Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (5876 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    A very convenient place to stay when visiting Canberra. The staff were super friendly & helpful. Facilities & services are good & access (at a cost) to bicycles in bike friendly Canberra is a bonus. Canberra is well served by public transport & the hostel is very close to theses services.
    90%
    Nicholas B May 2017
    It's a shame the rooftop was closed. Would have enjoyed a drink up there
    92%
    Jennifer L May 2017
    Beautiful Experience
    100%
    Peter R May 2017
    Friendly staff, bike hire for good price. Very quiet.
    98%
    K May 2017
    For large families for budget our family room with bathroom was awesome. Basic but all you need. Great location nice and quiet with great food options close by. Highly recommend, we always stay here when in ACT and we have 5 children.
    100%
    Kim S May 2017
    I had a lovely stay at YHA Canberra, I was sad to leave after only two nights. The hostel is located in a very convenient part of the city, it's easy to get around. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy, lockers provided + individual light for each bed + charging points. There's also a lovely pool and sauna! A good place to relax and see more of the capital city. Recommended!
    92%
    Suzie V May 2017
    It was ok. good location.
    38%
    Lujene L May 2017
    Your employee with a Spanish (?) accent was particularly helpful when I was negotiating a problem with the lockers. I didn't learn her name, but she was very friendly, patient and helpful.
    90%
    Tim G May 2017
    Comfortable & clean with good facilities & helpful staff. Good central location for exploring Canberra.
    98%
    Norman Donald W May 2017
    The hot water system took ages to warm up, and then seemed to go through some kind of cycle of being warm but then cooling right off, then being warm again. Very annoying and uncomfortable first thing on a cold morning! BUT WORSE THAN THIS: the cubicles are very small and the toilets and showers are right next to each other- WHICH MEANS that - as I experienced this morning- I was having my shower to get clean and refreseshed and then someone came in and used the toilet the WHOLE time of my shower - and was in the cubicle RIGHT NEXT TO ME. It wasn't a pleasant smell or experience when I was trying to have a shower. I think this is not good enough at all and should be redesigned along with the other renovations currently underway. Not sure if I would stay again because of this issue which was very unpleasant.
    78%
    Georgia J May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    85%
    85%
    customer rating, based on 5876 reviews
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    81%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & Security
    85%
    Value for Money
    83%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!