Search YHA

Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1628 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Cooly YHA provides a welcoming, comfortable home to stay at. Short walk to the beach, and just across the road from Mervin Roy's Cafe, where you get great food & coffee. Good position, around 2k from all the shops and eateries, Kirra & Cooly have to offer. Would highly recomend to anyone. Just need an excuse to get back up here again.
    95%
    Lance O July 2016
    I wished to thank an off duty personnel for helping me retrieve my translink card locked in the room after I have checked out and duty manager is driving yha van
    82%
    Shiuh N July 2016
    Perfect place to stay if you have an early flight!
    88%
    Karina B July 2016
    Great value for money.friendly people!!
    80%
    Russell D July 2016
    Staff were nice and friendly, location wasn't great but a bus brings you into the village a few times per day. The dorms and bathrooms were ok, but the kitchen wasn't in great shape, mismatched dirty plates and cutlery, camp top stoves instead of hobs which kept turning off randomly, it wasn't cleaned as routinely as other yha's I have stayed at and often had piles of dirty dishes. Overall not a bad hostel but not great either.
    70%
    Alex July 2016
    Highly recommend staying at Cooly! The staff were very friendly, helpful and kind. The facilities and other services on offer were excellent for the price paid. Location is good if you do not plan on exploring the Gold Coast - very close to the airport (~10 minute walk), easy to find, and a short ~5 minute walk to the beach. I would definitely stay here again. :)
    88%
    Roza R July 2016
    The location was awesome for travellers!
    100%
    Mohammad Hafiz July 2016
    Too noisy because of airplanes
    60%
    JYUN-JI L July 2016
    Very convenient to the airport for late arrivals into Gold Coast. Loved being able to walk off the plane and over to the hostel. Drawbacks of being so close is the noise of the airport and the highway... Bring earplugs if you need a good night's rest! Friendly staff made everything easy.
    72%
    Kim A July 2016
    We enjoy staying here, close to the airport, buses & beach. We like the friendly atmosphere, also that older backpackers like us don't feel so out of place. We look forward to being able to return here!
    90%
    Mardi M July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    1628 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    79%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    82%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & Security
    81%
    Value for Money
    83%