Search YHA

Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1612 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We had a great stay, the hostel is in a great location and parking is relatively easy as well. Staff are friendly and helpful, well equipped kitchen and comfy beds. A great base for exploring the city.
    100%
    Alan P August 2016
    A great location in Hobart, only a short walk to the waterfront, information centre and Hobart city centre. The hostel was clean and staff were helpful and friendly.
    100%
    Jess August 2016
    The hostel was very quiet, I had a whole room almost to myself for 10 nights. This made it hard to meet people, which is the whole reason i wanted to stay in a hostel in first place. However, it was good value for a whole room to myself. The facilities were basic but had everything I needed.
    70%
    Elizabeth G July 2016
    Location couldn't be more central. Friendly helpful staff.
    98%
    philippa D July 2016
    I stayed in this hostel for almost two weeks, I really enjoyed the atmosphere there, easy-going staffs who helped me a lot, clean bedroom and bath rooms, and the opportunity to make new friends! It made me feel like home, I love this YHA most comparing other YHA hostel around the world. I will definitely recommend my friends to live here!
    100%
    YUYAO C July 2016
    The staff is very helpful and accomondating. People I met there are quite nice and easy-going. Very convenient place in the city. You won't be disappointed.
    85%
    Eureka G July 2016
    I have travelled most of the world cycling. Always stay in YHA/HI Hostels, when I can, because they are better than the average hostel. This hostel met all my expectations and attracts a better standard of backpacker. The staff were great. I made one request, which regarded signage. It was not urgent. The matter was dealt with straight away, which made me feel good as I was not complaining. It is a great hostel, centrally located and the dorms have a spacious feeling and there is no problem re security. I note I am 68 and never felt too old in the place, although I am well used to staying in hostels. I would recommend any venturous person which to break out to give it a go. By the way, thank you for organising me with a ticket for the shuttle bus to the airport. Well done.
    100%
    Victor T July 2016
    The staff are really friendly, I had a good experience in here.
    95%
    Hang Ting N July 2016
    Safe and nice place well situated in Hobart. Beside, towels were provided. However NO locker in the room and like other people I really found the place noisy. The hostel is itself is good but the traffic made me unable to sleep the first night. The second night was better as I was tired after a full day tour but if you are a light sleeper, definitly avoid room 105-111. Nevertheless, the staff was really friendly and helpful!!
    80%
    Blanche R June 2016
    We stayed in a family room which had a fridge, tv and ensuite. We needed an extra blanket and it was put in our room. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Great location just on edge of city.
    98%
    Shireen M June 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    1612 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    80%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    97%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    85%