Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (7701 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It's a YHA so you know exactly what you're getting. The staff here I found to be blah however. Great location by the harbour and the rocks.
    David O November 2015
    The location and the staff are great, the double room was spacious for a hostel, other than that it's so so. Beautiful location also has its drawbacks, because you have to eat in an expensive part of town. I recommend that you do not buy breakfast from the hostel, it's a joke: two toasts and a bit of flakes with milk. You will stay hungry. Buy your own at the grocery store. Also you get to eat from the dishes which are clean as much as the previous user cleaned it. I would rather have that bed linen was simple white and washed after each user, as this colorful which is not changed, except for sheets and skins for pillows. Rooms with a view are not worth the higher price. View worth a million dollars is spoiled with fixed vertical blinds through which you look like in a prison.
    Jasna D November 2015
    This is a great hostel. :)
    Leah L November 2015
    Near to most of the attractions in Sydney CBD.
    Sou Sheng G November 2015
    Cleanest hostel I have stayed at. Comfy Beds, 5min walk to the city
    Rhiannon M November 2015
    People young, old, travellers and people visiting from interstate stay here. This is not a typical backpackers hostel. I was pleasantly surprised!
    Paige A November 2015
    Best location in Sydney
    Christopher R November 2015
    The facilities were wonderful and the staff not only friendly but very helpful and efficient.
    Robert H November 2015
    Great place to stay with plenty of seating in the common area on the first floor.
    Jessica L November 2015
    Excellent location and very clean hostel. Staff very efficient.
    Judy W November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    7701 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money