Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (11122 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    My husband and I enjoyed our stay and appreciated the help of the reception staff in taking our luggage to our room when cleaned because we couldn't get the lockers to work. We hope to use this facility again when in Sydney as it is so close and convenient to Central Railway. We particularly enjoyed the café on the ground floor for breakfast and the prices were very reasonable. One thing we didn't appreciate was the noise coming from other residents when coming in the early hours of the morning making incredible noise and waking us up. Otherwise, well done. We were very happy with our stay.
    100%
    Margaret G September 2016
    The staff was so friendly and really helpful! We really enjoyed our time here. It was clean and easy.
    98%
    Kara G September 2016
    A safe and friendly place with a lot of fun activities on offer.
    100%
    Kate L September 2016
    All was good
    95%
    Paul R September 2016
    Untidy, unclean, too expensive - extra money for e.g. Bagage storage etc.
    52%
    Anya V September 2016
    Cheap clean simple accomodation close to Central railway station
    88%
    PETER K September 2016
    I really enjoyed my time in Sydney and this Hostel is great as it is near everything that I needed during my stay.
    100%
    Olivia S September 2016
    Hostel was ok however the door to our dorm would not lock. Notified staff but nothing was really done about it. Bathroom facilities were not very clean - vomit over the toilet wall etc. However great location and friendly staff.
    58%
    Chloe C September 2016
    I got many new friends from other countries. It's very convenient location.
    95%
    Patrattanaorn W September 2016
    We had a great en-suite double room for a fantastic price in central Sydney, in a modern friendly hostel. Great location and would definitely recommend!
    100%
    Paul D September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    11122 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    80%