Search YHA

Adelaide Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Adelaide Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4116 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I stayed there 2 separate days, the first day was fabulous. However, the next day I stayed which was 6 days later, was aweful. It was a six room with a very sick woman, she had the flue constantly coughing and sneezing all night, and with a heavy smell of Vicks, and I had to leave the room with nowhere to go, and sleep in the kitchen area, that was not fair, she should have been forced to move not me. The next day i got very ill in the bus home, and threw up a few times, which I usually dont do. The guy at the counter said there is nothing he can do about it, tehre is no room available.
    Sarah S November 2015
    The place was great but the only issue we had was the cleanliness of the bathrooms. That's the biggest area for improvement. Otherwise the kitchen was clean, the rooms were in great shape and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.
    Michael D November 2015
    Great hostel to stay in and would happily recommend it to anyone. Especially loved your cooked breakfast pack which could be purchased from the office. Good facilities.
    Margaret W November 2015
    The YHA in Adelaide is very well situated as far as the airport or the city centre are concerned. It is extremely clean and our room was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly, they tried to cheer everyone up and tried to make people join in the different activities they offered.
    Annie T November 2015
    Good place to stay - close to everything and very friendly staff.
    Angelika K November 2015
    Great hostel with nice kitchen and TV room! Cozy! Good location.
    Marie-Josee G November 2015
    I had my own room. It was all I wanted as I like my bit of privacy and security. The facilities seem better than the pictures on the website. I was really impressed by that. The two free pancake breakfasts very much appreciated. Only bummer was it was near some place that had a band playing loud and awful day and night at times. Short walk to transport and places to see and do. Its J1 bus to and from airport.
    Darren K November 2015
    Great stay best around at a good price too
    Charmaine F November 2015
    also very obligingly organised lower bunks for me
    Catherine E November 2015
    I enjoyed my stay. The location is so convenient, and the staff really helpful.
    Patricia C November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4116 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money