Search YHA

Hobart YHA

  • Customer reviews of Hobart YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1298 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very good location. Very friendly staff. Hot bath water and plenty of toilets. Great wifi. Very good stay overall. Many thanks!! Only two problems. No.1 This hostel is right next to a bar, which can be noisy overnight. No.2 The room kind of smelled of alcohol...coming from the bar?
    100%
    Lubin X August 2015
    I am delighted to be returning again next week to this hostel: it was all the things I wanted and needed and was most welcoming. Staff were exceptionally welcoming, friendly, helpful: 100% recommendation to anyone considering staying here - DO IT! I am really looking forward to my return soon.
    100%
    Kathleen E August 2015
    I have stayed in both the dorms and private rooms and love Montgomery's. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Hobart. Location is perfect and staff are extremely helpful - nothing's too much trouble. Looking forward to my next stay there.
    95%
    Janine T August 2015
    Another good stay at this hostel. Clean, warm and a great location. The only negative being some very loud, drunk young guys staying in neighbouring rooms causing disturbances late at night. Otherwise it was great.
    98%
    Jacob J August 2015
    The hostel is close to the harbour but a bit far from the Transit Centre where you take long distance buses. The staff are very friendly and helpful, sorting out questions and finding solutions for you. The down side is there is no lift and you need to climb stair cases for 3rd or 2nd or 1st floor.
    90%
    Bit Mo H August 2015
    Very friendly staff, and great rooms!
    100%
    Andreas U July 2015
    Warm, comfortable and friendly experience. Very well located and helpful staff. We had a room with a bath which was a lovely bonus! And Hobart itself was an absolute delight.
    95%
    Karen R July 2015
    I met some great people there.
    98%
    Tjaart V July 2015
    Room booked for four was way too small. If we were told this earlier we would have booked the dorms or something will a little more space. Doona covers not washed between guests. Tons of noise from the pub next door till the early hours of the morning. Great convenient location though and helpful, friendly reception lady.
    70%
    Sam S July 2015
    The staff at this hostel is phenomenal! The hostel itself is very clean and nice with TV lounges and free internet. I also enjoyed the restaurant/bar next door with amazing hamburgers! It is also located in an excellent position downtown Hobart! I would recommend this hostel to anyone.
    100%
    Katie P July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    1298 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    91%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    89%