Search YHA

Ballarat YHA

  • Customer reviews of Ballarat YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (34 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I look forward to using this YHA again. It's a modest building but in a great location and it's very well run by the adjacent motel. Highly recommended. With two bunks and a double in each room it's brilliant for a budget-conscious travelling family.
    Mac H November 2015
    I was plesantly surprised by the cleanliness, the feeling of safety and the warmth. V comfortable stay. Nice staff and I hope I can return one day soon. Thank you.
    Natasha N September 2015
    A great place to stay if you want to check out Soverign Hill,
    Helen L August 2015
    Stayed for two nights -- the difference between the first night alone, and the second night where the hostel was full, was amazing. Even though the hostel building is a very short walk from the Comfort Inn reception, and the area was well-lit, it is a very quiet spot, and can feel quite isolated. I recommend packing a hot water bottle or two for your stay, as the hostel rooms are chilly (although the common area with the heater turned on was lovely). Please note that the directions to the hostel are a touch misleading, it is part of the Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill complex, and is located between Gladstone and Cobden streets.
    Rebecca L July 2015
    Close to the CBD and pretty standard for a backpackers. However the sheets/blankets smelt really bad and the whole place had a eerie quality so I was glad I was with someone else. Wouldn't recommend staying here alone.
    Vanessa L June 2015
    Very close to Sovereign Hill. A very good place to stay one night if you would like to visit Ballarat for two days. Ballarat is a good place to stay for more than one day besides Sovereign Hill, a lot of historic buildings and lovely countryside atmosphere!
    PAO-HUA H March 2015
    I arrived 10pm. Had to call a security man to come and issue me my card to get in. Waited 25 mins and it was cold. I cannot understand why I couldn't just collect the envelope myself and enter the hostel, which has been usual at other hostels I have stayed. I love the affordability of hostels but this one has no lounge area just a kitchen and no separate toilet - annoying if someone in shower.
    Beverley M March 2015
    Only person there, so had the place to myself. The bedroom was clean & tidy but the common room could do with some TLC. Good TV. Need some more pots & microwave items. Bathrooms fair; taps need new washers, good hot shower. Backyard very dilapidated.
    Kate J February 2015
    Generally a great little hostel but in need of a thorough clean and maintenance (carpet in room dirty, windows and ledges coated with dust, flyscreens fallen off). Bed linen supplied was crisp and clean. Access to the park excellent.
    Colleen B January 2015
    The rooms and overall hostel tired and neglected. One central kitchen eating space with tv which would be very difficult when all rooms occupied as one small table and four chairs only to service four family rooms
    John R January 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    34 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money