Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (2034 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Me gustó en la esquina un buen bar y restaurant y en la otrs cuadrados un gran supermercado Buena ubicación para salir a recorrer Hobarth
85%
Raul A 12/12/2017
Lovely stay. No soap in any of the bath rooms.
90%
Janice K 11/12/2017
Great location in heart of Hobart. Standard of cleanliness has dropped in last few years. lots more mould in shower recesses. Rooms not vacuumed well with rubbish in bed lockers and behind beds. stains on mattresses. Still a great location but cleanliness is letting the place down. Its just about setting and maintaining a standard even if the facilities are a bit worn.
75%
Alex R 10/12/2017
Great location, friendly staff, clean sheets, creaky bed, floor needed a vacuum...
90%
Denis C 09/12/2017
The hostel desperately needs a bigger/better kitchen. Almost everyone staying wanted to use it but found it far too cramped!
95%
James T 06/12/2017
The kitchen is far too small to accommodate the huge amount of guests and was very dirty. There is nowhere to sit down and chill/eat next to the kitchen which means it isn’t very good for socializing and the kitchen is even more crowded than it needs to be with people eating. It’s very noisy at night due to the pub downstairs and traffic, although I appreciate this can’t be helped it means you don’t get a good nights sleep. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bathrooms were nice. There’s plenty of space in the dorm rooms which is good and the beds are comfty.
78%
Lucy G 05/12/2017
I had a very positive experience at yha Hobart...clean, excellent location with very friendly helpful staff....always a cheery smile behind the desk giving some good information. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay again!
98%
Sonja 05/12/2017
Great location near to wharf, Museum, - and the Whole Pigeon Bakery across the road! Lovely staff. Yes, there is a bit of noise from nearby venue emptying garbage at the wrong hours! However, if you have been out and about and are tired it should not overly disturb you.
90%
Collette B 01/12/2017
Staff deserve a 6 out of 5. I very much enjoyed my stay. Thanks a lot.
100%
Karin Z 01/12/2017
Location is excellent.
92%
Barbara R 01/12/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
customer rating, based on 2034 reviews
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
86%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL