Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5023 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I was only staying for a few hours sleep on my way to Thredbo but from my experience the facilities were very good and it was in a very hip happening part of town.
    100%
    Mitchal B July 2016
    I always stay at YHA because I know what to expect as far as service, comfort and affordability. Unfortunately, there is only one in Canberra city but lucky for me I was working in the city that night Remember that you are most likely staying in a room with up to a dozen other people, please don't use your luggage to build a fortress around your bed, it creates an injury hazard when other visitors/ roommates come in late at night
    78%
    Mary D July 2016
    The YHA CIVIC is a very good place to stay it has every thing u need, staff are all so great and helpful.
    100%
    Benjamin B July 2016
    Quality has improved since capital upgrades
    78%
    Rhys M July 2016
    Very clean, pleasant and better than expected. However, there were too few bathrooms and they were too far away. Also not well sign posted.
    95%
    Katharine R July 2016
    Good for those travelling on a budget. Clean shared shower area. We had a family room and did not use the shared showers but did pop in to check it out.
    75%
    Munlee T July 2016
    Nice and clean. A good hostel.
    100%
    Sophie W July 2016
    Clean hostel with good facilities but too expensive to be the only option for traveller. On top of the expensive rate we were charged an extra amount to store our luggage. Apart from money related, was nice :)
    75%
    Zoe M July 2016
    Aside from a rev head and his 6am car roaring it was a good stay, will be back.
    85%
    Barry H July 2016
    Great location, so much to do in Canberra!
    100%
    Nadia F July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    5023 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    93%
    Condition of facilities
    90%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & Security
    92%
    Value for Money
    89%