Search YHA

Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

  • Customer reviews of Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3215 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Really liked this hostel. Excellent location, close to all main blue mountains sights/walks, also close to supermarkets - aldi, Coles and woolworths all in walking distance. A slightly older vibe which suited us (couple, late twenties). Could have be improved if there had been a fridge in our room but wasn't a massive issue. Would certainly recommend to anyone visiting the blue mountains :)
    88%
    Holly K February 2016
    Had free WiFi
    100%
    Shawn M February 2016
    Beautiful building in a wonderful location. Highly recommended to travelers of all ages.
    100%
    Kathleen G February 2016
    great location to Katoomba town and walks nearby to the 3 sisters
    95%
    Catherine S February 2016
    The staff were very friendly and kind which helped to make my stay comfortable and pleasant Thank you
    98%
    margaret W February 2016
    Excellent location and a great place to stay. Friendly staff and lots of space to spread out in the evening, so you never feel that the place is crowded or too full.
    92%
    Jonathan T February 2016
    I found the location to be excellent. I also appreciated being able to make my dinner and breakfast at the hotel, and also enjoyed having games available to play in the evening. The cooking facilities were well maintained. (I had initially planned on eating out, but was happy that I decided to stay in and cook.) The staff was friendly and helpful.
    98%
    Heidi S February 2016
    the only problem was that the key of my room wasn't working properly, all the rest was very very good!
    95%
    Ambra R February 2016
    Excellent with extra touches. For example, extra small milk containers were graciously left by cheerful room cleaner when mentioned! The overall ambience placed me in a lodge or Inn of a bygone era! Totally memorable!
    100%
    Kevin Leo M February 2016
    I liked this hostel. Really friendly, helpful staff and a nice, laid back atmosphere. Being older than the average backpacker I liked the fact it attracted a broader mix of people than the city hostels.
    98%
    Sian J February 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    92%
    3215 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    95%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & security
    96%
    Value for money
    90%