Search YHA

Adelaide Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Adelaide Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4470 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This has to be one of the best hostels I've stayed in, hands down. That's coming from an experienced traveller. Outside of the great time I had, I also had some stressful things to deal with while I was in Adelaide and found it I was very much at ease even when I was staying in a dorm room. I felt comfortable, safe and found it a pleasure to stay there. The staff are very friendly and understanding! Thank you Adelaide YHA, George and the gang :)
    100%
    Lee S April 2016
    Excellent location. Rooms with a balcony an added bonus. Nice to have a TV in rooms now.
    100%
    Raymond M April 2016
    Affordable & Clean Accommodation within the CBD. Easy walk to the Free Tram Stop, Casino & Shops. Staff were friendly. Received a towel each & 1 soap bar (would have preferred 2 - 1 for the shower & the other for the hand wash basin). My main criticism was the bed mattress, as it wasn't firm & the room had sufficient space for a KS.
    92%
    Elieen A April 2016
    The Service of Staff ist excellent!!!! Very helpfull and friendly. Equipment of the Hostel, get together places and espessially of the kitchen is good! Good place to stay!!!
    95%
    Olga N April 2016
    Good Clean and very close to shop and restaurant
    95%
    ANNE V April 2016
    I often stay here (in a private room with en-suite) when coming to stay in the city from my home in the country, when I want to see a band or a movie in Adelaide. I've stayed in 4 different rooms so far, all with their pros and cons relating to location. With the rooms with windows opening onto the side street, very early-morning rubbish collection can be noisy (but apr for the course in the city), and this time for my room facing the rear lane, I was close to the shared bathrooms, so was kept awake with the sound of doors opening and closing for people using the loo (and forgetting their swipe cards, so having to knock and wake friends up to let them back in!). That said, I'm a pretty light sleeper, and it was a Saturday night, but generally this YHA is very clean, has comfortable beds, well placed TV, and clean bathrooms. There is also a HUGE kitchen, with plenty of fridge space, free wifi, ping pong table and a small separate reading room with books. For the smokers amongst us, the front balcony with tables and stools is very handy - just make sure nobody locks you out because they don't know you're there in the early morning, as happened to me! ( good thing there are multiple sliding doors, so I found another exit). Overall, this is the best hostel accommodation in the Adelaide CBD, very affordable, and deserves the awards it has won. I'd highly recommend staying here.
    92%
    Megan L April 2016
    Stayed at this hostel for 20 days, and absolutely enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly and helps you with everything. It's very easy to meet new people in the spacious common area. Rooms downstairs are a bit noisy as they are directly next to a road, but other than that, great place to stay!
    100%
    Lisanne April 2016
    A great place to stay, spacious, and clean.
    85%
    John G April 2016
    Everything is very good except the room is a bit noisy outside
    95%
    Pei W April 2016
    I stayed here last November and thought why not and come back. This time I was in a different room face the street. The Saturday night / Sunday morning Adelaide crowd along the street keeps you awake all night.
    62%
    Darren K April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    4470 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    93%
    Condition of facilities
    92%
    Efficiency of service
    95%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    92%