Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

89%
Cairns , QLD

Winner of the 2014 Best Backpacker Awards in the Queensland Tourism Awards, Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel has all a backpacker needs for a comfortable stay.

$21.50
Check availability
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Entrance
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Swimming Pool
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Dorm Room
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - 4 Share Dorm
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Family Room
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Kitchen
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Hammocks
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Pool Table
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Tour Desk
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Dining Room
Right now in Cairns ...
11:32 AM
|
25°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2403 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Excellent location and friendly staff. Been in Cairns for over month and switched between hostels and YHA was the best. Just round the corner from Gilligans and the mall, perfect!
    98%
    Josh L May 2015
    Had an amazing time here, other friendly guests, friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, had an amazing time, thank you :)
    90%
    Bethany L May 2015
    Clean and nice hostel in the middle of Cairns near a big Shopping Centre, a nice veggie market and still close to the beach. We were 6 people and stayed in a 6 bedroom room. It was clean, air-conditioned and quiet enough for sleeping. There are free pancakes in the morning and the staff is really polite. Would go there again anytime when I am back in beautiful Queensland. :-) Cheers!
    88%
    Stephan K May 2015
    Free pancakes was awesome
    88%
    Natalie K May 2015
    Wonderful and friendly staff.
    92%
    Jacci B May 2015
    Very reasonably priced if you are looking for an overnight stay and some where not too expensive. Especially if you want to share in same gender rooms for security.
    95%
    Wendy S May 2015
    A great facility with friendly staff and guests, located centrally in Cairns and with a great pancake breakfast when I was there.
    98%
    Doug M May 2015
    Great hostel with a nice pool area. Bathrooms are clean but the showers could do with a little update. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. Its in a great location, right across the road from the shopping centre and about 5 minutes walk to the lagoon and Esplanade. If I ever come back to Cairns I shall stay again. :)
    90%
    Daneka G May 2015
    We enjoyed our stay at Cairns YHA. The staff were friendly and very helpful and we were very pleased with our ensuite room. It was quiet and we slept very well. The kitchen was well equipped and it was lovely sitting outside by the swimming pool to enjoy our meals, the pancakes were excellent.We got a discount at the hostel on the trip to Green Island which was a wonderful day exploring the Island and viewing the Reef and fish through the glass bottomed boat. We liked shopping at Woolworth in Lake Street on the way to the wonderful Cairns lagoon.Trains to Kuranda in the rainforest go from the station across the road but we caught a blue bus from outside the hostel to Smithfield to go on the Skyrail cable car over the forest to Kuranda.The bus we caught outside the hostel was going in the direction of the James cook University and it took about 45 mins to get to Skyrail. Beware of the Transnorth bus company in the station which has a timetable showing they will get you to Skyrail in 20 mins because they are not allowed to actually stop there!
    100%
    Jacqueline B May 2015
    Coming from Tasmania and didn't use the a/c so found it warm. Friendly.
    80%
    Lee B April 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    2403 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    90%