Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (13918 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This is always a great place to come when visiting Sydney
98%
Stewart A 18/06/2018
I will continue to travel around Australia and take a rest in YHA I will probably want to experience travel YHA as well.
88%
Bruno Robert F V 17/06/2018
Stayed for 1 night during Vivid, within walking distance to restaurants and bars. Near Central Station for intercity and regional travellers convenient location
100%
Jennifer G 17/06/2018
My cousin and our kids do lots of fun stuff together. Staying at the YHA in a room altogether was so much fun and affordable. We were excited about our view and loved the new carpet. This beds were surprisingly comfortable with soft pillows and warm doonas. The bathroom was clean, attractive and spacious. We loved how the showers had a door that kept the dressing area dry. The YHA was aesthetically pleasing, very close to the train station and we loved the well priced modern cafe downstairs.
100%
Fiona C 17/06/2018
Good Common area and kitchen, though I wish the kitchen was open later than 10.30pm. I was often getting back to the hostel after then and would have liked, not to cook, but to get or store some food/drink there rather than in the dorm room.
78%
Garry Francis W 17/06/2018
Very clean and comfortable. Perhaps signs on the bedroom doors recommending people close them quietly at night?
98%
Jennifer G 17/06/2018
Fantastic location. I have stayed here multiple times. Staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful.The kitchen and dining facilities are good, as is the café. Rooms are a good size although cleanliness could be improved. The laundry facilities work well. Lots of options for cheap and delicious dining in the area, especially in Chinatown. Central Station a short walk away, which makes it easy to get out and about. The City Circle Line is a good train route for tourists.
85%
Lara V 14/06/2018
I stayed here with my Uni and then extended my stay for an additional week. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was perfect, and I loved that they had free activities going on everyday. I would definitely recommend Sydney Central YHA!
98%
Takenya M 14/06/2018
Was good,easy @ reception & staff friendly.Room was clean and so were common areas.Good for access to central station but hard for other parts of city due to road work.
72%
Suzanne F 13/06/2018
Some facilities seems a bit outdated but still good value for money!
92%
Max B 13/06/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
82%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
86%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
86%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL