Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1888 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Super friendly staff and very nice and central location.
    95%
    Felix B May 2017
    Good location, very clean, and great to have pancakes some mornings. But... the kitchen is very small, and we could hear the street's noise (signal for pedestrians to cross the road) from our dorm.
    85%
    Sylvie D May 2017
    The best hostel I have ever stayed in!
    100%
    JIAJING May 2017
    Lack of shower and toilet access, took over an hour, too few for too many people and having toilet in with shower meant that 3 floors down to an accessible toilet. Hard to meet time commitments and even be out by 10am Also keycard locked me out at 5am...stopped working, sat very cold in nightie in kitchen for over an hour. Mobile phone emergency contact not accessible, worried for the rest of my stay
    80%
    Edwina B May 2017
    Hostel is very clean. Kitchen is a bit too small.
    85%
    Maren S May 2017
    Had the best shower ever had in a hostel here.
    100%
    Arthur May 2017
    Wonderful stay- staff were excellent!
    100%
    Bobby P May 2017
    Great central location. Rooms were warm and bathrooms were always clean. Nadia and the team were always helpful with directions and advice. I loved the free fitness routine that came with our top level room!!!
    95%
    James D May 2017
    We'll be back! This hostel is a great place to start any Tassie adventure. Comfy beds. Quiet room. Great staff. Excellent food in the pub next door.
    95%
    Julie L May 2017
    Amazing location so close to the harbour and wonderful friendly staff that always go the extra mile
    100%
    Di C May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    89%
    customer rating, based on 1888 reviews
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & Security
    89%
    Value for Money
    85%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!