Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6532 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Cool hostel with very friendly staff. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. I would come back.
90%
Franziska M 22/05/2018
The staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel is located in the city centre. It is close to the bus stop to visit some places of interest.
100%
Matthew A 22/05/2018
Great location as can walk to many things. Found the staff helpful.
100%
Pua W 21/05/2018
I had a wonderful stay here because not only are the staff friendly but most guests are nice also.
100%
Noriko K 18/05/2018
They even have a pool and a sauna!!!
100%
Carl D 13/05/2018
Very clean, doesn't smell and a comfortable amount of space in the rooms and individual bed lighting. Also no more expensive than hostels that are dirty smelly and cramped.
100%
Terry M 13/05/2018
There is no air-conditioning in the rooms. We were there in May and it was freezing at night. In addition to my Pjs I had to put on my thermals and 2 pairs of thick socks. The noise from the building outside starting at 6.30am on a Saturday morning wasn't too flash either. If you have a car it is pot luck to get a spot to park it is also metered parking which has changed from a few years ago - our last visit. Otherwise the place is well positioned in the city and relatively quiet at night.
82%
Ulrike F 12/05/2018
Good area. Close to every thing cafe, shops, pubs, flat area, walking distance, light hill over the bridges, great information centre, right near the Burly G lake. Perfect cafe looking over lake! south side. We had a great time in 2 days, seen a lot.
88%
Franklin O 11/05/2018
I absolutely loved my stay at Canberra City YHA. It felt like a hotel very modern and clean. It is situated within the heart of the city centre, right next to the shops. Would highly recommend!
100%
Liberty C 10/05/2018
Nice big clean room, lots of kids running around ruined the atmosphere
92%
Sarah U 10/05/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
83%
Safety & Security
89%
Value for Money
84%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL