Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2366 guests have reviewed this hostel)
A great hostel, fantastic location but don’t rely on free internet, it’s poor
100%
Michael G 22/04/2019
It had a friendly inclusive atmosphere. I never felt like I was being chased up about anything. All the staff were very helpful and had a great attitude. Also, it is one of those hostels where people have a warm heart - that is people were quite kind to each other. That makes all the difference to me and other travelers.
98%
David F 19/04/2019
Great location. Lots of outdoor spaces. Double rooms. Clean. Rare it very highly. Great staff.
92%
Wendy L 19/04/2019
I was only there briefly, but found the facility to be a great stay. It’s only about a 30 minute walk from the city and there are shuttles there. Overall, great staff and a great stay.
78%
Tyler M 19/04/2019
I was staying for UNI and extremely handy to the Southern Cross university. A little loud with the airport but I expected that. Value for money was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. My room was clean. Would definitely stay again
88%
Karen C 18/04/2019
I just needed a bed - it was perfect.
90%
Rachel A 16/04/2019
Nice staff. Courtesy bus.
80%
Sue 12/04/2019
I have stayed at this hostel a few times before and slept in either dorm or single. It was great fun. One great feature was that Breakfast was included and no one would come in clean the room nor empty the bin during my 5 nights stay. If you enjoy noise, airplanes taking off or landing then this is the place.you want to be. Bus stop across the road line 700 to Broadbeach South/Connection with tram towards Surfers Paradise. Line 760 links with train to Brisbane via Varsity Lakes.
50%
Stephane s 11/04/2019
Facilities were alright but not as good as more central YHAs which also have better locations. It’s probably handy for the airport but wouldn’t recommend unless you’re relying on that
68%
Jesse M 07/04/2019
Check in took forever. Finally got to my room. None of the fans worked. Room smells. Can’t close the windows and it’s next to the highway to you have a constant flow of traffic right outside your window. There wasn’t anything about the stay in this hostel that was pleasant apart from leaving.
60%
Paul B 07/04/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

83%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
82%
Condition of facilities
80%
Efficiency of service
86%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
83%
Overall atmosphere
77%
Safety & Security
84%
Value for Money
81%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL