Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (16043 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Dont like staff in the reception. Not friendly ..
48%
Benedicto A 21/10/2019
The location of the hostel is second to none. My wife and I use it as a launching pad to get to mascot airport early in the morning. You can walk to anywhere in the city and transport is everywhere if required. It’s a beautiful atmosphere throughout and I can’t rate it high enough. It is great for families.
82%
Clive R 21/10/2019
The hostel is okay. The location is great, within walking distance of Central Station and a supermarket. The rooftop pool, sauna, and patio is nice. The spacious dining area and co-working spaces are nice. On the downside, the wi-fi isn't very good and the connection keeps dropping so you have to keep reloading pages when on the Internet. The room I was staying looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while and some other areas seemed like they could use a cleaning. The kitchens are kind of small
78%
Evan S 21/10/2019
Had a good stay and we'll be back.
92%
Peter M 20/10/2019
Ive stayed here before only its been redone now and is a lot better. Location,its across the road from Central station,near Paddys markets,China Town,Darling Harbor. Its a fair walk to Pitt St Mall and Circular Quay. Once the trams are up and running it will make life easier for getting around.I tried the 1 metre deep pool on the roof and found the water freezing but thats Sydney weather for you. This place also has a mini cinema and runs movies. Modern kitchen facilities. Lockers available rent
100%
Gavin R 19/10/2019
Very convenient with very good vibes ☺
100%
Luz C 19/10/2019
Great location, friendly staff, clean room. Breakfast for $5 is good value.
100%
Toni C 19/10/2019
Love this place. Had a double room shared bathroom.Would have been in a dormitory except I snore and hate to disturb others. Will be back!
100%
Leonie K 19/10/2019
The hostel is very good located, staff friendly and good facilities. We had a Double room with private bath, and maybe the room cleaning could be better and more frequently, but I 'd recommended to my friends. It' s expensive but Sydney is crazy!
75%
Amaia B 18/10/2019
Not very social lots of pensioners
75%
Stacey P 18/10/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
98%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
89%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL