Fremantle Prison YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Fremantle Prison YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1599 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I liked staying here a lot, mainly for the fact that it is is a unique place to sleep and the people I met there were really fun. But that depends on who's staying of course. What I didn't understand was why they need to close off most of the bathrooms between 8-9am for cleaning. I mean, that's the busiest time of day! The kitchen is big and clean, the common areas and laundry are good. They organise a lot, from movie nights to social-nights with free cheese and wine!
85%
Janneke L 24/03/2019
Definitely not what I expected, I was set up in a room with an older lady who was obviously a long term guest, whilst I was on holiday and was up very early to go for excursions and back very late, and it definitely did not suit either of us. The place was extremely run down, with paint coming off the walls and the doors barely functioning. Everything was really dirty, and I'm not a clean freak, there was dust everywhere like if it had not been clean in years, the whole place was very very dirty
38%
Kristine W 23/03/2019
Was looking for an unusual hostel and the yha fremantle prison has offered me a unique stsy in a real jail
82%
Fabio M 22/03/2019
We absolutely loved this hostel. Beautiful kitchen fully stocked and plenty of storage space, cleanliness was spot on, and most importantly recycling is encouraged. It is super cool being in a section of the prison (which offers several amazing tours!), and the staff are all great. Truly wished we had booked more than a few nights x
100%
Sara 22/03/2019
Awsome old house, very clean and in central spot.
95%
Caralyn P 22/03/2019
I had a brilliant experience the whole 10 days! It's been enlightening to step outside of my comfort zone and I felt completely safe. The location is perfect for walking to all of what historical Fremantle holds dearly. The cafe strip.! Every member of staff were helpful, charming and always willing to go the extra mile. Location, staff and safety all first class! I highly recommend this wonderful delight. Thank you kindly
100%
Kerry C 20/03/2019
Amazing unique building. Staff fantastic, friendly and helpful. Clean, tidy, chilled out hostel.
100%
Arlene G 20/03/2019
You guys are doing a great job!
95%
Franziska W 19/03/2019
I've been travelling for 2 years & this is one of the best places I've been. The entire atmosphere is very unique, the kitchen is fully equipped & clean, there is good WIFI. I loved the incl. breakfast (toast & honey, marmalade & 3 different kinds of cereals with 3 different kinds of milk - one of them soy!). There was also a guy in the evening who gave me a delicious piece of pepperoni pizza, but I don't know, whether he was a guest or staff member. Highly recommended. Thank you so much!
100%
Lana M 18/03/2019
We are in our 60s and never stayed in. YHA. We were impressed and would happily do so again. Excellent and friendly service in reception showing understanding of our needs.
90%
Ian S 17/03/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL