Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (4723 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I enjoy to stay at this hostel,staff very helpfull and friendly,good location near bus ,train station for interstate traveling, big shopping mall. kitchen is good with all the things in it. free bees like cheese,wine on a day in the week. free movie and must more. rooms very clean and roomy,good stable beds. with you own locker space very safe keeping,good laundry ,showers good, bathrooms are big.good place to meet follow guests,very open minded,so many places to sit down,very homey hostel.
100%
Philip S 20/11/2018
Great for an overnight stay. Stayed in 2 different 4bed female dorms ensuite was much appreciated.
90%
Megan P 19/11/2018
I booked this hostel as it had breakfast included, which it is not true. They only provide pancakes, you can not say that the breakfast is included only providing pancakes. Very disappointing with that. If I knew, I’d book another hoste nearby as I found cheaper places but with no breakfast included. I’d not recommend this place. Staff at reception very nice.
68%
Veronica C 18/11/2018
In my location where i come from its very useful as it is a second minute walk...close to all necissities that one need, price good..thanks all staff.
98%
Maria L 17/11/2018
Hi All, I find the hostel very convenient, location etc. Used it prior to joining an organised tour. I had asked, and got a lower bunk, health reasons. Thank you. My problem is the heat, am not used to sleeping with Air Con. Subsequently stayed at Airlie Beach, Whitsunday's, excellent !! This was after my tour, later stayed at Rockhampton and Brisbane before returning home to Melbourne. I find the Hostels are usually conveniently located, safe, clean and i meet interesting people .
100%
Inge S 09/11/2018
It was the best hostel sofar, where I have ever been before. However, the internetconnection was very poor :/
98%
Alexandra D 07/11/2018
I stayed here for a few days. I started out in the 10 bedroom female dorm - matress was old. Then moved to 6 bed female dorm where powerpoints all in one corner and a snorer (bring ear plugs). Staff were great. Free pancakes as well. Close to shops and lots of activities in the YHA to do as well. Plus laundry facilities. Good experience overall.
88%
Anne T 03/11/2018
Perfectly located - 1-min walk to the shopping centre & 5-min to the clubs. Very comfy beds, plenty of space & storage in the shared dorms. Free or cheap activities happening every single day & run by fun & friendly staff! The trip to the AJ Hackett tower & bungy on Sunday is definitely the must-do! In other words, if you wish to relax, work or meet people, this is a place for everyone! Would definitely come back!
90%
Christine P 30/10/2018
Tres bien situé. Tout est neuf et propre, ambiance Miami. Je recommande.
100%
Celine Gisele Colette A 30/10/2018
The hostel is really well run and the pool area is great for relaxing. We did the blue arrow walk behind the botanic gardens and saw lots of wildlife.
85%
David L 29/10/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
89%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
91%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
89%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL