Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with Pack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (7253 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Enjoyed my stay, very convenient with comfortable bed and helpful staff. Free culture bus is good and stops outside hostel. Easy to walk to war memorial and also to other sites. Supermarkets close by makes it easy to self cater.
85%
Barbara E 24/03/2019
Really convenient location. Facilities were great, kitchen seemed really organised. Enjoyed my experience there a lot, thank you!
95%
Rannee L 24/03/2019
Short walk to ANU where I was working.
100%
Doug R 24/03/2019
I loved this hostel. The bathroom were always clean. Food storage was handy and the kitchen clean. I really like the lounge and roof top area. Also the new free culture loop bus from outside the hostel is great for seeing the sights. The location was so good right near all the shops. My only issue was people staying longish terms having the lights on until 2 or 3am every night. That's not really the hostels fault. But it was so annoying.
100%
Jane H 23/03/2019
It was hard to find utensils.
88%
Junko Y 23/03/2019
Modern facility with a friendly staff. A big issue is the noise: works being conducted in the street and in the yard, 10pm limit for noise NOT respected and the Air Conditioner in our room was incredibly noisy. In a nutshell, the worst sleeps of our travel in Australia.
72%
Monique Marie M 20/03/2019
Just what i needed, everything was clean and exactly like the pictures
92%
Maria Jose E 20/03/2019
Don’t use wifi
85%
John T 18/03/2019
Convenience, Secure and super clean.
100%
Yuk C 16/03/2019
I have stayed twice and have been happy with my stay. I especially appreciated a room to myself. Convenient location for public transport and sights.
95%
Coralyn P 16/03/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
85%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL