Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2779 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I had a single room which was clean and simple and perfect for my4-day stay. It had a desk, bed light, air con unit and was very clean. What more can you ask?
    Isa M November 2015
    Excellent hostel. One of the best in Australia.
    Phillip C November 2015
    Even though it was currently undergoing renovations in the upstairs bathrooms, it didn't really diminish my stay really. Staff were super helpful and friendly, really easy to get food or shop. And perfect place to get most tours from, as I almost always had one of the last pick ups! Hello lie in! Haha
    Katie G November 2015
    This comment is valid for all Australian YHAs that I visited: It would be appreciated to be able to reach shower hooks and equipment. Sometimes I found myself searching for and using a chair, a stool, or an upside down recycling box. Koodos for recycling attempts. We guests were often at fault for using the containers inappropriately.
    Velma D November 2015
    The blankets and Towels were dirty. The room was very-2 small. I have stayed in YHA property in Sydney and Blue Mountains and they were much more spacious. I stayed for four days and literally stepped in the room only to sleep.. Room was not for relaxing but just sleeping
    Deepika S November 2015
    The location and access to facilities makes this hostel an excellent base to explore this unique & special area of Australia. We enjoyed our holiday & will be back. Thank you YHA.
    Tracy C November 2015
    Overall good experience.
    Marie-Josee G November 2015
    Short but sweet - I wish I could stay a week. I need to eat more bugs from the trawler and there is never enough Clare valley Riesling to wash them down with. Great yha service once again followed by a short sleep before heading to the airport. Carpe diem
    Brenton B November 2015
    A great spot well managed great staff. Good location close to the shops and a short stroll to the night life and esplanade. I stay regularly and the place is reliably good with a great safe environment and a good feel backed by excellent staff who know there job and do it with a smile and a great attitude.
    Brenton B November 2015
    YHA Cairns was a great experience. We enjoyed the large kitchen and great pool. The staff were very friendly and helped us with many bookings. Loved the pancake breakfast and location. This was our favourite YHA!
    Maddison R November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    2779 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money