Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (2689 guests have reviewed this hostel)
It was a good place to stay with my family. Sometimes I feel unsure about accommodation with my 3-year-old daughter but we felt very comfortable at YHA Hobart. The accommodation was also surprisingly clean for the price point. I ate the best pie in my life in Hobart, it was a lamb and rosemary pie from Jackman & McRoss.
88%
Lachlan P 19/05/2019
Easy to find, Comfy, Small Kitchen. Friendly Reminder : Not suitable for somebody who carry a large luggage as there are only staircases, no lift.
65%
Ka Wing W 17/05/2019
The kitchen is too small but I know you’re already looking for another solution:) One socket per bed would be amazing
85%
Lucy A 14/05/2019
Had to walk up what seemed like a million steps to get to my room - where on earth is the elevator? Furthermore, the kitchen can only be described as minuscule - rendering it far too crowded to ever make a meal. Furthermore, the hostel was freezing cold and lacked storage space. Would I stay here again? No. Maybe for the everyday backpacker this YHA accommodates their needs. However, for me it’s definitely lacking. Staff lovely though.
65%
Bradley J 11/05/2019
I really enjoyed my time in Hobart. There is alot to see and do. The Salamanca Market every Saturday is great, nice place to get lunch or some souvenirs. MONA, Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary, Port Arthur Historic Site, Maria Island and so many more exciting places.
98%
Kerry H 11/05/2019
Great stay
95%
Agnes G 10/05/2019
Excellent location for great budget accommodation. Have stayed here every year for the last 5 years. Will be back again next year.
90%
Eric H 08/05/2019
Great location in relation to Hobart Airport. Very friendly and helpful staff. The kitchen space and top floor bathroom/shower area was very dirty.
65%
Arlee M 07/05/2019
the only disadvantage is the noise outside, it's the city center after all
98%
Yichen H 06/05/2019
This Hostel is in a great location, easy walk to the bay and lots of local attractions & visitor information center. There is a fresh food shopping center near by open till 10 pm and lots of eateries. kitchen is compact but very practical. All the staff I encountered were very helpful and friendly. I stayed in a double room it was clean and comfortable and the windows actually open so you can get fresh air. I wish Id known about no lift only stairs to the 2nd floor a bugger with heavy luggage.
100%
Jo C 05/05/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
87%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL