Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (2115 guests have reviewed this hostel)
super nice staff
100%
Pat R 14/02/2018
This was one of the cleanest and most modern hostel I've stayed in so far. Can't beat the location. Keep up the good work!
90%
Andrea T 13/02/2018
I thoroughly enjoyed the stay, especially the extremely warm welcome and help from the receptionist, although there was quite a long wait, owing to previous customers' needs. However, it was disappointing that there was a lack of recycling facilities within the hostel.
98%
Kathleen E 12/02/2018
It's very good hostel located in hobart city center. Most of places are from walkable distance or bus station is just 2 min walking distance. They keep have Tuesday movie show with some food items so that you can chat with each other. They have some notice boards where you can put information like sharing cars for Tassie tour. Reception staff is very helpful and they can help you to find lot of tour details. They have luggage storage where u can dump the extra luggage to collect afterward
100%
Sumit J 07/02/2018
If i come back to Hobart i come back to this hostel for sure .loved it.thank you👍👍👍
100%
Christiane B 07/02/2018
The hostel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I got to meet people and made three Facebook friends with dorm-mates. Canapes and wine in the TV room on Saturday night with the TV off made for social conversation and meeting people from other nations. However I am not impressed with the layout, having to climb three flights of stairs with luggage, OK for me but certainly not for disabled people. The kitchen was tiny and cramped, most of the dining chairs were bar stools. The only lounge area was a small TV room. This is caused by the building YHA Ltd is (presumably) renting or leasing, may I suggest they consider an alternative more spacious and disabled-friendly venue.
85%
John M 04/02/2018
Location and staff are excellent. Kitchen is far too small!! Pub downstairs in very busy until 11.30pm if staying on 1st floor.
82%
Victoria P 01/02/2018
The kitchen is way too small for that many people. You basically got to queue for cooking and its not easy to find a place where you can sit down and eat your meal. Staff was superfriendly what we really appreciated but that couldn't make up for the poor facilities especially the kitchen.
68%
Philipp C 31/01/2018
Multi-share room (6) very small - insufficient space for luggage and not enough electrical plugs Light was burnt in bathroom and wasn’t replaced for a while despite mentioning it at reception Kitchen TOTALLY insufficient for the number of guests: 1 stove, 1 fridge, not enough seating, not very clean, not inviting at all Had a great experience in YHA’s between Melbourne and Adelaide - some are fantastic, but the Hobart YHA installations fall short. Staff is however very friendly!
70%
Jens B 29/01/2018
I found the staff very helpful and friendly. The kitchen is too small for that many people, but there are heaps of bathrooms.
98%
Catherine R 27/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
80%
Condition of facilities
80%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
85%
Value for Money
82%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL