Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (9248 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Party in the hall way, slamming doors all night- noisy and rowdy people comming and going throughout night. Defiantly not a place to stay if your jet lagged and need a rest ( even though I had a private room with ensuite).
    62%
    Vanessa L August 2015
    A peaceful bunker in a noisy city. Lucky to get a share room to myself. Great, friendly service. Pleasant atmosphere.
    100%
    Gail G August 2015
    Good location excellent customer service and great facilities. Roomies were ok.
    88%
    Hayley M August 2015
    I always come back to this place, close to everything. Just overall I find it enjoying coming back
    100%
    Georgina C August 2015
    Room Was very warm
    60%
    Mark D August 2015
    Unfortunately the other guests staying on the fourth floor made it only an average stay and that's being polite as they left the bathrooms in a complete disgrace and the multiple school trips were extremely rude, loud and overall an embarrassment for their schools - both male and female
    70%
    Sarah S August 2015
    Great location, lovely clean hostel, fantastic value for money in the city! Not all of the entertainment was working while we were there, but there's no shortage of stuff to do in Sydney anyway. I will definitely stay there again when I next go to Sydney :)
    95%
    Deborah S August 2015
    It's definitely one of the best hostels that I've stayed in. Bathrooms & kitchen are excellent and the dining area is very commodious. Bed is very comfortable as well. One cannot ask for a better location as it is adjacent to the Central Station. A gigantic bouquet to all members of the staff for their huge accomplishment of making travellers comfortable.
    100%
    Victor A August 2015
    *)some of our food had been stolen (not your fault, but it was an unplessant event) *)friday&saturday night: it was really loud, because some of our neighbours made party (they didn't stop after someone from the staff talked to them) *on monday a whole school class was on our floor (so loud!) *)the room was pretty cold, because the air contition couldn't be turned out (we got extra blankets, but they only helped a little bit) *)the windows weren't good (we heard everything from the street&also cold air was coming in)
    85%
    gudrun f August 2015
    Great location. Excellent kitchens, dining area, and common areas. The cafe next door is also very good.
    85%
    Richard W August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    9248 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    85%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & security
    85%
    Value for money
    80%