Search YHA

Albury-Wodonga YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Albury-Wodonga YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (255 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel is a former administrative building inside the Big 4 caravan park. On the plus side, the beds were comfortable and there were only four beds to a dorm; but the dorms were poorly lit and the heater was impossible to operate. Common areas were uncomfortable and soulless and there was nowhere that one could sit in a warm area without the television blaring. To reach the amenities one hast to go downstairs and outside, and the showers and facilities were decrepit with broken tiles and other damage, and mouldy. The hostel is in an industrial area to the north of Albury, a long way from the town centre or the river. As far as I'm aware, there is no public transport in this area. The only reason to stay here is if you can't afford a motel and the weather is too lousy for camping.
    Carl H October 2016
    I always stay here when driving from the NSW Central Coast to Melbourne. I get a clean bed in a warm room and have a hot shower and use of a roomy kitchen/living area to prepare and eat my own meals. Great value!
    Wendy R September 2016
    Great value for money!
    Paul H September 2016
    I liked their spacious lounge and dinning room. The staff was nice and friendly. My room was simple, but comfortable with a heater. A few supermarkets and a bus stop are very close. The only downside was their shower. It took a few minutes to get hot water. Still, if I have a chance to go back to Albury, I will stay there again.
    Sakae I September 2016
    It is good location and friendly staff,I would like to stay there,again.
    Chin Ju H July 2016
    The Albury YHA is a simple hostel meeting all the basic needs of a traveler. During my stay it was very quiet with limited interaction with the few other guests. Most people appear to stay one night only as they are passing by. The Guest Centre with kitchen, tables and lounge is shared with the guests of the motor park, but again was quiet. I found it adequately equipped with microwave, stove and oven. One toilet is available upstairs near the bedrooms, with the bathrooms (with showers) located down the stairs and through an outdoor passage. Showers were clean with bathmats provided. The room I stayed in only had one powerpoint, which was required for the heater, making it difficult to charge any electronic devices. The heaters worked well and kept the rooms warm. The parking spaces were also very helpful! There's an Aldi across the road, and a shopping centre around the corner - plus a petrol station. So, perfect for a stop-of! Overall I was happy with this hostel as it was perfect for a place to sleep, cook and stay for a short visit.
    Laura W July 2016
    Always bring ear plugs in case of snoring share occupants.
    Benedict F O July 2016
    Located within walking distance to local supermarkets and shopping centres, this hostel was perfectly located. Heater was provided which heated the room effectively. Single toilet provided upstairs where the rooms are so you don't have to go outside at night to use the toilet. Would come back again! 😊
    Jessica S July 2016
    Was a good place for a stop-over, though I'm not sure I would want to stay much longer. The staff were really friendly and helpful. After hours checkin had to be arranged before the office closed, but did work well.
    Jonathan M March 2016
    Comfortable bunk beds in the hostel. Excellent value for money, for a clean, friendly, safe place to spend the night. Shared guest area had plenty of seating: tables and chairs, couches. Kitchen areas has a large fridge/freezer, and bench/sink space, although there are plenty of shops and take-away restaurants nearby.
    James B February 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    255 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money