Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5148 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Like a home,very clear and comfortable
    85%
    Chen Z September 2016
    The 10 bed dorm room seem to have somebody living there and the others just left there gear strewn about the floor on the table was just a mess and no fresh air so it stunk. Still value for money.
    75%
    Norm Y September 2016
    The cooking facilities were good and the lift has inproved from previous visits. Did not like the charged parking out the back this was stressful as we had to be out early and some tourist sites dont open till 9 or 10 am. Parking in Canberra used to be free and it would be good to know where it is still free. Staff helped with this.
    92%
    Rosaleen L September 2016
    Excellent location, you could walk to most of the tourists destination and there 's a large supermarket just around the corner. incredibly clean bathrooms and kitchen that are cleaned by staff several times a day. Spacious common area and kitchen which is.a great place to meet new friends (but it would be ok if you wanna enjoy your own company).
    92%
    Apple C September 2016
    I find this is a great place to stay in my time here i have given the Japanese students that are here for the volunteer program, i have taken them around Canberra to see the site in the short time that they are here and i also have had my kids here and they really enjoy being here as well so thanks for a great service cheers ben Barrow
    100%
    Ben B September 2016
    very efficient staff. A room with a view.
    98%
    michael B September 2016
    The YHA Canberra is located in a very central location and is good value for money. However, the safety and security of the lockers is concernings. I had my bags locked in a locker in my room while I was attending a conference. I returned to the hostel that evening only to find that my key card was deactivated. I went down to reception only to be told that I was moving rooms for the night, I was not informed of this prior, might I add. The staff had cut open my lock and moved my belongings without consultation or my permission. Although nothing was stolen, it was definitely a breach of my personal security.
    65%
    Tyla September 2016
    Overall a good hostel. Bedrooms dusty, I was wheezing from the dust (allergy) and ended up sleeping on the couch in the lounge room. Great location and convenient swipe card access. Very helpful staff.
    92%
    Joanna J September 2016
    Myself and a couple of friends went up for Darude's performance at Acadz. Was easy to get to and from, as well as being beautifully close to the shops. Special shout-out to Amelia @ reception for being the highlight of the stay. Fantastic and efficient service, whitty, classic banter, and to top it off an amazing smile!
    95%
    Connor R September 2016
    Amelia @ reception really made my experience outstanding. I'd give a 10/10 5 star rating... and not just for her service 😉
    100%
    David C September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    5148 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    91%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    86%