Search YHA

Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1548 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Enjoyed my stay here very much! The staff were lovely, the cleaner even found me sleeping in lounge (I arrived very early in the morning) and went straight to clean the room I was staying in so I could check in. The lounge was average, you wouldn't know there was one there if you weren't on the first floor. The kitchen is also very small, however they did keep it very clean and plenty of kitchen appliances. No lifts so if your on the top floor it's a bit of a climb. Also, if you're taller than 5"3 you have to bend down to wash your hair. Overall, the place was very tidy and staff were always friendly! Will stay here again if I come back to Hobart.
    88%
    Corienne M April 2016
    Nice hostel with friendly staff. The kitchen is quite small, the TV room is a bit far off, so you dont really meet that many other people.
    78%
    Katharins G April 2016
    I was amazed at the number of bathrooms in this hostel. Never had to wait for a shower or toilet. TV lounge is on 1st floor. Kitchen is on the ground floor.
    100%
    Alfred B April 2016
    Very, very dusty; my son and I both have hay-fever and were both sneezing continuously. Also the heater thermostat was not working properly (staff advised that they should have been serviced but were not) and the blankets were not very warm so we froze at night. Windows streaked with dirt and window blind dirty. Staff helpful but overall poor value for money.
    50%
    MAX B April 2016
    Very poor kitchenarea, poor lounge, no rooms to meet people. Very noisy (street and bar). Uncomfortable and old bed/ matress.
    50%
    Natali April 2016
    Nice place, very easy to reach from the airport by shuttle, accommodation is comfortable and clean and staff is really very kind. I recommend. : )
    100%
    Michael J April 2016
    Very friendly staff!
    100%
    Cindy I April 2016
    Great clean and friendly hostel, private rooms were spacious and well equipped.
    100%
    Camilla J April 2016
    Friendly staff.very close to the harbour.
    80%
    Amelie B April 2016
    Sooooo noisy from the pub downstairs and the busy road right outside my room.
    65%
    Annette A April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    1548 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    75%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    93%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & security
    84%
    Value for money
    79%