Search YHA

Adelaide Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Adelaide Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4035 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    At the start of our trip across the Nullabor, I had fallen in Adelaide and injured my back which made it hard to continue beyond day 3 as we were sleeping in swags and in a bumpy bus. My friend and I returned to the yha in Adelaide and were looked after so well and pleasantly in every way. we thank you so much for your hospitality which lessoned the pain I'm sure. best wishes Lindley
    Lindley B October 2015
    Simply the best Backpacker hostel I've been in so far in Australia! Very friendly and available staff, spotless hygiene, excellent infrastructures. Not the cheapest I could find, but totally worth the price! From now on I shall stay in YHAs!
    Martin R October 2015
    Great facilities. Had a tv in the room but there were also 2 tv rooms. Big kitchen and common room. The kitchen wasn't as clean as I'd like but a lot of people were using it so it's hard to keep clean all the time.
    Rachel L October 2015
    Great location as well as always being super clean.
    Jessica W October 2015
    Nice and clean hostel with friendly staff. Best thing was the free pancakes in the morning! It doesn't have the backpackers atmosphere but it was alright.
    Sebastian Q October 2015
    I really like how this hostel had people from all ages. This was my first experience seeing kids at a hostel.
    Amie U October 2015
    Absolutely satisfied with my stay at this hostel! Aspects that personally loved (beyond the standard very clean, safe and comfortable): 1. Possibility to buy (cheap) food at the hostel, including eggs - which is good if you are travelling on your own like me and can't eat four eggs at a time. 2. Individual lights in the beds - THANK SO MUCH FOR THAT as I'm always the first person to wake up. 3. Very friend and knowledgeable staff - when I asked the front desk guy how to get to Henley beach, I swear that I felt like a was in a hotel with a concierge :) Awesome hostel!
    Maria Carolina B October 2015
    Nice comfy bed
    Margaret and Ala n F October 2015
    A great place to stay and experience Adelaide, very well organised, friendly, with clean and spacious bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen and dining. It was nice to see environmentally friendly practices in place (for example the various recycling containers).
    Erika B October 2015
    I was impressed by the cleanliness, helpfullness and friendliness of the staff of the YHA. Also enjoyed my large private room with an ensuite and balcony.
    Marion S October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4035 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money