Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1549 guests have reviewed this hostel)
We enjoyed our stay and the atmosphere very much. Staff very helpful, we liked the extra facilities like bikes, pool. Only downside was others talking nearby into the early hours!
80.0%
Ann M 14/10/2017
I really liked this hostels family friendly sort of vibe. coming from a massive yha in Brisbane, I felt more at home here, and felt the people here were very welcoming and pleasant to be around. I would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Byron Bay.
80.0%
Emma J 12/10/2017
Had a great group of people staying and provided pancakes on weekday mornings.
80.0%
Kimberly 10/10/2017
Kitchen not as tidy as other YHA's I've been to. Double bed upstairs room 26 VERY uncomfortable. Lots of door slamming and noisy people next room way after 11:00 Pool table only one stick and no chalk. Otherwise ok.
80.0%
Kimberly S 08/10/2017
We loved the location, so close to the beach! Staff is super friendly and supportive for booking activities etc. Def gonna recommend it to other friends!
80.0%
Pia P 02/10/2017
the couches on the deck look terrible, the tables are also in a bad condition. the kitchen is not clean at all and the appliances (e.g. toaster) are disgusting. the only good thing about the hostel is the location and the very friendly staff.
60.0%
George S 30/09/2017
Overall good experience at this hostel, enjoyed the kayaking tour we bought through the hostel. Some staff members were a little loud and annoying
60.0%
Lowri T 30/09/2017
I enjoyed my stay. Only two things that could have been better was if the pool had been a bit cleaner and the staff did not take up the whole pool.
80.0%
Helene Bukbjerg K 29/09/2017
I absolutely loved Byron Bay, and I am definitely considering going back within the next few months.
100.0%
Julie H 28/09/2017
Good place for first surfing lessons and great people to chill out
80.0%
Melina M 27/09/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90.0%
customer rating, based on 1549 reviews
Cleanliness
83.0%
Condition of facilities
83.0%
Efficiency of service
92.0%
Friendliness of staff
97.0%
Location
97.0%
Overall atmosphere
90.0%
Safety & Security
92.0%
Value for Money
84.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL