Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (10971 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Proximity to both Sydney Urban Transport and Regional Rail and Coach Transport is a very positive feature. There is no discrimination on age or family groups. Intending Visitors should be advised of the pitfalls of obtaining an Opal Transport Card especially if arriving after 9 p.m. at Central railway.
    98%
    IAIN M August 2016
    I stayed for one night with my sister in a twin room. There was a bit of confusion as we were told we had to get our sheets (turns out this is just for dorms) and my sister believed a picture was a bit misleading in terms of the bed. The cleaning staff did a very good job and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. One major negative was the lack of a door on the shower.
    98%
    Georgina L August 2016
    Brilliant shower but kitchen facilities were a bit poor and wifi really slow.
    88%
    Sarah w August 2016
    Was trying to get a private room but too late. Stayed in a female 4-share room. A girl was vomiting violently in toilet and effluent everywhere. I was scared of getting infection and didn't return to my room. It is a youth hostel after all.
    62%
    Mei Xiang Z August 2016
    All good. Just a little noisy but that's to be expected!
    88%
    Megan H August 2016
    Except for few noisy nights, everything else was good. Few boys and girls on our floor were really drunk and shouting at midnight. I had to complain this to Reception and it took them half an hour to get that sorted.
    78%
    RAVI A August 2016
    Excelente , bien ubicado, atención impecable, hablan tu idioma, limpio
    98%
    Juan Cruz S August 2016
    Fantastically placed, YHA CENTRAL allowed us to visit Sydney without breaking the accommodation budget. Beng able to lock away the bags in a locker was great after checkout, so that we could spend even more time exploring the city.
    100%
    Christina T August 2016
    I really liked this hostel it was in a great location. I had a short stay there checked in around 7.30pm and out at 7am the next morning. If had longer there I would of made use of the swimming pool on top floor. I did how ever make use of really good cinema and the tv room as well.
    98%
    Rowena S August 2016
    Got to room and rubbish and old sheets on bed other than that all good
    85%
    Gareth S August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    10971 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    83%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    82%