Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4338 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    PROS: Very well maintained Hostel right in the center of the city. The staff were great as well. Good Bathrooms and facilities. CONS: Only issue is the parking if you driving up. Parking TIP: Canberra City Plaza parking on weekends in just $2 for the entire day (24 hr parking). (Sat, Sun & Public Holidays). Leave it in the open car park at your own risk.
    ARUN C October 2015
    Great location, easy to find local shops and places to eat, including the onsite cafe.
    Meredith S October 2015
    Located right in the centre of Canberra City, the YHA hostel is in walking distance of many of Canberra's sites. The pool and sauna were a bonus!
    Sarah G October 2015
    Not a bad hostel but the hostel is pretty expensive seeing as you have to pay for all extras such as padlocks, lockers and wifi (despite being able to use the free wifi throughout the hostel). But communal areas were nice and clean. Showers were hot despite reviews stating otherwise. The rooms could do with air conditioning especially during the height of summer.
    Alice G October 2015
    room121 had disrespectful group stayers how thought nothing of others in the room &had lights on&load conversations all night!Such large booking,theyd booked most rooms there over the wknd should be forced to fully book dorms so individual travelers don't need to endure their bad manners! No sleep gained for2 nights!
    neil w October 2015
    Third Floor Male Bathroom showers don't work properly, they start sprinkling cold water all of sudden even if the hot water tap is open.
    Sheetal R October 2015
    What a great way to do Canberra on the cheap. Most of the attractions have free entry. Highly recommend it for families. We booked our own room with a shared bathroom. The bathrooms were spotless. Being able to stay so centrally, meant we could ride our bikes to everything. The supermarket is close by which made shopping and therefore cooking at the YHA very easy. The cooking and kitchen facilities are fabulous. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The shared areas were fabulous. My kids especially liked the pool table and played endless games with other kids. The rooftop area is lovely. We chose to bring our own bikes, but they can be hired fro the YHA.. In my opinion the hire cost is too high. Thanks very much YHA Canberra for looking after us, we had a wonderful stay
    Penny S October 2015
    I got there very early and was allowed to sit in the TV room as I waited. It was quite hard to find as the map I was given did not have very good directions. The other guests at the hostel I met in those few hours were nice and funny. Someone on a tour recommended coming to Canberra and I was looking forward to it. However when I got there and asked what there was to do the member of staff said there was 'nothing to do in Canberra' and then after some thinking mentioned the Floriade Show, but didn't sound convincing. I ended up going because I like flowers and it was really nice. However after being told there was nothing to do there I ended up only staying one night and leaving for Sydney early the next morning.
    Sophie W October 2015
    For my experience, this is quite suitable for many people who are familiar with each other. coz it is convenient and clean in terms of Canberra. Thank you for your service.
    Jin S September 2015
    the location is excellent but it can be noisy so i would suggest asking for a room on a higher floor.
    Rachael O September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4338 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money