Sydney, Pittwater YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney, Pittwater YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (365 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Wonderful location and views, easy access to hiking & kayaking. The only (very slight) negatives were that it was at times hard to reach the staff (they are in the office for a few hours in the morning and again in the evening) and they asked us to clean/sweep the room after our stay, which seems like something management should probably do with a vacuum (especially since our thorough sweep after 2 nights revealed that many former guests had not done as thorough a job over the last few months).
95%
Anna B 17/10/2018
Great few days away enjoying nature with the kids. Thanks for looking after us Sarah and Michael
90%
Belinda V 13/10/2018
The YHA in Pittwater is a great place to stay in Sydney without feeling the rush of the city center. Listening to the wind coming through and the birds singing is just the best thing to get away from all the city noises. We’ve seen some wallabies, went kayaking and went for a walk. Playing the guitar, watching the sunrise and just relax. I can just recommend this place. Sarah and Michael are great and help with everything you need.
100%
Hannah B 20/09/2018
Quintessential Aussie bush experience, or a great getaway for Sydneysiders. Great location. Take a kayak out on Morning Bay!!
100%
Lindsay D 07/09/2018
Googled yha hostels Sydney surrounds. A ferry timetable at hostel would be good but other than this i had the best hostel experience in an incredible setting with Native birds and wallabies. Sarah took us for early sunrise walk to lookout and my son and I kayaked across bay. We had hostel to ourselves and rested and read lots of the local history off bookshelf.
98%
Wendy B 24/08/2018
Loved it! Right in the national park and only reachable by boat, it provides an ideal getaway from busy Sydney life.
95%
Filip S 06/08/2018
We had a great time. The two young people, Billy and his friend, who were working there were very helpful and friendly. The place was incredibly clean and tidy. There were lots of maps etc to help us decide where to walk and what to do. The rooms were basic but fine. I am guessing it would be a place that is best in the warm months as one could swim then but I loved walking in the weak winter sun.
100%
Lyndsay B 20/07/2018
Fantastic location. Excellent sunrise views. Reasonably priced. We had a great weekend getaway away from Sydney. Kayaking and bushwalking was lots of fun. They also had firewood available for small fires outside and for the indoor fireplace. Nice and cosy.
88%
Sanne M 26/06/2018
The perfect mid week escape, it was pure magic!
100%
Bernie F 18/06/2018
Beautiful bushland setting and stunning water views. No road access so it feels remote though so close to Sydney. One of the remaining 'traditional' hostels from when YHA was more about getting people, youth in particular, out into the bush. My previous visit was 47 years ago when I was a teenager and I'm pleased that the place has retained its charm while the facilities have been modernised.
98%
Bronwyn L 12/05/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

96%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
94%
Condition of facilities
94%
Efficiency of service
96%
Friendliness of staff
100%
Location
99%
Overall atmosphere
98%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
95%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL