Search YHA

Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

  • Customer reviews of Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3070 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Uncomfortable beds, but outstanding in every other regard. Beautiful interior and grounds. Communal spaces have books, dvds, kids toys, a pool table ($2), coffee machine (not free), a big tv in a seperate room (so, quiet.) Most outdoor seating is under cover. Outdoor bbq area is perfect. Guest laundry. Night shift security/manager is very nice, friendly, approachable and assertive. Very much a family friendly hostel. Baby high chairs always accessible in communal dining room. Female bathrooms require a room card for access - reassuring for any women concerned about safety. Windows on 2nd level rooms open about 15cm or so...Kid friendly, for sure. 3 Min walk to supermarkets. No free coffee, tea, or milk. Toaster, microwave, many stovetops, sinks, fridges, clean tea towels, utensils. Everything you could need.
    Andrea S November 2015
    Great few nights stay, staff very friendly and knowledgeable about local area and recommended some good walks!
    Kimberley G November 2015
    Great to stay there in spite of fog and pouring rain. Surprised by the fact that I couldn't get a paracetamol from the staff to fight my headache. Fear that I could sue, seems overdone.
    Lineke P November 2015
    Great hostel, great atmosphere.
    Benedikte S November 2015
    No coffee or tea!
    Deborah H November 2015
    We had a wonderful stay at the YHA Blue Mountains. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The building is really beautiful. The location is perfect. It's only a 15-minute walk to the Three Sisters. This is for sure our favorite YHA in Australia.
    Wouter V November 2015
    The reception doesn't have the Explore Pass... More information about the Blue Mountains...
    Kevin H November 2015
    Perfect venue for a short stay in the mountains.
    Peter V November 2015
    I was quite surprise & impressed with The Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba which was a guesthouse called 'Homesdale' & restored. Very spacious with lots of the original features restored. I will stay again, myself. Great & safe, for single female traveller. I am thinking of taking a group of bushwalkers & staying at the YHA next year. I was shown around when I asked about group bookings. Staff very helpful.
    Therese H November 2015
    Lovely art deco building, nice room, great staff, perfect location. Will be back (in fact already booked!).
    Helen W November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    3070 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money