Search YHA

Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

  • Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1444 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I liked having the swimming pool, table tennis table and pool table; and especially being able to book a room for one. Sometimes those of us who travel on our own have to rent a room made for two, not for one. This was an exception.
    Gareth J October 2015
    Cold in the male bathroom and the commun room (doorq always open and so windy)
    Sylvain R September 2015
    Sleep 5 hours because room is front for the parking and the highway. Even earplugs aren't completely efficient. Otherwise, good hostel.
    Theo L September 2015
    Great staff, great hostel. Had some drainage issues with showers when I first arrived but was resolved when I came back the second time. Really helpful staff and great service. Thanks guys! :)
    Helen B September 2015
    I thought the airport would be the noise I would have to deal with. But the washing and cleaning by staff kept me awake as they dropped baskets of washing, dragged buckets down the stairs and chatted loudly after 10:30pm and early each morning. The hallway serves as an amplifier for any noise made by guests or staff. But it was clean and cheap so for a one or two night stay it's fine.
    Bronwyn T September 2015
    Cooly YHA is the best place to stay - the friendly staff of Woza (manager/owner) Ebonie Joelene Pip & Keith are SO helpful & they make your stay there feel like home. You can walk to the YHA from the airport & they have a free courtesy bus that drops you off & picks you up 4 times a day. The beaches are sensational & great for surfing.There's heaps to see & do! I loved my visit there & I'll be back!
    Chris D September 2015
    Really close to the airport, but not to anything else. This is a good hostel if you have an overnight layover at the Gold Coast OOL airport, but I would not recommend it for an extended stay.
    Graham R September 2015
    The Coolangatta YHA was such a great hostel to stay in. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and will give you great advice. I met lovely people while I was staying in the hostel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The walk along the beach into Coolangatta from the hostel is so so beautiful. A big thank you to the staff for being so nice to me.
    Paul P September 2015
    The staffs there are very friendly with everything I need. The building itself looks nice n cozy. But cuz it's near the airport, it may be a bit noisy from the airplane if u r a person who sleep light.
    Chia-Hui S September 2015
    I stayed for two nights and had a very uncomfortable mattress (sunken mattress at the hip level) to sleep on. They changed it for my second night but there was dirt on the internal room floors underfoot and the sophas in the loungeroon were very uncomfortable. The staff were really friendly and took an interest in every person. There was not tea and coffee facilities available at night. It was a very average backpackers, not at all what I expected from YHA.
    Julie B August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1444 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money