Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1919 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    1.Very noisy hostel due to lack of soundproofing of windows & location on a very noisy & busy road [until late at night & from very early in the morning], & due to noise (musak) from the pub downstairs at night [until at least 10 or 11 pm most nights, also in the early morning if groups of guests have arranged meals in the pub] - I'd advise guests to take industrial strength earplugs if they are allocated rooms directly over the pub & if they wish to get a good night's sleep! 2.Some recycling & food waste bins would be welcomed (& were searched for!) by many guests. 3.There is minimal storage space in the rooms. Lockable wire cages under the bunks would be helpful, & perhaps a chair in each room. 4. Small kitchen - not really adequate for the size of the hostel. 5. Friendly & helpful staff, & the usual interesting mixture of staff & guests.
    82%
    Hazel A July 2017
    This review is for several days / stays from 01 July - 11 July, booked both independently and with Under Down Under. The number one thing you have going is your staff. Kirsten, John and Charlene were all super stars and provided incredibly friendly and professional service ! Bathrooms and public areas very clean and well maintained. The biggest con is the noise from the streets which is constant 24/7.
    93%
    JOANNE K July 2017
    We had a lovely time there, thank you!
    100%
    Jeanne J July 2017
    Clean place staff are super super kind and help a lot
    82%
    Su N July 2017
    I had a very lovely stay at yha hostel in hobart, tasmania. It located right in the heart of hobart city (I guess?) and close to everything. Service was wonderful and I got free hot chocolate one night which is perfect for a cold night! I was staying with 4 other girls in one room, which is perfect if you planning a holiday with your friends.
    98%
    DEVINA H July 2017
    Wifi was poor and kitchen needs expanding the an additional dining/eating area. If you want to eat out all the time this is great accommodation; but for a family the kitchen was small with many people unable to cook effectively. The kitchen was the size of my cooking area at home. Parking is also an additional problem area with offsite paid parking and regular moving of the vehicle to avoid excess parking fees/fines. Again if you don't have a vehicle you won't have a problem, but in addition to our family room fee we had a$22 fee/day to park the car. I could've had accommodation with parking for about the same price without the hassle of shifting the car twice per day. Also no lifts so be prepared to carry your luggage up 1-3 flights of stairs ....and down again. Sorry, just being real. The room was smallish for a family but if you're out most of the time this is ok. Centrally located to many attractions, shopping and eateries.
    78%
    Vicki July 2017
    Staff we're happy to help with anything, hostel was cleaned regularly and its in a really great location. It's so easy being able to book tours at the hostel too. Only complaint was a very noisy bar underneath my room but that stops around 10pm so not too bad.
    89%
    Rachael W June 2017
    It is a very good youth hostel. Unfortunately, traffic noise is a problem. I would like to express my sincere gratitude to a lovely lady at Reception on Sunday evening, regrettably do not know her name, who very kindly walked with me to the shuttle bus stop. Much appreciated. I was a little anxious at the time, but her friendly personality helped me at the time. Thank you!
    96%
    Liliana I June 2017
    This hostel was great. Close to everything in Hobart for the dark mofo festival. Great service and hospitality. Staff were so friendly and just genuine people. Would stay again.
    98%
    Jordan H June 2017
    This is the best hostel I have stayed at so far. The staff are so beyond friendly, considerate and kind. I felt truly welcomed and well taken care of. The ample supply of towel and soaps and clean soaps AND HOT WATER was amazing to have. The rooms were nice and clean and there was good amount space. I cannot emphasize enough how amazing the staff... thank you to all who were so kind and helpful!
    93%
    Francesca P June 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    90%
    customer rating, based on 1919 reviews
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    88%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!