Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4556 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This is a very good hostel. The location is excellent.
    88%
    Thomas W February 2016
    Nice hostel but Canberra is a strange city.
    85%
    Sylvain F February 2016
    Very disappointed I had to pay for luggage storeage. I have not had to pay at any other hostel I have stayed at.
    75%
    Abi F February 2016
    Within reach of many attractions. Even some galleries close by. The live music on Sat night was an anti-climax as was being woken up by a room mate in the small hours after they had come in. Lovely to talk to the guests and relax. Reception only to pleased to help in any way possible.
    78%
    Ms Linda B February 2016
    A good hostel in a great location.
    98%
    Dean S February 2016
    It's very modern hostel, but have some expensive, rent bike half day need spend 10 AUD , although is cheapest, except all good
    90%
    River J January 2016
    Super clean, need keys to get into rooms and bathrooms which means they are safe and clean as not everyone is using them. Not the greatest atmosphere in the world as a lot of the guests are older and I don't think Canberra is the biggest place for backpackers, so was a bit quiet. That being said, the hostel was great, beds were super comfy and staff were helpful and knowledgeable.
    98%
    Samantha M January 2016
    convenient location close to bus terminal and bus to railway station.
    88%
    PATRICIA K January 2016
    Very good hostel which is well located.
    95%
    Keith M January 2016
    It's a terrific YHA & I've stayed here many times before when traveling.
    100%
    Michelle Q January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    4556 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    93%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & security
    89%
    Value for money
    81%