Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Harbour YHA - The Rocks

What travellers think
Reviews (12387 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I think when you pay $175 with a discounted price for a private room you expect a tv, fridge and internet in your room but we didn’t so I think it’s a bit overpriced
55%
Robert M 14/11/2018
I liked the vibe of this hostel. Staff was great, lots of free activities too. Biggest complaint is I was in a room under the kitchen room that they save for schools. Every morning you hear the chairs dragging across the floor and it’s non stop from 7-9AM. It’s SO loud. I wish they’d place students in large groups like this on the bottom floors so that normal guests like me wouldn’t be disturbed every morning. I was there for 5 nights and it was brutal. Request a room on a higher floor to avoid
90%
Shelly Y 14/11/2018
Best place to stay in Sydney. Awesome roof top view. Nice size rooms. Everything is clean. Location is great being so close to circular quay.
100%
Michelle F 12/11/2018
Great hostel, great location, clean, good information of things to do in the area, kind helpful staff on the front desk.. id stay again :)
100%
Mellisa R 11/11/2018
A great location & a great vibe!
98%
Susan K 10/11/2018
Best location ever!
78%
Vicki E 09/11/2018
More hamburgers available on the Friday night would have been perfect. The hostel had amazing views of Sydney. The staff were incredibly helpful. A perfect start to our holiday, thanks
100%
Penny B 08/11/2018
I can't say enough good things about YHA - Sydney Harbour The Rocks. Other than a steep climb up the stairs and the poor wifi, the place was a fantastic location to stay especially while touring the city. It is conveniently located near transit and the Sydney Harbour. The staff there was exceptional in making sure I accomplished my goals while visiting Sydney. I highly recommend this place!
98%
Christopher G 07/11/2018
When in Sydney my choice of places to stay
92%
Paul A 05/11/2018
All good except room was very warm.
82%
Ronaid A 04/11/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

93%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
92%
Condition of facilities
92%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
92%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL