Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (8205 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Pretty good.
92%
25/03/2019
I booked a 6 share female online. I went in and they had me down for a 4 share male, despite my emailed confirmation of a 6 share female. The staff was nice enough to catch this, place me in a 6 share mix (even though I was the only female), and provide me with a free breakfast voucher. Wi-fi was great as I was busy doing work. I could care less for the throwback songs on loop played too loudly in the lobby at all hours. The locker facilities, restrooms, showers, and lounge areas are great!
80%
Crystal Hana U 24/03/2019
I really missed a oven. This limits cooking options
82%
Erik Wouter R 23/03/2019
I loved my stay here! The rooms were good, the bathrooms were spotless and the showers were incredible!! The staff was super nice, they became friends of mine. The hostel events were super fun and a great way to meet people:)
100%
Holly Rose Eileen B 23/03/2019
I stayed in a 3 bed dorm. Very good. The lockers are excellent. Great location.
92%
Asha M 22/03/2019
Hated it. Noisy. Price surging due to Grand Prix. Terrible policy of forcing people who are obliged by hostel to change rooms to checkout with luggageby 10 & then pay exorbitant licker fees until you can check in again later in the day (1 pm at the earliest). Guests who are in this situation should have access to free temporary storage. Everyonecomplains about this policy.
62%
Margaret B 20/03/2019
Well located, you won't be disappointed
82%
Robert Andrew H 19/03/2019
Was good but this was the first time I have had to pay to store my bag until check in time
75%
Martin P 19/03/2019
Fabulous!!!
100%
Lisa C 19/03/2019
There are some interesting places to eat in Melbourne and many of them are within a fit person's walking distance from the hostel. People in Melbourne are welcoming too, some of them like to know about the places you have seen. Even when they're swiftly moving from table to table, keeping up with all the customers, they're very polite.
88%
Karen J 19/03/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
85%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
84%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL