Search YHA

Hobart Central YHA

  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1348 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Perfect hostel location within Hobart City, close to everything, staffs are friendly.
    Rendy S November 2015
    Kitchen and rooms are rather small. Staff is very friendly. Bathrooms withhahairdryer!
    Annette S November 2015
    Overall good. But kitchen is pretty small, and rooms on the first floor tend to be noisy as there is a pub right below. No elevator. Liked the individual bathrooms as each has a shower and toilet.
    Martina S November 2015
    Very friendly and helpful staff. Underdimensioned kitchen, and little common areas.
    Torsten N November 2015
    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Under-dimensioned kitchen, and poor common areas.
    Torsten N November 2015
    Location above the pib garantees that no sleep is to be had in the weekends. Contrary to assurances fo the staff, the music played on till 3:00 pm!!
    Jeanette November 2015
    great location,close to shopping area, supermarket, harbor and restaurant.
    Haitao W November 2015
    Overall is good especially bathroom but the kithen is so small. There is no lift for traveller to carry a large lugguage on the third floor. Noise is often found with vehices. Base on central place of the city near CBD. It is OK for buget.
    janny H November 2015
    Really friendly and helpfull staff. Got a room for 4 people for myself. Not crowded, clean bathrooms!
    Jana V November 2015
    If you're going to book this YHA, think carefully. The staff wouldn't tell you there's a bar right down the rooms. And the walls, ceilings are very thin that you can easily hear the music the noise that made from the bar. I booked the yha because I'm yha member and saw the overall review of this yha was pretty good. However that was a big mistake. I walked into the check-in counter, decided to stay for 2 night. The first night I couldn't sleep AT ALL. Because the people at the bar played music loudly, shout, sang loudly - not just till midnight( which I thought it should end at 00:00), but they kept making noise until about 4 to 5 o'clock in the morning. That just rediculous! The next day in the morning I talked to the male staff, whose attitude was very unfriendly and unwelcoming, the worst thing is he didn't even try to deal with the problem or try to ask the bar to stop making noise. Instead, he remain stubborn, saying something like "the bar stop making noise until 2am, there's won't be a bar today, LIE! The staff didn't even stay at the hostel, he didn't even know how bad the noise was! And on Sunday morning the bar still continue playing loud music with some stupid crazy people. The staff of the hostel remain doing NOTHING about it, can't even promise there won't be any noise. What a easy job! Just take traveler's money and provide poor quality. When they can't promise resident prospective sleeping quality or fix the problem, they won't return your money back. They were giving no respect to others at all. Rooms' location are bad, the bar downstairs is noisy, staff reluctant to help or fix the problem, bad attitude. Think carefully before you book it. Staying at Hobart yha was my worst experience ever in Tasmania.
    CHIN-HUI Y November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1348 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money