Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5606 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Too noisy at night
    80%
    Rui D February 2017
    Great hostel with a great location. Having never stayed in a hostel before I had no idea what to expect and was pleasantly surprised by YHA Canberra City. I've now got a loyalty card for YHA as I carry on my travels. I would definitely recommend them.
    92%
    Beth R February 2017
    It's a really good place to stay when events like the multicultural festival is on, so much happening right outside the front door
    82%
    Mary D February 2017
    This is a very good hostel. I stay there often and will continue to do so.
    95%
    Thomas W February 2017
    Very central location, can walk everywhere, safe and comfortable. My experience was marred by two things : a very loud band in the bar under the hostel on a Thursday night (kept going until midnight), and a truly terrible breakfast in the attached cafe. Don't order the omelette!
    80%
    Rupert S February 2017
    Well maintaned hotel in the middle of town. Good facilities including DIY kitchen.
    98%
    Kevin W February 2017
    Nice place to stay. The rooms have curtains so it is nice and dark in the night and the aircon provided a good temperature to sleep. Other than that the sauna and the pool are a nice touch, although the pool is too small to really swim in and too cold to just sit in it... Overall a good hostel, would stay again.
    78%
    Cordula February 2017
    Staff was friendly and generous with information. The overall vibe good. Pluses include wifi and the on-site cafe. I wish I was staying a little longer.
    85%
    Visitor C February 2017
    The only negative was that with the room being so big with 8 people in it it doesn't really create a social atmosphere so all the people tend to ignore you.
    95%
    Kirsty C February 2017
    More expensive than an average hostel but absolutely clean, features a huge kitchen and a pool & a sauna, awesome location, great atmosphere. Only annoying thing is having to pay for the luggage storage once you're checked out - for the price you pay for a night, it could be easily included!
    98%
    H Z February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    5606 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    91%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    91%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    89%
    Value for Money
    87%