Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (9622 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Large groups of school age children do not enhance the stay of other guests. Perhaps they should be asked to be less loud after 9.30pm
    Margaret S November 2015
    Excellent location, friendly staff and very efficient in its operations.
    Sue P November 2015
    Good kitchen facilities and dinning hall. Friendly staff. Good location. 24 hours reception. Good security,
    WAI MING Y November 2015
    Great staff, great location and very clean and well maintained rooms
    Elizabeth K November 2015
    Firstly a brilliant, clean and comfy hostel! I've stayed in quite a few hostels around Melbourne, Sydney, Tassie and Japan, and this YHA is right at the top. Finally a bed with no squeaks and the comfiest for a hostel, that makes the biggest difference when you need to feel refreshed for a day of exploring. Facilities looked great and spacious too. Thank god too there was no raging dancefloor under our room either ;)
    Edwin B November 2015
    A very nice quiet hostel in a great location.
    Margaret D November 2015
    Very kind and helpful staff, good ambiance and with Family Rooms that fulfill all our expectations. Highly recommended
    Ms. Mercedes C November 2015
    Hi, I stayed At 420 for 4 dorm about 4 Or 5 Night. i like your place.
    JunHyuk i November 2015
    Lovely hostel,friendly helpful staff,very helpful with putting you in the right direction , central to everything , enjoyed the restaurant As well, had lovely staff as well , it made my stay in Sydney even more pleasant.
    Jennifer D November 2015
    We were on the second floor. A clean and comfortable room, good value for money for Sydney and a handy location. Being on the second floor there was some traffic noise and also could here the bass from a disco at night. If you need a very quiet room go for the higher floors.
    Karan J November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    9622 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money