Batemans Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Batemans Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (310 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The staff at the hostel were super friendly and helpful. The mixed cabin we stayed in was very basic but fine. We didn't use the rest of the hostels facilities besides the showers which were clean and hot. I'd recommend if people are happy with basic facilities.
    80%
    Emma J April 2017
    Was nice staying there all people are very friendly
    85%
    Naren K April 2017
    Stayed only one night in onsite caravan . Had car...beach and town access seemed a bit distant without car (but we're not young travellers any more:) Check local transport. Kitchen (plates and cutlery very well managed) very clean, bathrooms and showers just fine. Staff friendly. Will stay again.
    95%
    Victor S February 2017
    The hostel was okay for me, but if you are used to NZ-YHA-standards you might be disappointed.
    65%
    Christian M February 2017
    Stayed in a double caravan that had a toilet attached. Was very clean and safe and near to kitchen and common room. Showers though were very slow with not much water output at any time.
    90%
    Anne B January 2017
    On a campsite with the backpackers rooms situated in the main building under the reception. It is very small with just a boys and girls dorm each. A little noisy as the communal areas wrap the whole way around the girls dorm. Plenty of good showers and toilets. Small swimming pool to use also.
    92%
    Lara S January 2017
    This hostel was a good place to stay as a base while spending the days out at the nearby beaches and national parks. The common room was average and the kitchen facilities were decent. To be honest, it isn't my favourite YHA but it is good enough.
    68%
    Stephanie F January 2017
    No fans in rooms or in shared lounge v hot stuffy
    78%
    Amanda W December 2016
    I live in the twin room. 50$/per night. This experience told me The higher the price, the better the quality of the merchandise. The picture on the website have private bathroom and sofa in the room. However there is nothing except bed.And the bed have dust, it induced my asthma. And the window is small, no air-conditioning, the room is stuffy. Because of this twin room is next to the common room, so we can hear some people play music after 11:00. Staff there is good. After all the price is fair, but if you want a good rest, better choose higher price.
    72%
    Jian K December 2016
    Situated on a caravan park, so be prepared to put up with quirky elderly holidaymakers... Showers and kitchen were ok. TV room adjoins the kitchen. Beds are in caravans, which got really cold at night. Also, their interior doesn't look like it has been refurbished for decades - literally.
    60%
    Martin November 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    77%
    77%
    customer rating, based on 310 reviews
    Cleanliness
    75%
    Condition of facilities
    68%
    Efficiency of service
    83%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    78%
    Overall atmosphere
    72%
    Safety & Security
    78%
    Value for Money
    79%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!