Sydney Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (13059 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I ended up extending 3 times. Felt comfortable and at home. Staff were lovely. I had a small issue with not being able to sleep and they upgraded my room and were so understanding. Would recommend YHA to anyone and everyone. They are renovating also so it will be even better than it is currently! Thank you for an enjoyable stay. *ps staff member with the tattoos at reception was very helpful (sorry I'm awful with names)
80.0%
Georgia K 17/10/2017
I would highly recommend to a friend. Great location. Clean hostel and staff are so friendly and helpful with everything.
100.0%
Aisling L 17/10/2017
Great location just minutes to Sydney Central Rail/Bus Stations and great views too. Sydney Metropolitan City being a massive and beautiful one involving numerous suburbs including the major ones such as Ashfield, Strathfield, Parramatta, Blacktown, etc. It may be a good idea to have regular tours optimally timed to give an idea to the visitors/tourists of its size/variety/attractions.
80.0%
Lakshmanaswamy K 16/10/2017
Great friendly, well positioned hostel, easy access to rail and airport link.
80.0%
Deidre W 16/10/2017
Great value for money. The roof top is a great area
100.0%
Josanne D 16/10/2017
Enjoyed our stay
100.0%
John B 16/10/2017
Great atmosphere, good environment for people of different ages and cultures to meet and exchange stories. Staff couldn’t be more helpful.
100.0%
Richard B 15/10/2017
Fantastic. I felt safe, the staff were professional and friendly, great location, amenities; it was clean, I couldn't fault it except perhaps to suggest bedroom doors could do with a little oil. Buzzing atmosphere for young people but not inappropriate for the occasional older person, good balance.
100.0%
Leone C 15/10/2017
The room was all we required for our short weekend stay; it was as advertised and the private bathroom was great - loved the shower & water pressure was excellent. Only issue was the toilet roll holder - it was positioned at shoulder height and depending on the persons size, it was quite awkward and poorly placed - not very practical. Location is perfect for exploring the city - Paddy's Markets, Capitol Theatre, China Town all within walking distance, and Central Station just minutes away on foot. The in house Cafe was so handy and the food was great and affordable which was a pleasant surprise. There were a few loud (I'm assuming also inebriated) guests wandering our floor on the final night of our stay which was a bit uncomfortable & made me worry they might try to enter our room instead of their own but they eventually got where they needed to be and the noise died away. Could not praise the staff highly enough - they were super friendly on check in and you really felt they were there to help you out with anything you needed. Check out was smooth and super quick. All in all, would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends!
100.0%
Nicole R 15/10/2017
Clean and large rooms, central location nut the common area was under construction.
100.0%
Zoe R 14/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87.0%
customer rating, based on 13059 reviews
Cleanliness
84.0%
Condition of facilities
83.0%
Efficiency of service
90.0%
Friendliness of staff
94.0%
Location
96.0%
Overall atmosphere
81.0%
Safety & Security
88.0%
Value for Money
82.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL