Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6217 guests have reviewed this hostel)
A better free WiFi were perfect
90%
Franz P 18/11/2017
Improve your wifi Add a fan in rooms Uncomfortable beds Otherwise the vibes of the place were nice
75%
Arjun D 18/11/2017
Thank you for a great stay guys! :)
100%
Sandra Z 18/11/2017
Happy to be back at the YHA in Canberra. Convenient and open.
100%
Parissa W 18/11/2017
It's a good location and the staff are friendly. It's not cheap (especially if you're a single person in an ensuite private room, it's not cheaper than some hotels in town), but it is very central. For a woman travelling alone, in my experience it's cleaner and feels safer than several of the cheaper hotels that are also in the central mall area. However, be aware that it's noisy as the room doors slam all the time, and people sit talking loudly (to each other, or on the phone) in the seating areas outside the rooms, seemingly oblivious to the people who are trying to sleep. Even in a hostel, where you might expect more noise than a hotel, this is particularly annoying in the middle of the night when people are trying to sleep. For example, I stayed a couple of nights and was woken one night by people talking loudly/laughing outside my room around 2am, and woken on my second night by doors slamming repeatedly around 3am. They sell earplugs at the reception, but you might want to bring your own, even if you're in a private room. There is free wifi, but it's very slow (and sometimes unable to be used at all) from upstairs, away from reception, unless you pay for fast wifi. The left luggage facilities are pay-per-use lockers.
80%
Sandy A 13/11/2017
Loved our stay here. Great facilities. Staff are really helpful. We were a bit cold at night but otherwise everything else was wonderful.
90%
Megan O 12/11/2017
Great location. I stayed in a room with ensuite. Comfortable bed, but not a single hook to hang anything, nor drawers nor shelves. It was pretty noisy: opened directly to the TV area and people were watching TV late at night and started again at 6am.
85%
Cathy W 11/11/2017
This hostel is ideally located and provides the most conducive and fulfilling avenue for different people to interact with, no matter your age, gender, religion, culture, race or ethnicity backgrounds. Thank you YHA for making it possible to meet my new best friend Ali. Kind regards!
100%
Jerry K 09/11/2017
Great central location.
85%
Geoff H 09/11/2017
Staff are awesome, really friendly and super helpful every time. Also, the people staying there are pretty cool, you guys do a much better job of keeping the druggies and dodgy folk out that the Dixon central backpackers. Awesome, keep up the brilliant work :)
98%
Richard R 08/11/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
customer rating, based on 6217 reviews
Cleanliness
89%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
83%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL