Search YHA

Batemans Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Batemans Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (286 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    had a wonderful experience.
    82%
    Swapnil G June 2016
    We were happy to book with YHA as the standard and atmosphere are usually very good. We stayed in a 5-share-cabin. I should mention that this cabin was more expensive than a hostel where a cabin only has a toilet you still need to walk outside and get to the main venue to use a shower or kitchen. Cabins have no heating at all and we all woke up with a cold and sore throat, the smell inside was terrible- all of our clothes smelled like cigarettes. I think they should wash the curtains and mattresses after guests smoke in the cabin instead of just letting next guests in. Overall conditions in the hostel are poor- including very old showers and toilets. Staff at the reception was very very unfriendly, one of the quotes was "we do business here". It was an extremely unpleasant experience and I wouldn't recommend to stay there. If you have an option to find some AirBnb or other cheap accommodation than don't stay there.
    42%
    Kasia April 2016
    Great stay! However, one of the stuff threw all the food away in the fridge without any notice!
    70%
    Nathanael Z April 2016
    Everything is perfect!
    100%
    Tae Hee N April 2016
    Good value for money, but a cockroach running around the floor in our room and the lounge wasn't great!
    78%
    Christine A March 2016
    We staid in the YHA batemans bay and had cockroach in our trailer. Coming from other YHA the facilities seemed less adapted and enjoyable
    60%
    Maxime L March 2016
    It is a very small, nice hostel where you are bound to get in contact with other guests. The Pool is nice to cool down after a hot day and the parrots and cockatoos welcome you at the hostel.
    85%
    Gerrit S January 2016
    staff are friendly and helpful.
    92%
    Chris January 2016
    If your looking for activities and social interaction this is not the hostel for you. If you want quiet and safe go for it.
    68%
    Andrew C January 2016
    Thanks to the other occupants i had a good time. Paying extra for a single room was a bad idea. Dark brick cell like room with bunk beds. Floor tiles cracked, grubby curtain at the window. Right next to the back door (everyone has to go through here to the toilets and showers) this door has to be unlocked every time, as does the shower/toilets. the locks are noisy and clunky and it is very disturbing thro the night. cleanliness ok in the showers but dead flies in the lights, cracked floor tiles. This place needs some investment and improvement. Communal areas are fairly clean and comfy, altho not enough fresh air getting in. some lights not working, a row of clocks none of which are working. Needs some TLC
    58%
    Margaret W December 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    78%
    286 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    72%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    77%
    Overall atmosphere
    72%
    Safety & Security
    80%
    Value for Money
    81%