Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (10435 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Best Hostel i ever stayed in, guys seriously. Would come back anytime
    90%
    Lisa I April 2016
    YHA Central has a really friendly atmosphere, the staff are great and very helpful, would definitely stay again!
    100%
    Molly V April 2016
    Good backpackers to stay few nights.
    88%
    Alexandre F April 2016
    Fantastic location. Reasonably priced. Noisy though and the men's bathrooms were smelly
    82%
    Ian W April 2016
    Some guests were very drunk on Saturday and behaved extremely poorly, and this went unchecked by YHA staff. This aspect needs to addressed, and poorly behaving/alcohol-affected guests need to be controlled or removed from the premises. Staff need to be more "onto it" and assertive in dealing with poorly-behaving guests.
    85%
    Bryan K April 2016
    Mattresses really comfortable and pillows ok. Rooms spacious and equipped with private lockers. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper as the only way to shut doors from the outside is with a bang.
    85%
    Elaine W April 2016
    The toilets absolutely stunk of urine. Even after they were cleaned. The cleaner was impressed with their once every 24 hour clean. Wasn't good enough. Could do with a 12 hourly clean especially after a weekend in the morning. Level 3 male toilets btw. Besides that such a perfect location to do anything
    78%
    Stephen W April 2016
    I've stayed here many times on my way to an early flight from Sydney International Airport. This is a very functional and comfortable hostel. What stands out to me is the staff. Always friendly, calm, knowledgeable, helpful and efficient. Very nice staff culture! Well done staff and manager!
    90%
    Robert B April 2016
    Great place to crash at and store bags in while exploring Sydney's nightlife
    95%
    Scott W April 2016
    Guest car park is absurdly tight and high risk of causing a scratch
    80%
    Wai Wai K April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    10435 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & security
    90%
    Value for money
    88%