Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (4824 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I stayed 5 nights here during Jan, the busy season, and it was great. It is super close to the marina, shops, buses. The airport shuttle service was very helpful. There was tons of fridge and food-cubby space. The free morning pancakes were awesome! Staff were friendly and helpful. Air-con in the rooms kept things cool. The pool/eating area could get noisy but folks were pretty respectful and quieted down by ten pm. Over all, great stay!
82%
Quinn 15/01/2019
Very nice, clean or orderly. Very good facilities. Excellent staff, knowledgeable and helpful. Across the street from a large mall, central bus station and central railway station. The Esplanade is a 10 min walk.
82%
George S 12/01/2019
Facilities seem outdated and common areas lack any atmosphere whatsoever. The rooms are exceptionally small. It is clean and cheap though.
60%
Marcus 10/01/2019
Great hostel with even better staff! Dorms were spacious with large lockers for belongings. The communal bathrooms were modern and very clean! The staff at YHA were so helpful and made sure we enjoyed our time in Cairns! The lovely staff behind reception helped us book our great GBR trip, greyhound bus and whitsunday trip at a great price! Thanks for helping us get organised and for the great stay :) Would definitely recommend!
98%
Sophie D 09/01/2019
Enjoyed the hostel overall. There was slight issues with one guest who maybe shouldn't have been in a shared form but the staff were very accommodating and rectified the situation as soon as it was brought to their attention. Unsure of his name but the male room cleaner was exceptional! Would definitely stay here again
92%
Alice Louise M 08/01/2019
Everything there was nice and clean.
100%
Jin Hyung P 08/01/2019
Check in was not really friendly and helpful. We felt to be just a number.
85%
Steffen H 08/01/2019
Location and staffs’ kindness are very good! Thank you for your recommend and reserve the way to green island and Kuranda !!!
82%
Megumi T 06/01/2019
We stayed there for the first time in ten years. It was very good both before and this time. Because staff are very kind and friendly.
100%
Seiko K 06/01/2019
No wifi in rooms. Plug far from beds.
78%
Sylvia Christine Maria C 06/01/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
88%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL