Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (2088 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great new hostel in a central location; three blocks from the beach and a short walk to cafes, shops, supermarkets, bus stop. Resort vibes on a hostel budget!
100%
Louise S 13/06/2018
The staff at reception are extremely friendly and helpful going out of their way to accommodate me and my 'dodgy knee'. The hostel has been extended since my last visit, 2yrs ago, but it still has a very relaxed feel to it. Lots of things to do...the Lighthouse is a must and Byron is easy to navigate with lots of shops and restaurants...meat eaters to vegans all are extremely well catered for. Hostel is close to the amenities and a short walk from the most amazing beach. Highly recommended 😀
100%
Claire B 12/06/2018
The pool was really cool, and the lounge room was super comfortable and cozy. It's really close to wollys and Aldi, and the beach is just a few minutes walking distance, so couldn't be better. Everybody says that you must go to the lighthouse to watch the sunrise, but i went there to see the sunset and It was stunning. And i also saw a lot of dolphins playing in the waves! I would recommend it :)
90%
Alexandra G 11/06/2018
Great hostel, great location, very good facilities! Much space, quiet in the night, good for travellers who want to have some peace and relaxing time as well! :)
100%
Anja Maria P 11/06/2018
Stayed there in June. The hostel was clean and the staff very helpful. The only downside was that it was pretty quiet so it wasn't that easy to meet people. Otherwise it's a great hostel.
92%
Ella A 10/06/2018
Close to vegan Manna Haven & Heart of Byron, Woolworths, local & travel bus stops. Main street around the corner. Fairly quiet. Best of all were the electricity outlets in lockers & individual night lights as well as ensuites in dorm rooms. Great place to mix & surf.
98%
Delphine G 05/06/2018
Very nice staff, good facilities.
80%
Jessica R 05/06/2018
Best hostel I have stayed in by far, after my 5 years of traveling. Very modern and who ever designed it thought of every last detail a backpacker needs. Curtains for privacy in bed, plug beside you in bed with a light, amazing walk in shower and just feel like such a nice clean hostel with a calm, chilled atmosphere! Highly recommend for anyone xx
100%
Dennise C 04/06/2018
Great atmosphere, nice beds, big kitchen with a lot of space to cook and store your food, lots of space to sit and hang out.
95%
M B 04/06/2018
Loved the Hostel, I kept on extending because Byron was such a great place to stay for a minimum for a week. One thing I would love in the hostel is a cold water fountain as the water out of the taps in the Kitchen tends to be pretty warm and on a hot day its not the best. Other than that small detail loved the hostel. Staff were super friendly and there are loads of activities the hostel offers in and around Byron with some great discounts on offer
88%
Charles N 03/06/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

95%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
94%
Condition of facilities
96%
Efficiency of service
96%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
96%
Value for Money
95%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL