Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (7721 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I stayed at the Mariot Circular Quay in 2011 and paid $319:00 for a room with a partial view of the Opera House and up the harbour to the east. But I paid half that at YHA Circular Quay and got the Sydney Harbour Bridge, all the city buildings, the whole of the Opera House and Ocean Liners not more than 200 metres from my window view of all of the above thrown in for free. And the best part is the people you meet at all YHA's. You don't get that at The Mariot. A big thumbs up to the YHA managers for picking this spot to put a YHA.
    TONY A December 2015
    It's not your average Youth Hostel. Reasonable breakfast prices. Excellent cooking, fridge and storage facilities. Great roof top area. Comfortable clean beds. Third trip here for 55+ located in the The Rocks Sydney. Love this place and location.
    Leonie M F November 2015
    Fantastic hostel! Fantastic views! Fantastic facilities! Friendly helpful staff! Where else could you stay in such a location -great value! All age groups!!
    Sheelagh M November 2015
    Overall-the room was safe, clean, and quite nice. I stayed in a 4 male dormitory. Lockers were provided, towels were available for rental, and the Internet worked in the main lobby. There wasn't a strong community/party environment, but it was nice for someone looking for budget accommodations with a more well-balanced group.
    James H November 2015
    Great location! Pleasantly surprised.
    Leanne B November 2015
    We booked purely for the roof deck for the 5 ships extravaganza and were pleasantly surprised with everything we saw. Would live to bring the kids back and take some time to enjoy the dig.
    Kim H November 2015
    Looking forward to visit again and stay at YHA Sydney harbour. Recommend strongly ..
    PRADEEP H November 2015
    This yha hostel is one of the best I have been in Australia. The location is super with archeological items, the atmosphere is really very nice and tranquil. The rooms are clean and there is enough space around the beds. The view from the roof is marvelous. I have enjoyed my stay very much, even far not being a youngster I felt very much at ease.
    Yvonne W November 2015
    Wonderful location Love the views from our room and roof top patio!!!! Super price !! Room was clean and a good size.
    Marvin V November 2015
    The hostel was great, I would defiantly recommend it to anyone looking for a central location in a really interesting area of Sydney. The view from the terrace was an added bonus.
    Liz November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    7721 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money