Search YHA

Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

  • Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1423 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very convenient beach location where there are nice walking path and convenient public transport access. Only 500m from the airport so very convenient for very early morning flights. Day staff are very friendly.
    95%
    David L August 2015
    Ideal for late evening arrival at airport.Hostel was relaxed and not crowded.
    100%
    kevin w August 2015
    Nothing beats an extremely friendly staff! Excellent service! Thank you so much! YHA never fails me in any way!
    100%
    Keye L August 2015
    The atmosphere is friendly & happy.Great position with a courtesy bus 4 times a day to drop you off & pick you up from the best beaches & shops. You can walk from the airport. The staff are the best! Ebonie Joelene & Pip are SO helpful with tours & travel. Woza the owner/manager is the perfect host! You are sure to have a great stay at the Cooly YHA! Big thank you to all the staff! I will be back for sure!
    100%
    Chris D August 2015
    Despite assurances, reception staff failed to note my name, venue and timing for the last pick-up of the day so I was left waiting in the freezing cold at the pick-up point until I rang YHA and learned that I had been forgotten. No pick-up options were offered so I had to make the 40 minutes walk back in the cold night. Dorm room was messy and a locker door was missing.
    58%
    Andre L August 2015
    One of the, if not the, best hostel/s I've stayed in. Great staff, great location (lack of proximity to grocery stores aside, but the beach just across the road more than makes up for that), great facilities (including table tennis and a pool), great rooms (not one but three paintings hanging in my single-bed room, plus a chest of drawers and a desk and chair; I'm telling you, you get more than you pay for), and an overall "harmony" to the place, it really feels like it was designed from the ground up as a welcoming beach backpackers, rather than, as so many hostels feel, repurposed and retrofitted into one.
    98%
    Laird S August 2015
    It is close to the airport, which saves money and time for transport; but if you are coming or going to Brisbane, it may be a little difficult as there is no direct train service; the best option is taking the shuttle bus from the airport ( e.g. linktransfer for one)
    85%
    Bit Mo H August 2015
    Great location and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Regular free transport into town and back. A couple of minutes walk from gold coast airport!!
    92%
    Trevor I August 2015
    Good place right across from the airport
    80%
    Max K July 2015
    This hostel is super handy if you have an early flight. It is an old building but it is well maintained. The staff was friendly and kind all the times. We stayed during the winter and the night was extremely cold, the room felt as cold as sleeping outside, so be aware of that!
    80%
    Hugo P July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    1423 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & security
    82%
    Value for money
    81%