Search YHA

Cairns Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2610 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    As I said in a previous rating, I've had an awesome time in Cairns. Particular thanks to Jackie on reception who was just awesome with everything, she is you're employee of the month.
    90%
    Alison M August 2015
    Jackie on reception was particularly friendly and helpful to me booking my accomodation in Airlie Beach and organising day trips + airport transfers for me. It's much appreciated, she deserves employee of the month.
    90%
    Alison M August 2015
    i never felt comfortable in this hostel, i don't know why. but they have great staff!
    80%
    Deborah E August 2015
    Great location, friendly staff, opp big shopping centre, 5 min walk to lagoon and esplanade. Excellent value for money.
    100%
    Patricia K August 2015
    VERY FRIENDLY STAFF TO WELCOME. ALWAYS DIFFICULT TO KEEP ON TOP OF KITCHEN TIDYNESS BUT STAFF KEPT TRYING; ALWAYS CAN USE 'NEW' CLEAN TEA TOWELS. GREAT YHA VISIT. THANK YOU
    100%
    Patricia K August 2015
    Just about the best hostel I have ever stayed at. It's my third time with you. Staff very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble to them. My room with en suite was at least as good as in any 3 star hotel. My sole criticism was with guest wifi which was unsatisfactory. Thanks for a great six days.
    100%
    Barry T August 2015
    Excellent, Great way to meet some very nice interesting people, just the sort of atmosphere people you can feel very relaxed
    100%
    Tony B August 2015
    All the elements for a great time, seem to exist in one place at this hostel. Starting first with the location (central to everything), and of course the weather, this time of year, excellent. That however is only the beginning, the friendly, inclusive and engaging atmosphere starts with the counter staff, always willing and able to help with their extensive knowledge of Cairns and all it offers the traveller. Their attitude "sets the scene", that allows people of all ages, cultures, and backgrounds to relax and socialise - surely an important element of travel, for all. The facilities and their layout are very practical and easy to use (kitchen, laundry & toilets all well positioned and easy to access The dining area in front of the kitchen, is particularly well sited being in front of both the pool and a large opening to the kitchen area. This allows for people to sit down relax, truly setting the scene for people to talk, engage and get to know each other. I absolutely enjoyed my week at Cairns YHA, and would have no hesitation recommending it to the weary traveller. I will return and soon. Pete Murphy (Happy long term YHA user) .
    100%
    Peter M August 2015
    Absolutely fantastic hostel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Really nice pool area and courtyard. Really nice rooms. Cannot complain at all about this place and I would highly recommend it :)
    100%
    Jack I August 2015
    Great place to stay. Yes it needs a lick of paint here and there, but it does everything right, unlike some of the new glitzy hostels like Sydney Railway Sq who charge over $30 for a basic dorm. $24 is more like what backpackers want. Great atmosphere, and no crowds of beer binge drinkers as in Sydney. Extra friendly staff.
    95%
    Robert L August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    2610 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & security
    90%
    Value for money
    87%