Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (10539 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    No TV in the private room.
    72%
    Nancy L May 2016
    It's will better that if there was a dryer in the laundry room
    100%
    Nathan Shuangshen L May 2016
    One of the best locations stay here once a month when I come to Sydney because everyone is so helpful, cafe right there great food lovely people and walking bus or train access to the entire city
    100%
    Lynda D May 2016
    We wanted a place that was reasonable price but close to Sydney Central and found it at Sydney Central YHA. The guests were a good mix of all ages. We enjoyed our stay.
    92%
    Belinda C May 2016
    Most convenient place in town! Why would anyone stay anywhere else? Not just or young adults, many families and older clientele as well. Not too loud or rowdy either.
    100%
    Patricia R May 2016
    Other than that I had a great positive experience.
    100%
    Balaji K May 2016
    Stayed here for a night. Hostel is very nice and close to the bus/train station. Also, you can walk down George Street for shopping; or if you continue, it leads to The Rocks and the Opera House.
    100%
    Emily T May 2016
    It is a friendly, relaxing and meeting some interesting other travellers.
    100%
    Henry P May 2016
    Great location. Everything you need is within walking distance, shops, buses, trains etc. Staff are really helpful in answering questions. The cafe is affordable if you don't feel like cooking.
    88%
    Lauren N May 2016
    My room was excellent for one person - double bed against wall, table and chair for working at and ensuite. All I needed. Down side was the thin walls and very heavy doors closing at night. The location is brilliant when needing something close to Central Railway. Restaurant downstairs is excellent and easy walk to everything.
    80%
    Lisa T May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    10539 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & security
    90%
    Value for money
    86%