Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2689 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This is an excellent hostel. It may be a little less social than some of the other hostels in Cairns (not sure), but that's what bars and clubs are for anyways.
    Andrew M October 2015
    It is a good hostel, but despite Cairns is not very big, it is still located "far" from main attractions. Very friendly and helpful staff. Also a lot of people to interact with.
    Pablo L October 2015
    Great place with well stocked facilities. Close to everything you could need. Really helpful staff and a good atmosphere. Would definitely go back
    Ebony R October 2015
    Amazing city Amazing place Amazing YHA
    Clotilde L October 2015
    Staff helpful and friendly. Just a night and i feel home and secured.
    Bernadette M September 2015
    The courtyard was a great place to chill ... read ... email ...
    Peter G September 2015
    Big hostel quite impersonal and very noisy but it was Sat night. Lots of shouting running up and down etc
    Sue L September 2015
    Staff are friendly, beds are comfortable, rooms have a very generous number of sockets, and this hostel has the best hostel kitchen I've ever seen. Howevere, reception really needs to update the computers - it takes far too long to check in or organise tours, especially when there's a queue.
    DEE H September 2015
    Night staff Luke was very kind solving our problems. Thanks once again.
    Alexandre B September 2015
    I love this hostel, I go every year if possible, but will certainly be returning next year.
    Patrica B September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    2689 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money