Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (11266 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Hostel excellent, great location, and very comfortable room.
    Ros B October 2016
    I needed a last minute place to stay in the city. The price was really reasonable and it was so easy to book online. YHA has become my go-to for accommodation around Australia.
    Angela W October 2016
    Huge crowds of school children on excursion enjoying the hostel, which was good to see, but it was also good that as a mature traveller I had been allocated to a more adult floor! Comfy temperature and room of four beds was spacious and quiet.
    Penny W October 2016
    It was a great experience staying in this hostel. Its just in front of Central Station. There are lots of dining & shopping locations nearby. Free wifi is available in the common areas. I wish that there are more sofas in the living room though. Friendly staffs. Free food in ref sometimes available where diners leave their leftovers for others instead of being put to waste. Definitely will stay again if going back to Sydney.
    Lisa N October 2016
    Why would I recommend it to a friend you are already full its your fault,well done.
    Pierre R October 2016
    Melanie helped me book my excursions and was so kind and generous with her time. A huge thank you to Mel! You are wonderful!
    Mary E. D October 2016
    Only one complaimnt. The Sunday morning special breakfact was not on. The Monday morning pancakes were missing.
    Janet I already put it in M October 2016
    Great central spot near Central Railway, Paddy's market, lots of Asian restaurants and has great cafe attached to buy meals if you dont wont to go out. Good common areas with lots of facilities. Friendly, helpful staff irrespective of your age. there are people of all age groups staying here and its suited to budget conscious families as well.
    Ross M October 2016
    Very conveniently located for Central Train Station, cafe downstairs reasonably priced and good food.
    Dale M October 2016
    Excellent in total. The incafe service is best. Neighbor Room obviosly has been used by more persons than beds available on night Saturday 1.10.16 to Sunday = very loud. As (Man) European I don't understand not having - one - pissoir in the man's toilets, Australien behave like... having in any toilet.
    Bernhard H October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    11266 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money