Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

What travellers think

Reviews (2210 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great location in the centre of Hobart. The 12 bed dorm was tucked away in a nice quiet part of the hostel, and the friendly staff did a great job in keeping the hostel clean. Kitchen would maybe a little bit small during peak season, but the bathrooms were great, lots of little individual one's throughout the hostel, so more privacy.
98%
Gordon L 19/05/2018
The hostel was all right. Go explore the small alleys in the city and the free museums.
75%
Regine L 11/05/2018
Serious lack of atmosphere, decent place to sleep.
75%
Matthias H 10/05/2018
Nearby great food and waterfront!
92%
Joe S 08/05/2018
The worst place I’ve seen. As soon as I entered the room, I felt such a smell that I was going to return the keys immediately. the lady at the reception was very friendly but did not have another room. i had to looking another hotel because in yha sleeping would really be about health.
38%
Miroslav B 04/05/2018
Good hostel, comfy bed, decent room and nice bathrooms. Mixed aged range and limited social aspect unless in the kitchen
88%
Sarah E 03/05/2018
We loved our stay. The double room was bigger than expected with a private bathroom with large bath. So good for our little one. Enjoyed watching TV from bed. Great facilities including fridge and tea and coffee in the room. It was great for our family of 3. The location was excellent and made exploring Hobart too easy. Really enjoyed our time and we'll book again.
90%
Louise I 30/04/2018
Hostel was good would stay again
90%
Patricia A 29/04/2018
Plumbing needs attention, running tap unable to turn off. Shower difficult to adjust. Mattress very lumpy. To be fair I only stayed overnight
68%
Patricia M 28/04/2018
Close to the nice harbour and located between nice restaurants, shops and the bus station!
82%
Sofia R 26/04/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
81%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
97%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
82%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL