Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

86%
Cairns , QLD

Winner of the 2014 Best Backpacker Awards in the Queensland Tourism Awards, Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel has all a backpacker needs for a comfortable stay.

$21.50
Check availability
Right now in Cairns ...
05:51 AM
|
17°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2538 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I had an excellent stay at the YHA simply because the reception was above par. They were really helpful and made my stay very comfortable.
    100%
    Debopam C August 2015
    Excellent service. There was a problem with my door upon arrival. I was too tired to deal with it but the staff were great. When they discovered they couldn't fix it immediately, they upgraded me to another room.
    85%
    Deanna F August 2015
    老板人很好,一开始门卡开不了门,我怀疑是卡消磁了一次次去麻烦老板,最后发现是我自己手残...刷卡太慢...旅店里有游泳池、吊床、厨房、冰箱、储物柜、烘干机,除了烘干机一次$3外其他都是免费的,而且前台还可以帮忙换硬币。地理位置也极好,位于市中心,出门就是购物中心,超市买东西很方便,凯恩斯CBD也不大。我在这边住了5夜,在前台预定了水下相机,没有自己名字的信用卡的话需要$600押金。舍友也都不错,东西可以放心放着,还可以预定机场巴士。总之一切都很方便、舒服。
    100%
    Dongming W August 2015
    I enjoyed my stay in a private room at YHA Cairns Central. The room was clean and comfortable, and also air conditioned. The bathrooms were clean and tidy. The kitchen area was large and there was plenty of storage for food. The staff were friendly and helpful, however there was often only one staff member at the reception desk and waiting times of 20-30 minutes to get to the front of the queue to ask a question. The hostel is U-shaped with a pool etc in the centre, meaning that noise can be an issue late at night. Bring ear plugs! Location is good - across the road from the main shopping centre and ~10 min walk of the Esplanade (beach, lagoon, restaurants).
    82%
    Elise G August 2015
    If you want relaxes stay and don't enjoy a party atmosphere 24/7 then I highly recommend YHA CC!
    100%
    Charlotte B August 2015
    I would like to thank YHA Staff, for providing me with great accommodation and Community atmosphere during my recent stay in Cairns.
    100%
    ann l August 2015
    The hostel is central and convenient. The staff are really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. A special thanks to Taka(excuse the spelling if wrong). Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well kitted out with plenty of fridge space. The ambience was really pleasant. All in all, a lovely place to stay.
    100%
    Caroline D July 2015
    I stayed in a 4 dorm with private bathroom, but the rooms were really small and the lockers were small, I was fine because my case fitted in the locker, but most travelers don't have backpacks anymore they have large wheelie suitcases that don't fit in the lockers and stay in the middle of an already pokey small room, Loved the bathroom as part of the room though. Great location
    85%
    Sali D July 2015
    Good location,clean. Sometimes good discounts on tours. Unfortunately staff have zero knowledge of local arts, music and culture. There is a small, hidden chalk board which advertises only commercial bands and venues. However Cairns has many FREE events, music, art galleries, parks and hobby clubs which welcome visiters, e.g. lapidary club (I was given a nice little crystal cluster. Larger, heavier slices of agate were also being given away, but my luggage was at max. plane allowance.)
    88%
    Adrienne L July 2015
    Really nice place to stay in Cairns. Clean, quiet, good vibes, friendly people. A little bit far from waterfront but overall good location.
    88%
    Julie A July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    2538 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & security
    87%
    Value for money
    83%