Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (14651 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Good place to stay To visit Sydney.
98%
Claude P 12/12/2018
Would be nice to have free wifi in the rooms as well
100%
Bianca Miller K 11/12/2018
That was my 2nd time at this hostel. I was on the same floor of a teenager group. I have been awake by them every morning because of the loud talking in the hall and the multiple doors closing. Showers were cleaner the first time. No a/c in the room. In the morning it was a oven ! Otherwise, staff is friendly and helping. Common areas big enough and enjoyable even if you're by yourself or not.
78%
Marie Michele B 11/12/2018
Just stayed one night so we could have easy access to Central Station for early morning 13 hr train trip. This is a brilliant location, we are Sydneysiders so know Sydney very well. We popped up the road to the Palace Cinema & loads of cheap and cheerful eateries in the area. Loved this hostel, we are oldies & have stayed in hostels throughout the world, but this is literally one of the best. Our room was excellent, lovely bathroom, even had teamaking facilities as well as a TV. Great value.
100%
Lyn R 10/12/2018
Excellent location. Perfect for my needs on this trip
88%
Craig S 09/12/2018
Unsatisfactory. No sleep the entire night due to noise of the next doors banging.
42%
Smriti K 09/12/2018
Rooms good staff were great and very helpful But location with the road work was pretty crap Overall had a great night
98%
Jean P 09/12/2018
Invest in new beds that don't creak like an old ship at the slightest movement 🤔. I kinda hate Sydney but being so close to central station this YHA is really convenient for an overnight stay if you're passing through by train or flight. Did the backpacker thing 5 years ago, kinda over hostels but it was cheap, clean and okay for one night.
78%
Alexander T 09/12/2018
Great staff and access to facilities with a great location.
98%
Christopher B 09/12/2018
Friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately large groups did my stay a bit less pleasant (I am a light sleep person) and people slamming doors. Would recommend the hostel any way
80%
Maria Florencia A 08/12/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
77%
Condition of facilities
81%
Efficiency of service
82%
Friendliness of staff
86%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
80%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL