Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1943 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Clean, comfortable hostel with plenty of shower facilities and friendly staff. Rooms overlooking the street can be a little noisy especially early in the morning. Kitchen is quite small for number of people staying there. Good location within easy walking distance of everything in Hobart.
    100%
    Laura C September 2017
    All staff.. They were amazing and super friendly. I really appreciated it.
    82%
    Ana D September 2017
    kitchen and common areas are too small for the size of the facilityn
    29%
    John H September 2017
    I had an amazing stay at this hostel, and ended up staying on quite awhile to live in and explore Tasmania more thoroughly. The Hobart central YHA is a nice, friendly, hostel that is central to pretty much everything to do in Hobart which makes it very convenient to get to the Salamanca Markets or the Mona ferry. Whenever you come to Tasmania, you can get your start here at the hostel. The staff is also very friendly and helpful in guiding you on what to do in the city and Tasmania in general, so make sure to ask about tour recommendations as they can often book your tour right there for you. The rooms are always nice and clean and tidy, as are the bathrooms and everything else, the cleaning staff does a great job keeping things neat. I definitely recommend stopping by the Hobart Central YHA if you find yourself coming to Tasmania. I will certainly miss my time living there, and all of the wonderful friends I made along the way. Hopefully I will be able to come and visit again soon. Best regards to the YHA staff, I will miss you all as well.
    100%
    Zachariah W August 2017
    So glad I switched over to this hostel, totally worth the extra couple bucks. Clean, warm and relaxing.
    98%
    Alexander P August 2017
    It was the first time to come to Hobart, but I didn't have to worry about accommodation. I have stayed many YHs, but most of them were friendly. On the first day, I looked around Salamanca market and the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery. The market was excellent, and I bought some good gifts for my family. After that, there was a shower, but it is particular to this city. So you should bring an umbrella if you are coming in winter. I entered a building just to escape from the rain. There was a science festival in the building, and I could talk with many people in it. It was one of the greatest things I experienced in Hobart. On that day, I had dinner at Drunken Admiral. It was a popular seafood restaurant. This restaurant is just in a couple of minutes from the YH, so it is highly recommended. The next day, I joined a day trip to Mount Field National Park. I enjoyed walking tour in dazzling nature. After that, we went to the Mt. Wellington. The view from the top was breathtaking. You should experience the wonderful nature of Tasmania. For dinner, I had salmon and oysters. That was also lovely. It was Sunday, so there was a hot choco gathering. The staff made a nice hot choco and backpackers gather and talked. When you stay in YH, chatting with other backpackers is the real pleasure. I wanted to stay at the hotel more, but I had to go home. I missed Hobart. Thank you for the wonderful experience. I can always feel at home when I stay at YHs.
    82%
    Masashi K August 2017
    Love it, really handy to buses, train & l felt safe walking around the city
    100%
    Eileen R August 2017
    I enjoyed my stay and the hostel close to everything. The staff were very helpful whenever I needed to ask any questions.
    80%
    Carolyn V July 2017
    A nice hostel with friendly staff.
    78%
    Jan J July 2017
    Great location, right near the waterfront - easy to get the ferry to MONA - don't miss!
    100%
    Silke K July 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    88%
    customer rating, based on 1943 reviews
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    85%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    86%