Search YHA

Batemans Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Batemans Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (302 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel was okay for me, but if you are used to NZ-YHA-standards you might be disappointed.
    65%
    Christian M February 2017
    Stayed in a double caravan that had a toilet attached. Was very clean and safe and near to kitchen and common room. Showers though were very slow with not much water output at any time.
    90%
    Anne B January 2017
    On a campsite with the backpackers rooms situated in the main building under the reception. It is very small with just a boys and girls dorm each. A little noisy as the communal areas wrap the whole way around the girls dorm. Plenty of good showers and toilets. Small swimming pool to use also.
    92%
    Lara S January 2017
    This hostel was a good place to stay as a base while spending the days out at the nearby beaches and national parks. The common room was average and the kitchen facilities were decent. To be honest, it isn't my favourite YHA but it is good enough.
    68%
    Stephanie F January 2017
    No fans in rooms or in shared lounge v hot stuffy
    78%
    Amanda W December 2016
    I live in the twin room. 50$/per night. This experience told me The higher the price, the better the quality of the merchandise. The picture on the website have private bathroom and sofa in the room. However there is nothing except bed.And the bed have dust, it induced my asthma. And the window is small, no air-conditioning, the room is stuffy. Because of this twin room is next to the common room, so we can hear some people play music after 11:00. Staff there is good. After all the price is fair, but if you want a good rest, better choose higher price.
    72%
    Jian K December 2016
    Situated on a caravan park, so be prepared to put up with quirky elderly holidaymakers... Showers and kitchen were ok. TV room adjoins the kitchen. Beds are in caravans, which got really cold at night. Also, their interior doesn't look like it has been refurbished for decades - literally.
    60%
    Martin November 2016
    had a wonderful experience.
    82%
    Swapnil G June 2016
    We were happy to book with YHA as the standard and atmosphere are usually very good. We stayed in a 5-share-cabin. I should mention that this cabin was more expensive than a hostel where a cabin only has a toilet you still need to walk outside and get to the main venue to use a shower or kitchen. Cabins have no heating at all and we all woke up with a cold and sore throat, the smell inside was terrible- all of our clothes smelled like cigarettes. I think they should wash the curtains and mattresses after guests smoke in the cabin instead of just letting next guests in. Overall conditions in the hostel are poor- including very old showers and toilets. Staff at the reception was very very unfriendly, one of the quotes was "we do business here". It was an extremely unpleasant experience and I wouldn't recommend to stay there. If you have an option to find some AirBnb or other cheap accommodation than don't stay there.
    42%
    Kasia April 2016
    Great stay! However, one of the stuff threw all the food away in the fridge without any notice!
    70%
    Nathanael Z April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    78%
    302 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    70%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    78%
    Overall atmosphere
    72%
    Safety & Security
    79%
    Value for Money
    80%