Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (7422 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This was the first hostel I stayed in when coming to Australia and it immediately felt very welcoming. This hostel set a very high standard for all the hostels I would stay in next :-) the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and even had their own bathroom and separate toilet, the atmosphere in the common area was really good, always lots of people to talk to, the location was jus perfect (close to almost everything),.. I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!
    Anja D October 2015
    Brilliant place and supreme location in Sydney. Perhaps not the cheapest to stay for a separate room, but it is in a former slum, so what can you expect? Warmly recommended!
    Michael v September 2015
    The fire alarm went off on our third night. It's great to know that the warning systems do work, and is quite loud. However, since it was a false alarm, It should be investigated, if someone was smoking or has deliberately set it off. It was distressing to kids as well as to seniors who were staying. Elder people (I was with my mum) with hypertension / could potentially have a a heart attack because of such a disturbance. They should be accountable. Installing more security camera monitors would help. It was also too noisy with teenagers closing and opening doors, shouting / talking loudly in the corridors. If you are not a teenager this is not the place to be staying. Overall I've always liked this place, apart from that incident.
    Tomas T September 2015
    This is an awesome hostel! Great location with an amazing view. Super clean and great accommodations.
    Brooke G September 2015
    This is a great place to stay, very modern, big rooms, really good views and your own archaeological dig inside the building!! It's a great location, only a short walk through the old stairways of the rocks to get to circular quay. And near some really good traditional pubs and places to eat, with excellent street markets on Sunday.
    Jayne B September 2015
    Good clean accommodation with friendly and helpful reception staff
    Alan M September 2015
    Best YHA ever had
    Michael D September 2015
    Très sympa, agréable et pratique !
    Anne D September 2015
    Best Hostel in Sydney
    Blazej W September 2015
    Excellent location. Great cooking facilities. Spacious diNing area. Locker in room & individual plug. I was very impressed. Will stay again
    Anne M September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    7422 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money