Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (8921 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Big hostel, very okay in general, but excellent location with topterrace Opera view! Little bit expensive, and more difficult to meet people because of size, but soooo close to the harbour and opera. We had a great stay!
    88%
    Line T July 2016
    We only stayed one night. Love the location and amazing view from the roof top.
    92%
    Judy W July 2016
    A fantastic place to stay.
    100%
    Helen L July 2016
    A really lovely place and very helpful staff. All in all a great experience. It does o provide value for money.
    100%
    Liliana I July 2016
    Great hostel! A little pricey, but in terms of other places to stay in Sydney it's great value. Super location & great atmosphere.
    100%
    SARAH G July 2016
    I feel at home and just love the location and the value this place gives, and the gentle way,it evokes a harsh historical reality.
    100%
    Dale I July 2016
    Loved the top out door area.. Maybe a kid friendly area/movie space would good too
    98%
    Denali W July 2016
    Didn't expect to be so good
    100%
    Xiaojun Z July 2016
    I am 65 but you soon realise you only have to be young at heart to enjoy YHA. Thanks for the help with technology!
    100%
    Judith W July 2016
    Crap food. Eat out
    80%
    Dom B July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    94%
    8921 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    92%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & Security
    94%
    Value for Money
    92%