Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1995 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Perfectly located, good value for money, good and helpfull staff!
95%
Marc Z 22/03/2019
This was a chilled hostel with good facilities- We enjoyed our stay. Would have been good to have aircon but it didn’t matter too much. We definitely would have preferred it if there was more organised evening events e.g trivia etc to make it easier to meet people as people tended to keep themselves to themselves. All in all it was a good stay and would recommend to anyone looking for a chilled few days in Byron!
85%
Abi B 21/03/2019
One of my favorite hostels by far. Amazing staff and great location near the beach and shops. Not to mention the great atmosphere. Will definitely revisit this one.
100%
Tammy T 21/03/2019
Really close to Byron bay so ideal and very near aldi
70%
Isabel J 19/03/2019
No AC so its super hot in the room at night. Well located and clean
82%
C L 16/03/2019
I really liked the atmosphere and the friendliness of staff, only we had some cockroaches in our room and it was some days very hot in our room. But it was a really nice stay!
95%
Rosa F 15/03/2019
No WiFi in the rooms. In common areas only very poor WiFi, for a good working WiFi you have to pay (in 2019 really?). YHA stands for Youth hostelling in Australia, so I don't understand why there are always old people at YHA. Atmosphere is poor. no Aircon in the rooms, it's to hot to sleep in the rooms. Not enough kitchen facillitys. There are never cups. Staff is really good and really friendly!
72%
Thomas O 13/03/2019
It was wat too hot in the rooms. The locaties and facilitairs were good!
78%
Femke M 10/03/2019
All staffs are very friendly and helpful!! Common area and rooms are clean!! Free cold drinking water is available. Rental bicycles are much cheaper than shops, and there are car parking spaces. This hostel is in a quiet area but a few minutes access to shops&restaurants and beach!
100%
Tommy H 09/03/2019
Friendly staff and good atmosphere :)
100%
Aurelie D 08/03/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
83%
Condition of facilities
85%
Efficiency of service
91%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
86%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL