Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (9419 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Loved the location, travel was so easy with Central station so close. The room felt really secure and although I was worried about sharing the shower and toilet rooms - I always had them to myself when I needed them. Loved the café on the ground floor of the hostel - great food for a good price. The only thing I would suggest is more TV rooms. There are not enough to go around for such a large hostel. Also air-conditioning was really good in the whole of the hostel but it was a little too warm in our twin bedroom during the night.
    Kellie E October 2015
    Surprisingly very family friendly. Our girls loved the pool and the booth seats in the dining room. I was surprised at how quiet the floor was at ed time. Thanks!!
    Chantal B October 2015
    Excellent location. A well-run place.
    Dianne P October 2015
    My room was safe, quiet and clean.
    NY K September 2015
    Convenient location for rail travel, connection to airport, attractions, quiet, clean and secure, very pleasant and efficient staff. Lift a bonus for many travellers. Bathroom cleanliness a credit to the staff.
    Jennifer Z September 2015
    I fabulous experience. Looking forward to staying with them again sometime. Highly recommend.
    Deborah J September 2015
    Get off the bus or train at Central and there it is across the road. Easy as pie to get to. Travelling with my 9 year old son it was an easy and safe place to stay.
    Geoffrey M September 2015
    I particularly loved the Incafe downstairs. Beautifully cooked and presented food, great service and prices, plus very convenient. Please pass on my gratitude to those who were cooking between the 20/9 and 25/9/2015.
    jacinta h September 2015
    We were a family of five staying in Sydney for a few days. The location was perfect. Public transport at your doorstep. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
    Craig J September 2015
    1st time staying was a great experience! I had a short stay in Sydney for a total of 4 nights. 3nights to "rough it" at YHA,as i was on a budget. And I had then booked my last night to be in a hotel near by at a cost of $160+ to live it up a bit... Well my last night was a big let down. This fancy hotel was in a very average spot, lifeless staff and room with a great view of a building pressed 2m against the window. Bed was crap and the place was dark and tv had crap reception and if i wanted to watch a movie it was at a cheap price of $16. I hate to think of what the adult channels cost! :) My stay at YHA was anything but crap. Staff at the front desk were very welcoming. The place was alive with friendly and energetic people. The rooms were clean and had all the facilities. I wish I had spent my last night at YHA. Ill be back!
    Sam B September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    9419 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money