Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (10432 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I brought my mother to the hostel for the VIVID festival. She had not stayed in a hostel for 50 years. She was astonished at the quality of the accommodation and friendliness of staff and other guests. We will stay again.
    100%
    Karen Margaret T May 2017
    A very good option for accommodation in Sydney - not flash but comfortable,clean, economical as you can do your own meals in a very adequate kitchen, or you can eat out if that is your choice. Lots of convenience to the Rocks area and the most superb views of Sydney from the roof area. It was a lovely touch having wine and nibbles on the roof area on the Friday night to watch the start of the lights for Vivid. A most enjoyable stay. It was very convenient being able to purchase a variety of breakfast items from the reception desk which let you start your day in a relaxed way.
    98%
    Ann D May 2017
    Unfortunately, the kitchen area was left in an extremely unhygienic state on Saturday evening. But it was beautifully clean on Sunday morning. I guess you can't be responsible for all your guests!
    95%
    Helen R May 2017
    Was amazing!!!
    100%
    Sara S May 2017
    Basic room accommodation but wonderful location. Breakfast possibilities available at reasonable cost and rooftop lounge ideal for groups and conversation.
    88%
    Diane S May 2017
    Excellent facilities and fantastic location! I'll definitely stay here again when next visiting Sydney.
    100%
    Rowan M May 2017
    The shower and vanity of the 4 bed female dorm, room 002, has mould in places and needs to be scrubbed with bleach. The last night of my stay was awful. Someone checked in at 12:30 am and then had the unmitigated gall to get up several times in the night to wake the woman underneath her (and the rest of us) because she was snoring. I know this is beyond your control but I don't think people should be able to book into shared rooms past 10:00 pm. Special shoutout to Mya who sorted my booking out for me. Fantastic of her.
    92%
    Deborah D May 2017
    Great location and rooftop view is incredible
    98%
    Jo O May 2017
    The manager and staff are all very friendly,give me very professional service. For my special requirement, such as bottom bed, they reserved it for me. Overall, I am very happy with their service. I give their service 10 out of 10. And wish YHA business getting more successful in the future.
    100%
    Lijuan T May 2017
    The hostel was clean and the location is good. The only thing I found to be weird is that it's advertised as a youth hostel and there were many people staying there who were much older than 35. My roommates were all well over 60 years old, as a solo traveler looking to meet people my age that was a bit of a disappointment.
    88%
    Katherine S May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    94%
    94%
    customer rating, based on 10432 reviews
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    94%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    94%
    Safety & Security
    95%
    Value for Money
    91%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!