Search YHA

Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4841 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Was in Canberra for research, and basically just needed a place with a bed and free internet access. The hostel was practically located, just between the Australian War Memorial and the National Library. Great facilities, great service and very nice staff.
    88%
    Tóra D May 2016
    Very clean, well presented with good facilities, and a fantastic location, as it is almost perfectly central. However I felt there was very little atmosphere, everyone was nice but ther was no joking or events to make friends.
    80%
    Eloise F May 2016
    The best YHA in Australia, maybe the world. If you're visiting Canberra you must stay here - great atmosphere.
    98%
    Charles M May 2016
    Excellent. Keep up with this!!!
    100%
    Kyaw Hla W May 2016
    I would go back here. Room is quiet, facilities are clean. Bed is also good, service is good. For a backpacker, you will get the rest that you need.
    92%
    Florence L May 2016
    Great location! Nice staff and atmosphere. Good value for your money.
    90%
    Jose R May 2016
    All s good.
    65%
    pairwalan j April 2016
    Very quiet, pretty much nobody around most of the time. Lots of older guests which is a little strange for a hostel but they were all friendly so no worries. Feels like a hotel in comparison to some places but it's a place I would not recommend for lone travelers.
    75%
    Gemma I April 2016
    This hostel seems to be attracting a lot of older guests these days - Australians like me who want, or need, to come to Canberra for various reasons: such as medical check-ups, or advanced medical tests (such as scans, in my case). I'm 75, and I've travelled a lot in other countries - includng having studied Indonesian in Indonesia, having taught English for 13 years in South Korea, and having travelled all over Latin America (for six months) last year. So I enjoy interacting with people of all ages who are visiting Australia.
    88%
    Merrall G April 2016
    Loved my stay here and will definitely be returning.
    95%
    Melissa R April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    4841 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    87%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    83%
    Safety & security
    89%
    Value for money
    85%