Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (2413 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Small kitchen, small lounge room far from the kitchen. Not enough commune area to feel at ease. Bathroom and dorms modern and clean. Staff friendly Very well located in Hobart
85%
Mathieu L 15/12/2018
Rooms are good, plenty of bathrooms/showers, great location in Hobart. But the kitchen is so small! Too small for a hostel of that size. Living room too small too and too far from the kitchen.
95%
Martin C 15/12/2018
Very friedly staff.
100%
Veronika E 14/12/2018
Kitchen is tiny, lounge is very small with aweful kitchen fumes from below.. and only limited costly paid kerbside parking is available..
55%
Goo A 13/12/2018
I did not try the wifi so no comment there. The two ladies at reception were both very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. The room was spotless. I have stayed at almost every hostel during my 4 visits to Hobart and this is the best one. It's not the cheapest but with location, staff and cleanliness, it is the best.
95%
Joan C 09/12/2018
We stayed in 23 and had the delight of being noisily awoken at 4.00am by an employee of the pub emptying empty bottles into a container. The noise was amplified by the location of the room above the pub's back door.
100%
David C 07/12/2018
the temperature in the room was way too hot with only one little window to change the air. No communal room where to gather and talk to other people. never saw a hostel with 3 level of stairs to go into your room without a lift. No in between sheet for the bed.
68%
Eva C 07/12/2018
Good facilities and staff. Bit noisy.
100%
Heather W 05/12/2018
Small cramped kitchen once more than 3 people are in there together.
52%
Greg N 03/12/2018
Everything was really good, location was perfect, staff very friendly and I felt very safe
92%
Grace C 02/12/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
79%
Condition of facilities
76%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
82%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL