Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3216 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Not a ton of space in dorm rooms for luggage (why do we women seem to have exploding bags when we live together??), but a roomy kitchen, nice courtyard seating, and outdoor movie screens. Easily walkable for downtown and local car rental locations!
    85%
    Rachel D July 2016
    Good en clean hostel. For the last day's in Australian i feel me really good en confortable here. :)
    85%
    R Z July 2016
    Can be noisy at night due to pool, dining area and smoking areas located in the centre of the hotel.
    72%
    Christopher D July 2016
    The staff are really friendly and helpful. The room is tidy and clean, bed are more comfortable than my expectation. Also meet very good people and make new friends there!
    100%
    Huimin C July 2016
    So dirty and messy. Need to buy more kitchen utensils.
    62%
    Jose R July 2016
    CAIRNS CENTRAL YHA has a lot of things going for it and its pluses outweigh any minuses by a long shot. It is certainly the best I’ve stayed in out of 4 places in Cairns and I will probably use it next visit because it is so darn easy to access from the airport, has that great shopping area adjacent and so many other central Cairns attractions close by. At the same time I would not rate it in my top 25% of all time backpacker joints.
    72%
    Terry B July 2016
    clean, good location (opposite to Cairns Central Shopping Centre)...Overall I enjoyed my stay here.
    80%
    Wenxing X July 2016
    It was really good choice to choose this hostel although it was the room for 10 people. Especially I liked a private locker and two sheets on my bed. One thing what I disappointed is a rubbish on the lockers actually it is not rubbish but things that travellers left ... I understand it is difficult to distinguish which one is old things but some oranges are with ants.... And also some matress has an mold. I wanna this will be changed. but except this, it is clean and well organized! Above all the bast place to enjoy Cairns!!! Thank you for your hospitality and smile!! see you cheers,
    88%
    Sun Young J July 2016
    Not free wifi, dirty kichen,
    52%
    TAESEONG L July 2016
    This is one of the very best YHA hostels to stay and I've stayed in a lot of that's all around Australia. No mad load music and the kitchen has " enough" of everything to get things done at the busiest of times. And also handy presses that don't need locks to keep your dry foods in.
    98%
    Rory G July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    3216 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    85%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    86%