Search YHA

Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

  • Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1479 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The staff is very friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere is good. It's nice that there are single rooms for those of us travelling alone. Unfortunately my room was not very soundproof so I didn't get much sleep (despite earplugs). The hostel is very(!) close to the airport which is convenient if you are arriving/departing by flight. The hostel is not very close to town (about 35 min walk), but there is a courtesy bus that leaves a couple of times every day. There are also local buses that will take you into town.
    Pernilla L November 2015
    I spent 6 nights here. Convenient location and close to transport, beach and airport. I liked it being a bit quieter than Surfers. Staff are friendly and clean facilities. I stayed in a single room and could still chat to people over a meal. I will definitely stay here again!
    Sara G November 2015
    worst night of my life. worst hotel ever. Noise until 1 am due to inconsiderate australian teenagers who brought alcohol in the premises. some girls complained about thefts the next morning.Although these young people breach the rules of the hostel, they were not asked to leave by the hotel manager who came to scold them a few times. we could hear people talking in the other rooms.
    Antoine Prandota T November 2015
    Friendly staff, location is too far and the hostel only offers 3 buses a day with no double pickups if full, 40 min walk into town, the buses don't correspond with greyhound buses. Large groups of teenagers getting drunk everywhere. Our room key was given to another guest who thought he was staying in the same room... We were in a private room. Very chilled hostel, good kitchen with everything you need. But would stay in a hostel much much closer to coolangatta if I came here again. Not recommended to stay here.
    Vanessa B November 2015
    This YHA is walking distance from the airport. Great staff Ebonie Joelene Pip & Kieth & manager Woza are so friendly & helpful. They can organise tours & anything else you need. The courtesy bus does drop off & pick ups 4 times a day. Great for surfing some of the best beaches in OZ. It's like a home away from home! Weather is perfect all year round. Close to everything you can want for a fabulous holiday! I have stayed there many times & I will keep coming back! I love the sun the surf & the staff!
    Chris D November 2015
    This hostel offers basic facilities. It used to include breakfast so l always feel lm not getting value for money now. I stay there whenever l have an early flight out of Coolangatta airport. Brilliant location near the airport. But not close to anything else.
    Karen E November 2015
    Nice staffs, thanks a lot. Cheers!
    Chuen W November 2015
    Friendly staff and guests. Made my 11 year old daughter and me feel welcome.
    Geoff L November 2015
    Unsuitable for families.
    Suzan C November 2015
    This hostel has location in terms of being close to the Gold Coast airport for an early morning flight but little else going for it The pool needs a good clean and my room was not much better with pillows and mattress stained however the price reflects the hostel and for people on a really tight budget it's ok
    Barbra H November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1479 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money