Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

What travellers think
Reviews (13048 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The Hostel was a good location but Cumberland St is somewhat difficult to find and get to from Circular Quay. The steps are not easy with luggage and it's a long way around if you avoid the steps. Not good for bad backs or disabled. Once you get to the YHA it is all fabulous. Loved to tea and coffee making facilities in the room 116 also made it much easier having shower toilet and bathroom of it's own but you pay for that convenience and security. Enjoyed having breakfast on the rooftop balcony
88%
Margaret Glenda C 24/03/2019
Superb hostel in fanstastic location! Roof top terrace was amazing with great views over the harbour. Dorms, bathrooms and kitchen were very clean and staff were helpful. Met some lovely people. Although the wifi was a bit slow at times, I would definitely stay here again - 9.5/10
95%
Tara N 24/03/2019
Excellent stay as always!
95%
Stephen M 23/03/2019
The last few days were great. We checked in on Sunday but no-one changed sheets or renewed towels until Thursday. Towels were changed again on Friday. Coffee and tea were never added to from what was there originally. On the whole ... mo real grizzled though .
88%
Valerie H 23/03/2019
Idéalement située dans Sydney. Beaucoup de facilités pour faire un séjour ayant un bon rapport qualité prix.
88%
Serge Daniel Marc V 23/03/2019
Awesome location! It's ballin' for a backpackers! Excellent roof top to checkout Sydney. Friendly staff and the best rooms and kitchen. Thank you guys!!
100%
Theresa Emely S 23/03/2019
Great location right in the heart of The Rocks, beautiful views and a really cool rooftop lounge area.
90%
Oksana S 23/03/2019
Room was available early so we were allowed early check in! We used and appreciated the laundry room and loan of the iron. The free wine and cheese event was fun.
98%
Judith Aleita D 22/03/2019
Très bien
98%
Gerard Andre roger marie V 21/03/2019
From a family member was not happy with room bed was propped up with 3 books I asked if there was another room with 2 beds and was told they don't do them in this hostel towels and bedding was dirty
55%
John P 20/03/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
95%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL