Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (2806 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The family room was very comfortable, good bed, linen and pillows. Toilet seat was detached (room 22). The hostel is a bit of a rabbit warrren, that can't be helped. The kitchen was woefully inadequate and there was no where to eat a meal except one tiny table with two seats and a couple of awkward benches with stools all crammed into the badly laid out kitchen.
65%
James R 18/10/2019
Excellent. Friendly atmosphere, very helpful staff. Fellow guests were also lovely.
100%
Ingrid V 15/10/2019
It was the best hostel that I been in Australia. I already been in other hostels of group YHA but the others don't compare with this hostel.
100%
Ana Filipa A 15/10/2019
I home I will come soon again in Tasmania. And rest at YHA
100%
Patrick Germain Bernard S 13/10/2019
David on reception very welcoming and super helpful to a novice older traveller.
98%
Susan R 12/10/2019
It was by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Cheers!
100%
Pablo H 09/10/2019
Loved the staff and hostel room.
100%
Chantal L 07/10/2019
The staff there was so nice and provided many constructive advices about our itinerary and transportation. The location was also good. The hostel located at the city centre of Hobart.
95%
Wing Sum I 06/10/2019
Perfect. It was exactly how I expected.
100%
Corey E 06/10/2019
Good hostel centrally located in the CBD. The staff are friendly and helpful. My only complaints are that the kitchen is small and inadequate and there's no lift. Also, I went on the Famous 5 Day Tour and Port Arthur Tour (the ones that can be booked through the YHA site) and they were excellent so I would definitely recommend them.
78%
Evan S 03/10/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL