COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Voted the Best Mega Hostel by YHA Guests in 2018

What travellers think
Reviews (14757 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I loved the roof top terrasse !!! It is a typical " big city YH", very efficient, well organised and equipped, but the staff can't clean th e shared space ( kitchen..) as fast as the guests are making it look dirty again. But there is absolutely nothing to complain about. Friendly and welcoming staff, a big kitchen, clean rooms and a reception open 24/7. The location is unbeatable!
92%
Anya B 08/04/2021
Really nice hostel, quiet and clean, with a gorgeous view of the opera from the rooftop :) My dorm had a private bathroom so it felt like being in a hotel. Nice common areas Plenty of nice sightseeing/activities suggestions on the board Big & well equipped kitchen Only negative points : - they don't keep your luggage for free, you gotta pay for a locker if you wanna store it - a bit away from the public transportation stops and from any supermarket - not much atmosphere (it was quite empty)
92%
Morgane B 07/04/2021
Brilliant - value for money, clean, great facilities and awesome view of the harbour/opera house. Amazing kitchen - about 8 areas to cook!
100%
Hazel k 06/04/2021
Perfect location boasting the grand view of harbour bridge and opera house. Friendly staff, and clean hostel.
92%
Ninad K 06/04/2021
Loved the location, the facilities, the friendliness. Unbeatable value for money
100%
Catherine L 05/04/2021
Went with a group of friends - absolutely perfect amenities for our two night stay- fulfilled all our requirements
98%
Brenda W 05/04/2021
I have stayed at YHA The Rocks a number of times before, and have always found it very clean and handy to my favourite part of Sydney - The Rocks!
98%
Janette L 04/04/2021
It's 40 years between visits to YHA. I stayed after being told about it by someone my age from Melbourne who syayed and it is remarkable how good it was.
100%
Edgars O 01/04/2021
Great experience. No complaints
100%
Allan F 31/03/2021
We loved it. The AC overnight was the only slight issue. Room was a little warm even with this operating but would be great in the cooler months.
100%
Vaughan P 30/03/2021

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

94%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
89%
Condition of facilities
92%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
98%
Location
99%
Overall atmosphere
91%
Safety & Security
97%
Value for Money
94%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

YHA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia. We acknowledge and pay our respects to Elders past, present, emerging and the extended Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island community.