Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (5699 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Katoomba YHA is in an excellent location, you can walk into town in minutes and access all of the shops and cafes Katoomba has to offer. The staff are really friendly and helpful and go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable.
100%
Nola D 22/04/2019
Good for big families or singles.
80%
Haili L 22/04/2019
I enjoyed my stay at the YHA and staff and the other workers could not have been any more friendly and welcoming to their guests met a lot of different people from all over
100%
Wendy H 22/04/2019
the place has such a lovely atmosphere when you walk in. It really conveniently located near to Katoomba centre. We will be back.
100%
Lynda F 22/04/2019
I haven’t been to a hostel for 15 years- never thought about going there with kids! What a surprise! Not just dorms and backpackers! Our last minute trip meant no family hotel rooms available in the area except for YHA. What an amazing surprise! This will be our first choice next time!!!
95%
Lorrie m 22/04/2019
The hostel was great but could so with some updating and better cleaning, especially in the bathroom. The man at reception was sarcastic and a bit rude which unfortunately tainted our experience. Otherwise, a good hostel in a great location with comfortable beds 😃 Anita & Lyam
60%
Anita R 20/04/2019
Hostel was ok, but needs cleaning. Sheets were stained.
70%
Maja G 20/04/2019
Very good enjoyed it the whole family
100%
Paul D 20/04/2019
My 2 boys aged 13 and 11 loved the safe friendly atmosphere,movie night with a separate tv room from the common area. I loved the convenience of being right next to train station, Aldi,woolies, Main Street attractions and walked everywhere. Awesome half day abseil with Hi &Wild which was conveniently located at the YHA, visited the Gingerbread cafe and Station Bar for great pizzas and wine, great facilities at YHA, had a family room cards needed for access to ladies bathroom which was great
95%
Kathlyn H 20/04/2019
Great staff. Great kitchen and dining room. Games, books, pool table and a small stage for the kids to perform on. The fellow travelers were great, open and approachable. Met many that made my experience even better.
95%
Mark K 18/04/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
93%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
93%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL