Search YHA

Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

  • Customer reviews of Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2990 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very friendly staff and a fantastic location.
    Greg L September 2015
    Room 316 corner room with a double and single bunk bed was perfect for our family of 3. Quiet and warm.
    Liwan G September 2015
    The Katoomba YHA is my favourite hostel. I've stayed there many times over the years due to its proximity to great walks and rock climbing areas. The staff have always been welcoming the the facilities are always immaculate.
    Shane D September 2015
    I loved the atmosphere of the hostel, with a historical touch and very cosy. The facilities are very good, communal bathrooms very clean and tidy. Was on the eastern side of the hostel so had a lot of sun in the morning, which was nice on a chilly day. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, even when it was busy still took time to explain and tell you everything about the place or answer your questions. Will definitely return again
    Aleksandra K September 2015
    The hotel is old, tired and shabby.
    Narcelita L September 2015
    Excellent location and facilities for casual stay. However the WiFi was not working. Also, could not book earlier from home computer as booking system was not working.
    Peter B September 2015
    I travel around NSW working Railway Shutdowns, I found this hostel clean, quiet and close to all amenities. Highly Recommended
    Larry W September 2015
    Wonderfully relaxing stay. Felt homely and welcoming!
    Lucinda T September 2015
    It was like a home away from home.
    Joseph P September 2015
    feel very comfortable here~
    Shu Ling W September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    2990 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money