Cairns Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (4372 guests have reviewed this hostel)
We stayed in a private ensuite room which was clean and spacious with everything we needed.
82%
Michael R 18/04/2018
This hostel had the nicest bathrooms of any one I've ever stayed at. It's a bit on the louder side, but it's a good home base for your time in Cairns, close to a lot of food options.
88%
Sophie G 17/04/2018
The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful with information we sought.
100%
Balan G 13/04/2018
Other hostels that we have stayed at have had a jug, radio in private rooms
80%
Lynette S 12/04/2018
The beds were really comfy, but the showers were horrible. The one in our room didn't even have a proper shower head and the public showers had only cold water when I tried them. I payed for WiFi and it did not work in my room so I had to use the free WiFi downstairs.... they have free pancakes every morning. So if you don't mind bad showers, the hostel is alright.
68%
Kirstin K 10/04/2018
All were very friendly
100%
Elisabet L 10/04/2018
Cairns YHA has been my favourite hostel in Australia so far. YHA deliver the best standards and Cairns is no different. The staff are friendly, patient, sharp, attentive and helpful. The facilities are the cleanest I've seen and the tenants are respectful of others. There is a great range of activities at the hostel.
100%
Alice O 09/04/2018
Was a nice place to stay. Clean and central. Would stay again
92%
Robert P 03/04/2018
Very friendly and laid back, great facilities with a real community feeling. Ideally located in Cairns Centre - easy to get to waterfront and other amenities. Staff friendly, helpful and knowledgable.
90%
Paul J 31/03/2018
Exceptional ! As a disabled (Wheelchair) user I found it wonderful - Perhaps not always recommending the Family Disabled Room may also help as, although I was given a massive discount in this private suite I did manage well enough in a male shared Dorm for my last night. Obviously the cost came well down in the dorm compared to the Private Disabled Friendly Room - as a traveller on a budget this IS important - However, overall I loved this Hostel, Staff and fellow travellers - Wonderful 10/10 👍
95%
Carl B 28/03/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
96%
Condition of facilities
94%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
91%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL