Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (8104 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    very good location (near opera house, harbour bridge) fantastic terasse dorms with own bathroom near public transport
    95%
    Tamara Z February 2016
    Only downside is the 2pm Check in but had a great time. Well done.
    90%
    Jonathan H February 2016
    Clean and comfortable bed, staff is always happy to help, rooftop view is amazing
    95%
    Erica Joy R February 2016
    We stayed her as a couple with a 20 year old daughter, we had a double and she was in a dorm room. Loved our room especially the spacious bathroom and the views. Communal facilities were great loved the fact we could have a proper coffee with our breakfast. Front desk very helpful even lent us fly spray when we left the window open one night and go attacked by mosquitoes!!
    95%
    Anthony M February 2016
    Fab place location cannot be beaten if you are lucky you can see the Opera House from your room window- good facilities to cook your own food etc if you wanted too Lots of guests are maturex
    100%
    Margaret julie J February 2016
    An excellent facility, magnificently located and lovely atmosphere with polite, helpful well informed staff members.
    100%
    William T February 2016
    Fantastic location, right at the centre of the Rocks & Circular Quay. Highly recommended
    95%
    Anthony B February 2016
    A great view of the Opera House from room 311.
    85%
    Allison L February 2016
    Great Hostel, Great Location in the Rocks with a big rooftop over looking the Opera House and Harbour. We shared a quad room with own bathroom, very clean and nearly new bathroom, each bed had its own powerpoint and light. Great place to stay on a budget.
    92%
    kelly B February 2016
    This is our 3rd stay here , still a good hostel unfortunately things are not as good as the first few stays staff not as friendly , taken away the smoking section and made it a lot smaller on the roof , kitchen facilities good price more expensive than other hostels
    82%
    Jacqueline L February 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    92%
    8104 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    93%
    Condition of facilities
    93%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    88%