Fremantle Prison YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Fremantle Prison YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1199 guests have reviewed this hostel)
A very friendly and inviting hostel for all ages. I stayed with a dear friend of mine who is 70 years young and the rooms were very accommodating for her age. We loved the continental breakfast in the mornings and the staff were very helpful. A+++++
100%
Ann D 23/05/2018
Incredible venue for a hostel, and a truly unique experience. Had a great stay!
95%
Brittany M 22/05/2018
Has a pretty good atmosphere from the events each day
82%
Ros S 21/05/2018
Try the Fremantle markets on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday for your fruit & veg. Delicious food available. Good souvenirs can be hard to find around Perth & Freo, but The Maritime Museum Shop has some great ones (even if you don't go into the Museum). For cheap eats nearby, try Holy Smokes Chicken & Waffles on Tuesday ($10) or YHA free dinner, Bar Orient Hotdogs & Chips $1 on Thursday. Great Blues & Folk music on Wednesdays at the Fly by Night club for $10. The noticeboard here is great too.
98%
Kim 18/05/2018
Great experience staying at the YHA-Prison Hostel in Freo.. staff are helpful, friendly and fun. The hostel has an inclusive, welcoming and social atmosphere, though I wouldn't consider it a party hostel. By far the cleanest hostel I've stayed at and has plenty of great places to relax/hang-out. Awesome activities almost every night to bring people together. Only complaint it the wi-fi isn't good.. there's the option to pay for better wi-fi, but as a backpacker it's not affordable.
92%
Laura A 17/05/2018
Generous discount, great facilities, great staff and community, very good location to beach, shops, etc. Great historical atmosphere, loved being in "prison". Will definitely recommend to other Melbournians or visitors.
100%
Alex D 17/05/2018
Great central location. Within walking distance of anywhere interesting in Fremantle. Amenities/facilities generally good and clean. A couple of toilets/ showers could probably do with an upgrade, but still clean. Kitchen well equipped for self-catering and kept clean. Fridges and freezers provided for guests plus storage areas and free hot water for tea etc.Couple of comfortable common areas with lounges, tables,chairs and TV’s and free Wifi. Games and books. Staff friendly and helpful😊. Come!
98%
David E 11/05/2018
I loved everything about this unique place. I stayed in the newer wing attached to the old womens prison. Walking through the prison wing with the stories on the walls was quite special. Wonderful to spend a night in someone else's shoes, although a bit luxy compared to the real thing. Thank you Freo!
100%
Stefica K 09/05/2018
Very helpful reception staff brilliant location and Fremantle is a really great area to stay.
95%
Michael H 07/05/2018
Great place, very cool to stay in a prison
95%
Caio N 07/05/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

93%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
93%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
95%
Friendliness of staff
97%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
92%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL