Search YHA

Port Elliot YHA

  • Customer reviews of Port Elliot YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (671 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Prices for the hostel were way to inflated just for the weekend, we weren't allowed to return and leave again after a certain time and it was really strict on noise aswell. A few major problems which affected the overall stay but it was alright
    Jacob C November 2015
    Amazing staff, location and hotel. Would highly recommend to anyone in the area.
    Stratton G November 2015
    A great place to stay for families, couples or groups of friends, the location is brilliant and the facilities excellent! Can't wait to go back :)
    Amber H November 2015
    Out standing a must
    Ian g November 2015
    A lovely 100 yr old building which is close to the ocean!! Saw the sunset from our double room & kept our window open to heard the waves all night! Lovely area & hope to return for more than 1 evening! Thanks Richard & partner!!
    Henry/MJ Z November 2015
    An unexpected delight - South Australia needs more hostels of this calibre (five is not enough!).
    Malcolm W November 2015
    The best YHA I ever stayed, highly recommended!
    Sabrina Shu-chen L November 2015
    Gorgeous location, amazing building with character Great facilities and cleanliness I was very impressed .
    Simone B October 2015
    From the moment you walk in front of this YHA you realise it's different from the others. It's a beautiful house with thoughtful renovations to bring modern conveniences to an otherwise stylish colonial living space. When you enter the YHA you will likely be greeted by Steve the resident house manager. He has always treated me with a smile and offered me good advice on the local must do's and also offered help outside of his designated desk hours. He's certainly upholding YHA's friendly reputation. Port Elliot is an amazing place. I only stayed for a weekend but I certainly wish I stayed a lot longer. It's a beach paradise and the local people are really friendly. If you want amazing surf beaches, the best fish & chips, and a truly amazing YHA beach house; come to YHA Port Elliot. I recommend it :)
    Christopher G October 2015
    Beautiful place and a lovely atmosphere!!! I would recommend it anytime.
    Natalia A October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    671 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money