Melbourne Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (7295 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Perfectly located and central. Some great cafes within a short walk. Comfortable bed and clean good facilities.
100%
Ollie A 18/06/2018
The staff was really accomodating, competent, helpful and makes me feel welcome.The hostel & its facilities are really clean and up to date.They make everything easy for their guests.I feel very safe in the hostel because only guests can get inside the floors unlike any other 4 or 5 star hotels.They even have a locker room for rent when one wants to spend more time in Melbourne beyond check out time.Fellow guests are also helpful.It was money well spent & i gained new friends too.😊
100%
Sheiryl V 16/06/2018
I did 7 YHA since i arrive un Australia, it's the better for me. :)
85%
Maxime Olivier Desire V 15/06/2018
Super clean and easy to locate
88%
Savannah D 15/06/2018
If you have a small table in the room, that would be nice and useful. I enjoyed your place. thank you.
100%
Yumiko M 14/06/2018
Great hostel, I stay here a lot when working away and doing training. It’s clean, friendly staff, great facilities, not a bad location and the atmosphere is relaxed but it needs more in the way of social activities to get people off there phones and interacting. They could also improve there service by offering free towels and bag storage currently you have to pay for both and at $5 a towel it’s a little steep.
70%
David 14/06/2018
All good!
78%
Yi Shuang Y 13/06/2018
Take the free trams
100%
Curtis M 11/06/2018
hostel is very comfortable. the kitchen is very profess. very good location in free tram zone (2 lines) near southbank market, near DFO(walking distance) etc.
75%
Natthanan j 11/06/2018
There was nothing special about this hostel. It had decent facilities and they were fairly clean, but that was about it. The roommates were my main problem with them getting drunk at 3 or 4 am. The room smelled but the showers were good and security was good. One of the bunks wasn't being slept in but rather used as a storage space for one of the other girls to dry her clothes. I'd only stay here again if I got a private room.
68%
Tamara W 11/06/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

85%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
84%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
85%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
83%
Safety & Security
85%
Value for Money
83%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL