COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Blue Mountains - Katoomba YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (6510 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Yup.... it was great. I know the staff have a lot to worry about, but they could be a bit friendlier. But they did their job... no doubt about that. I don't like the have a nice day nonsense, but I would llike to know their names without asking. Look... a great hostel experience... thank you.
90%
Stephen L 28/02/2021
I booked single with ensuite not happy with room setup in 2017 twice stayed in single plus ensuite room was well set up & value for money my recent stay room not value for money
45%
Michael E 19/02/2021
Lara did an amazing check in, Also the hostel manager (Kylie) was super amazing. Thank you for an awesome stay! :)
100%
Martha S 16/02/2021
I couldn’t book online as the system wouldn’t accept it so did it over the phone. When I rang to enquire about leaving my gear at the hostel before check in no one answered my call or gave me a call back tho i requested that. When I got through the next day staff were unsure if you offered this service but went and checked for me which was good. Obviously the online and phone comms aren’t seamless yet!
85%
Rosemary O 15/02/2021
It was great location, clean .
72%
Valerie D 14/02/2021
This Hostel is a great place to stay . An historic 100 year old building which from the 1920' s was the Homedale Guest House . The rooms are comfortable and spacious .It's located right in the heart of Katoomba ,a short walk from Katoomba Railway Station .and very close to the shops .This Hostel has strict guidelines in place during Covid - 19 which were maintained whilst I was there. Bring a decent padlock for your locker, one with a long loop so it will fit over the 40 mm protruding latch .
100%
Kristina B 09/02/2021
I had a single room with a private bathroom, small desk, luggage rack, fan and a kettle. All of these small additions were very useful and welcome. The location is good, within easy walking distance of Katoomba's cafes and multi cultural restaurants. This hostel has good common areas, with a big kitchen and dining/relaxing area. With less people traveling, the hostel doesn't have quite its usual buzz but it was good for a work break.
85%
Alison H 29/01/2021
We found it so convenient in the centre of Katoomba, very clean and had everything we needed.
88%
Lisa L 27/01/2021
Centrally located in town and walking distance to supermarkets and restaurants. Train station is only a 10 - 15 minute walk away. Very economical Hostal and family friendly. Staff make you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. A reasonably priced Hostal which will not break the budget.
100%
Sharon B 27/01/2021
Great place with plenty of character.
100%
Ed S 26/01/2021

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
91%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
87%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL