Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1984 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great location for an early morning flight! Everyone was really social, and chilling/partying by the pool. My only issue was the thickness of the walls/doors. Even someone speaking in a normal talking voice in the hallway or even downstairs, could clearly be heard from my room (which was located on the side of the building away from the pool).
72%
Katelyn B 11/12/2017
Great location, right next to Coolangatta airport and few minutes walk to the beach. Nice and easy going staff, only thing is the noise in the night from the road is a killer. I basically didn't sleep because of the noise, otherwise, great.
88%
Miss L 11/12/2017
One of the nicer YHAs I've been in. Clean, quiet, and great location between the airport and the beach. You do get loud plane noise, but not during the night, and it's manageable with earplugs. No outlets in the rooms, but charging ports in the lockers more than make up for it. Would stay here again!
92%
Tessa S 09/12/2017
Loved the hostel! Staff were super nice! Everything was nice and clean! Fans in the room! Can hear a little bit of noise from the traffic in the morning but to be expected :)
98%
Laressa H 26/11/2017
Not as nice as Adelaide Central YHA. Staff not as friendly, very noisy close to highway
62%
Timothy O 23/11/2017
I've stayed with YHA in the past yet had not been aware of this hostel in Coolangatta until I looked on Hostel world. The location (walking distance from the airport) and team made my stay enjoyable. Offering a regular shuttle service in and out of the main town centre was brilliant and enables you to explore the area! I would certainly stay again 😊👌🏾
100%
Katrina M 20/11/2017
The staff was friendly and the location is great if you need to catch a flight early in the morning. We hardly slept all night though as there were people from the streets walking in and out during the night, shouting at each other and using the shower / bathroom facilities. It didn't make us feel very safe and we would rather stay somewhere else next time.
65%
Theresia S 19/11/2017
Friendly n helpful staff went out of their way to help when I twisted my knee just before the airport and gave me a ride there. Clean and lovely mattress that I blissed out on.
90%
Lan N 18/11/2017
This hostel is great as its right next to the coollangatta Airport the gateway for the Gold Coast. It has a friendly & relaxed vibe. It has always being great to go to Bilinga as its only a block over the highway. It always has friendly backbacker staff & is well run. Close to cooly shops & tweed heads if you want local events at certain times of the year i would say the Rock & Roll festival is a must see for all the old cars & music with alot of young & oldies dressing up & enjoying the festival.
100%
Trevere H 18/11/2017
Disliked it and will not stay again; may not even consider staying in any other Australian YHA.
58%
Michael W 12/11/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

80%
customer rating, based on 1984 reviews
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
75%
Efficiency of service
82%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
80%
Overall atmosphere
75%
Safety & Security
79%
Value for Money
80%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL