Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

What travellers think

Reviews (11204 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The Rocks YHA is a great location, espcially for the Opera House. It's great that the YHA is saving electricity but I didn't know how the lights worked as it's been sometime since I stated there, it may be in the info but I missed it & had to ask at the desk twice. Not a big deal but you might tell guests when they arrive. The mattress was very comfortable but the pillow was too thin, not enough neck support (since you asked for feedback!) Lastly, there was a lot if noise above me, 002, from about 5am, I thought it was guests but it went on & on & I wondered if the room was being cleaned, it was very noisy & disturbing.
100%
Barbara S 15/12/2017
Loved the location, very central and close to the most beautiful area of Sydney. Staff is very friendly and overall the atmosphere is lovely, full of backpackers!
95%
Dario C 15/12/2017
Good clean excellent Hostel. With epic views
98%
Janice W 15/12/2017
Hi we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We thought check out time was 11 (when we checked in online), however were told we would have to pay an extra nights rate if we were not out by 10.30am, the lady was very rude. Otherwise our stay was great. A fridge in the family rooms would be a good addition.
88%
Kylie K 14/12/2017
Affordable with informative staff helping decide on dorm backpackers or private room was excellent! Would recommend this to anyone needing to stay close to the inner CBD of Sydney!! For purposes to explore learn even get to know a little bit of history about Sydney. I also enjoyed YHA business offer that connect to YHA all over the country of Australia so their customers can get the best of their stay in Australia getting a variety of choice of adventures leisure or simplicity!
92%
Evelyn B 14/12/2017
Strategically located
100%
Toisin G 13/12/2017
Can’t think about better place to stay then YHA The Rocks - thank you
100%
Premysl G 13/12/2017
Great Hostel with a nice insight into the historical past if Sydney with the insights provided by the archeological digging side underneath. Facilities and services provided by the staff are helping to get around Sydney and to explore all major sights and hidden gems!
100%
Anja M 12/12/2017
Absolutely loved it, the location, the amenities, everything was just awesome.
95%
Paul A 11/12/2017
Love the private room, would be even better if there's a bar fridge in the room.
98%
Susie O 11/12/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
customer rating, based on 11204 reviews
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
91%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
93%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
88%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL