Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Voted the Best Mega Hostel by YHA Guests in 2018

What travellers think
Reviews (13727 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Fantastic spot right in the middle of The Rocks - the Big Dig Archaeology site and artifacts was amazing and a lovely surprise as we had no idea it was there. Easy walk to the Opera House with a few pub stops along the way for an evening comedy show. Great we could still get a meal at the hotel right next door at around 9.30/10.00 when we got back. Fantastic value in a brilliant location
98%
Garry C 11/10/2019
Very nice hostel to stay at!! Views of Sydney Harbour were amazing and kitchen was very nice to cook in. Slightly difficult to get to from circular quay station if you are carrying bags with you, lots of stairs to get to the main doors. However, overall very nice hostel, definitely recommend!
80%
Tara R 11/10/2019
Booked for the view, would come back just for the fact to show my partner the dig site underneath the hostel! Just an incredible use of space!
95%
Timothy W 10/10/2019
So far, the best hostel I’ve stayed in. Just a little frustrated by one of the roommates behavior
90%
Florence Therese Marina B 09/10/2019
It was fantastic, so central and the staff were very helpful. The room and facilities were clean and I appreciated the notice board for free/low cost activities and timetables for activities put on by the yha.
100%
Vicki B 08/10/2019
Excellent
100%
Sylvie Genereuse Marthe C 08/10/2019
I stayed for 4 nights, and during all that time, staff was available and had good tips, the rooms were always clean and the kitchen too. It is really well located, and the view from the rooftop is amazing! You can see the opera and the Harbour Bridge :).
95%
Elodie R 08/10/2019
Love the rooftop terrace and lockers after you checkout. Fresh fruit salad to buy.m: great to have some healthy options included.
88%
Amanda H 07/10/2019
Frommerguidebook. We liked everything except the Argyle stairs.
88%
Charles C 07/10/2019
This hostel was fab. The staff were very friendly (especially Spencer who helped me with my travel plans). The kitchen and seating area is nice and spacious. I liked all the activities too, my favourite was the Mexican dinner.
100%
Eimear L 07/10/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

93%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
91%
Condition of facilities
92%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
91%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
92%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL