Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (4514 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Good, central, reliable, clean, friendly and economical accommodation. A YHAer from way back.
90%
Sue A 13/07/2018
Fantastic value for money, am not someone who often stays in hostels but this was a great location, facilities clean and modern and very comfortable and well designed if you want to meet people or just have some quiet time.
95%
Aliya B 13/07/2018
Made my over night stay. The staff assistance was most helpful. Arriving late is never easy. Staff very obliging.
100%
Kerrie S 12/07/2018
Great
100%
Yu Y 09/07/2018
Comfy beds close to the main shops
85%
Thomas W 08/07/2018
I've stayed here three times now and it's one of my favourite places in Australia to stay. Hint - apart from the usual great Cairns highlights, check out St. Monica's cathedral and its contempory stained glass windows. A must to see.
100%
Carol L 08/07/2018
The hostel is in front of the the train station and the mall, 10 mins walk from the esplanade and in a calm area which make the stay enjoyable for everyone. The atmosphere is friendly and the staff is efficient and super ready to give suggestions and advices for choosing what to visit. Rooms are clean. The kitchen is big, but it could be cleaner than it is (mostly stove and drawers).
95%
Francesca D 07/07/2018
Happy friendly staff. Great atmosphere
100%
Terence D 06/07/2018
Had a great time at YHA Cairns. Very laidback vibes, yummy pancake brekky every morning, great facilities, friendly staff, large security lockers in the rooms, comfy hammocks and more. Would recommend!! Especially for such a reasonable price!
95%
Kallista S 04/07/2018
Loved all of the extras like the movie night, free popcorn and free pancakes. The hammocks are a nice touch and it was great to have plenty of covered outdoor space for rainy days. Plenty of clean teatowels and sponges so it never felt unhygienic.
85%
Rebecca 04/07/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
91%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
90%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL