Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4888 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The location, safety, and friedneliness of staff are great. The bed is not very comfortable, but overall it is a great place to stay for short-term.
    95%
    Zhaohua L May 2016
    A great place, I have stayed here a number of times, and it has always been great! I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting or passing through Canberra. A great location, close to everything, and the hostel itself has great facilities, such as a large kitchen, tv room, with pool table, and a bbq area and smoking area on the roof. And a pool! I stayed here like 6 times before I discovered there was a pool is the basement! amazing! 10/10
    98%
    Che X May 2016
    I visit for the national Art Gallery & national library its close by easier on a bus good walking & in the city
    100%
    Trevere H May 2016
    Very friendly staff, rooms were very clean. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would come back here if I need to visit Canberra again.
    100%
    Danny L May 2016
    Clean, spacious room; great value in a very handy location.
    82%
    Julien M May 2016
    We were impressed with the cleanliness and size of the room. The reception folks were very friendly and helpful. Areas of concern: there was a lot of noise from other guests who were hot ting and hollering for hours late at night below our window. We probably should have complained to the front desk, but didn't want to get out of bed. The pool and "spa" were clean, but the water temperature was too low to enjoy using it. Since the pool is too shallow to swim in, it's hard to keep warm just sitting in it. I would not call the spa a spa as it isn't warm enough - it's the same temperature as the pool. Overall, We liked this place - with a few exceptions. Oh, towels should be available in the room upon arrival - we had a private room and had to ask for towels at the reception. At first they wanted to charge us extra and then changed their mind. It seems that the rate of the private room should include one bath size towel per person which is in the room.
    95%
    Bruce E May 2016
    Excellent for last minute bookings, friendly staff that do anything to help! Great place to stay. Wouldn't stay anywhere else next time!
    98%
    Daniel W May 2016
    Clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff were efficient and helpful. I have stayed here a number of times, and will be back.
    98%
    Simon V May 2016
    It was a decent enough hostel as in location and maybe 20 years ago it was good. There was a faint smell of urine and sweat everywhere I went. The duvet covers are not changed either. It seems to be a hostel for locals who cannot afford rent rather than backpackers as such it was not as friendly as others I've stayed in.
    65%
    Alex L May 2016
    The cleanest hostel I have been to so far! In the centre of Canberra, very easy to find
    100%
    Cristina V May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    4888 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & security
    89%
    Value for money
    86%