Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1635 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Lovely place, nice staff, very clean, quiet at night. Definitively I loved my stay at Cape Byron HYA.
100%
Arianna L 17/02/2018
A great youth hostel, with super friendly and helpful staff. Only drawback was dripping taps. Every time I used water related facilities I turned off multiple taps which admittedly in some cases weren't that easy. An upgrade in taps would likely pay for itself pretty quickly. On my last day, I even offered to make some signs encouraging others to help reduce the massive waste of fresh water - a critically precious resource globally, especially here in the world's driest inhabited continent 💚
85%
Deborah H 17/02/2018
very nice place but a little bit pricey .
75%
Peter John Anderson J 06/02/2018
Loved it! Do the lighthouse walk and walk around the shops. Visit main beach
98%
Devon Jenny C 05/02/2018
It was marvellous
100%
Andrew Wayne L 04/02/2018
I really enjoy my stay good location really enjoy the lighthouse walk and nature
100%
Sarah 03/02/2018
Enjoyable stay with friendly staff and guests. Both the room and kitchen were clean and tidy. Great balcony area to socialise and pool. Very close to the beach and lighthouse walk as well as being centeral in Byron. Good vibes would stay again/recommend
100%
Joanne Elizabeth S 02/02/2018
Clean hostel with great facilities in the heart of Byron. Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling on a budget!
82%
Zoe W 31/01/2018
Friendly, welcoming staff who answered my every question and completed all my requests. Rooms can be very warm even with the fan on full. Excellent location for either the town or the beach and the buses are only a few minutes walk away. The 3.7Km circular walk to the lighthouse and back is well worth the effort. Some beautiful flora and fauna and some remote beaches. A bit expensive to eat out but there are at least two large supermarkets and plenty of convenience stores nearby. If you want to learn almost any water sport then this is the place for you or maybe you just want to chill on the beach or in a bar with a view.
85%
Graham H 31/01/2018
Surf lessons in this area are great!!
50%
Amy C 29/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
81%
Efficiency of service
85%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
83%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
79%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL