COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (8222 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Friendly and helpfull staff. Great location!
70%
Karin J 01/03/2021
I was lucky to get my own room due to reduced capacity numbers of 50% per room. The wifi would drop out but I used my own. I was allowed to check in early the day I arrived at 7am but you need to pay $7 a day for the locker to store bags if leaving late. Excellent location and great showers although there was some glass on the floor in the ladies that wasn’t cleaned up for a while. I would stay here again.
85%
Chantelle C 23/02/2021
My time at the Canberra YHA was good value for money. However I think it's unnecessary to require people to use the swipe card in order to access the bathroom
80%
Kieren V 21/02/2021
I have stayed at the YHA Canberra City on a number of occasions, and can report some positive changes in my recent stay. Accordingly, whilst the pandemic related impact may have impacted on many sectors I was pleased to learn that the YHA has responded by reducing the hostels overall capacity by half (i.e. thereby leading to two people in total being accommodated into the normal four person room). So, whilst this may have impacted on room availability at booking it is more enjoyable overall.
80%
Anthony P 21/02/2021
The staff are friendly and the building is in a good place. I like the big communal kitchen. The hostel is good, but the cleaning of the bathrooms has gone down since covid. Lots of people don't wash their pans and dishes an just leave them in the sinks. Not sure how often the doona covers are washed, but can be a bit dusty.
88%
John N 19/02/2021
It was overall pretty clean, easy to get to, easy to park at, and the staff were friendly. Would appreciate more flexibility with checkin hours.
80%
Rheannen M 16/02/2021
Always a pleasant stay and great location,...
100%
Aksel R 06/02/2021
Good set up very expensive
80%
Nickolas C 04/02/2021
Its a hostel, and its good for a hostel but wouldn't recommend unless you need to stay at a hostel.
82%
Matt C 02/02/2021
Great but needs better free parking
85%
Darren M 01/02/2021

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

83%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
82%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
80%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL