Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (12834 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This hostel locates near Sydney Central station. It's really convenient in transportation and has great accessibility from anywhere in Sydney. It's not too far from many famous tourism sites (like Opera house, Darling Harbour, Sea Life aquarium etc.), so very convenient for tourists. Also, There are many shops and restaurants near hostel.
    84%
    Jaewon K August 2017
    It is so convenient to just get off the train at Central (after flying to Mascot) and walk a short distance. I had a room with a private bathroom. Room is very comfortable and has a TV as well as adequate bathroom. It is as good as some hotels and a lot cheaper than those in similar location.
    93%
    Peta N August 2017
    I am in my late 40's and I have stayed here a lot over they years. I sometimes stay in a private room with a bathroom as well as in the shared 4 female room and have found it too be a better experience than I thought it would be. I will say they are doing some renovating in the kitchen area at the moment, so it can be really crowded and hectic there at times. Aside from that its a great YHA and as usual I will be back.
    98%
    Veronica F August 2017
    I have always stayed at Central YHA whenever I travel to Sydney and my stays have always been good experiences.
    82%
    Maureen M August 2017
    It was amazing, the staff were wonderful and the room was clean and comfortable
    100%
    Ramona P August 2017
    Suited us very well as we arrived late on train from Broken Hill & was tired and needed a place to stay overnight that was close to Central station.
    93%
    kathryn w August 2017
    I always feel a fraud staying as the young kids prefer to stay with their peers but for an aged pensioner coming with luggage from the airport train no other place is as convenient and safe. I've stayed so many times!
    91%
    Virginia R August 2017
    it was absolutely amazing that after an incident I really really want to mention here, one of your workers, carmen, moved us to a different room. she definitely needs to hear that she's awesome! and even if there were like 3 people in the cinema room the guy still put the film on, being all nice and friendly
    82%
    Judith K August 2017
    This area is really good because it's just near to the train station. So we don't have to worry about the time. Just a short time walk.
    93%
    Saifullah M August 2017
    stayed at Rawson Street hostel many times as live in mid north coast and so centrally located and all travel to tourist areas in the city and outside to Blue Mnts. etc. easily accessible.
    100%
    Louise A August 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    89%
    customer rating, based on 12834 reviews
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & Security
    87%
    Value for Money
    88%