Batemans Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Batemans Bay YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (337 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I was the only one staying in the hostel. It was great and very important to have a hostel at this point of the road from Sydney to Melbourne
90%
Lior W 02/12/2018
I don't really think that this can be considered as a YHA. Its more like a camping. The room was either too hot or too cold, we couldn't get access to the wifi in the room, the camping is not close to the city center and there were no activites organised for young people. The cleanliness was also not top. Wouldn't recommend it.
48%
Anouk B 01/12/2018
Few issues overweighed the otherwise pleasant experience. Wi-fi didn't work and the room was freezing with only one small and loud heater to help. Staff was super nice and I liked the look and atmosphere of the place. Short walk from the town.
70%
Akseli K 14/10/2018
The hostel and the location have nothing to recommend them. Hostel was shabby and very basic. Also, it is a challenge to get to for people who don't have a car due to hilly terrain and distance from the bus stop. There is no courtesy bus.
50%
Heather M 11/10/2018
Functional Spartan facilities. Poorly insulated caravans but several blankets provided. Attentive staff, good food recommendations. Would stay again.
85%
Andrew T 17/09/2018
Very nice hostel in a caravan park. Shame I was the only one there, haha!
98%
Tom E 05/08/2018
Kitchen was very bare, with no utensils and few facilities. The lights in the caravan did not work when we arrived but we were able to get one of them replaced. We did have a shed with a toilet which was nice but also had no light.
52%
Jess B 18/07/2018
Staff were friendly. Hostel was clean.
100%
Susan D 30/04/2018
I have stayed in many YHA hostels in the UK, New Zealand & Australia and am always recommending them as an excellent place to stay especially for the solo traveller. At the end of the day there are usually like-minded folks to share stories with and gain future travel tips. So it is as constructive comment that I replied to this feedback form. See below for complaints. Advice to other backpackers - do not go there, it is awful. For a few more dollars, get a cheap motel room.
42%
Chris F 20/03/2018
It could use some updating and a stronger WiFi signal outside of the common area , but other than that no complaints. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
85%
Gabriel S 03/02/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

75%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
73%
Condition of facilities
64%
Efficiency of service
83%
Friendliness of staff
87%
Location
74%
Overall atmosphere
70%
Safety & Security
74%
Value for Money
74%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL