Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (2749 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Super quiet and clean. The only drawback was the really small kitchen (about the size of one in a house). But there is a sign saying they’re working on that. The only social area is in a small room on the second floor, but we didn’t spend much time at the hostel so it didn’t matter to us. Since my son is under 18 we stayed in a private room. It was as nice, or nicer, than hotels we’ve stayed in.
100%
Seamus L 19/07/2019
Great friendly & centrally located hostel - my main problem was trying to sleep, given the noise of the traffic (which is continuous on Macquarie St) & of the pub downstairs, but when I swapped rooms I was able to sleep :-) The hostel is soundproofing its windows later this month, which will be a big help. If you're on the 3rd floor the 59 steps are a good workout too!
95%
Hazel A 15/07/2019
Best value for money.
100%
Richa U 13/07/2019
My main disappointment was the limited size of and facilities available in the kitchen. Bench tops worn and difficult to clean and pans rusty and worn. Heater dial in room was unreliable too.
72%
Peter 11/07/2019
Having stayed in many YHA's, this one did not live up to the others. Small, old and tiny kitchen with limited kitchen wear. The location however was perfect and staff were friendly, the building just needs a revamp.
78%
Nicole Y 07/07/2019
Very friendly staff!!
92%
Yuwen W 06/07/2019
Wonderful 7 nights in YHA hostel! All the staffs were friendly and informative, they provided us with traveling options and advices and we were able to put it to good use. Thank you!
98%
Jocelyn L 05/07/2019
It was good and convenient for everything
100%
Alona O 05/07/2019
All that and a plate of pancakes.
100%
Duncan J 05/07/2019
All good just kitchen too small
98%
Yu Yang C 04/07/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL