Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (4645 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great hostel. Booked a double room with bathroom, however the shared bathroom is very clean and modern. Highly recommend this hostel if you are staying in Cairns.
100%
Heiko H 17/09/2018
Good place to use as a base for exploring Far North Qld, islands & reef. Tip: always have seasickness tablets with you on boat trips.
100%
Adrianne L 16/09/2018
Staff is very helpful and friendly, it's easy to book trips and the location is very convenient. It's close to shops, restaurants, cafes and the esplanade.
98%
Pawel N 16/09/2018
Staff are very helpful.
88%
Benjamin Lord Brett T 15/09/2018
I have been travelling the East Coast for one month now. This is the worst hostel by far. On check in the staff rush you through and only have any time for you if your booking tours. I booked a private room with bathroom and all the facilitie. I was put in a basic twin room it was very basic to beds and light switch. I spoke to reception about my booking I was told that they were fully booked but they could move me to a private room with bathroom on night two and three.
55%
Gary R 15/09/2018
Good atmosphere and great fun people!
85%
Marlaina Christina D 15/09/2018
Love the idea of pancakes for breakfast. Nice to know each evening there is an option to get discounted food or free stuff at the location or nearby. Getting freebies with a tour booking was good too. Being allowed to shower in the afternoon before leaving the next day was appreciated. Surprised there was no freezers in the kitchen. Happy to stay again. Thanks.
90%
Benjamin M 14/09/2018
It's located very well.
100%
Alexander E 12/09/2018
In addition to the unbeatable location of Cairns YHA I valued the convenient and secure parking space for my car, available for a few extra dollars. Also, free pancakes for breakfast, yesss!
98%
Verena H 12/09/2018
The hostel was great, full of life, in a nice central location with all the facilities one needs when on holiday.
98%
Jill H 10/09/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
88%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL