Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1866 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    friendly people. great location. great experience
    100%
    Richard C April 2017
    Great location, quiet, possible to walk everywhere. So you can drink and party when you want, sleep great when you desire. The best part of my stay here was the staff, really friendly and let me change my bookings about 3 times. Thanks for the extrem patience!
    90%
    Anamaria S April 2017
    Great location. Friendly staff. Clean hostel.
    100%
    Linda April 2017
    Good experience, very friendly and helpful staff. Although the kitchen is a little bit small, but it is a nice place to stay in, still.
    88%
    Jenny Y April 2017
    The cost was pretty high.
    90%
    Jennifer W April 2017
    This YHA is immaculately clean and freshly decorated. The kitchen is small but well equipped with everything needed to cook a meal. Guests leave food behind which is marked FREE and kept in fridge for future guests. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the location is superb, right near waterfront and main shopping centre. Beds are very comfortable, shared rooms are great and cheap and I also stayed in a private room with ensuite, fridge and TV for around $130 per night. Top place!
    100%
    Robin S April 2017
    Great location. Nice hot water, heater in room, clean good quality bed linen.
    68%
    Michele b April 2017
    It is great overall but the noise from the road lets it down. Maybe double glazing would help. Otherwise we love it and will be back. There is always ear plugs πŸŒˆπŸ³πŸ°πŸ’—πŸ‘£take care we love love love Tasi and hobart
    98%
    Julie K April 2017
    Parking close to the hostel may be problematic if arriving before 6pm, however we were lucky enough to find a free parking spot for the day on Saturday in Argyle St (closer to the docks area), within 50m of the hostel.
    88%
    Alan D April 2017
    Very clean - calm - well situated only 400m from the harbor - the kitchen is well equipped but rather small only 10 chairs - at the reception everybody is always helpfull
    98%
    Eddy V April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    87%
    customer rating, based on 1866 reviews
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    81%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    93%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    82%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!