Search YHA

Sydney Central YHA

88%
Sydney, NSW

Our heritage-listed building, opposite Central Station, in the hub of the backpacker precinct, offers backpacker accommodation at its finest.

$34
Check availability
Right now in Sydney...
10:35 AM
|
12°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (9121 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Have only stayed in YHAs in Italy but this one was far far better; better facilities, staff, cleanliness. It was excellent, especially for the cheap price.
    98%
    Peter R July 2015
    It's in a really convenient location near the central station and handy as came off the bus.
    90%
    Catherine S July 2015
    Astounding as YHA Accomodation. The best place to be when in Sydney.
    98%
    Margaret R July 2015
    Great hostel and great staff! Thanks for your hospitality YHA!
    85%
    Sam H July 2015
    The hostel, accommodated for our late arrival and all the other people staying were friendly creating a safe, amiable atmosphere. The location was also ideal for those travelling to Sydney on public transport as it was centrally located, and opposite the major train station. All specifications for our room were met, and overall it was a smooth stress-free stay. Thank you very much
    98%
    Peggy A July 2015
    Nice location and nice price.
    82%
    Jingyi Y July 2015
    Sorry ,this is a young person,s place,for a monday night ,the night club across the road had thumping music until 2am and no won sleeps until 4am only had 1hr sleep,i think back and wish l was 20 again ,l will be back but choose a place to suit me,,,but it,s its more my bad that lm 57 not 20 ,but thay were all having fun ,arlie beach is a gate way for fun&friends ,thanks all best
    80%
    Gary R July 2015
    I had stayed previously in other hostels, they were cheaper but so badly run making the stay very uncomfortable; it is worth spending $10.00 more a night to be able to sleep properly in a clean environment and feel safe. At YHA Central, it is so well organised and the facilities are excellent that it does not feel crowded even when it s full.
    100%
    Anne-Marie L July 2015
    Great location, easily access all the icons in Sydney by a quick public transport trip. Market City is just around the corner for some fabulous and cheap meals.
    82%
    Joshua C July 2015
    Great Location, easy check-in with friendly staff. Room was clean, fresh and accommodating. Bathrooms were very clean. 10am Check out and breakfast in the café......Bliss!
    100%
    Danielle O July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    9121 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    85%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    86%