Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (2234 guests have reviewed this hostel)
BEST YHA I’ve ever stayed in. The staff and vibe feels like coming home every time ♥️ The location CANNOT be beat and puts you right in the center of it all. Coffee shops, restaurants, waterfront, museums, grocery stores, public transit, everything you need.
100%
Adriana P 22/06/2018
Neat, comfortable and friendly helpful staff.
100%
Julia G 22/06/2018
Had a great time - just. Shame I was too busy with assignments to socialise more... Sandra and Ruby were fantastic!
100%
Jonathan H 22/06/2018
Good hostel with everything in walking distance. Also very friendly staff and everything was so clean! Especially the bathrooms I haven’t seen a hostel this clean in a long time so I really loved that!
82%
Annemijn V 22/06/2018
What a lovely place to stay! Very central location and super friendly staff. Always very clean and a great atmosphere with activities (amazing hot chocolate and pancakes). Kitchen could be bigger but that's the only downside.
100%
Alana C 21/06/2018
Fantastic hostel, the most friendly staff and an amazing location! My favourite part of my trip to Hobart was going to the top of mount Wellington! Which the lovely lady on the front desk of the hostel helped me book! Thank you YHA! I will be back!
100%
Caitriona S 11/06/2018
The receptionists, Ruby and the other guy (who helped solve our key card issues), we're really friendly! Thank you for letting me feel welcomed. Further info that may interest future short term travellers - The hostel provides bed linen, pillow and duvet, the shared toilets have hairdryers installed, kitchen fairly equipped with utensils. Bring your own towel and soup though.
78%
S S 10/06/2018
Great hostel. Perfect location for exploring Hobart and for connecting to tours around Tasmania. Staff are very friendly and always happy to help with any questions and booking tours. Free wifi is a plus and a decent can’t size tv room. Would definitely recommend this place to my friends and other backpackers. There’s a bar on the corner of the street where the hostel is located and can be noisy at weekends. But that’s out of the control of the staff. It wasn’t a problem for me.
100%
Dee S 05/06/2018
The care and help I received was amazing. I felt that all the staff were there to ensure that I had a great Tasmanian Holiday. I frequently felt that I was the only person in the hostel and all the staff were going out of their way to find out what I wanted to do, even thought I had no idea. I felt very cherished. (At the same time the staff were doing the same thing for other 'guests' of the Youth Hostel.)I had an amazing holiday, with a mix of tours and quieter days to explore museums
100%
Gabrielle J 31/05/2018
Would be great to know about parking options for those with rentals
98%
Pete R 31/05/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
84%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL