Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2072 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great staff and great location!
100%
Karla J 14/05/2019
Super clean hostel, big and fully furnished kitchen, very comfortable bed in the dorm. Staff super friendly and helpful (they saved me from spending the night on the street outside the Gold Coast airport because I planned to sleep there before my 6am flight but didn't know the airport would have close during the night. The angel at the reception informed me when I've checked out and booked straight away a room for me at YHA hostel next to the airport!). Deals and activities to do! Loved it!
95%
Mara F 14/05/2019
Really enjoyed my stay - friendly, professional staff and a great atmosphere around the hostel. The hostel is in walking distance to the beach, cafes and supermarkets. Amazing snorkeling and diving tours that can be organised with the dive shop next door - a must for ocean lovers! The hostel has a $5 BBQ which is really good value for money! Would love to have stayed longer if time allowed.
100%
Amy G 13/05/2019
Good location close to the beach and walking trail for the lighthouse. Clean enough kitchen/bathrooms and every room had lockers which was nice.
78%
Jessica G 13/05/2019
If you are looking for a chilled and clean place this is the one. There's a swimming pool, a living room, a deck and a big kitchen. Social events won't affect your sleep. Close to greyhound bus stop, the beach and the main road (aldi just a minute away).
88%
Loredana M 03/05/2019
I liked the hostel because it was in a very good location, near the beach and the main street. The kitchen was well equipped and had many stoves, so we could kook without any interruptions. The shared TV area was very nice, cosy but big. It's not a party hostel so you can sleep at night. The stuff at the reception was very helpful.
100%
Rita K 01/05/2019
Great location, 5 min walk to the beach if that. Events / evening gatherings if you want to get involved with other people staying. Very large and equipped kitchen with lots of outdoor seating and even an indoor space with a television and snack machine. Showers were clean and spacious as well, although you hadn’t to walk outside to get to them. Would recommend!
92%
Caroline B 29/04/2019
Very nice vibe
90%
Phillip W 29/04/2019
Great location and friendly staff .. breakfast, bikes and boards were easy.
100%
Stephen L 29/04/2019
Very chilled hostel, the noise could be loud in the outdoor area but couldn’t hear it when in the room and the door locked. Loved how the showers had plenty of shelves and hooks in the cubicle! The host great free trips, like the lighthouse walk was lovely.
92%
Tamara B 25/04/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

93%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
89%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
98%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
93%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL