Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (10005 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Excellent place to stay to see alot of Sydney as the train station is right next door and a quick walk to darling harbour
    100%
    Joel L February 2016
    good
    80%
    Wai Yu K February 2016
    The rooftop is just wonderful, so easy to meet new friendly people!
    90%
    Petter N February 2016
    Great hostel, great facilities, nice staff. Only thing I didn't like was the carpet floors, a bit smelly in the corridors, especially near the showers and toilets. Using the laundry room was a bit expensive compared to other hostels but overall I had a nice stay!
    90%
    Pernilla A February 2016
    Great hostel. Feels safe and it's clean and the staff our friendly. Only stayed for two nights so didn't get involved in any activities but there seems to be a lot going on which is always good. Best thing by far though is the the cafe attached/next door 'incafe' foods good and brilliant value for money!
    82%
    kelly c February 2016
    I stayed here for 2 nights, and the experience of living here was absolutely an amazing surprise! The location of the hostel is very closed to central station and there are so many cafés/restaurants/bars nearby - super convenient! Compared to the yha I stayed in Adelaide and Grampians national park in vic, this one the cleanest and the staff here were so friendly! Loved it!
    88%
    Dian Y February 2016
    In comparison to other YHA i have stayed at this one is poor and the overall facilities are dated. 1. Over commercialized for simple things like having to pay for luggage store which I have never had to do at a hostel before, and I have travelled all over the world. This affects the status of the security and safety of my belongings. 2. Poor free internet which is only available on ground/first floor which you are then selling 'premium' internet - hmmm very ominous. Why are you charging $1 for pancakes - this used to be free! This is extortionate when you see that a full pancake mix where you add water costs $1.29 - shame on you! 3. Kitchen small for the number of people staying there and not very well equipped. Check how the YHA Wellington NZ are doing this - they are VERY good. Many pots and stirring spoons need replacing. There should also be more discipline on guests properly cleaning, drying AND placing items back after they are used. A suggestion for items such as salt and pepper, etc. is for the front desk to have certain "free" items that need to be sent back to them after guests have used them would prevent hogging or stealing of such items. 4. Noisy bar downstairs. Ok so it is clear there is a party scene here - each top their own. However, we were on the 4th floor and could still hear the music from outside. We had been travelling all day and needed the rest. I would expect sound proofing to be installed into the building - check how other hostels have done this. Seems Sydney is behind even south east asian countries! 5. Some of the toilets were dirty and need to be maintained more frequently - this is more noticeable in the unisex toilets that smelt of urine. 6. The early check out time in this day and age - 10 am is too early - change to 12pm. We're backpackers! Positives: 1. Fantastic location. Right next to central train station which is convenient for both transport and when carrying big bags. 2. Really good powerful showers which can be temperature controlled. 3. Good choice of things to do each day including the free city walking tour - remember people are staying here because they DON'T have lots of money.
    58%
    Richard D February 2016
    What can I say! This is one of the best hostel i've ever been to! I'm so lucky to pick this place for my first visit here in Sydney and will definitely comeback here!
    100%
    John M February 2016
    Location Location Location!! and friendly staff, with clean facilities. Who could want more??
    100%
    Steve F February 2016
    This hostei is very centrally located
    88%
    Susanne M February 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    10005 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    80%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    87%
    Location
    93%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & security
    83%
    Value for money
    77%