Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

88%
Cairns , QLD

Winner of the 2014 Best Backpacker Awards in the Queensland Tourism Awards, Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel has all a backpacker needs for a comfortable stay.

$21.50
Check availability
Right now in Cairns ...
05:19 PM
|
24°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2517 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel is central and convenient. The staff are really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. A special thanks to Taka(excuse the spelling if wrong). Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well kitted out with plenty of fridge space. The ambience was really pleasant. All in all, a lovely place to stay.
    100%
    Caroline D July 2015
    I stayed in a 4 dorm with private bathroom, but the rooms were really small and the lockers were small, I was fine because my case fitted in the locker, but most travelers don't have backpacks anymore they have large wheelie suitcases that don't fit in the lockers and stay in the middle of an already pokey small room, Loved the bathroom as part of the room though. Great location
    85%
    Sali D July 2015
    Good location,clean. Sometimes good discounts on tours. Unfortunately staff have zero knowledge of local arts, music and culture. There is a small, hidden chalk board which advertises only commercial bands and venues. However Cairns has many FREE events, music, art galleries, parks and hobby clubs which welcome visiters, e.g. lapidary club (I was given a nice little crystal cluster. Larger, heavier slices of agate were also being given away, but my luggage was at max. plane allowance.)
    88%
    Adrienne L July 2015
    Really nice place to stay in Cairns. Clean, quiet, good vibes, friendly people. A little bit far from waterfront but overall good location.
    88%
    Julie A July 2015
    Great central location
    88%
    Fiona G July 2015
    Stayed as a family with three small children. Room was good size and price made it very affordable as a family. We loved our stay here.
    98%
    Deanna d July 2015
    Nice hostel in the perfect location. Loved the pancake breakfast. I would recommend this to any traveler wanting a comfortable stay in the CBD. Definitely value for money.
    95%
    Sarah O July 2015
    A little bit noisy unfortunately, because of its configuration (bedrooms are just near the swimming pool, etc...) And the "free wi-fi" was really really really bad (quite always impossible to connect!)
    80%
    Samuel D July 2015
    It is a very comfortable hostel.The kitchen is big and has everything you may need, plus it is open till midnight. The swimmimng pool area is nice and you have pancakes for breakfast! It would be better if you would have wifi in all the facilities or at least in the dorms, but you have it only in the reception area. The good thing is that it is free, so fair enough.
    88%
    Maria D July 2015
    I didn't have much time to enjoy it but it was cool. It was located in a good area. The atmosphere was great and so the staff.
    92%
    Javier O July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    2517 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    85%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & security
    90%
    Value for money
    84%