Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (9432 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I live in Adelaide but always stay here when I come to Sydney - great staff, great location, good facilities and good price.
    Norman R October 2015
    + Lage + WLAN (Premium gegen Gebühr) + ruhiges Hostel - Mitarbeiter - Sauberkeit! - Leuten checken mitten in der Nacht ein wenn man schläft! (01:00 Uhr morgens!) könnte man besser handhaben...
    Patrick N October 2015
    Aircon wasn't working. Room was stuffy. Staff at reception eventually offered to provide a portable fan after venting frustrations especially having to pay $160 for a night!! Time passed and still no fan. Approached same staff again and he said no fan available on our floor. But did not have courtesy to inform us!!! More frustrations vented .. only then did he offered to look for fan from other floors!? Thankfully fan was finally delivered. And room finally less stuffy.
    Kwai L October 2015
    I had a very pleasant stay at the Sydney Central YHA. The rooms and washrooms were clean, the staff were friendly and warm, just a great experience. Will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Sydney!
    Vincent N October 2015
    I stayed at the hostel for one night! The location is perfect, just a couple of minutes walk from central station. The place is very clean, especially the bathroom ( which was very nice)
    Stephanie A October 2015
    It is too noisy outside in the midnight.
    JIANING L October 2015
    Clean and friendly. Great location for public transportation
    Robert C October 2015
    Good value for the location.
    Matt C October 2015
    The hostel is clean, reasonably priced for its location and really conveniently placed for Central Station and Chinatown
    Andrew B October 2015
    very good location!!!!
    yao x October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    9432 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money