COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2668 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Apparently late April ~ early May is part of the slow season, so long-term people, not backpackers, can stay ad infinitum. Some of the men were actually rude to others (including me). Probably they meant no harm, but had never learnt social skills. Most of the 'guests' had no interest in travel or visiting places in the GC area. The tables in the dining area were sticky with some sort of residue; food or spilt drinks or something. The sofas in the TV area were filthy. I took a plastic chair
48%
Jeanette M 05/05/2021
Fine, user friendly, well organised and great facilities, which I did not use much.
82%
Simon M 03/05/2021
Adryan was absolutely wonderful. He was so helpful when I needed help finding my phone. Thanks a million!!!!
100%
Kathryn G 02/05/2021
Your hostel is one of my favorites because I love the surf atmosphere and the staff are super friendly and helpful. However our room was too noisy for sleeping well during this stay. You should complain to the airport as those night time noise levels are surely not legal.
92%
Kristy H 01/05/2021
people are really friendly.
88%
Song L 29/04/2021
Fantastic place to stay to chill out at the YHA or on the beach just across the road, most guests are very friendly so be prepared to engage in conversation with spontaneous fellow guests John 28/04/21
85%
John K 28/04/2021
The staff are warm,welcoming with a friendly smile. They are very helpful,efficient with superb customer service. Spacious dorm room,fans with lockers that have charger access built in for security. The rooms are cleaned daily. A lovely clean pool Togo for a dip, pool table, table tennis & arcade games for free. Many comfortable common areas to enjoy & relax. The kitchen is very clean with all the appliances you will need. The chef serves up some wonderful family meals. Close to airport & beach
95%
Suzi M 28/04/2021
Very nice! Quiet. Got a good sleep.
100%
Kathryn G 26/04/2021
It was handy to be there. I just spend one night, literally.
95%
Jullian U 25/04/2021
A great hostel if you need to catch a plane at the local airport which was my situation, but a little far from the township so using the local bus is the only way to the supermarket and the main shopping centre. Beware the buses do not accept cash or credit cards for fare payment , you need a local " Go Card " to pay. Th hostel used to run a mini bus to the shops and interstate bus depots but I suppose with lack of Otherwise great hostel with friendly staff and guests enjoying a chill out time.
85%
John K 24/04/2021

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
91%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
86%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
95%
Value for Money
92%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

YHA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia. We acknowledge and pay our respects to Elders past, present, emerging and the extended Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island community.