Search YHA

Port Elliot YHA

  • Customer reviews of Port Elliot YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (653 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This is probably the nicest yha I've stayed in. Will definitely come back and have already recommended it to a few people
    Selina P October 2015
    We have had the best weekend and didn't want it to end! Great location and perfect to relax either on the beach or in and around the hostel. Very welcoming staff, clean rooms and a super equipped kitchen. They even have a veggie garden in the back where you can harvest some free greens for your dinner! Amazing! We will be back!
    Mirka E October 2015
    We had a most wonderful stay at the Port Elliot YHA. Steve was really terrific and looked after us so well. The family suite was totally amazing and the location of the YHA was so great. We wish we had stayed there longer!!
    Kim W October 2015
    Lovely hostel, great location, great staff who were welcoming, friendly, helpful. Our family's brief stay here was a highlight of our SA tour, we would like to come back. Recommended.
    Scott M October 2015
    Well priced accomodation, friendly atmosphere, plenty of onsite activity/games if needed. Not far to local beach and pub. Highlights are balcony and decked area out the back. Definitely will return.
    MATTHEW F October 2015
    This is the place to stay, very friendly staff who make you feel welcome as soon as you step through the door, the BEST Yha has to offer ! The house is beautiful, inside and out even with a decking to enjoy the sunshine and the location is superb.
    Birgit R October 2015
    Clean, friendly and comfortable hostel in a fantastic location. Little touches , such as clothes airers and cling wrap and foil in the kitchen, were appreciated. Lots of comfortable places to sit and enjoy the scenery.
    Dale M October 2015
    Stunning views, breath-taking walks. This YHA is a gem. Port Elliott is a beautiful village with a choice fresh produce and cosy cafes, a bookshop and lots of places to potter about. The hostel itself is in a beautiful old building. The staff are welcoming, the kitchen and lounge areas are well appointed, it is immaculately clean and tidy and the ambience is very condusive to relaxing. Five stars
    Fran R September 2015
    We stayed in the family suite, with a balcony with sea view. The situation of the hostel is superb, a short walk to everything - town, beach, great walking tracks. The only downside is the bathroom has not been fully refurbished, but it's passable. Also the beds are quite firm. Other than that, it's perfect and perhaps the best hostel we've ever stayed in.
    Fiona H September 2015
    Easy and comfortable. An excellent location. Welcoming and very good facilities.
    Jill C September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    653 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money