Search YHA

Thredbo YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Thredbo YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1019 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    As a backpacker its not really a place to stay in sommertime. No snow. Its a ski resort. But if you're here in sommer time. Go on a walk to the top of the mountain. Easy walk. (4-6 hours) Stay: two nights
    100%
    Eric B February 2017
    Most important is the staff who is helpful, friendly who helps to create the ambience of the place and this place has a warm personal friendliness that is easy to relate to. Besides, the place is clean and facilities good and good place to talk to other people doing interesting walks, challenges etc.
    100%
    Elaine Y February 2017
    Lovely stay at the immaculate, cosy and friendly Thredbo YHA. Fab views of the mountains from our room. Perfect location to enjoy hikes, mountain biking and Thredbo evening life from.
    100%
    Lizzy W January 2017
    Bianca was really helpful and gave good tips on what we were planning. Totally recommend this comfortable YHA as an ideal base for Thredbo. Lots of useful local information displayed. Room was clean and beds in good condition.
    100%
    Phil S January 2017
    Mountain biking heaven. Many pic to share if you have the facility. Bianca was great. Cheers Scott.
    100%
    Scott L January 2017
    We stayed at the Thredbo YHA for two nights as a break from walking the AAWT. The staff were very accommodating and helpful with our questions about washing and drying clothes, storing gear etc. Highly recommended. Will stay again.
    100%
    Mark H January 2017
    For those on motorbikes, in the off season it MAY be possible to park your bike indoors in the luggage room. Take note, though, there is room for only the one Millenium Falcon, so, if you're wanting to hide from the evil empire, be sure to be the first of your mob to arrive. If the others are your good mates, and I mean REALLY good mates, they'll understand.
    98%
    Alex S January 2017
    This is our second stay at the hostel and we plan to return again.
    100%
    Ranald U January 2017
    Fantastic value in a beautiful part of the world. This was my second time back and it won't be my last!
    100%
    Nelson S January 2017
    Great location, well laid out. Good dining & kitchen area/ facilities, always clean and well stocked including fridge and food storage space. There's a chest freezer, which is great for summer time. The tv room is small but not heavily used so not an issue. Lack of accessible parking is a challenge, but this is a problem for Thredbo in general not unique to the yha. We stayed 5 days in summer and there is enough to do that we could easily have stayed longer.
    95%
    Lara O January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    97%
    1019 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    97%
    Condition of facilities
    96%
    Efficiency of service
    97%
    Friendliness of staff
    99%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    96%
    Safety & Security
    95%
    Value for Money
    95%