Search YHA

Sydney, Pittwater YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Pittwater YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (267 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    First time YHA'ing. I have already recommended it to a friend. Location, friendliness...a software booking malfunction tested staff on my arrival but it was resolved promptly and flexibly. Perhaps the best test of any institution is how it can resolve a problem. Well done ; )
    98%
    richard h April 2016
    Cleanest and best condition kitchen facilities I have seen at a YHA. A pleasure to cook there. Gorgeous views from the deck, making it a lovely place to eat. Very helpful hosts. Don't overpack: it may be only 500m uphill but it feels a lot more, and with a heavy backpack, much much more. Rooms don't lock, so don't take too many valuables. It is relatively safe though, since you get to know the few guests, and I am sure that criminals don't walk up such steep hills just to pinch stuff. You can also ask the hosts to lock things away if necessary. The kayaking is great because the Pittwater is huge and fairly safe.
    95%
    Frances April 2016
    What a great hostel! The location is a bush paradise, with views of the water and wallabies grazing right beside the verandah. Very clean and friendly place with plenty of space to relax at the hostel, or walks or kayaking nearby. Highly recommended.
    100%
    Rose K March 2016
    What a fantastic location we loved the peaceful, friendly setting surrounded by bush and wildlife all reachable by public transport and foot from the big smoke. Who needs the Ritz
    100%
    John H March 2016
    I was part of a group of 4 ladies staying at this YHA. We found it very comfortable. Being in the National Park we did some bushwalking, kayaking and swimming. A very relaxing place to stay. Sarah and Michael were very knowledgeable about the area. Our journey to the hostel began in Sydney where we took the Manly Ferry, did our food shopping at Manly, then caught the 156 bus to Church Point where we caught the ferry to the hostel. The bus driver was very helpful in directing us to the Church Point wharf. Being seniors the total cost of the fares using public transport was $12.50 return to Sydney - very economical.
    95%
    Lyn W March 2016
    Our 2 nights stay in Pittwater YHA were 'the finale' of our 3 weeks stay in Australia and we couldn't have picked a better place to get away from the hustle/bustle of the city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this quiet hideaway at Sydney's very doorstep, with plenty of beautiful bush for 'walkabout' and wildlife (wallaby, goanna, black cockatoo, sulphur crested cockatoo, rainbow lorikeet, white bellied sea-eagle ); most of it easy to be seen just from the veranda...The managers Sarah and Michael (thanks so much for your hospitality!) we very friendly and helpful. Well, for us it is very clear: Whenever we might visit Sydney again in the future, we hope to visit PittwaterYHA again as well !
    85%
    Jan Maurits G March 2016
    But I want Pittwater to stay a secret! I took a friend to introduce her, as she has hear me rave about it. I like the type of people who make the effort to get there as well.
    100%
    Ruth P February 2016
    Perfect hostel! Clean, in the middle of nature and only nice guests. Bring your food and enjoy a wondefull stay. Go for a hike a swim, or a sailingrace if you're lucky. Michael and Sarah you're amazing, next time I stay longer!
    95%
    Erik L February 2016
    My pittwater's experience was amazing. The location is perfect in the middle of the nature with an awesome view of the bay. I felt this place really peacefull. Because of the location you wil definitely enjoy the wildlife around. I enjoyed hiking in the National park, kayaking and swimming. Sarah an Michael are fantastics! We've got a chance of sailing with Michael that was great. I was sad to leave this place. One of the best places I stayed in Australia. Thanks for this experience.
    100%
    Camille b January 2016
    Michael and Sarah made us welcome on our first ever visit to the bush... Thanks!
    85%
    Larry M January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    267 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    92%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    99%
    Overall atmosphere
    94%
    Safety & security
    90%
    Value for money
    95%