Sydney, Pittwater YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney, Pittwater YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (356 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Fantastic location. Excellent sunrise views. Reasonably priced. We had a great weekend getaway away from Sydney. Kayaking and bushwalking was lots of fun. They also had firewood available for small fires outside and for the indoor fireplace. Nice and cosy.
88%
Sanne M 26/06/2018
The perfect mid week escape, it was pure magic!
100%
Bernie F 18/06/2018
Beautiful bushland setting and stunning water views. No road access so it feels remote though so close to Sydney. One of the remaining 'traditional' hostels from when YHA was more about getting people, youth in particular, out into the bush. My previous visit was 47 years ago when I was a teenager and I'm pleased that the place has retained its charm while the facilities have been modernised.
98%
Bronwyn L 12/05/2018
Pittwater YHA is the perfect place to immerse yourself in nature. My mother, myself and my two young daughters had the best two nights stay!! When we weren’t bushwalking, kayaking, swimming or using the hostels sports equipment, we loved relaxing in the hammock or on the deck surrounded by the peace and quiet of the hostel and beautiful bushland all around. The staff are wonderful - very friendly and helpful. This hostel has something for everyone and every activity level - a must visit!!!!
98%
Puccetta P 25/04/2018
We loved this hostel, wish we could have stayed for longer, very relaxing and amazing views and location . Kayaking was brilliant as well! Definitely recommend to anyone
100%
Penny D 15/04/2018
I don’t think the instructions for getting to the hostel from Manly are accurate anymore. It should be, take the 199 to Mona vale, change there to get the 156 to church point. 156 does not run from manly wharf anymore. Other than that, absolutely incredible hostel!! I’ve already recommended to all my friends
100%
Roseleen Ann C 12/04/2018
Very relaxed atmosphere, beautiful outlook. Very friendly warden.
92%
Alison B 11/04/2018
Even though it was stormy and wet, we loved the hostel. Sitting on the veranda watching the rain was magic!
100%
Angela O 23/03/2018
Loved the hostel. Loved the location. The hostel, neighbouring houses and local people all had the feel of trying to live harmoniously with nature.
88%
Tony M 10/03/2018
Very friendly and helpful staff in combo with a wonderful ambience with the usual YHA facilities. A place for respite and reflection with friends and family. Plenty of things to do, the highlight was exploring the waterways by kayaks.
100%
Steve K 21/02/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

96%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
94%
Condition of facilities
94%
Efficiency of service
97%
Friendliness of staff
100%
Location
98%
Overall atmosphere
98%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
96%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL