Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2440 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Noisy at night due to proximity of airport
32%
Narelle M 16/08/2019
I was recommended this hostel by a friend, and I’m so glad I went. The people were so friendly and welcoming, and the location is excellent. I only stayed for a couple days but I loved it — thanks for having me!
100%
Yasmin T 14/08/2019
Really cheap and easy to Uber to the pubs and clubs. Great beds. Great facilities.
98%
Dylan S 13/08/2019
I enjoyed my stay at Coolangatta YHA. The hostel was a fair way from town but the complimentary shuttle bus was great. The lower bunks in my dorm were all taken by the long term stayers which was a bit annoying but the people were all very friendly.
78%
Barbaraa C 11/08/2019
Everything here is very nice....the only problem is that it is difficult to find especially at night...many trees grow along the motorway and service road preventing guests and bus drivers to see the place...not the fault of YHA...perhaps YHA could erect a huge reflective flag that could be seen night and day......however, this place is so convenient next to the airport...apart from a few plane noises......
80%
Lorraine S 09/08/2019
Loved my room no.52....its fab little room...tks for booking me in...i'll be back up for more work later in the year.... Cheers. 😀
82%
Lori E 01/08/2019
Friendly and easy going staff and atmosphere. Clean and simple but with all the amenities you need. Games room and pool. Good location not too far from the beach the town and near the airport. Good value for money.
85%
Christopher S 30/07/2019
I had an early start was in a family room that felt like it was on the runway of the airport next door zero sleep ok if you want to be close to the airport, my son wet a bed in the family that had a safety cover and they charged me an extra $50 so to stay there one night ended up costing about $200 for 2 people. Not very budget friendly the young lady was friendly the place is clean but not for me
58%
Patrick H 28/07/2019
Loved the outside facing room - 52.
92%
Ralph W 28/07/2019
I have stayed in many yha's and this is one of the best - value for money. Close to airport - earplugs block any noise.
80%
Mary Y 25/07/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
83%
Condition of facilities
80%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
88%
Overall atmosphere
83%
Safety & Security
87%
Value for Money
85%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

Start Now