Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (12632 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I use this hostel as a place to stay overnight when travelling by train. It is literally right across the road from Sydney Central Railway Station (country trains side). So whether it is early or late when my train arrives or leaves I don't have far to travel with my bag nor factor in any travel time! LOVE this aspect of the location and as for a place to stay it is all that is necessary for short or long term stays. Enjoy.
    96%
    Trish H June 2017
    Great location. Short walk to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay. So handy to railway station for trips further afield. Good kitchen facilities and dining area allowed for comfortable self catering. Quite comfortable lounge area for relaxing and daily movies in the theatre. Many organised activities and meals, however, I was too busy to take advantage of these. Perhaps on my next visit. Stayed at the same time as a school group, therefore there was a lot of noise at night when I was hoping to sleep. Unable to open window so room felt airless and stuffy. Hostel staff attempted to keep areas clean however, patrons seem to be messy. Stayed for 5 nights and my room was unexpectedly cleaned mid-stay. Thank you.
    89%
    Morgen K A June 2017
    So central and easy access to airport, train, bus, eateries, pubs price is fantastic for all this in the heart of Sydney additionally I had a room with its own bathroom and tv which i did not expect 10/10 my partner and i stay every time we are in sydney or on our way o/s for business
    100%
    Ian T June 2017
    Slept well and had everything we needed for a short stay in Sydney.
    93%
    Deborah D June 2017
    Fantastic location, friendly staff and wonderful café downstairs!
    82%
    Leah T June 2017
    I found the bed very comfortable and I enjoyed staying in the private room and ensuite. The kitchen was very well equipped and the location of the hostel was very convenient. Thank you
    100%
    Cherie C June 2017
    Hostel is well located but lacks atmosphere. Very noisy music playing and echo of people's voice on level 1 makes it difficult to concentrate when doing work on computers. Rooms and hallways are run down and dark and gloomy. Beds are squeaky. Mini theatre is a good idea and kitchen was fairly clean
    60%
    Josh N June 2017
    There was a very loud piecing noise in the ladies toilet on level 7.
    84%
    Kerri G June 2017
    The new card door-opener (since I stayed a year ago) is a great improvement even though I managed to wipe mine and it had to be reset. The floor I was on (3) seemed to have well behaved residents during my 5 night stay. The toilets were shutting off properly after flushing, which has not been the case on past visits. The increase in the number of tea towel holder brackets in the 24 hour kitchen was welcome. The reception staff were very helpful indeed in several ways. It was a holiday weekend but I had the impression there were not as many staying as usual. Make sure you label your food - perhaps buy a secure bag - my milk, bread and banana disappeared on the first day within 3 hours of their being put ion the frig. Do visit the Custom House at Circular Quay to see the underfloor model of the Sydney CBD. A visit to Sydney for me is incomplete if I don't visit it. I love it. A ferry trip to Parramatta and exploration there is well worth it.
    73%
    Helen R June 2017
    I love staying at the YHA because the staff are always so friendly and helpful.
    98%
    Greg L June 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    89%
    customer rating, based on 12632 reviews
    Cleanliness
    85%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    92%
    Value for Money
    86%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!