Search YHA

Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (8523 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This hostel has one of the best location in Sydney. The Rocks neighborhood is lovely and Circular Quay is within walking distance. You can even have the view of Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House at the hostel rooftop. I love the spacious kitchen and lobby. The TV room is great too. We stayed in 6 female en-suite dorm. It is clean and spacious. The locker design is great and the room layout is very convenient and have appropriate privacy for everyone.
    88%
    Ying Ying K May 2016
    Pros: Amazing hostel. Clean rooms, except from some stains on the bed sheets. Private toilet and shower in room. Great lobby area with a big kitchen. Cons: Slow internet (free wifi only in lobby). You have to rent a towel for 2$, which isn't too bad. We asked if we could leave our bags at the reception for a few hours. They refused and told us we have to rent out a locker by the hour.
    95%
    Vahan Y May 2016
    Rooms with en suite are better than the Youth Hostels we have stayed in before. It is in an excellent position easy walk to harbour boats, buses. Lovely terrace to eat breakfast and lovely roof top seating area with view of bridge (and opera house if there isn't a cruise ship in!)
    100%
    Judith C May 2016
    Good hostel, very noisy. No sound proofing. Other guests have no concept of quiet time. Had some parents allowing this kids to run around at 6 am, slamming doors and banging against walls with no repercussions. Did that for 4 days. Otherwise great location, and friendly staff. Go on the Coogee to Bondi walking tour with Gemma she's awesome! :)
    92%
    Erin B May 2016
    Very pleasant short stay. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Great staff and great location. Definitely recommend YHA to my friends.
    100%
    Marilyn M May 2016
    Although this property was a little pricey for a hostel, we would stay there again at any time. The location and the short distances make this hostel ideal for short stays and for discovering the city.
    80%
    Patrick P May 2016
    unfortunately on my second day i bought a 40 dollar running vest which was stolen from the Laundry apart from this the hostel is in good location with good staff
    85%
    neil g May 2016
    The overall experience was very good. The rooms and kitchen were very clean. The atmosphere was very good.
    100%
    Brenda B May 2016
    This was a fantastic location with a beautiful from the terrace
    100%
    leigh o May 2016
    Family room with bathroom appeared tired and a little sad.
    85%
    Don L April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    95%
    8523 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    96%
    Condition of facilities
    94%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    95%
    Safety & security
    97%
    Value for money
    91%