Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (7536 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I was disappointed with the indoor spa and pool with icy cold water. I was looking forward to relaxing in the spa at the end of the day when discovered that the spa and indoor pool were not heated. Beds were very uncomfortable. The location of the hostel is very good and central. The staff members were very friendly and efficient.
78%
Anna G 15/07/2019
Very expensive. I’ve been in others yha’s hostel and there are so muche better and cheaper than this one. The building is not nice the commodities are not good and you pay 35 dollars for a 10 beds room
52%
Pablo I 14/07/2019
Breakfast supposed to be included but I couldn't find it.
85%
Laura F 14/07/2019
I wasn't welcomed properly and the first night was cold I couldnt sleep . The blanket very bad and very old. We havent been given a wi fi password. They dont change towel and they provide complimentary coffee and tea just for the first night. The only thing is good is it is in the city of canberra
50%
Abdullah 14/07/2019
Comfy & safe
80%
Anna P 12/07/2019
The stay was very good. One major problem however was the kitchen. It has deteriorated and is way below standard. Many people leave dirty dishes and tables and there should be much more focus on this aspect by the staff. Also, the quality of the cooking pots and pans is inadequate. All the rest was perfect
75%
Omri T 12/07/2019
Although it was busy it was very friendly and great conversations were had till early hours about our different countries and cultures. The kitchen and bathrooms were great and the location was terrific. Nice and warm in the chilli ness of Canberra
95%
Anne-maree B 11/07/2019
This hostel is very conveniently located (about 3 minutes from Southern Cross station and less than that from a trolley stop in the free zone). The free events are okay. The beds are reasonably comfortable. Showers are okay, although there are spaces between the doors where people can peep through. Toilets can be a bit dirty. Overall, a good place to go to if only for the great location.
72%
Bien Patrick Asuncion B 11/07/2019
Great
90%
Phillip P 10/07/2019
This was my first time and I arrived late, so the room was already occupied and dark. The room was sweltering, like a sauna... And I had no idea it was controlled from front desk so though I looked for controls there were none. So the first night was pretty restless, overheating and sweaty. The second night was fantastic. Just be aware first timers: you can ask front desk to set a reasonable temp!!
100%
Ashleigh C 09/07/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
84%
Friendliness of staff
84%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
79%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
83%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL