Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (6890 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Hi, Have stayed several times at the Hostel and on the whole it has been very good. My only comment is (and maybe because I am getting older!!) is that the common areas outside rooms become quiet areas, esp. after 11 pm Suggest residents go to the closed off area on the top floor and not carry on loudly until 2-3 am outside rooms where people trying to sleep.
88%
Rosemary J 13/11/2018
The Canberra Museum and Gallery is only a few minutes walk. The National Museum near the lake has got a Roman Empire exhibition which are items on loan from the British Museum. If people want to get a bus to some of the other tourist attractions the bus stop is just around the corner from the hostel.
100%
Matthew A 04/11/2018
Was fine
85%
Rob W 03/11/2018
Ideal for a muslim travellers, muslim food are near coles and the tobaccoist sells asian instant noodles. You are in the center for every tourist spot which can be done by walking..good exercise
90%
Muhammad Nazirul M 02/11/2018
Within a two night stay I had to see reception 3 times because my key card didn‘t work. Noises from the pub and loud works outside made sleeping well impossible. Strange people all over the hostel. Good location and clean bathrooms though.
52%
Verena L 30/10/2018
Pros - Convenient location, staff enquired promptly to queries, shared women toilet is clean.
72%
S T 29/10/2018
Has to be one of, if not the, best hostels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. I’ve been several times before and each time I go back it gets keeps getting better.
100%
Maggie H 29/10/2018
very good
100%
Chris Krzysztof G 26/10/2018
Generally it was pretty good. Good: location was grear and close to a lot of things. I like that you had a pool, washer and dryer, a place to store bikes, padlocks and soap for purchase, lockers, windows with curtains and A/C in the rooms The bad: Twice during my stay I witnessed belligerent behavior from a guest staying at the YHA and from another guest who was apparently not a guest at YHA but had spent the night in the common area..I can’t type anymore because the dorm stops me :(
80%
Chinedu E 26/10/2018
Not enough cutlery little bowls to go in microwave noisey with workmen starting at 5.45
78%
Sharon H 25/10/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
82%
Condition of facilities
81%
Efficiency of service
81%
Friendliness of staff
82%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
80%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
84%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL