Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Coolangatta YHA - Kirra Beach, Gold Coast

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1882 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The location is near the airport only 400 mts from it. The city and shops are little far but are very well connected through buses which run through the day with high frequency. The staff was average and the kitchen facility was not up to the mark.
    69%
    Ankit K June 2017
    Honestly I found this to be a super depressing and dirty hostel. Not what I expected from a YHA. Rundown facilities, dirty common area, and just general bizarre vibe.
    38%
    Nina H June 2017
    Dated but fairly clean and tidy. Great location for airport and beaches
    82%
    C M June 2017
    As google map not plotting the easiest walkable route to the hostel, I suggest the hostel can give a better direction and map on the website or hostel agency's listing, Make it much easier for backpackers
    84%
    yim ting h June 2017
    Room was very cold as window shutters didn't shut fully. Hostel outdated compared to sydney and brisbane yha
    80%
    Leah M June 2017
    like it because walking distance to airport @ buses.
    84%
    murray s June 2017
    Was horrible
    38%
    Tammy S June 2017
    This is the second time I have stayed at this hostel. I enjoyed its proximity to public transport and the shuttle bus was great too. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and I will stay here again.
    89%
    Kelly C June 2017
    I am not real a backpacker. I didn't like it at all, very noisy traffic wise, located between airport and highway, and doors slaming late at night. Not my thing.
    64%
    Helen M June 2017
    If you need to catch an early morning or late night flight, it is a great location. Just 10-15 minutes walk to the Gold Coast Airport. Rooms has got lookers, enough place for your baggage and you can hear the airplanes and smell the Kerosene, I liked it :-). It was quite cold after Sunset and you couldn't close the Windows properly and in the lobby it was freezing because they didn't close the doors or they reopened them again, not really comfy... No free breakfast, so you need to have Food with you (!), no free Wifi in the rooms, but a nice lobby to sit and relax (ecxept it is to cold!) ;)
    87%
    Laura E June 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    77%
    77%
    customer rating, based on 1882 reviews
    Cleanliness
    76%
    Condition of facilities
    70%
    Efficiency of service
    77%
    Friendliness of staff
    82%
    Location
    77%
    Overall atmosphere
    70%
    Safety & Security
    77%
    Value for Money
    72%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!