Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (2533 guests have reviewed this hostel)
We had a great time in Hobart and especially enjoyed the sights (Mt. Wellington, Port Arthur, Bruny Island). The YHA staff was very friendly!
85%
Carlos M 13/02/2019
We booked the ACCESS double room with facilities as my partner is older and has a walking stick. We found this room excellent and really appreciated having our own fridge in our room. We had a lovely time doing Hobart and surrounds stuff mostly to do with Boats. We were there for the Wooden Boat Festival and its was perfect as it was within my partners walking range to the warfs.
95%
Francesca S 12/02/2019
Great central location with parking around the corner.
88%
Jeremy G 12/02/2019
Well located, that’s all.
50%
Hortense B 11/02/2019
Amazing place to stay
95%
Sylvia B 09/02/2019
Sarah was great at reception. Got a really bad guest who put a vapouriser on at night when 35 degrees not impressed with her.
82%
Michele 09/02/2019
Very helpful, friendly staff, Room above pub on Sat night very noisy, midweek room further away and slept well,Thank you
90%
Viveka C 08/02/2019
Good location in city centre.
75%
Man Tin K 07/02/2019
Right in the heart of Hobart. A block from the water (MONA ferry, markets, cafes); a block in the other direction and you're on the main CBD street. Didn't need to even catch a bus anywhere - just walked out the door. Not much going on socially - the common area is small, and you're walking through a maze of hallways and closed doors. If you are looking for the beer pong championships and a big open common space to meet people, this ain't the place. But it's cheap and the staff are friendly.
98%
Tim C 07/02/2019
Great hostel. Not sure if eco friendly or good wifi...didn’t use wifi and wasn’t around much. Room was perfect. Maybe more brochures...but otherwise loved it. Location is perfect.
100%
Suzanne A 04/02/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
76%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
84%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL