Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

94%
The Rocks, Sydney, NSW

Stay at Sydney's only backpacker hostel in the city's historic harbourside precinct - The Rocks - and enjoy stunning views.

$43
Check availability
Right now in The Rocks, Sydney...
01:24 PM
|
15°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (7186 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I stayed in a private room and it was great. The walls were a bit dirty as something had been spilled on one of them and not wiped up and it had dribbled from almost head height on the wall all the way down to the floor. The bathroom was spacious and clean and the shower fantastic. I loved being provided with towels and soap but would've also appreciated a face washer. The room (or perhaps the whole floor itself?) was quite noisy, but nothing I couldn't put up with. A few months ago I also stayed in a private room and it had a television but this one - room 315 - did not? I was surprised at the inconsistency, as I was looking forward to having a tv, and considering my private room last time had one I thought my private room this time would. Overall a good stay, and a hostel I keep coming back to, even though it's a tough slog to get to even from Wynyard station, let alone Circular Quay! You should warn guests of this when booking, or perhaps offer a shuttle service of some kind from the station/s for those with lots of luggage. I am sure people would pay for such a service. It's a nightmare getting up all of those stairs in The Rocks with luggage, especially in winter or at night, even from Wynyard which a staff member told me once is the station to get off at as 'it has less stairs on that route if you're walking from the station'.
    78%
    Larissa J July 2015
    Brilliant, staff were fantastic, great location and an incredible view.
    100%
    Sam s July 2015
    Great location and fantastic rooms! Loved having power points at the beds and inside the lockers. The bathrooms inside the room were like hotel bathrooms! Excellent views from the roof terrace.
    100%
    Christina G July 2015
    Fantastic location,comfortable rooms. Perfect for our family holiday. Ten of us ranging in age from 4 to 72. Plenty of room for the children to run around. Such a fantastic location and all loved the roof terrace. Can't wait to come again.
    100%
    Penelope B July 2015
    Best Location in Sydney.
    100%
    Marcus V July 2015
    Fantastic location!
    98%
    Lap s July 2015
    Great place to stay at, close to city and all forms of transport.
    98%
    Milton T July 2015
    Friendly staff helped us over the phone to work out how best to accommodate myself, my son and daughter and their teenage student exchange partners. In the end we booked an entire 6 bed dorm which was ideal. It was secure, private big toilet and separate shower offered the kids plenty of privacy. Everyone had their own light and power point, and everyone was very happy. The kitchen was clean huge and well provisioned, and the staff were friendly and helpful. They even have a coffee machine. The location was unbelievable. I would highly recommend this place.
    100%
    Sally M July 2015
    My first Australian Hostel experience but I've now stayed in a few more. I likes the brand new building over the Big Dig and the free pancakes on some mornings. Also, the high tech luggage storage. I would have appreciated them buying my Opal card for the $3 on it, but generally, very nice. I also liked that it was not a backpacker party-all-night hostel, that there were families and people over 30.
    92%
    Robin v July 2015
    Pubs literally on the doorstep and a roof terrace with a view that must be worth hundreds per night at other hotels. Our family stay was thoroughly enjoyable. Whoever thought of lockers with power points and little shelves by the bed with power points and a light is an absolute genius. This hostel has been incredibly well planned for every possibly traveller need.
    100%
    Kate R July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    94%
    7186 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    94%
    Condition of facilities
    95%
    Efficiency of service
    96%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & security
    95%
    Value for money
    88%