Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (2002 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hostel. Amazing!
100%
Ronan S 14/11/2017
Kitchen was way too small !!!
78%
Nancy 14/11/2017
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and were able to accommodate last minute changes with our friends room booking. Parking available nearby, and lots of choices for bars, restaurants and takeaway. Close to departure points for tours.
88%
Debra D 14/11/2017
This was my second at Hobart yha and love the comfort of my room thanks guys 😊
95%
Cassandra W 13/11/2017
The hostel is great but unfortunately the layout means the lounge is the only place to gather and relax but it is dark even during the day and has no outlook (both due to the nearby brick wall). And the TV can make it very antisocial. I didn’t use the kitchen as it is way too small for the number of people staying there. But as I say these are problems to do with layout and possibly not much can be done about it.
95%
Grahame R 11/11/2017
Great location and friendly staff
98%
Patrick W 10/11/2017
I loved my room. It was large, the bed was super comfortable, excellent WiFi and TV. I had a good soak in the deep bath, too. Great coffee and tea in room. Great location; close to shops, restaurants and takeaways. Friendly and helpful staff. I can highly recommend a stay here.
98%
Barbara L 09/11/2017
The MONA is a must do and easy to get to on the ferry. The hostel is very clean, fresh paint, helpful staff and the signage around the hostel is very helpful.
100%
Antony M 07/11/2017
The kitchen was quite cramped, especially when it got busy. There was a lot of noise from the pub downstairs but it quietened at 10.30-11pm. Overall the facilities were good, the staff very helpful. The location is very convenient and I had an enjoyable stay.
95%
Margaret D 05/11/2017
Location was excellent
95%
Marion B 04/11/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

93%
customer rating, based on 2002 reviews
Cleanliness
94%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
96%
Friendliness of staff
98%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
92%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL