Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (9257 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Not sure how this hostel got this high rating but for the price you have to pay here you can find much cheaper and beter hostels. Its s plus they have a swimming pool, 3 tv rooms and 2 kitchens. But the rooms are smelly since you cant open a window, the free wifi is slower than the internet in the year 95 and only on the kitchen area and you have to pay extra for everything. I stayed in 6 other hostels in sydney and wont come back to this one.
    55%
    jay l August 2015
    Everything went well. Staff is really friendly and helpful. I stayed in 3 different rooms and all of them where good. The only detail there aint many power plugs in the rooms. I recommend this place.
    90%
    Nicolas B August 2015
    Booked in with my family (wife and three young kids) and were very happy with the room which was clean and well laid out and with the service which was always polite and friendly. Never felt unsafe. Did not hear other guests. Great location near central station. Use of lockers for storing luggage for the day was cheap and easy.
    100%
    Brian T August 2015
    Overall good hostel with great location!!
    82%
    Devon C August 2015
    Great location for International & Domestic Airports. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Hostel is kept clean & tidy
    100%
    Maire M August 2015
    The staffs at the counter are very useless, when customer comes the staff who served me was dancing n working, and he did not tell me when shall I check out the next day, and on the next day, we had to leave at 10am, n a staff said rudely that u are so late to check out. And when we bought the paid wifi, the card with PIN number didn't work, and then we found the staff again, but he doesn't know how to deal with it, we waited for almost 40 mins, and those staffs still didn't know how to solve the problem. I think the staffs are not qualified.
    50%
    Ingrid C August 2015
    5 star hostel in central Sydney. Walking distance to Chinatown € Darling Harbour😍
    100%
    Stephane S August 2015
    Mattress in 803 needs replacing
    95%
    Katriona H August 2015
    I stay at this hostel several times a year and never have a problem. The location is so easy to get to from Central station, making it easy to get to on the train from the airport. The only thing i could complain about is the bunk beds. They are ample but have seen better days. The pillows are flat as anything and the mattress protectors are often overstetched and many i have slept on have broken elastic on the corners so that they can't even be attached to the mattress anymore. The doonas also could use a revamp and i do wonder how often they get washed. Other than these points i love this hostel. I love the location, the kitchen and eating area, the fact it is close to the train, close to chinatown and world square and how there is a convenience store right next door where the staff are always very friendly to me. I'll be back, thanks yha!
    92%
    Larissa J August 2015
    Loved everything!
    100%
    Nina L August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    9257 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    89%
    Condition of facilities
    85%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & security
    86%
    Value for money
    82%