Search YHA

Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3628 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I would highly recommend this YHA to families - the kitchen facilities are excellent, it felt really safe, spacious and comfy. It's also a few seconds walk to super market.
    100%
    Kalita c August 2016
    One of the best holidays I've had and due largely to the friendly and obliging staff. No request was ever a hassle and their friendliness went a long way to making my holiday great :-) The facilities are in excellent condition, well maintained and the location was ideal. I'll definitely be coming back next year for a longer stay to see more of the area.
    100%
    Annette S August 2016
    When getting in, you at once feel very welcome. Rooms are nice and clean. We liked most the great kitchen and the dining room. There are a lot of possibilities to sit down, have a cup of coffee and relax.
    90%
    Monika S August 2016
    Amazing hostel building, beautifully maintained with great facilities - seating area, dining area, spotless and large kitchen. We had a double room ensuite, large and with a TV, hotel standard. Great town location with lots to do in the area. Go and enjoy.
    100%
    Sarah B August 2016
    Very relaxed friendly atmosphere. The kitchen/ lounge areas are great especially the fireplace.
    100%
    Jody August 2016
    Everything is good but no lift is a problem. A clean hostel. I will go back to stay.
    92%
    Leslie C August 2016
    Nice big dorm rooms. Each bunk with its own set of 2 power points and reading lights . Shared bathrooms a little small. No lift and quite a few stairs. Large well equiped communial kitchen with gas stoves fridges a hot water dispenser and an oven. Heaps of space to sit and relax. Great outdoor area with a water feature and views. Pay per use storage lockers within a storage room. Communial tv room and large decent dinning area. Day tours can be booked at check in desk. Basically one of my favourite YHAs outside of Sydney and I enjoy staying here. 10 to 15 min walk downhill from Katoomba railway station and there is an Aldi Woolworths and Coles supermarket close by. Parking nearby.
    65%
    Dulcinea L August 2016
    We brought a UK visitor and as usual our stay was awesome!
    98%
    Lesley T August 2016
    The hostel was very good, and the staff very helpful and friendly. I'd recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.
    100%
    Gabriel B August 2016
    Whilst I've stayed in the dorms on several occasions, I decided to upgrade to a single room (could accomodate 3) on my most recent stay - delighted with standard of the room, and will consider doing this again when doing a very early start is required
    100%
    Nicola L August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    3628 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    93%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & Security
    93%
    Value for Money
    87%