Search YHA

Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1796 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Easy to get around as it is local and very central to Hobart. Staff very friendly. Nice piece and quiet and easy to sleep.
    88%
    George P February 2017
    I wasn't a fan of this hostel. The kitchen was WAY too small and it felt dirty. The bedrooms also felt dirty. No proper lounge area or big open spaces... the atmosphere was missing. There were no plug ins in the bedroom to charge our stuff... at least have an extension cord with a power bar. Surely people know that charging cameras is pretty important in Tasmania?? There were no lockers to secure passports or valuables. These all feel like very obvious and basic necessities for a hostel. I appreciated the hot showers and the location was perfect.
    65%
    Robyn g February 2017
    Kitchen and common room are ridiculously small and uncomfortable. Bathrooms are individual, spacious and pretty clean
    55%
    Celine S February 2017
    Great hostel, lots of space in dorms. Love the tv room, great place to meet people. Location couldn't be better.
    88%
    Danielle S February 2017
    The only reason I said average for the facilities was the shower head was very low and the adjustments were broken which meant I had to do a weird yoga pose to get under the shower, but other than that the room was great.
    80%
    Shawnee D February 2017
    Room and public area are nice and clean. Staff are nice and willing to help. 😁😁😁
    100%
    YUNHSIN C February 2017
    No lockers in rooms and tiny kitchen. Good location and friendly staff.
    85%
    Yvonne W February 2017
    Nice and quiet hostel, friendly staff and a great Canadian;)
    92%
    Evelien February 2017
    The shared facilities are way to small for the number of beds/People in hostel. Room for max. 6 People in kitchen and it was chaos in the morning when 15-20 People were trying to make breakfast before heading out on tours. Staff friendly and Location great, central to everything, but very noisy in rooms on 3rd floor from traffic light bip's and cars/trucks breaking etc. Heard that hostel will be renovated in 2018, so it will probably be better after that.
    68%
    M H February 2017
    I needed the privacy the night that I stayed at the hostel so it was worth it, but the price seemed a little high ... having said that .. I did not compare prices too much in Hobart. I was happy overall for sure.
    98%
    Sinead A. Q January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    1796 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    76%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & Security
    83%
    Value for Money
    75%