Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

What travellers think
Reviews (12173 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Google search
75%
Janine Marie D 20/09/2018
Love the archeological and sustainability aspects of the hostel. Easy to separate garbage to organic, recyclable. Free activities - such as wine and cheese on the roof overlooking Circular Quay and Opera House - just splendid. Would appreciate more than one tour of the historic aspects as we were not there when it was on. Such friendly staff.
100%
Angela I 17/09/2018
Our room was on the first floor and as a result very noisy from people using the underpass which goes under the hostel. The room was VERY expensive when compared with other in the area. No soap in the bathroom or hand towel, no WiFi in the room, no TV in the room, charging $7 for a medium luggage storage locker for 4 hours and breakfast at a cost. It’s hard to get to and we struggled with finding it. Overall I would prefer to stay somewhere where I can get more for my money.
68%
Anna Charlotte G 17/09/2018
This hostel was perfect for the plans I had for Sydney. I went for a performance at the Sydney Opera House and the location of the hostel was very good. I also decided spontaneously to take the ferry from Circular Quay to enjoy the sight of the skyline from the water. It was pretty easy to head back to the hostel every evening. Thank you for making my stay so comfortable.
82%
Josefine L 17/09/2018
Right in the city, near to iconic buildings like the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge.
98%
Sky 17/09/2018
Love staying here, This would be the third time I stayed at this hostel. I be staying here again next time I visit Sydney. Great location Value for money Clean rooms. I had my family with me this time, and there like staying here as well.
90%
Philip J 16/09/2018
Staying at the hostel was 100% better than I expected
100%
Arthur M 16/09/2018
All good except air conditioning is not working.
78%
Karen C 16/09/2018
Best views over the harbour and an amazingly central location ideal for exploring the city.
98%
Nikki T 14/09/2018
Great location - amazing view from the rooftop! Clean, fairly spacious rooms. Had to change rooms midway through my stay, and wasn’t told in advance, which was a bit frustrating / annoying, but other than that no complaints. Great fun vibes!
90%
A P 11/09/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
91%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
89%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL