Search YHA

Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3437 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We were a family of four. We had our own apprehensions but to our surprise the room was clean and everything in its place. We returned late and the place had security in place. we had good experience. The next day we had breakfast ( Two min noodles our family favorite), the kitchen was clean and neat. I strongly recommend this place to every body.
    90%
    Anil Kumar K May 2016
    The location is in the middle of the train station and three sister, can walk to echo point. Staff is friendly, kitchen is good and offers cutlery. Upper bed is some hard to climb up.
    85%
    Qi L May 2016
    A great place to stay for a good price. The facilities were very clean and the main lounge was a great place to relax. The guest were all very respectful and we felt very comfortable there. I recommend!
    92%
    Anika C May 2016
    Blue Mountains are expensive, so YHA is also more expensive here than other locations. But it is very well located, the staff is very kind, there's a huge kitchen and all shops are closed by. Families are welcome.
    95%
    Cecile H May 2016
    Lovely old world charm at backpacker prices. Will definitely be back.
    100%
    Anne-maree K May 2016
    Marvelous atmosphere and congenial company l
    100%
    Mark B May 2016
    A lot of fun with a family. Our kids enjoyed being in such a lively and international environment. They also enjoyed the common spaces, my eldest going so far as to wash dishes in the kitchen!
    90%
    Jennifer O May 2016
    The staff on reception were very friendly and have lots of good advice about the area. Everything was very clean and there were couches for people to relax. It was a shame that a large area of the lounge was cordoned off for painting and decorating, but they have to do it sometime and I suppose autumn/winter is the best time. I had a few problems getting back into the YHA after 8 p.m. (when reception closes), as my key card didn't work, but the duty manager arrived within five minutes to sort it out. Great location for the Blue Mountains.
    95%
    Erica B May 2016
    Nice hostel, great staff, very clean, quiet; makes you feel at home.
    98%
    G May 2016
    The hostel is well maintained and a lovely place to stay, however what totally marred my stay was sharing room 329 with 4 runners who were participating in a race on 14th May. Three runners woke me at 4.30am and kept me awake until 6 am when I gave up and had a shower. I was furious because I was heading for the Jenolan Caves for a concert on Sat night. I was cranky and over tired and had to go and put a up tent. I was overtired by the afternoon (to the teary stage).
    80%
    Freya M May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    3437 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    95%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    93%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    93%
    Safety & security
    94%
    Value for money
    91%