Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (2652 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Loved it, cheap and very central. Good staff and nice rooms.
90%
Declan B 22/04/2019
We had room 21, an ensuite double. Comfortable enough, but the small window looks out onto a metal fire escape and close proximity buildings. If you strain your neck you can just see the sky. Friendly, obliging staff.
88%
Crawford D 21/04/2019
The room: (for a hostel) spacious, clean and a clothing rack was provided. Situated above a bar though so there was a lot of noise. The bathrooms pretty clean, good showers, eco-toiletpaper and notice about recycling. The kitchen: nice vibe but way too small Safety: Cardkey to open dormroom and the frontdoor, however the frontdoor would be propped open till after sunset sometimes. Staff: nice, friendly staff
78%
Myléna Q 21/04/2019
No complains ^^
95%
Anna S 20/04/2019
Hostel is very tired and dated. Rooms are pokey and facilities not very good. But staff were lovely and friendly. Will not stay again or recommend it to others.
82%
Beatrice D 20/04/2019
The hostel od fine, The down side is The noisy pub downstairs and The frequent beep ond the pedestrian crossing. No lockers. I raised a concern that fire doors were wedged open despite signs to say this should not happen. The doors were shut but The wedges remained. This is a serious concern if there was a fire it could prove fatalne.
75%
Glynis 20/04/2019
This is an excellent hostel (3 floors) and it's centrally located to most places of interest. It's a gem. The negative, however, is that there's no elevator so travel lightly. Good exercise though. As the kitchen is small, it's wise to choose a time when most guests will not be operating. No problem really as it is opened all day. The bed is sturdy and very comfortable. There was absolutely no noise disturbance of any kind. Kudos to the staff for being very friendly and accommodating.
98%
Victor Oliver A 18/04/2019
Very helpful And friendly staffs. Great location, very convinient !
100%
Sisilia W 14/04/2019
They helped me out in a pinch. Staff was beyond great. When I checked out I left some of my hiking stuff behind for the others to have. The staff had me wanting to give back. Genuinely enjoyed my stay. Would have stayed longer but couldn't cancel a previous reservation.
100%
Lawrence E 12/04/2019
convenient location, nice room, mostly clean facilities
82%
Natalie B 12/04/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
83%
Safety & Security
89%
Value for Money
85%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL