Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2213 guests have reviewed this hostel)
We booked an individual room so we could get some sleep before an early flight. Our room was basic but okay apart from the curtains that didn't close. There was absolutely no sound proofing so we could hear everything. Our room looked onto a balcony where a bunch of school boys were being very rowdy in the evening. The single rooms need to be away from the dorms. The showers were so short I had to kneel to use them and were cold anyway. The staff were friendly though.
78%
Danielle 05/11/2018
It's on a very handy location, 5 min walk from GC Airport, close to bus service and the facilities are good with a range of rooms options, there should have one more bus travel service at 7:30pm overall great friendly place to stay
95%
Renzo M 04/11/2018
A nice place.
80%
Graham F 02/11/2018
I n my partner are senior citizens and were very welcome and treated with respect. We will definitely return.
85%
Hugh D 30/10/2018
The staff I talked was very kind and friendly even I'm not native english speaker. It was the first time to stay at YHA hostels and I figured out YHA is much better than other hostel/backpackers. I'd like to recommend this place to any backpackers/travellers/even families with small kids.
90%
aiko i 29/10/2018
As I've noticed on past visits, this hostel suffers from a sort of in-group/outgroup feeling because several 'guests' live here and they are only interested in the group they have become part of. So they are not much interested in guests that are just passing through for a day or two.
68%
Merrall G 28/10/2018
Great spot for a quick pit stop. Walking distance from the airport, felt like I was sleeping on the tarmac so wouldn’t stay for too long. Nice staff, great courtesy bus service and all the amenities were fine.
70%
Lauren M 27/10/2018
We love the atmosphere in hostel and all the activities (like swimming pool, billiard, tennis table, basketball, bicycles and many more) it offers. The stuff is very friendly and helpful and even offers a bus to the center!
95%
Kristina M 21/10/2018
Great quiet hostel with a homey atmosphere. I appreciated the courtesy bus into town and the chilled staff. The only thing I didn't like was the mattress as it was very unsupportive!
92%
Tambra Elisabeth S 19/10/2018
Overall an excellent hostel … love that there was a clean sheet and towel in my room … only gripe was there was no wifi when I tried it at 11;30pm, but maybe it's just not available at that time of day/night. THANKS ;)
100%
Laurence L 12/10/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
79%
Condition of facilities
72%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
89%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
81%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL