Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3628 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Open kitchen which means there is a problem with flies & midges.
    72%
    Michael G February 2017
    Everything was great and people were friendly! The only thing we'd prefer to have was better wifi and internet in our room.
    92%
    Haley G February 2017
    No community vibe, no one talks to each other in the room.
    80%
    Kirsten February 2017
    Most friendly and helpful staff in all of Australia! Good crowd of people there too!
    100%
    George J February 2017
    Great free pancakes from 7-9 every morning. There's not that much to do in Cairns itself, but the staff is great in advising you for tours. The kitchen is well-equipped and was always super clean. However, the floor in front of the shower would have needed cleaning more than once a day, but was still ok. There's something going on every evening, like movies on the big screen above the pool.
    92%
    Tanja W February 2017
    Good Hostel, perfect when you want to chill out after a night at Gilligans, the pool and the Jacuzzi are a very good feature, cleanliness and safety are good as in every YHA.
    90%
    Felix S February 2017
    Nice hostel in central position... clean, friendly and with free pancakes for breakfast!!!
    100%
    Kathy S February 2017
    Never stayed in a YHA before and was pleasantly suprised. Excellent facilities, huge kitchen, helpful staff. Will definitely be staying in more.
    95%
    Jade H February 2017
    Cairns YHA is excellent! Centrally located facility close to everything you need! Well maintained, very clean, lovely facility. Good security, (security lockers, key card room entry, night entry by night manager) The staff is incredible, the girls up front were friendly and sweet and so incredibly helpful. So helpful with tours, local suggestions, hostel info, anything you need! And the pancake breakfast is delicious! Not too wild a party hostel but they've got lots of nightly events and suggestions for going out and meeting people if you like! Excellent hostel, definitely recommend!
    100%
    Whitney K February 2017
    The staff are always amazing when I stay. It's a great place and I always enjoy my time.
    100%
    Diana P February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    92%
    3628 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    91%
    Efficiency of service
    93%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & Security
    94%
    Value for Money
    90%