Search YHA

Sydney, Pittwater YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Pittwater YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (255 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Perfect hostel! Clean, in the middle of nature and only nice guests. Bring your food and enjoy a wondefull stay. Go for a hike a swim, or a sailingrace if you're lucky. Michael and Sarah you're amazing, next time I stay longer!
    95%
    Erik L February 2016
    My pittwater's experience was amazing. The location is perfect in the middle of the nature with an awesome view of the bay. I felt this place really peacefull. Because of the location you wil definitely enjoy the wildlife around. I enjoyed hiking in the National park, kayaking and swimming. Sarah an Michael are fantastics! We've got a chance of sailing with Michael that was great. I was sad to leave this place. One of the best places I stayed in Australia. Thanks for this experience.
    100%
    Camille b January 2016
    Michael and Sarah made us welcome on our first ever visit to the bush... Thanks!
    85%
    Larry M January 2016
    I can really recommend this hostel. Michael and Sarah are amazing. Sarah told us very enthusiastic about the hikes we could do in the environment of Pittwater. The environment only is really worth the trip to the hostel. But also the hostel is worth traveling to it. Michael took me, and some other guests, on an awesome sailing race in the bay. It was awesome to be part of the winning team: all of us were even asked to take control of the boat on a certain moment. The 'social time' after the race, completed with home-brew and really nice crisps, made the experience unforgettable.
    95%
    Marten N January 2016
    If you love nature and want to stay in a place that is nestled into the woods, this is the place for you. My son and I truly loved our experience at Pittwater. We were greeted by a delighted woman named Sarah, the hostel manager, and got to know many of the guests because of the size of the facility. Here you can hike, kayak and just enjoy have wallabies come out in the early morning as you eat your breakfast.
    100%
    Deb H January 2016
    Smaller hostel, very friendly, good facilities, down to earth but comfortable. Emphasis on walking and Kayaking. Accessed by ferry and short walk.
    100%
    Ian P December 2015
    Our fifteen-year-old son is an avid mountain biker, so we decided to each bring along our mountain bikes. We used traveller size backpacks as lugguge to better negotiate getting the bikes on the ferry and up the trail to hostel. The surrounding fire roads and trails offered suitable terrain for each of us--my twelve-year-old daughter and I having the least mountain bike experience. We will definitely return! Deniese B of Sydney
    100%
    Deniese B December 2015
    Beautiful setting, peaceful place to stay, and a wonderful place to wake up in the morning. Accommodation basic in the best of ways, clean, comfortable bed, great kitchen. Sarah made up our beds as we were arriving late after a party. How kind and considerate, and typical of her and Michael's way of running the place.
    100%
    Eva H December 2015
    I felt immensely pressured to leave the premises. I had intended to kyack on the morning but was informed I would need to store my pack outside the hostel and not return to the hostel for a shower afterwards. It was good but as there is nowhere else to go I left the park. I have found other hostels allow you to store your pack and don't mind if you return to eat lunch before you move on which is something I appreciate about staying at YHA's.
    85%
    M M December 2015
    It was just an amazing stay, with lovely people and a wonderful caring host. I enjoyed the wildlife, kayaking, hiking and some relaxing time in the hammock :) and of the top of that I got a room just by myself, because we were so few guests :)
    98%
    Silvana D December 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    94%
    255 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    93%
    Condition of facilities
    92%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    100%
    Overall atmosphere
    96%
    Safety & security
    94%
    Value for money
    96%