Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2183 guests have reviewed this hostel)
very good service, plenty of room and very clean
90%
David C 19/09/2018
Excellent location for airport.
98%
Mickee M 18/09/2018
The best Brazilian BBQ I've had outside of Brazil all over my life!!
80%
Alexandre C 17/09/2018
I would not stay at this hostel again unless I was flying out of the Coolangatta airport, but I would still look for alternatives first. Paid $70 for twin room share facilities. Friends stayed in a motel near Palm Beach & paid $90 for the same date. Their room was a triple, free internet (with great connection), bathroom, TV, tea & coffee making facilities & onsite parking. I'm a life member of YHA & have stayed in many different YHA hostels & affiliated hostels. Not the standard of YHA.
55%
Lynne M 17/09/2018
Coolangatta is a good hostel with friendly staff, a good atmosphere and nicely positioned for the airport. We have stayed there many times and always enjoyed it. I was surprised to see that the standard of cleanliness is being neglected both in the kitchen and especially in the men's toilet cubicles.
75%
Jim M 13/09/2018
Close to the airport but not really pedestrian friendly to go to the airport from the hostel. A bit noisy in the evening. But still good for the price.
78%
Lea G 04/09/2018
I really enjoyed my two days there. Love the atmosphere there, very clean and easy to excess around the town. I have to say they have the best staff especially the manager who was working at that time, she's a great value to the place.
95%
Lynneth M 03/09/2018
Best hostel ever a great home away from home. Staff are amazing and very helpful.
92%
Jane C 03/09/2018
Friendly and helpful staff. 8 minutes walk to airport and save the transpotation cost. Free shuttle service to Coolangatta town and going to Surfers Paradise is a breeze. Cheap shushi restaurant is only 5 minutes walk. The importat thing is you do not need to spend too much on accommodation, and you do not need big budget to stay there. $5 pizza and $7 tacos on certain nights are hard to find else where.
98%
Sin Huat T 02/09/2018
I was supposed to stay only for a night in the hostel, but because my flight was changed of date I ended staying 3 nights, very improvised my stay but I had a great time in the beach, it was very easy to get walking in 10 minutes to the airport when I had to catch my flight, the people who work in the hostal are young, mainly travellers but keep a nice atmosphere, I though it was lovely kept, clean and respectful with sleeping times, i stayed in the 8 girls dormitory.
98%
Maria N 02/09/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

85%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
81%
Condition of facilities
73%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
90%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
86%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL