Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (8078 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It was all good, but one of the staff took my suitcase out of the room before I checked out....and I kind of freaked out thinking my stuff was stolen
    100%
    Lael H February 2016
    Fantastic spot - you just could not be in a better position to see Sydney!
    100%
    Jennifer B February 2016
    Great overall standard, but not a good idea to follow staff advice to leave windows open and air con off to save power. Got raided by mosquitoes, and spoiled otherwise good sleep.
    90%
    Roger G February 2016
    Overall all the staff where excellent and always happy to help, very clean, with a hard to beat Sydney location.
    98%
    Matthew F February 2016
    It was a Great Location & close to the Main Tourist Locations. Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House & Circular Quay were all in EASY Walking distance, making it completely worthwhile to "do the Tourist thing" & also to use the Ferries to visit other Places of Interest. Had a ball, & I am 66.
    98%
    Kevin C February 2016
    If you are going in summer be aware they want you to keep your windows open instead of using the air conditioning. There are lots of mosquitoes and closing your window is the only way to avoid them. It gets really hot with the windows closed and you will need to go to the front desk to ask for the air conditioning to be turned on -there is no phone in your room. They must have the AC on a timer because it goes off in the middle of the night and to get it back on you need to physically go to the front desk to ask them to turn it on again... I recommend it for it location and views.
    60%
    M L February 2016
    Great location and you pay for it in the price, but the view is worth it, second time I have stayed here, I like it that much, would have stayed longer if I hah the money
    92%
    Julian B February 2016
    Beautifull hotel. Every thing is perfect !!!
    95%
    Sylvie R January 2016
    Well worth the effort of climbing the steps from Circular Quay direction but hard work with cases. Suggest getting off train at Wynyard from the airport and walk straight towards the bridge - an incline but not too bad. It's 7 mins walking down to station and obviously a little bit more uphill but no steps! The storage lockers are extremely useful on last day - $5 for largest size for 4 hours held two medium cases and two small cabin bags. If visiting at a weekend, check out the artists' market in The Rocks. Cannot recommend this YHA highly enough. The location is so good and reception very helpful and friendly. For people interested in Archaeology, the building is beautifully built protecting The Big Dig which can be seen from the huge atrium inside too.
    100%
    Judith J January 2016
    Fantastic place to stay when spending a few days being a tourist in this fabulous city. We live a few hours away and find it so convenient to stay here when travelling by train.
    100%
    Peta F January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    92%
    8078 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    92%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    91%
    Safety & security
    93%
    Value for money
    89%