Search YHA

Sydney, Pittwater YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Pittwater YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (277 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Fabulous location and very friendly staff, but the cooker in the kitchen was extremely complicated to operate which made cooking dinner a frustrating experience.
    90%
    Claire B September 2016
    A true gem in the heart of vibrant Sydney. I had a great time and Michael and Sarah who run the place were absolutely wonderful. Highly recommended
    100%
    Ahmad A July 2016
    This is my second trip here in a matter of weeks. Highly recommended if you like to get away from it all. Can't rate the place highly enough I love it here!
    100%
    Sally W July 2016
    A lovely hostel in a location that's a little difficult to get to but well worth the effort. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Great fun kayaking on Pittwater. If you want to park at Chirch Point overnight or longer you must pay with a credit card. No notes or coins. Parking is $20 for 24hours.
    98%
    Karin S July 2016
    We stayed for a Friday night and had a wonderful time. Would have been great if the place wasn't booked out for the Saturday night as to really take advantage you need two nights and a full day in the middle. Bobbie the Assisting Manager was wonderful, super helpful and kept us very entertained. Beds are very comfortable, the whole place is beautifully clean. The place is so tranquil in a beautiful setting! Can't wait to go again!
    100%
    Sally W May 2016
    First time YHA'ing. I have already recommended it to a friend. Location, friendliness...a software booking malfunction tested staff on my arrival but it was resolved promptly and flexibly. Perhaps the best test of any institution is how it can resolve a problem. Well done ; )
    98%
    richard h April 2016
    Cleanest and best condition kitchen facilities I have seen at a YHA. A pleasure to cook there. Gorgeous views from the deck, making it a lovely place to eat. Very helpful hosts. Don't overpack: it may be only 500m uphill but it feels a lot more, and with a heavy backpack, much much more. Rooms don't lock, so don't take too many valuables. It is relatively safe though, since you get to know the few guests, and I am sure that criminals don't walk up such steep hills just to pinch stuff. You can also ask the hosts to lock things away if necessary. The kayaking is great because the Pittwater is huge and fairly safe.
    95%
    Frances April 2016
    What a great hostel! The location is a bush paradise, with views of the water and wallabies grazing right beside the verandah. Very clean and friendly place with plenty of space to relax at the hostel, or walks or kayaking nearby. Highly recommended.
    100%
    Rose K March 2016
    What a fantastic location we loved the peaceful, friendly setting surrounded by bush and wildlife all reachable by public transport and foot from the big smoke. Who needs the Ritz
    100%
    John H March 2016
    I was part of a group of 4 ladies staying at this YHA. We found it very comfortable. Being in the National Park we did some bushwalking, kayaking and swimming. A very relaxing place to stay. Sarah and Michael were very knowledgeable about the area. Our journey to the hostel began in Sydney where we took the Manly Ferry, did our food shopping at Manly, then caught the 156 bus to Church Point where we caught the ferry to the hostel. The bus driver was very helpful in directing us to the Church Point wharf. Being seniors the total cost of the fares using public transport was $12.50 return to Sydney - very economical.
    95%
    Lyn W March 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    94%
    277 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    94%
    Condition of facilities
    92%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    99%
    Overall atmosphere
    95%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    96%