Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (10994 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The staff here are superb. Genuinely friendly people - literally happy to help you out in any way possible. Really made a difference to my stay here.
    92%
    Richard J September 2016
    Our room had a tv which wasn't the case last time we stayed here.
    100%
    Kylie M September 2016
    I was pleasantly surprised as I have not stayed at this type of accommodation previously. Would recommend it to anybody who wants budget accommodation in the city.
    100%
    michael m August 2016
    The rooms and the toilets are very dated. The carpets and bedspreads are old. I much prefer to pay an extra 10$ per night and stay at the Sydney Harbour YHA, which is very modern and clean. No complaint about the staff though, everyone was nice and helpful.
    75%
    Ingrid G August 2016
    It's Ok, a bit overpriced and during the day the pool had such loud terrible music playing it was not relaxing
    88%
    Paloma W August 2016
    Ideal location next to Central Rly. Comfortable but simple room and facilities. Good meal in restaurant.
    98%
    Adrian F August 2016
    Fantastic! Very clean, got everything you can ask for, and friendly staff!
    100%
    Magnus J August 2016
    Proximity to both Sydney Urban Transport and Regional Rail and Coach Transport is a very positive feature. There is no discrimination on age or family groups. Intending Visitors should be advised of the pitfalls of obtaining an Opal Transport Card especially if arriving after 9 p.m. at Central railway.
    98%
    IAIN M August 2016
    I stayed for one night with my sister in a twin room. There was a bit of confusion as we were told we had to get our sheets (turns out this is just for dorms) and my sister believed a picture was a bit misleading in terms of the bed. The cleaning staff did a very good job and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. One major negative was the lack of a door on the shower.
    98%
    Georgina L August 2016
    Brilliant shower but kitchen facilities were a bit poor and wifi really slow.
    88%
    Sarah w August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    10994 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    89%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    99%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    85%
    Value for Money
    84%