Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (5156 guests have reviewed this hostel)
A very relaxed hostel compared to somewhere like Gilligans. I wish my tour pickups had been slightly later so I could take advantage of the free breakfast more.
78%
Jamie C 19/07/2019
Loved the hostel. Very chilled spot. Very clean, quiet at night and great pancakes for breakfast.
100%
Joan S 15/07/2019
Overall I enjoyed my stay at Cairns YHA. For the first couple of days, I was in a 10-bed dorm before moving to my own private room for the last 6 nights of my stay. My room was located in close proximity to the BBQ/social area and did tend to get a bit loud at night. Understandably, Friday and Saturday nights might be more busy, but there didn’t seem to be a noise curfew of any kind and a couple of times I struggled to get to sleep because there was still noise and music past 11pm.
98%
Lauren E 15/07/2019
Nice, relaxed hostel with very friendly staff which helps you with all your day tour bookings. Good atmosphere. Great extras like pan cakes in the morning, a movie night or a vine and cheese evening.
92%
Katja Barbara K 15/07/2019
Definitely book an Uncle Brian's tour! It was the best!!!
92%
Caroline Ann C 13/07/2019
I really loved the hostel. Rooms are clean and I slept well. The showers are awesome, because there’s coming warm water. It was nice to have a pool. It’s also good that the reception can arrange trips to different places. Good location, because shopping centre and the lagoon (and the clubs) are near to the hostel.
100%
Julia Sofia J 13/07/2019
Loved the service provided by staff!! Responded to my needs so well I was just amazed!! Thank you so much for your services!!!
98%
Nancy Suraya H 11/07/2019
It is a great location and nice ambiance, but rooms are extremely small (I was sharing 4 dorm female) It feels in a small box! 3 should be better Otherwise, all good!
95%
Regine Claudine L 10/07/2019
Fun hostel on the edge of the city. Easy walking distance to nightspots wharf / esplanade eateries market etc. Only negative was that some Fellow travellers ers did not take care to clean out sinks and put kitchen items away. Very helpful & friendly staff & a good vibe among the travellers.
90%
Gregory J 08/07/2019
Great location with all shopping, pubs, taxis, local bus stops and train station close at hand. Awesome showers and kitchen setup with a good laundry room to boot. Super friendly staff and volunteer workers, free morning pancakes and BYO. The hostel is clean and tidy with fast trouble free WiFi and aiconed rooms. I would recommend a stay at this hostel whilst in Cairns!
95%
Craig M 07/07/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
87%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL