Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4421 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    well run, extremely well located
    john g November 2015
    Offers everything a backpacker could want or need, including privacy and quiet time. Hence, I have booked additional stays elsewhere during my extended travelling in Australia..
    Stephen S November 2015
    My stay at this hostel was really good. I visited Canberra alone, and met someone else on the bus from Sydney staying at YHA too! We were too early to check-in but the lovely staff let us shower and we used the lockers for our backpacks so we can go out. This hostel is great for clean accommodation and meeting people. I met nice people at first, as well as throughout my stay. People to go out with and spend the days with. Highly recommended.
    Nat November 2015
    Friendly people. Reception woman told me good advice about travelling in Canberra. 10 share room was clean and big room. Very good.
    Jac B November 2015
    I really liked the Hostel, it was clean, the toilets were immaculate and the kitchen was large, clean and well equipped.
    Rachel B November 2015
    Great rooftop but it closed at 10 pm Clean and big rooms Free water Great location
    Janina J November 2015
    The hostel itself is good, great location and very clean with great facilities. However this was possibly the worst nights sleep I have had in a hostel. It was clearly signed that quiet time was between 10pm-8am. There was music playing loudly on the ground floor past 10pm, loud enough that I could feel vibrations through the bed frame. I was kept awake for hours and woken frequently by noise outside the room in the hallway and common area. Staff should enforce the quiet time, guests should not be expected to ask other guests to be quiet. This was very disappointing as it ruined the experience of an otherwise great hostel.
    Tegan G November 2015
    I spend about 100 nights a year in hostels and I think the staff at this hostel are some of the best I have encountered anywhere. The hostel is also exceptionally clean by hostel standards with the exception of the food cupboards which need to be cleaned more often. The kitchen is really well equipped with sharp knives of varying sizes.
    Ronald R November 2015
    Relatively good trip marred by feaces smeared on the bathroom floor and spread out down a hallway. Looked like it had been left overnight for the morning crew to deal with.
    David B November 2015
    It was a really great experience. Really friendly staff which are there to help 24/7. Nice facilities, surprisingly clean and tidy, it was a nice place to relax from a busy day of travelling. Highly recommendation.
    Haitong Z November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4421 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money