Search YHA

Port Elliot YHA

  • Customer reviews of Port Elliot YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (631 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Amazing location and very nice communal areas. While the dorm rooms might be a little bit small if full, I had a 4-bed room to myself, so can't complain. Very clean bathroom and kitchen facilities, too, and super friendly staff! I'd definitely stay here again!
    98%
    Christina M August 2015
    Fantastic
    100%
    Josep T August 2015
    Very nice staff and a clean house.
    80%
    Christina v August 2015
    I had a really nice stay at the Port Elliot Beach House. I only stayed for one night to see the Southern Right Whales and I was lucky only two hours after my arrival. I hired a bike (for free 👍🏽), went all the way to Victor Harbour and saw a whale with its calf on the way there. As it was winter the time I was there, it was really quiet in the hostel. I had a 6 bed dorm all to myself. But the staff was really friendly and the facilities were unobjectionable. All in all it was probably the nicest hostel I stayed at in Australia. Highly recommended
    95%
    Marlene R August 2015
    Such a beautiful hostel. Upon walking through the door we were greeted with "welcome to paradise" and that couldn't be more true. Clean rooms, cosy living areas, great outdoor space, and of course wonderful friendly staff. Can't wait to come back. Thanks for a great stay!
    100%
    Kyla E August 2015
    We were made to feel very welcome right from when we arrived. The room was good with clean sheets supplied. The communal kitchen had excellent facilities and everyone cleaned up after themselves. This is our second stay and won't be our last. Thank you
    100%
    Lisa S August 2015
    great location, very good value for money, love the ambiance and location, easy for groups, range of sleeping options - share or sole use, kitchen facilities maintained and organised, clean, lovely dining room with fire, warm, cosy, friendly.
    100%
    Jane T August 2015
    Everything was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs. The other guests were friendly and the house is beautiful and well-kept.
    100%
    Carolyn V July 2015
    Steven was very helpfull. Beautiful place to stay in.
    98%
    anne m July 2015
    This is a fantastic hostel. Steve and Brigit are great hosts, and create a lovely atmosphere. Highly recommended.
    100%
    John C July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    98%
    631 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    98%
    Condition of facilities
    99%
    Efficiency of service
    98%
    Friendliness of staff
    99%
    Location
    99%
    Overall atmosphere
    98%
    Safety & security
    98%
    Value for money
    95%