Batemans Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Batemans Bay YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (367 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Room is different from the photo displayed on yha page and described in the yha page.
52%
Suresh S 08/10/2019
Economic backpackers, heater in rooms for cold seasons.
58%
Kum Chiang L 28/09/2019
It feels quite dated and unloved. It was clean enough but there was junk around, old fridges etc. It felt like a bit of a depressing space! Staff seemed disinterested. The room I was in felt like a cell and was cold.
58%
Holly D 25/09/2019
I had two nights here but was away for all of the daylight hours after 8am so did not get much opportunity to enjoy the facilities. I was also fortunate to have a cabin to myself.
82%
Colin L 26/08/2019
It was very, very cold. Since there was no heaters and no sun. The toilet and shower were outside. In summer this would be fine, but in winter it’s not. It was the most expensive YHA we’ve been and also the worst one. I won’t recommend it to anyone.
40%
Arinth Plony F 18/08/2019
I did not stay for my three booked nights as after eating dinner in the dining room, the heavy sliding door to my room fell off the lower track. I tried to replace the door onto the track but it was too heavy and was creating pain in my hands and wrists as I have osteoarthritis. I packed up my belongings and went looking for a motel. I tried but their reception was closed. With 8km left of fuel I went to a garage nearby but it was closing for the night. I did eventually get fuel and a motel b
32%
Deanna B 24/07/2019
It was good.
95%
Michael T 21/05/2019
It got really cold during the night in the cabin as the heater was not sufficient. Could you please focus on cleaning the drawers? There's a long overdue bread.
85%
Jiri H 08/05/2019
The caravan (double bed) was a quaint 60s,/70s model inside and out. Even curtains seemed original (holes in some)! Kitchen remarkably clean for a hostel, but toilets often lacked toilet paper. Managers kindly left me antiseptic cream, plasters,etc when I rang them after cutting my ankle on coastal rocks. Birds in trees a welcome sound. Overall, a pleasant stay and pretty good value.
78%
Anne D 24/04/2019
Unlike most YHAs, this one is not particularly central. However it has character! Plus decent toilets/showers/kitchen.. and free tea and coffee! and a selection of DVDs!
80%
Julia H 23/02/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

68%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
72%
Condition of facilities
60%
Efficiency of service
73%
Friendliness of staff
75%
Location
69%
Overall atmosphere
63%
Safety & Security
70%
Value for Money
64%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL