Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2475 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great staff and in particular Ebony was very helpful. The shower heads dropped constantly and need to be fixed
85%
Joanna L 20/10/2019
I didn't like at all. The room wasn't clean and was full in sand. The room was noisy. The shower was dirty and the shower head too low. The only good thing was the location near the airport.
48%
Ronen Z 20/10/2019
Very homely atmosphere. Played trivia and had $6 pizza which was a great atmosphere. Didn't use the kitchen but looked good. Good overall. I stayed in a private room and the pillow cases/pillows smelt pretty bad so I used my towel as a pillow instead. I would recommend changing the carpet as it looked/felt dirty and may have been the cause of the slight smell in the room. All of that aside I would recommend if you are travelling early morning as I was due to location!
75%
Laura A 16/10/2019
I enjoyed my stay at the Cooley YHA. The courtesy bus is a godsend considering the location, but if you don’t mind a 3ish km walk each way then Coolangatta isn’t that far. Close to the airport which was helpful. My room was clean and comfortable.
90%
Elise N 13/10/2019
Just stayed overnight it was great
100%
Trevor B 13/10/2019
The hostel manager Ebony was a total star! Very knowledgeable, friendly, efficient and a great host even when dealing with zombie spaced out jet lagged guests. The hostel is extremely convenient to get to after days of international travel. Burger night rocked at this Hostel. 2 burgers with all the salad accompaniments, dressing etc. you could wish for $10 amazing! Compliments to Chef his fresh marinated chicken breast burgers were truly awesome.
95%
Mireille G 11/10/2019
The slamming of the doors in the next rooms kept me awake, I went to have a shower at midnight and no water which i had prepared to use less water so I had soap all over me, but NO WATER. The loover glass are missing, so it lets in quite a bit of noise when its cool enough to have them shut, but thats minor.
72%
Matthew Y 10/10/2019
I had a nice stay and met some nice people. Overall I was happy to be a guest at YHA...
82%
Jeff H 09/10/2019
Ok
75%
John L 08/10/2019
Great place to stay. So close to many day trips I could do. Very kind staff and tasty meals availab!e. My room was fantastic . ucky me. Would definitely visit again. Sad to see some travellers leave such a mess in the kitchen. But good staff clean up. Thank you for a great stay.
92%
Beverley S 06/10/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

85%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
81%
Condition of facilities
76%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
88%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
87%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL