Search YHA

Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

  • Customer reviews of Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2960 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Absolutely love staying at this hostel. Nothing is too much trouble for Clint so it's like visiting home each time!
    100%
    Caroline A September 2015
    Very nice environment, friendly & helpful staffs, comfortable stay.
    100%
    Yoong Lee W August 2015
    Great hostel, the location is perfect. Staff could have been a bit friendlier and know what they are doing with bookings! Only other thing is everywhere was cold!! If your coming in the colder months definitely bring warm clothes to wear inside in the communal areas! We did have a radiator in our room thankfully!
    80%
    Samantha D August 2015
    Really, really nice Hostel. Almost Hotel like. Very welcoming and friendly staff! Very clean facilities and rooms. Fairly spacious rooms with good mattresses and free lockers in the room. Location is good. Only a few stwps away from Aldi and other shops along Katoomba St. To get to the entrance of some good hikes you'll have to walk approx. 10 - 20 min.
    98%
    Mark W August 2015
    Great location. Good facilities, heating; pleasant dining and sitting rooms.
    98%
    Dianne P August 2015
    The room was dirty. I had the feeling it was not cleaned at all before I arrived.
    55%
    Tobias R August 2015
    Amazing place ,..experience the comfort and atmosphere of a 4+ plus star Hotel for a Hostel price !! You don't have to be a Travel writer like me to appreciate the virtues of this place,...Plush carpets throughout, a great Common area ,,,good wi-fi,..a fabulous Drawing room with Library ,Fireplace and TV reminiscent of an English Club,...and incredibly clean modern Bathrooms,...they even have a Herb Garden iff Your cooking in the modern well equipped Kitchen !soIff Your doing a few days in Katoomba this is the place to be for a little comfort ! Great for Groups,..
    100%
    Aksel R August 2015
    An outstanding hostel in a great location, close to the blue mountains world heritage national park. I have noticed steady improvements in the hostel since its opening, the quality of the curtains, tea and coffee facilities in family rooms, the tabs on the windows to stop them knocking in the wind. The common room was noticeably warmer this year and consequently more comfortable.
    92%
    James R August 2015
    Brilliant friendly, helpful staff. A lovely calm common room area, everything clean and tidy. Some pots and pans are worse for wear in the kitchen, but you can live with that and it's still value for money. Great location: easy walk from train station, to 3 sisters, and supermarkets/shops/cafes really close by. Excellent!
    92%
    Deborah S August 2015
    Wonderful relaxing time had by me and my family. Booked as part of a package to scenic world which is a must visit. Room was spacious and warm in winter. Played pool, giant chess and monopoly and never once resorted to the TV. Lots of kitchen equipment and tea towels and washing up liquid. Could do with more washing machines in laundry though so be prepared to wait for one even when hostel is quiet.
    100%
    Nicola S August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    2960 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    90%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    91%