Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (10842 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Unrivaled in cost, safety and service in Sydney's CBD area
    100%
    Uduak I July 2016
    Better than an average hostel, but the sauna, something i really was looking forward to, didn't work. Bummer on the evening. I also got some vouchers for a free meal, but the day i arrived, the free meal was in the morning, so I could not make use of it. No compensation. The day of Free Wifi is very good. Rooms are clean, spacious and has a big window. Nice place to stay.
    82%
    Lene B July 2016
    Ok for location if you don't mind a walk of half an hour into the CBD or paying for public transport. Close to China town so plenty of places to eat if you like that food which we did. Plenty of storage in the kitchen cubby holes for food but evidence of chains in them seemed to indicate an issue of food theft. This became apparent when our securely wrapped and marked milk in the fridge was used and then moved to a different fridge. Not an extreme problem obviously but soured the YHA experience we have loved throughout our lives based on honesty and friendship. We kept our non perishable food in our double room, but those in a dorm would be advised to purchase the $5 lockable bags from reception to use. Take a small padlock to attach the bag to the chain supplied in each cubby hole. Fridge stuff is open to theft unfortunately unless you have another locked bag in there. Overall I'd recommend this YHA. Nice ensuite in the double rooms.
    75%
    Tracy T July 2016
    Accidently booked for the wrong day the check in staff helped me out so much, absolute champs
    100%
    Zoe M July 2016
    Overall a great experience. Was impressed by the facilities and how well maintained it was. However I gave 'value for money' an average score, as I think the cost is borderline defeating the whole purpose of backpacking-to stay somewhere cheap and use your money to enjoy your holiday to the fullest. That said, I haven't been backpacking for many years and have a low tolerance for inflation, so please don't be offended or discouraged by my views :)
    95%
    ANDREW B July 2016
    The only problem is that the locks of the rooms' doors are very noisy and that disturbed when you are sleeping
    78%
    Laura P July 2016
    It was an OK place to stay, expensive for what it was. OK atmosphere in the common area, but as the place is so big, it doesn't have this nice, personal ambience.
    65%
    Karina B July 2016
    This hostel is well-situated, close to trains and buses and has a cafe conveniently on the ground floor. Its lifts work well, and the bathrooms were clean. I didn't realise I had to provide my own padlock for the security locker, but that is a minor detail. I was in a 4-bed female room, and being in the upper bunk I appreciated the night light which was provided for each bunk. A great place to stay in Sydney.
    95%
    Inge I July 2016
    Excellent value in a very convenient location
    95%
    Adrian S July 2016
    I stayed in a dorm for my one night stay. The two young ladies in the room were very friendly and we talked and laughed until bedtime. Notwithstanding that I am an 'old woman' (!) I have always found everyone in the hostel very friendly.
    92%
    Sophie P July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    10842 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    87%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    91%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    85%