Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (4332 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The facilities provided were excellent and the atmosphere was relaxed.
    93%
    Fintan Q June 2017
    A very clean, orderly establishment with a large kitchen and dining area with a large comfortable lounge all in a common area. Comfortable & modern in a refurbished building.Very close to shopping & eats and the large food/grocery shops. And then there's the Blue M's.
    89%
    Richard B June 2017
    Very nice stay at YHA, ideally situated between the town center and the main lookout (Echo point and the 3 sisters), in a quiet place. The kitchen and living area are very clean, well equipped and with a good atmosphere. The place is very safe.
    93%
    Aurelie June 2017
    the communal area is well organised
    80%
    Joanne S June 2017
    For a group it was a great meeting place for the Magic Festival would recommend to everyone. We loved it!
    98%
    Julie D June 2017
    Katoomba YHA is the jewel in the crown! Best facilities and spacious building. New sheets and towels and what feels like mattresses and pillows has really lifted the value and comfort. Keeps me coming back annually. I love KYHA !! XXX
    100%
    Katie B June 2017
    Outstanding hostel. Beds are really comfy if you get the bottom bunk. Common area is vast and comfy and cosy. Really quiet relaxing music in the background. So quiet it's unobtrusive yet welcoming. The kitchen and food storage facilities are fantastic with all the pots, pans plates and utensils you could ever need. I've checked out already but I'm just hanging around here for the day chilling because I don't want to head back to the city just yet. I love this place.
    100%
    Oliver B June 2017
    After a long drive from Melbourne I arrived at 7:30 I call the night manager who just gives me the instructions and says there is an envelope with my name on, that's not a problem, I go to the dorm which is full everyone is getting ready for bed and to chill out. I go to the empty bed and sit down, realising I had no bottom or top sheet or pillow case, I message me husband who had previously managed a YHA and he says call the night manager back, which I do and explain to her and she says I'll get some for you, about 5-10 minutes later she knocks on the door and says I was waiting for you downstairs to come and get these and hands them to me. I get it's a backpackers but customer service is still a thing, what you expect your guest to go and get them after they have just check in and you've failed to supply sheets. The staff on checkout however were very friendly.
    71%
    Nadine M June 2017
    Fabulous - just what we needed for a short getaway
    98%
    Lisa J June 2017
    great one
    100%
    Donna P June 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    95%
    95%
    customer rating, based on 4332 reviews
    Cleanliness
    96%
    Condition of facilities
    95%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    99%
    Overall atmosphere
    97%
    Safety & Security
    98%
    Value for Money
    93%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!