Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (7670 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Not a good experience at all. The room smelt terrible. The location is good and the staff friendly.
78%
Peter W 20/09/2019
Be kinder to the disabled over the phone. I attended intending to cancel my booking as the rude young Asian day manager I spoke to over the phone had told me that he couldn't guarantee me a bottom bunk despite having been promised one upon booking during my last stay. However, when I arrived a friendlier lady said there was no problem, and had reserved me a bottom bunk. The other guy caused me distress and anxiety unnecessarily and I have forwarded my concerns to the Equal Opportunity Commission
70%
Jean-Paul S 19/09/2019
Very nice place. Lockers and single lamps in the room. Spacious even in the 10 dorms. Good social place.
82%
Alison L 19/09/2019
The best so far in Australia. Location was perfect and the facilities were much better than all other hostels I have been to in Australia.
100%
Carlo Kaltamat N 17/09/2019
Low-key attitude, few rules, so nicely maintained
100%
Catharine C 17/09/2019
It was very good
100%
Lorrell M 17/09/2019
As usual, I had an excellent time with you in Canberra. A few suggestions though - 1. A toilet brush in the men's cubicles on the First floor. 2. The pancake man (great bloke), needs to cover his unruly hair !!! (Health and safety would possibly close you down if they walked in on him!) 3. The large knives in the kitchen need sharpening. 4. The rubbish bins are S0 confusing! 5. I suspect a staff member is smoking at the door of the kitchen leading to the restaurant!
82%
Paul P 16/09/2019
Had a great stay met some lovely people highly recommend it:)
80%
Sabina G 14/09/2019
It was nice and clean than i expected. Except for snoring of some travellers, it was nice.
88%
Oyun B 13/09/2019
It was a nice place. Basic, but with good things like the games room and pool. For a hostel, it was pretty good.
88%
John N 12/09/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
89%
Value for Money
88%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL