Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (7319 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staff is not really friendly. No free breakfast. You can only get free wifi at the main lounge area. But bed is comfortable. Bathroom is ok. View from the rooftop js spectacular. Location is okay but from the Circular Quay its quite exhausting to climb the stairs (approx 100 steps of stairs). Overall is okay.
    80%
    Mohamad Azrul Haqim B September 2015
    Nice view. You can see the theatre and habour bridge at the roof.
    100%
    HAN Y September 2015
    This is located at great location with affordable price. You could enjoy the major landmarks of Sydney within walking distance: Opera house, Habour bridge, Circular Quay heritage. If that's not enough, hop on buses, train, ferries from CQ station and you can get to any destinations. Traveling to/from Sydney airport is extremely simple with CQ train station just 600 metres from this YHA, specially valuable for overseas visitors who may be on their first trip to Sydney. Not only its position I would recommend but the service there is also valuable for money, you can have free necessary kitchen items: cooking oil, butter... making it easy for backpackers. Thanks the team for the great service, too.
    95%
    Vinh T September 2015
    WOW! Amazing room, on the 3rd floor with a view of the Sydney Opera House and harbour. Quiet at night, didn't hear any noise from other rooms or from outside the YHA.
    100%
    SALLIE E August 2015
    Everything is perfect but it would be good if you can lower your rate.
    95%
    Clintt Lawrenzz G August 2015
    Actually the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in quite a few! Awesome location too, super close to everything. Highly recommend for anyone staying in Sydney.
    100%
    Melissa S August 2015
    The view is fantastic and the location is perfect.
    92%
    Amy H August 2015
    The Sydney Harbour YHA sits in an awesome location - in the middle of The Rocks with views of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House from the terrace. Rooms are clean, facilities very good, the staff is friendly and helpful (though it was a little unfortunate that we had to move rooms after 2 nights and one had forgotten to tell us).
    98%
    Simon C August 2015
    This was in the perfect location for our weekend stay in Sydney. Hostel was clean, well equipped and staff were friendly and helpful. The roof terrace was a bonus. Would definitely stay there again
    100%
    Hazel F August 2015
    A great location, excellent facilities and so quiet !!
    98%
    Margaret A August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    94%
    7319 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    95%
    Condition of facilities
    94%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    93%
    Safety & security
    94%
    Value for money
    92%