Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (11950 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    An excellent place to stay as it's close to transport, ie buses and trains, and train to the airport, within walking distance to all sorts of places and eateries. A great spot, with comfortable accommodation, information, assistance from staff and facilities. Thanks!
    98%
    Deborah W February 2017
    Hostel was very clean, and couldn't be more centrally located. Perhaps more attention to detail cleaning would be good, i.e. removing boogers from wall, toothpaste from curtains, mold which is beginning to grow in bathroom. Other than that, everything was generally clean. Reception and staff were friendly however not very outgoing...they didn't seem very happy to be there like other hostels! I'd stay here again though if the need for cheap accommodation arises.
    85%
    Josh H February 2017
    All good. Excellent location. Not boring. Very nice staff.
    100%
    Champ M February 2017
    A bit noisy with banging doors at night. Great location and great for the price. Cafe next door was excellent.
    92%
    Christine J February 2017
    Stayed at 8th floor - top floor. Very noise on Saturday night until mid-night as there was party at roof.
    82%
    NG N February 2017
    the unisex toilet on 8th floor is dirty and is always smelly. i guess the cleaning method is inefficient. i went to other floors and the environment is much better than floor 8 where I stayed. The hostel location is good though.
    62%
    Nawadee f February 2017
    Convenient, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Sydney Central hostel always a favourite.
    88%
    Jennifer B February 2017
    Home away from home. Access to the restaurant on the ground floor - for three meals a day - service great, very tasty, beautifully presented and so handy. Although we are probably too old for many of the arranged activities, we still appreciated that they were available for the younger travellers. Access to public transport from the hostel is so easy.
    100%
    Maureen P February 2017
    The cinema is good! I love the atmosphere in the cinema. And the staff are really friendly.
    92%
    Linda L February 2017
    Good hostel, great position, lovely staff, really nice atmosphere.
    82%
    Dylan M February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    11950 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    83%