Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (4177 guests have reviewed this hostel)
No free wi-fi in the rooms. Guys, it's 2017! And no sockets at the beds, that another missed opportunity.
80%
Bart B 16/11/2017
The YHA on Cairns was so fun! The hostel set up is really cool, with it being around the pool. Everyone was so nice and friendly, it made for a great stay!
85%
Laura P 16/11/2017
Fantastic. One of the best YHA's I have stayed at. Would highly recommend to others!
100%
Nicholas V 15/11/2017
Great location; clean room and free pancake break fast. Also suplay well discount for Resturant at the city and nice freindly staff to help you for tours.
92%
Hashem M 15/11/2017
Loved staying at Cairns YHA! Location was great -- close to the Kuranda train and within easy walking distance of the Esplanade. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Loved the free pancake breakfast! Would definitely stay again.
95%
Tanya I 14/11/2017
Desks/chairs provided if space al1ows。Bedside lights installed。Guests should be better reminded to wash own forks/spo○ns and crockery。More notices are to be displayed for keeping quiet。。l was disturbed by 3 guests chatting at 3。00 am in the c○urtyard。
82%
Bit Mo H 13/11/2017
It was a great hostel. Clean and spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. Good quality sheets etc. friendly and helpful staff. Great kitchen
100%
Joanne H 12/11/2017
I love being able to meet people at YHA traveling in Australia. I did have some very interesting interactions while I was lodged there. The kitchen facilities were great and it was wonderful seeing so many people preparing food and shared their food too. Thank you.
98%
Roseanne K 12/11/2017
It was great!
100%
Yasmine H 11/11/2017
The hostel was good, I enjoyed may stay. What I missed though was the social part. Most guests were just staying alone all the time which is kind of sad. But again: The hostel is nice, clean and well located
85%
Christoph S 11/11/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
customer rating, based on 4177 reviews
Cleanliness
91%
Condition of facilities
91%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
85%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
87%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL