Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (5418 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This was a really good hostel. It had everything I needed. Good music, a pool to relax and nice rooms with lockers and AC!
80%
Emma L 16/01/2020
I can only state,that the service provided by the YHA.from Cairns to Melbourne hostels, is supper☆☆☆☆☆ It's a iconic great system ☆☆☆☆☆ I recommend it to everyone to Experience ! Your sincerely Guido
100%
Guido K 15/01/2020
This is the weirdest and worst hostel I have ever stayed in. There is ZERO atmosphere, there is no thought in matching roommates (a 60 year gap in my stay?!) the toilets were broken for 36 hours and the staff seemed shocked that I wanted to use them at midnight, meaning calling reception to access another floor. The rooms resemble a prison cell, there are no decent common areas and everyone is just miserable. Avoid, and go to Tropic Days, somewhere with an atmosphere and happy, helpful people.
42%
Michael T 13/01/2020
Most excellent! Great location, facilities, and staff. Highly recommend!
100%
Stephen N 13/01/2020
For an ‘older’ single traveller I was delighted with everything about it. Safe, clean and extremely helpful staff in all roles. I arrived with a fractured arm and additional help and support offered all the time. Terrific experience!!!
98%
Pam B 10/01/2020
Clean and updated modern bathrooms; roomy kitchen; open outdoor layout.
98%
Mack B 09/01/2020
Personnel very kind and professional! No one negative aspect, it was a great experience!
100%
Claudio I 07/01/2020
The location is awesome, right at the city centre, very convenient. The only downside is that there were only 2 sockets in the room, in a quite awkward position (quite high from the ground and far from the bed), which makes charging phones and laptops quite difficult as the cable is not long enough. Suggest providing / attaching a adaptor with more sockets that can be placed on the ground for more convenience.
92%
Lillian W 06/01/2020
The location was amazing and the place was very clean. We stayed in a private room with bathroom. It isn't fancy, but comfortable and had what we needed (bring your own shampoo). The front desk arranged a diving trip for us, which was great. The location was terrific - there is a mall across the street, which was convenient for purchasing supplies and food. Better, the area is chock-full of restaurants, shops, and gelateria! We did not try out the parking. A great deal!
100%
Catherine C 06/01/2020
Always friendly, clean and efficient especially so close to trains and shopping. For those of us elderly (75) you can reserve a bottom bunk which is a wonderful service for the older budget traveler who can't climb ladders. Well done and I wish more hostels had the same service.
100%
Patricia A 03/01/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
89%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
91%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
92%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL