Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (11489 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Too loud always.
    55%
    Brandan S December 2016
    One real problem was the constant banging doors at night almost impossible to close quietly, also strange beeps in dormitory at night.....snore alert, fire alarm. Otherwise a good conveniently placed hostel.
    80%
    Diana W December 2016
    This is a really nice place! Love it! People are nice and friendly. Close to Central station, convenient to go to other places!
    95%
    SHIH-FEN C November 2016
    staff very very helpful and friendly
    100%
    Patricia K November 2016
    Very central position - always enjoy my stay at the YHA Central.
    100%
    Vicki T November 2016
    Super friendly reception staff, 4 bunk room was great. Would stay again, great location and just metres from Central Station. Cheers
    90%
    Jeremy M November 2016
    Second stay here, I have comment my first stay: very good, thanks!
    98%
    Robert R November 2016
    If I get the chance to come back to Sydney, I wll stay at the YHA Central again. Thanks for great days in a big and very beautiful city!
    98%
    Robert R November 2016
    Very good loved it.
    100%
    katie t November 2016
    Room size good, Shower ok but water pressure low & to get close enough to the water stream involved standing next to the tap which when nudged would shut off the water, so made using the shower difficult. The bed was basic but rather old & squeaky, the A/C was good but too cold & no adjustment. Windows couldn't be opened for fresh air.
    72%
    John T November 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    11489 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    84%