Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (8939 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    great staff, good info on whats happening the weekend we were staying
    100%
    MICHELLE B July 2016
    Wonderful location, great facilities
    100%
    Dermott P July 2016
    When I heard about how great this YHA is, I had some reservations. Very glad to be proven wrong this time, because it is pretty great! 9/10
    100%
    Cin A July 2016
    Fantastic location and didn't feel out of place being "older"! We had double ensuite room with view of the Opera house for a fraction of cost of adjacent hotels. Impressed with all the useful info on places to eat etc and daily activities organised by staff must be great ways to meet people. Would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay
    95%
    Nicola D July 2016
    I booked this hostel because of the stunning view of the Opera House and the Sydney Bridge from the open spaced deck. Had a value for money dinner of kangaroo burger, potato salad and cream soda for just $7. Truly recommended for travellers.
    85%
    Donovan L July 2016
    The best YHA that we have stayed at during our time in Australia. Incredible views from the rooftop terrace. Kitchen was well equipped and always kept clean. Dorms were spacious with attached bathrooms (which was great unless someone needed a very early morning shower!!). Lots of information about what to do and the staff were incredibly helpful. Plenty of machines in the laundry room.
    100%
    Katherine S July 2016
    Big hostel, very okay in general, but excellent location with topterrace Opera view! Little bit expensive, and more difficult to meet people because of size, but soooo close to the harbour and opera. We had a great stay!
    88%
    Line T July 2016
    We only stayed one night. Love the location and amazing view from the roof top.
    92%
    Judy W July 2016
    A fantastic place to stay.
    100%
    Helen L July 2016
    A really lovely place and very helpful staff. All in all a great experience. It does o provide value for money.
    100%
    Liliana I July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    95%
    8939 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    94%
    Condition of facilities
    95%
    Efficiency of service
    95%
    Friendliness of staff
    97%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    93%
    Safety & Security
    94%
    Value for Money
    92%