Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (9656 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very convenient location (across the road from Central Station). Room was pleasant and clean. Staff were friendly. Cafe onsite for meals was a bonus. This was my first stay here and I look forward to staying here again.
    Robyn December 2015
    Stayed in the Double room ensuite - Basic accommodation at a basic price, you get what you'd expect from the price, but it's a great location.
    Jodi L December 2015
    Good hostel for families and people looking for a quiet stay. By far the quietest place I've stayed at. No fun atmosphere just people sitting around on their phones. Doesn't cater to single people looking to enjoy the city or night life. Was full of young kids, and older couples. Never seen this before!
    Matthew T December 2015
    Great hostel to stay at. It doesn't have a very social vibe if you're travelling by yourself but I didn't mind this. Great that you get free wifi and the cafe is right next door.
    Lucy A November 2015
    without hot water shower!are you kidding me?!
    Jialing Q November 2015
    Nice place to stay. Kitchen and dining facilities were very clean. The bedroom was a decent size and mostly clean. I would recommend. Great value for money
    Emma F November 2015
    I stayed here 2 times for one night. The first night the swimmingpool was out of condition. The female bathroom on the 7thfloor was all soaked of water on the entire floor. The handdryer was not working. The 2nd time on the 2nd floor was better, but at 11PM there was no hot water in the shower. Both times the kitchen was dirty, people left their dishes dirty. My stuff in the frigerator disappeared. The frigerator had been leaking I suppose as I saw the liquid under it with towels staying beneath it trying to dry it. Of all the yha hostels in australia I visited this one was one of the worse.
    Yvonne W November 2015
    This is one of the best city hostels in Australia. Outstanding feature are the large lockers and the central location. Intercity buses, intercity trains and a connection to the airport are only half a block away.
    Ronald R November 2015
    Too many noisy kids running around. Number of school groups in at a time should be controlled
    Leona P November 2015
    Very historic building. Lovely stay!
    Diane S November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    9656 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money