Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (12127 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Well this hostel is in good location and very busy place.
    80%
    Beata Dorota N March 2017
    It used to be an old style building converted to YHA thanks to the high ceiling which enabled to accommodate bunk bed. The upholstery in the cinema and dining area and TV room need massive professional chemical clean. Maybe because the poor hygiene habit of most of residents, the cooking/dining area is not cleanup by the residents after use. The manager didn't emphasis on the point. Maybe the manager is lack of hygiene habit. Normally in hospitality industry, quality staff start from good Cleaners. If you worked as good qualified Cleaners in professional Cleaning/Hygiene industry, you sure to be the best manager. It is the most hard aspect of a hotel much more than stand behind computer. I use to work in the Sterilize room in the hospital. With my excellent computing skill. I must suppose to be the best manager for the entity.
    58%
    Kat (Xin) W March 2017
    I was greatly surprised at the conditions and cleanliness. I will recommend the yha to my friends. You get good service and good food at the cafe
    100%
    Lesley C March 2017
    Have stayed at this hostel since it opened in the late 90's... consistently good and a safe, clean place to stay in Sydney
    100%
    CHRIS T March 2017
    Very convenient location.
    88%
    Alix B March 2017
    Overall good place to stay. Loved the sauna upstairs! Only down side was that the the dining tables were sticky and dirty all the time. :(
    88%
    Petra P March 2017
    The room I was in was a 6 bed dorm. 3 "lodgers" decided to leave there clothes / shoes luggage all over the floor making it difficult for other 2 to use and find anywhere to put there luggage / items. WHen I say all over the floor, I mean ...it was like "spot the bit of carpet".
    78%
    Nicholas J March 2017
    Was a welcome surprise staying here, as I didn't expect the facilities on offer. The room was adequate in size for 3 people, the mattress and pillow very comfortable. The cafe downstairs was excellent for breakfast and dinner and the staff very friendly. Location across the road from Central station and only a 10 minute walk from Darling Harbour ICC was perfect as it rained the 3 days. I travel for work frequently and this is the first time I have stayed in a YHA and will definitely stay again.
    90%
    Helen P March 2017
    Very close to Central Station and other destinations to go! There are also some halal foods around here, friendly staff, very good facilities, RECOMMENDED!
    95%
    Ulfah H March 2017
    鍵を無くした時の対応も凄く良かったです。自分は8人のMixの部屋を使いました。不自由なく生活することができ、ロッカーの中にも充電出来るコンセントがあったので凄く助かりました。 南京錠を持っとくともっと便利です! Hotel staffも凄くfriendlyで良かったです。
    100%
    Shinichi S March 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    87%
    12127 customer rating, based on
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    84%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!