Search YHA

Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1681 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Clean, conveniently close to airport and beach. Quiet location (some traffic noise).
    Matthew T M October 2016
    A good little hostel conveniently located near the airport, on the main bus route from Broadbeach to Coolangatta, and with a courtesy bus doing pick-ups and drop-offs multiple times a day. Good facilities, a range of communal areas, and a small pool.
    Bill Q October 2016
    I was using the YHA for a nap before my early morning flight from Coolangatta and for this it was ideal. I had the 2 person room, no frills but very clean and tidy. Because I was wanting to sleep I probably noticed the noise level more than normal. It is a place for young backpackers so they talk loudly and laugh a lot which is as it should be, good on them. However one really distracting noise was the banging doors. I had an 11 person room opposite me and I think the door might have had an over powerful closing spring? It really banged shut when used. I think the 11 people in the room all decided to go in and and of the room multi times and four about an hour there was a succession of loud bangs. Noise will always be a factor, it is the nature of the YHA and it's guests, but if those doors could be hushed that would be neat. For all my old man grumbles the YHA delivered all that I asked of it and was clearly being enjoyed by one and all who were staying there. Thank you
    Darrell P October 2016
    Convenient stay
    Jacky N October 2016
    Friendly and helpful staff, best location (for my purpose) and I love the big kitchen.
    Gunther S October 2016
    First I would like to say many thanks to friendly receptionist who guide and give me advise for food and the good place around. And yaaaaa they provide a free transportation for bring backpackers around Coolanggata beach n town.that is a good facilities for us. breakfast are really cheap. I love it and I just recommend this accommodation to my friends for further visit/holiday in gold coast.
    SURIYANI E October 2016
    Well run facility
    Andrew D October 2016
    You need the bus to go to the city Coolangatta (or a 30 min - maybe - walk). They have the bus to take you there sometimes a day, but the hours they'd travel didn't help me much. I still think it's good to stay 10min walk away from the airport though, and taking the bus didn't bother me much (almost in front of the hostel). It was a bit annoying that people in my bedroom "live" there and were not friendly at all. They could maybe have different rooms for those who live there... Kitchen and bathrooms were really good (and also the bedroom itself).
    Debora S October 2016
    I booked a double room for myself & a friend. The ad is misleading. This is the worst experience at a hostel that I have ever had. - Location is so close to the airport tarmac. Walls shake every time a plane flies over. Constant noise from the planes. - Facilities aren't well maintained. Blood stained bedding, dead bugs on the bathroom basins, dusty floors in the bedrooms, bad odours in the room - Rooms are freezing. Paper thin walls ensure you hear everything. A certain amount of noise is expected at Hostels however staff did nothing to prevent people from roaming the hallways at all hours screaming & slamming doors. - Had a STAFF member screaming & abusing guests at the hostel all hours of the night/early morning. Abusing elderly, harassing women etc. Was too scared to get up and go to the bathroom. Would never stay here again & will tell everyone I know to avoid this hostel.
    Alice October 2016
    I stayed in a "double" room that was 8' x 10' with a double bed pushed against one wall. It cost AUD78/night. The curatins did not meet and let in light from the outside lights which were kept on all night. The shared bathrooms were upstairs, I now know what it feels like to stay in an institution. The white fluorescent lights, almost bare walls and echoing halls, complete with noise from the kitchen(?) in the middle of the night were utterly charmless. The place was clean, had comfortable bed and good pillows.
    Sue G October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1681 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money