Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (8608 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    So cheap, so convenient to all the major attractions of Sydney.
    90%
    Joshua G May 2016
    Amazing!! I will definitely come back!
    100%
    Spela B May 2016
    Great hostel!
    98%
    Susanne N May 2016
    nice but... security was low..anyone in the street could walk in at night to the hallway where our room was, and the rooftop garden... the people in our room's alarm went off every hour all night!! and it was sad to see many guests "plugged in" to devices and not interacting... so I have mixed feelings about my stay...
    88%
    Trace B May 2016
    Love this hostel, excellent location, great private rooms and roof top balcony, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sydney and I always recommend it to friends and family
    100%
    Alison W May 2016
    Excellent location. Great roof top view. Will stay here again
    100%
    Lynne S May 2016
    Remarkable location, what a view, amazing base for a visit to Sydney
    90%
    Michael I May 2016
    Very comfortable and my room had a fantastic view over the harbour and Opera House. The hostel is in an interesting and historic area. Very cheap and good breakfasts.
    100%
    Sue A May 2016
    THIS IS THE BEST HI/YHA HOSTEL IN THE WORLD -- FULL STOP!
    100%
    PETER M May 2016
    YHA at the Rocks is built on an archaeological site. The architecture of the hostel is worth an interest. It is also near the Opera House which is within walking distance where much activities takes place. There are supermarkets like Woolworths nearby for food and grocery shopping. I recommend staying at YHA at the Rocks.
    90%
    Yee Kien L May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    94%
    8608 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    94%
    Condition of facilities
    93%
    Efficiency of service
    93%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    91%