Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6718 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I can stay in 24 hour. But they want me to get out early and come in to my room too much.
72%
YONGJIN J 19/08/2018
Only issue was no question if I wanted a towel. Oh and captain chainsaw. He snored.
80%
Peter W 16/08/2018
Happy with the hostel and staff. Was concerning a lady was burning candles in the shared rooms/hostel and leaving candle burning while she slept. Paid to stay in a 4 share female only room and numerous men where being brought in to the room, and 5women in a 4 share room on Tuesday night, with 2 women bringing at least 13 suitcases in the room and not leaving enough space for other people in the room. Otherwise really happy with hostel and friendly staff.
85%
Tammy H 16/08/2018
YHAs are generally great places to stay, especially for us students. While my recent stay at YHA Canberra went well, I was disappointed/annoyed on two fronts: 1. The access card kept having problems, and would stop working (deny access to my room) almost on a daily basis. Despite numerous complaints in this regard, the issue never got fixed. I was not the only person having this problem either. 2. I booked a bottom bunk & received confirmation; but was not available upon arrival.
80%
Charles 15/08/2018
Everything was perfect for what I needed
98%
Stephen F 15/08/2018
The friendliness of staff and very helpful.
100%
Levi B 15/08/2018
I was upgraded to a private room from a 4-bed shared room, not bad at all! The staff are friendly, place strategically located near the tourist spots, and I felt safe and secured. Thanks YHA Canberra! I might stay with you again in Byron Bay and Gold Coast!
100%
Harry Rolf R 14/08/2018
The location was central and convenient. Bed was comfortable though I brought my own pillow and the shower was warm. Helpful staff also. Bike hire was awesome also and great to see recycling initiative.
100%
Richard T 14/08/2018
Staff is just incredible. Appreciate the efforts they put in to keep busy YHA clean.
100%
Suchir P 14/08/2018
Building work going on next to my room - didn't appreciate them starting at 6.30am, including Saturday, but overall good place to stay.
95%
Wendy M 11/08/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
85%
Friendliness of staff
87%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
85%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL