COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHA are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2390 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The lady at reception was very cool, friendly and nice to us. She helped us a lot. The hostel has a lot of charm and the automatic soap was very usefull in the coronavirus period.
100%
Alexandre R 29/03/2020
Everything was perfect. :)
100%
Anika W 25/03/2020
Super helpful and friendly staff. Special touches (wine and cheese, BBQs, popsicles). Management always trying to improve things (repainting walls, new pool chairs, new furniture on the balcony, new pots and pans in the kitchen). Great place. Feels like family.
88%
Christiane P 25/03/2020
I am very ancient and yet felt the hearts embrace of the lovely young people from different countries
100%
Barry P 20/03/2020
Amazing reception staff, everyone is very friendly and welcoming . All round nice atmosphere and good for socialising especially for solo travellers. Would highly recommend staying here!
100%
Emma W 19/03/2020
I got great service, when in need. I was allowed to borrow the phone to call the Danish embassy and got information on where I could find other danes to discuss the situation. I am very thankful of that.
82%
Louise B 16/03/2020
Very nice hostels. Rooms are spacious enough and clean. Best beds I have slept in so far. Showers and toilets are clean. Staff is very kind. Large kitchen, which is quite clean. Large terrace with many places to sit. Would recommend the free guided tour to the lighthouse, as well as the wine and cheese night!
88%
Esmee v 14/03/2020
Very clean! Has a big kitchen, swimming pool area and an overall great vibe. Had lots of fun playing cards and drinking beer with my danish buddies i met during the bbq!😄
85%
Jorn d 13/03/2020
Great hostel! Very friendly staff! I just found the female 5 bed dorms a bit too small compared to other hostels. If there were four beds would be much better. The fifth bed shouldn’t be there in my opinion. Still overall very good hostel.
98%
Ester B 10/03/2020
Really lovely chilled hostel with a great atmosphere. The staff were so friendly and helpful let me us use the facilities when I arrived before check in and then all day after check out. The pool and hammocks were great!
100%
Charlie S 10/03/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
98%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL