Fremantle Prison YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Fremantle Prison YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (974 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Very interesting history to this hostel - lots of information to absorb as you soak in the atmosphere of the old prison. The bunks are comfy and the blankets warm. The amenities are extensive - laundry, full kitchen, tons of board games, hammocks to lay in, etc. The location is easily walkable to anywhere in central Fremantle. Two major areas for improvement: 1) number of toilets. 3 toilets for 30-40 people is insufficient. 2) Enforcement of quiet hours - every single night people stayed up to watch movies/football and shriek and holler at the screen until 1am despite clearly posted signs about quiet time after 10pm.
75%
Hannah E 19/11/2017
We loved this hostel.
90%
Micheal t 15/11/2017
A good place for budget travelers. For the private en-suite room we got, it is not really worth the price for only a toilet in the room and without a kitchenette. For a similar priced hotel in perth city centre, we got a room with a kitchenette. The YHA should have also provided free parking for families who book the more expensive en-suite rooms.
78%
Chi H 12/11/2017
Fabulous roomy hostel in a unique setting. Excellent facilities. Best hostel I have stayed in.
98%
Babs G 10/11/2017
Its good and cozy, a new experience stay in prison! only distance within bus stop and hostel quite distant, quite troublesome for those walking and brings numbers of bags. Overall i really like my stay and would like to come back.
78%
Nurul Akhmar 06/11/2017
One of the best YHAs we have stayed in.
100%
Errol M 06/11/2017
Great hostel! All staff really friendly and helpful, great facilities.
90%
Laura T 03/11/2017
Loved it...clean, great kitchen & laundry facilities...great location! Prison tours were very good! Would definitely stay again & recommend to friends.
95%
Frances C 03/11/2017
The hostel was excellent. You have something for all budgets. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I had a room with a en-suite, just what I like. Couldn't fault it.
100%
Anita O 01/11/2017
Clean, complete and comfortable. Great atmosphere.
98%
Lautaro G 31/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

96%
customer rating, based on 974 reviews
Cleanliness
96%
Condition of facilities
95%
Efficiency of service
98%
Friendliness of staff
98%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
94%
Safety & Security
95%
Value for Money
93%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL