COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHA are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Fremantle Prison YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Fremantle Prison YHA

Voted the Best Large Hostel by YHA Guests in 2018

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2088 guests have reviewed this hostel)
A great place to stay, heavily underrated. Because of its location in the suburbs, not many travellers would want to lodge and board here. Hostel has a great atmosphere, very friendly and airy. A bit more information, through art or plaques about the history of the building could be useful. Peaceful and does carry the true aussie heritage.
90%
Shalom C 13/04/2020
fine
78%
Paul S 13/04/2020
With all of the stuff that is going on the staff are still able to here and the place is clean
100%
Cameron J 24/03/2020
Amazing staff ! Good experience to sleep in jail !!
98%
Victoria J 24/03/2020
Very cool setting, mix of people of all ages from all over the world blending together was awesome. Kitchen, common areas, bathrooms and showers all clean and secure premises which was comforting. Very historic property and we loved staying in actual prison cells! Do the nighttime Torchlight tour of the prison, it was amazing!!!
98%
Paul C 24/03/2020
I liked the hostel very much because of its location, friendly staff, cleanliness, overall atmosphere, good facilities, secure and safe. Fremantle Farmer's markets is very near to the hostel which was a good place to do grocery shopping.
100%
Delson D 24/03/2020
Fantastic friendly hostel, loads of space to relax and soak up the sun, chat, enjoy a social drink......and free breakfast every day! 😎😎😎👍
100%
Trevor W 23/03/2020
This place makes you feel upbeat and positive.
100%
Kelly M 20/03/2020
The bedroom was tiny, the bathroom as well. The WiFi still works in shared areas. I wouldn’t recommend this hostel to others. The worst hostel I have stayed since two month in Australia.
52%
Rebecca K 16/03/2020
Ambiance conviviale, j'apprécie beaucoup les thèmes ludique proposé chaque jour de la semaine, le staff est très sympathique, le cadre de la prison est très originale, pour ceux ou celles qui n'ont pas encore fait de labprison c'est une première expérience très instructive, par cfontre ce que je n'aime pas du tout c'est l'éloignement des douches et toilettes des chambres
82%
Pestel A 16/03/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
92%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL