Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

What travellers think
Reviews (12846 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great location friendly staff lots of pubs and eateries nearby. Great transport links. Would recommend to others. Donna Gaynor Keith
88%
Donna Marie D 13/02/2019
Was fantastic stay. Was our first time in a hostel and will definitely be back
100%
Amanda D 13/02/2019
Excellent clean comfortable accommodation in a central location. Our double room was small although comfortable. Our only issue was that the free wi-fi is slow and did not work on level 3. The Rocks markets nearby are a good place to eat on weekends. We enjoyed breakfast at the Mercantile Hotel on Weekends which was half the price of some local cafes.
82%
Neil S 12/02/2019
The location and layout of this hostel is great. The roof-top open-air hangout space provides great views of the bridge and opera house. Do note though, that in the mornings there is normally a cruise ship that blocks part of the opera house view. However, by mid afternoon the ships typically leave and it there is a lovely view of the harbor. The staff went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. I would stay here again if I were to return to Sydney. Thanks for the kangaroo burger night!
100%
Caroline R 12/02/2019
Love this place. All staff v friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere and location
100%
Angela Mary W 12/02/2019
It’s the perfect hostel to stay for a comfortable time in Sydney
98%
Carmen R 12/02/2019
The rooftop really makes this place! Rooms are clean and spacious would definitely stay again.
92%
Amy L 12/02/2019
I thought the room was overpriced for what it was. We could have stayed in a hotel for the same price we ended up paying after requesting a move because our initial room didn’t have a TV, the picture on the web site was misleading. The sheets were nice but the quilt was atrocious. The staff were awesome as was the view.
78%
Abigail W 11/02/2019
I personally love the warm and friendly staff, all the eco-friendly initiatives, as well as all the boards that showcase what to do in and around the city. Traveling by myself is made easy, I never feel alone or out of ideas thanks to YHA. Cheers!
100%
Amelie P 11/02/2019
Of course, in a great location. Good ol Aussie pub next door where I had an old work reunion. Not far to get back! Close to all The Rocks touristy things.
82%
Gary S 11/02/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
91%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
87%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL