COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (8166 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Wonderful stay, perhaps the best in Canberra, best location in CBD right Opposite Legislative Assembly, London Circuit, Civic Centre, City Light Train and Bus Interchange all around on walk. Facilities like Pool, Sauna, Equipped Kitchen, Climate Control, Meeting Room, Car Park, Bike Hire, Secure Lockers, Travel Info and friendly smiling staff make it the best stay for a Backpacker, Casual Traveler or a Family on Sight Seeing and that too on very reasonable rates like almost free.
85%
Parbodh B 27/10/2020
good
100%
Zena M 26/10/2020
I’m really enthusiastic about this hostel, the location is central , walking distance to any of the major attraction and 5 minutes to the bus stops/station. The staff is helpful, it happened in the night time they had to manage two different difficulty episodes with aggressive guests. Despite the awkward situation I felt safe knowing the stuff was there in the night time ready to intervene. I recommend that hostel heartly!
88%
Jessica F 26/10/2020
Good, comfortable, safe, affordable.
100%
Zena M 24/10/2020
I have stayed here several times and keep coming back for the friendly service, good location and inexpensive stay. However this time the room I was given was extremely noisy from the outside traffic, I shall be requesting one of the back rooms next time.
90%
Coral M 20/10/2020
Great location, shame about all the facilities being closed (not their fault) nice safe, secure place to base yourself whilst in Canberra.
78%
Sharon J 13/10/2020
Clean bright
98%
Chiao-ling C 11/10/2020
The hostel was great in most aspects, the only area which is annoying is the parking situation.
95%
Natalie T 08/10/2020
Yes, loved it! Comfy, cruisey & central to everything. Definitely recommended! 😊❤️
100%
Virginnia W 07/10/2020
Everyone I encountered, either staff or other guests, were friendly and considerate. My roommate was wonderful. All communal areas were very clean and calm. Quite minimal street noise considering it’s location in the city. Would/most likely will stay again.
90%
Billie K 21/09/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

79%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
74%
Efficiency of service
77%
Friendliness of staff
75%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
77%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
74%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL