Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (5077 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The staff was very supportive when I was having a difficult time with my travel companion. I was given a beautiful room and enjoyed my stay immensely. The hostel is centrally located, so there was no need to take transport to get anywhere and the staff gave excellent directions. There was good value in the trips I took to Kuranda and the Great Barrier Reef. Everything was wonderful.
100%
Sylvia C 22/05/2019
The tropical design. The garden. The alfresco dining. Free pancake breakfast. A short walk to the train from Brisbane - their YHA is great, too! Across the road from supermarket and a major mall. Staff training excellent. Clean. Light. Welcoming and attractive. Large.
100%
Cheryl H 21/05/2019
Most of the staff were friendly & helpful. Enjoyed the daily activities many of them free such as the outdoor movie night with free popcorn & free wine & cheese night. Appreciated staff helping me make tour decisions. Didn't like that a major leak in the hall near my room was never fixed. Would appreciate some protein with the pancake breakfast such as cheese, yogurt, or salami.Would be willing to pay for the protein.
80%
Heidi N 21/05/2019
Staff were helpful and friendly I never had to carry a suitcase my hole stay on suit very new . good pub next door great counter lunch’s
100%
Alma S 20/05/2019
Great location, clean room, you have everything you need and nothing you don't, clean bathrooms, plenty of hot water, fully equipped and clean kitchen
95%
Vesko G 20/05/2019
Always love YHAs, this one is no exception. Price is a bit more compared to other hostels in the area but even so, it has more class than those other places.
90%
Sara 19/05/2019
One of the best hostels I've ever been to! The staff is super friendly and the place is quiet and with a great atmosphere. The hostel in itself also is really nice and clean. I also loved the free pancakes cooked in the morning. Highly recommended!
92%
Martina F 17/05/2019
It was nice stay in carins YHA. Facilities and people including staff and backpackers were so good
92%
Jie B 15/05/2019
Good clean facilities with an easy going feel.
98%
Nathan C 12/05/2019
I always stay here when I’m in Cairns. I love it here the staff especially the wonderfully Jackie are always helpful and great to deal with.
100%
Alison M 11/05/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
91%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
89%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL