    Ideal location with efficient friendly staff. The swimming-pool and spa were therapeutic after a long cold days site seeing.
    100%
    Roseanna M August 2015
    I have a good rest in my dorm, the facility is good but I have abad experience in kitchen. The kitchen is full of dirty dishes and the worst thing happen on me is, I put bread in toaster, but after 5minutes, they disappear, is my last two pieces of bread to be my breakfast but is gone. Veru disappointed with this.
    80%
    ziao fung h August 2015
    Really enjoyed my stay at YHA Canberra. Great value and a great social atmosphere. Staff are very helpful with good knowledge of the local area.
    100%
    Leni A August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    4247 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    85%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    83%
    Safety & security
    86%
    Value for money
    84%