Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

What travellers think

Reviews (11877 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I think my three favorite things about the hostel were it's location in the rocks, the view from the roof, and the archeological tour on Monday morning. On that last point, the guide I went with was so friendly and helpful. I learned a lot about the history of the location. The dig site is one of the reasons I chose to stay at this hostel. Thank you for a lovely time. P.S. The free pancakes on Wednesday were great too!
100%
Sarah Elizabeth B 21/06/2018
I had a great stay here! The location was amazing! I felt completely comfortable walking in this area alone, even at night. I would highly recommend it!
100%
Jammie K 20/06/2018
If you had an early checkin option esp for overseas travellers that get to the hostel about 10am that'd be amazing. Even charging for this would be fine. Arriving after a 4am start and waiting until 2pm to checkin is standard everywhere so it'd be a real bonus to have the option. I guess you'd just need to prioritise house keeping for these rooms and not everyone would request it but those that needed it would be delighted. Love your hostel. Thanks for a great stay xx
98%
Logan C 19/06/2018
The location of this YHA is amazing. It is so central to The Rocks area of Sydney, where there is plenty to do and not far from the Quay. Yes you do have to traverse many stairs to get down to the water edge but that is good exercise. The kitchen bays are well stocked with utensils and fridges for those that want to cater for themselves.
100%
Paul D 18/06/2018
I've visited Sydney 7 times and on 6 of those visits I've stayed at this hostel. It's big, it's bright, it's welcoming. I've stayed in mixed dorms and a private room and been happy every time. This time I had a weekend deal including breakfast each day and a meal at the pub next door which was a great package. The rooftop view and location is worth the dearer-than-average hostel price every time.
100%
Fiona G 18/06/2018
I stayed here while the Vivid event was on, you get a great view of the opera house and the train station and ferry services are very accessible. If you plan to stay here i highly recommend it, all the facilities were clean during my stay and the other patrons were very friendly. Overall my stay was very enjoyable with my friends.
92%
Jayden M 18/06/2018
Loved this place. Everyone helpful and polite with great attitude. Won't even consider a hotel. Will stay again. Hopefully it will be soon.
100%
Mark Lee F 17/06/2018
Big thank you to Elle for her help in locating my lost mobile phone. Love the rocks yha. Can't wait to come back
100%
Peter C 17/06/2018
The archaeological dig is awesome! As is the rooftop terrace - we came for the vivid festival and the roof of the hostel had the best view of the lights in all of Sydney. Cosy atmosphere and extremely lovely and helpful staff.
98%
Hanne 16/06/2018
Love it
100%
Maria J 16/06/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

96%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
96%
Condition of facilities
95%
Efficiency of service
96%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
100%
Overall atmosphere
96%
Safety & Security
97%
Value for Money
94%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL