Search YHA

Ballarat YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Ballarat YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (39 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Brilliant little hostel. Excellent value for money, quiet, safe& great location (if you have a car).
    92%
    Carlie L April 2016
    You need a car to get here. It's too far too walk anywhere. Good place to stay if you want to visit Sovereign Hill (right next door). I would recommend it if you have a car.
    68%
    Benito C January 2016
    A nice little hostel and convenient if you are planning a visit to Sovereign Hill, but not so convenient to the CBD. You will need a car. Cleaning is a bit poor, so you would also need to be able to tolerate dust and dirty carpets, but the bathrooms and kitchen are fine.
    80%
    Susan J January 2016
    Sovereign Hill YHA is a quaint cottage set in a large semi-secluded property being part of The Sovereign Hill Tourist Settlement. There are 4 spacious rooms comfortably fitting up to 4 guests in each room. The Kitchen is very spacious, with a good size oven and other amenities. However, I was quite puzzled to see more than 3 full professional laundry bags (awaiting collection) inside, between the two Bathrooms blocking the back door, a hazard thus making it impossible for me to make a quick exit should there have been a need. The huge front yard is the perfect place to dine out doors for any visiting group.
    100%
    Kristina B December 2015
    I look forward to using this YHA again. It's a modest building but in a great location and it's very well run by the adjacent motel. Highly recommended. With two bunks and a double in each room it's brilliant for a budget-conscious travelling family.
    95%
    Mac H November 2015
    I was plesantly surprised by the cleanliness, the feeling of safety and the warmth. V comfortable stay. Nice staff and I hope I can return one day soon. Thank you.
    88%
    Natasha N September 2015
    A great place to stay if you want to check out Soverign Hill,
    75%
    Helen L August 2015
    Stayed for two nights -- the difference between the first night alone, and the second night where the hostel was full, was amazing. Even though the hostel building is a very short walk from the Comfort Inn reception, and the area was well-lit, it is a very quiet spot, and can feel quite isolated. I recommend packing a hot water bottle or two for your stay, as the hostel rooms are chilly (although the common area with the heater turned on was lovely). Please note that the directions to the hostel are a touch misleading, it is part of the Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill complex, and is located between Gladstone and Cobden streets.
    100%
    Rebecca L July 2015
    Close to the CBD and pretty standard for a backpackers. However the sheets/blankets smelt really bad and the whole place had a eerie quality so I was glad I was with someone else. Wouldn't recommend staying here alone.
    60%
    Vanessa L June 2015
    Very close to Sovereign Hill. A very good place to stay one night if you would like to visit Ballarat for two days. Ballarat is a good place to stay for more than one day besides Sovereign Hill, a lot of historic buildings and lovely countryside atmosphere!
    92%
    PAO-HUA H March 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    39 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    79%
    Condition of facilities
    77%
    Efficiency of service
    81%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    77%
    Safety & security
    89%
    Value for money
    84%