COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (5592 guests have reviewed this hostel)
staff friendly, good location, nice pool area.
75%
Kim N 26/10/2020
No hot water for the shower Bed was lumpy and springs sticking out Construction outside of the room on the building. Very basic The pool was nice though. The outside atmosphere was good. Good mix of all ages here at the hostel.
65%
Megan M 21/10/2020
Nice vibe and great location. Be happy to stay there anytime !
100%
Tony B 15/10/2020
A hostel who's average guest age is not so youthful, but a wonderful place to stay if you're not into the party scene. Conveniently close to buses & trains, opposite the main shopping centre, bike hire around the corner & walking distance to the water and car rentals. As a single female traveller in her mid 40's they had everything I wanted or needed close & was preferable to a hotel (cooking facilities). Shout out to Carlos - full of helpful information and generally a wonderful host.
100%
Kirsten J 11/10/2020
A hostel who's average guest age is not so youthful, but a wonderful place to stay if you're not into the party scene. Conveniently close to buses & trains, opposite the main shopping centre, bike hire around the corner & walking distance to the water and car rentals. As a single female traveller in her mid 40's they had everything I wanted or needed close & was preferable to a hotel (cooking facilities). Shout out to Carlos - full of helpful information and generally a wonderful host.
100%
Kirsten J 11/10/2020
Cute receptionists :)
100%
Bongani N 04/10/2020
It was great for our overnighter. The only thing we didn’t enjoy was our room being next to the smoking area. It stank every time you opened the door and it felt like there was always some sitting outside your room. Other than that we had a very pleasant stay, it was very clean, good value for money and convenient to the marina.
90%
Julie H 30/09/2020
Always good 👍🏼
100%
Diana P 19/09/2020
Excellent facilities, friendly staff, great location, close to shops and just a short walk to the esplanade.
95%
Clint J 09/09/2020
Great location and room was the perfect size. Thanks
80%
Elijah C 08/09/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
84%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
83%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL