Canberra City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Canberra City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (7819 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The pud at the Ground floor was sooooooooooooo noisy every night. Except that everything was fine
88%
Seolah C 20/11/2019
It‘s a good Hostel, everything was fine, the chillout area& balcony space are pretty good and they do have a sauna, but in the evening there was no space in the kitchen and the whirlpool was cold
82%
Lea Denise M 20/11/2019
It was close to Canberra's CBD and the facilities of the hostel were fantastic! The bathroom was clean and the overall atmosphere was perfect for a hostel.
100%
Peter C 20/11/2019
WiFi and common room with tv use and Netflix was great. However the kitchen was vile - no one did their washing up and people left mouldy food in the fridge after they checked out which was left in there for the whole of my stay. The pool was indoor and cold - more for exercise than enjoyment. The smoking balcony shuts at 10pm meaning you must go down three flights of stairs to have one after this time - it could easily be left open as it is secure and small and no one hangs out up there
58%
Catherine Elizabeth R 18/11/2019
Nice hostel in great location in Canb, very clean and friendly service. A bit noisy as downstairs there is a pub/bar that plays heavy / rock music through night so didn’t get much sleep.
90%
TS S 15/11/2019
I stayed in room 104, and it is right to the corridor door, so it was difficult to sleep because of noise from this door closing
98%
Polina P 15/11/2019
I really liked the private bathroom. It feels like 4* hotel.
98%
Michal Tomasz W 15/11/2019
This hostel was fantastic, lots of info on local attractions and all within easy reach!
88%
Rachel W 14/11/2019
Very basic,very clean, very central.
88%
Rosina T 13/11/2019
This hostel is a bit far from the airport though, almost convenient, I think
78%
Fumie M 13/11/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
85%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
85%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
80%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
82%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL