Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

88%
Sydney, NSW

Our heritage-listed building, opposite Central Station, in the hub of the backpacker precinct, offers backpacker accommodation at its finest.

$34
Check availability
Right now in Sydney...
07:39 PM
|
13°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (9149 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The place is looking a little run down, and with no central bar/cafe as part of the hostel it wasn't quite as sociable as others I've stayed in. The toilets and showers were a bit dated and not always that clean, and one night I got in and some guy in full work gear was sleeping on my bed! Good location, big place and friendly staff, so pretty good overall.
    75%
    Pete H August 2015
    Just what I needed. a place close to the Station to stay overnight before getting a plan. worked well.
    80%
    Allan G August 2015
    Great location, really close to Central station and all the train lines in Sydney. Basic but clean enough and our private room with ensuite was away from all the hustle and bustle, which we liked. The cafe downstairs is great, particularly for breakfast. Quick and easy food.
    78%
    Fay B August 2015
    Location location location. So close to everything and right in the middle of the city.
    98%
    Noman A August 2015
    The location is excellent, but the continental breakfast is pretty upset the start of a day. The worst breakfast I have had in YHA. The Saturday night party from the neighbourhood was so loud after 12am.
    70%
    Jingjing C August 2015
    I love that there is a pool, mini "movie theater", and restaurant all onsite. The bar advertised was ok. Quiet for YHA but nice.
    75%
    Victoria W August 2015
    The staff was really nice, and the bathrooms were spotless !
    100%
    Laurena C August 2015
    like most large hostels with big common areas was hard to meet people.
    85%
    craig c August 2015
    Great hostel, my favourite city hostel in Aus. Great atmosphere, a relaxing pool and sauna on the roof with great sunset views, cinema every night, and pancakes on Thursdays! I extended my stay I felt so at home and chilled here. But noisey on Saturday nights, as the be expected.
    90%
    Lucy M August 2015
    Perfect for short stays.
    95%
    WENTAO Q July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    9149 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    86%