Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (4273 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Best YHA hostel so far, very clean, great atmosphere and bonus points for free pancakes!
98%
Krisna B 16/01/2018
Nice position in Cairns, you can reach the cairns centeral in 2mins. Mostly nice facilities, but we cannot get hot water for shower if you come back late. the attitude of some stuffs was so serious without any smile though.
78%
Jane S 15/01/2018
Very pleased overall. Unfortunate that some visitors are not considerate during night hours to those sleeping. It was sad that many of the visitors did not seem to want to talk to each other ie eyes down, avoiding conversation. It's a changed world. We had some tiny ants in our room but did not complain; rather we made them happy with some cola left in a can for them to raid on the window sill! Thank you for a great stay with added touches like the sunscreen available on the front desk and the cool music playing out near the pool and eating area.
92%
Paula W 15/01/2018
Great value, short walk down to the front. Large 4 person room with clean toilet and shower facilities a short walk from room. My only gripe would be my keycard didn't always work. Had to goto reception about 4 times in the 3 nights i stayed.
82%
Richard B 12/01/2018
Awesome; great and friendly atmosphere.
100%
Rajarshi P 11/01/2018
If I could give the front desk staff here at Cairns 6 out of 5 stars I would. They are experts in guiding you to the right boats for reef scuba/snorkels, rain forest adventures etc. Jono is a dive master on one of the boats, Assistant Manager Hannah, and Romi are both seasoned divers and know their stuff, and my newest counter friend, Jackie (blond blessing of a sister)...all are A+ helpful. When a traveler as myself is away from home 6 weeks, one misses family. These guys help make up for that by being a family away from home. My tip: get to know your YHA front desk staff if you travel. I've only met nice people having stayed now at 9 of them on my 6-week trip. Big hugs all, I'll be back!
100%
Jenn C 10/01/2018
Great hostel but kitchen cleanliness could be better. eg the mugs and glasses are stored on a dirty shelf. I often found plates were not that clean (though I realise this is down to other guests not washing up properly) Room cleanliness was good and it was a great hostel overall.
80%
Laura T 09/01/2018
Provide complimentary breakfast with fruits at least
82%
Yung To L 09/01/2018
Best hostel we stayed in Australia
100%
Lucia H 09/01/2018
Brilliant hostel to stay in. Big, clean rooms with aircon. Can not fault the hostel. Plenty space in the kitchen and big seating area. Only fault we’re the cold showers however that was acknowledged and in the process of being fixed. Would recommend this hostel - brilliant conditions compared to others I have stayed at.
100%
Roxanne 08/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
91%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
94%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL