Search YHA

Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1791 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Room stayed very bright during the night due to curtains not covering the windows. My sheets had a stain on them. many of the taps were leaking wasting buckets of water. Mattress was unreasonably thin. But the service was great, people were friendly and the community areas were nice. Can't help the planes over head but worth noting.
    75%
    Katalina m February 2017
    Friendly staff, good common rooms, decent but not great wifi (although my limited experience with hostels is usually even worse wifi, so maybe its better than average)
    75%
    Hayden M February 2017
    I enjoyed my stay but I do with that the showers and sinks didn't leak/weren't so hard to turn off so they don't leak. That being said if stopping water in the bathrooms is the biggest problem than clearly it was a wonderful place to stay.
    98%
    Stephanie C February 2017
    a little expensive, 8-person Shared room after yha member card is 30d
    78%
    Tang Y February 2017
    The many patios of the Hostel are really nice
    80%
    Mascha R February 2017
    The only drawback was the absence of ar conditioning in the rooms. It was impossible to sleep because of the heat.
    80%
    Rodrigo S February 2017
    Sometimes it is very difficult to manage a YHA as most of these places are only as good as their visitors. YHA Coolangatta is doing its utmost to stay on top of things. Lot's of cleaning being done and sadly enough after 2 hours people took up cooking, leaving the kitchen in a big mess. So if you are one of these people who is complaining about dirt have a good look at yourself. Are you one of the " blind " people who does not see the sign about washing and drying dishes. Really sad for all the people working in and around the hostel. If anybody wants full service: GO TO A HOTEL AND PAY FOR IT ! So I suggest that nobody should make any complaints about this hostel. It is one of the cleanest YHA I've stayed. Of course there are little spots who would need some TLC as any other building of this age, but I am sure the management will get there in the end. And if you have any complaints about the lack of airco: Get over it! Australia is hot and if you like it cool: stay at home and enjoy your airco. I felt well looked after and the activities in the hostel ( pizza and BBQ nights ) and the bus service are great.
    82%
    Andi S February 2017
    Good for airport access. Needs some maintenance e.g. Some broken taps, feels worn in places. Friendly staff. Clean common areas and rooms. Wifi is not very good.
    88%
    Stephanie M February 2017
    It's a shame that I can only give the hostel three stars, the staff were all lovely and really made me feel welcome, they are very friendly and always helpful. the good things were - lounge room area with a big tv with lots of channels and movies, couches to chill on and socialise - dining area and big kitchen and cubbies/fridge to store your groceries (but don't count on your food to still be in the fridge when you come back!) - rec room with a pool table and ping pong table - bicycle hire - swimming pool - free shuttle bus to 4 different spots - $5 pizza night and bbq nights the not so great... - the dorm was really basic, but was fairly clean - in the 11 bed dorm there were only 3 fans on the wall, being on the top bunk the fan barely touched me so I was super hot every night - there is only one communal girls bathroom for the whole hostel so it gets a little dirty - the shower head is only at shoulder level which was a little weird - the free wifi only worked in the lounge and dining room - to upgrade to the premium wifi that works all over the hostel you have to pay, which I thought was a little cheeky considering it was already the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed at!
    60%
    Jasmin C February 2017
    Wanted to short term change booking. Staff was very friendly and helpful. No troubles at all.
    85%
    Gunther January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    1791 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    74%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    91%
    Location
    83%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    79%