Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (13262 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I have stayed there several times before - just so convenient to the station when transiting between air and train travel as well as being handy to waterfront attractions.
90%
Susan Clare T 14/12/2017
I really liked this hostel as it is really clean, there is a pool and a sauna, a cinema, some activities and then the location is super central especially if you come from the airport or want to fly :) staff is really friendly too.
85%
Nadine 13/12/2017
The rooms need fans
98%
Juan M 13/12/2017
Location is very convenient. It’s looking quite tired nowadays. Reception staff friendly. Recommend wearing thongs/flip flops in showers/bathrooms etc. Shower cleanliness - mediocre.
72%
Susan D 12/12/2017
I did the first week in room 320 (4 people), a pretty nice room even if several points are to be reviewed (electric sockets next to the bed for example). In that week's room (714) we were very cramped. Moreover, I asked for a double room and you only put me with men. We didn't have any lights near the beds, only 4 electric sockets when it was a 5-bedded room (and unlike other rooms we didn't have electrical sockets in the lockers). And the worst part was that there was no ventilation so we could have temperatures around 30 degrees during the night, just unbearable. This room is really a shame, you should at least remove a bed to have some space.
70%
Ghm C 12/12/2017
Very reliable, great location
80%
Carly G 12/12/2017
In the room was very smelled, the airconditioner was making the room very cold, always very noisy and smell everywhere, could not sleep all night, these made me exhausted very bad condition, locker charge money, Everything was very bad.
48%
So Hyoung K 12/12/2017
My only negative was the noise of a dance party nearby, that kept me awake later than I had planned. I’m not sure if this was connected to the YH but once I was asleep, I slept all night because the bed was so comfortable. Perfect location for an early morning flight. Thank you
95%
Lynette Joan D 12/12/2017
Pleasant, with friendly helpful staff.
85%
Judith B 11/12/2017
The cinema is a high point, exceptional. The security has increased significantly, it just makes it harder to use the facilities
92%
John Phillip G 10/12/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

83%
customer rating, based on 13262 reviews
Cleanliness
75%
Condition of facilities
76%
Efficiency of service
82%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
80%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
78%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL