Search YHA

Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1633 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Surprisingly good standard of room - 3 1/2 star ensuite room for much cheaper than a hotel.
    92%
    Natasha S September 2016
    Excellent location, easy to reach all scenic spots and CBD; Very friendly staff; Value for money; Safe to stay
    88%
    Karen September 2016
    I had a wonderful stay at Hobart Central YHA with my husband. As it is in the heart of Hobart city, the tour locations are very near to it. Also, the staffs are very generous and kind and helped us as we were new to that place. I will recommend this place for everyone who wants to visit Hobart.
    98%
    Dipsha M September 2016
    terrible experience. found all kinds of hairs on the bed sheets provided. no common room. tv room was renovating. not even a table in my room. my roommate and i tried to find the bar which claimed to have a discount for YHA guests and the bar was not even there(we used GPS, so we were sure we were in the correct location).
    40%
    Wing Yin C September 2016
    No lift! Troublesome for people who carry a big luggage. Hot water supply not consistant during shower.
    82%
    Bee Yau L September 2016
    Staff were really friendly. The facilities were clean and comfortable. The only thing that I would recommend would be for a larger kitchen as it was very cramped during busy times.
    98%
    Glenn M September 2016
    very nice and helpful staff, making it even nicer than it already is.
    100%
    Lucia D September 2016
    Great value hostel
    95%
    Gary K D September 2016
    This is a very well located place to stay; near to the waterfront, the Visitor Information Centre, Bus services, shops. It is older style, (no lift) but clean, good value and has friendly, helpful staff & free WiFi.
    92%
    Jane S September 2016
    Great friendly hostel, perfectly located
    88%
    Robert B September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    1633 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    89%
    Value for Money
    87%