Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

What travellers think
Reviews (12698 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great location for visits to attractions and also the train services
85%
Alexander Keith C 16/01/2019
Very pleasant hostel. Some easy changes would make it super hostel.
90%
Helja K 15/01/2019
Fantastic place to stay was especially loving the archeological site around and underneath us. What a fantastic way to preserve and display our past. View from rooftop was one of the best in Sydney. Recommend to anyone.
100%
Glenn S 15/01/2019
I stayed here my first few days landing in Sydney from Canada. The atmosphere is quiet and family/not youth oriented, which was great for recovering from the exhaustion and jet lag, but if you’re looking to meet a young party crowd maybe not the place. Really great location, super close to the opera house, ferries and trains. Would stay again if I needed a relaxing stay for a goodnight price.
98%
Nicole Breanne N 14/01/2019
Awesome vibe ! Loved the rooftop terrace. I’m not one to makes friends easy but I must say your establishment facilitated that. Had a problem with my card key demagnitizing all the time on the first day. Fixed it myself by placing it in a folded sheet of paper, away from my wallet. You could offer simple paper sleeves if this is a recurring problem. That’s the only negative thing. Everything else was simply great. If I come back to Sydney I’m booking here.
98%
Martin D 12/01/2019
We really liked our stay and overall experience. Big thanks to the staff at the reception- especially lovely Martha.
98%
Kamil K 12/01/2019
We had the NYE package for 1 week of $1988.00 and the housekeeping staff made our bed once out of seven days which we considered a very poor service. We know that this is s hostel but with the amount we paid we expected a very good service and we were very “DISAPPOINTED”. The housekeeping failed to provide our daily supply of sachets of Coffee, Tea and milk, and I had to write a note asking for these items. Again on 5th of January they failed to supply these items.You need to improve hsekeeping!
90%
Gliceria H 10/01/2019
Best location & view in Sydney!! Great value
100%
Alison T 10/01/2019
Highly recommend this place to others nationally and internationally
98%
Michael W 10/01/2019
All good, will recommend
100%
Sharon A 09/01/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
91%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
87%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL