Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

90%
Sydney, NSW

Our heritage-listed building, opposite Central Station, in the hub of the backpacker precinct, offers backpacker accommodation at its finest.

$34
Check availability
  • Sydney Central YHA_Exterior
  • Sydney Central YHA - 6 share room
  • Sydney Central YHA_cinema
  • Sydney Central YHA - Cafe
  • Sydney Central YHA - Cafe exterior
  • Sydney Central YHA - Cafe bar area
  • Sydney Central YHA - Spa
  • Sydney Central YHA - Pool
  • Sydney Central YHA_cinema bean
  • Sydney Central YHA_Rooftop
  • Sydney Central YHA_Kitchen
  • Sydney Central YHA_Games
  • Sydney Central YHA_Exterior Selfie
  • Sydney Central YHA_Activities Board
  • Sydney Central YHA_Entrance
  • Sydney Central YHA_Breakfast
  • Sydney Central YHA_Dining
Right now in Sydney...
11:37 PM
|
10°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (9035 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I was greeted with friendly service and the room was what I had expected. The lounge room was comfortable and the movies were well chosen. The staff were easy to get along with and always up for a chat!
    98%
    Mitchell O June 2015
    Great staff, good facilities. I live in Newcastle and catch the train to Sydney just to do Sydney Pub Crawl. It's such a cheap night out $2.50 for the train $47 for the bed and $20 for the pub crawl. And it feels like I've been on a real holiday overnight. Tip for convenience 1.Small powerboard when travelling with more than one electronic device. There has always been 4 plugs in each 4 share dorm room but if two people have a phone and camera or like me a hair dryer, straightener, 2x phones, 2x iPads (for the kids) it's convenient to charge them all at once. Saving money: 1. Small towel to travel with to save on the $2 towel charge 2. Pack washing powder and portion it into snap bags for convenience to save money 3. Join YHA to save on accommodation and get discounts at different stores.
    95%
    Emily K June 2015
    Very helpful staff, clean facility with tons of amenities! Cafe breakfast was awesome. Thanks for a great stay in Sydney!
    100%
    Catherine K June 2015
    The second floor room was pretty quiet even though it was facing the main road. Its proximity to everything was great.
    98%
    Grace S June 2015
    Have already recommended this hostel to friends who frequent Sydney.
    100%
    Bryan K June 2015
    My four children, aged between 17 and 7, and I had a great stay. The youth hostel is excellent value for money in a very convenient location. We'll definitely be back!
    100%
    Ruth C June 2015
    Ive never stayed in a hostel before so I was a bit apprehensive to say the least. But this place is amazing!! The staff are super friendly and the 24 hour reception and security were awesome since i had a late flight. The two kitchens are very clean, as if the common areas of the building. The lockers right in the room were also very nice for added peace of mind. And did i mention...free movies!?
    95%
    Megan W June 2015
    Stayed at central many times, I'll definitely be back
    100%
    Timothy B June 2015
    I did not have a good experience when I check out, the staff was not very nice to me when I check out late....not really late enough...just 5 mins....flying from Vancouver because of jet lag...waked up late..asking for help but get the coldness back...
    58%
    min ling h June 2015
    Great atmosphere, free wifi, the pool and sauna really is a bonus too.
    100%
    Zac E June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    9035 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & security
    92%
    Value for money
    85%