Search YHA

Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1644 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great yha location, but the kitchen is small.
    Amin A October 2016
    Lovely hostel. Was pretty busy exploring Tasmania so my time was limited at the hostel but it was very clean and safe.
    Kady K October 2016
    Staffs at YHA accomodation are very friendly and provided me useful information
    YuPing W October 2016
    Simple, nice hostel within a great location! Special mention and accolades must be accorded to the very nice lady at the Reception, Ms Kirsten, She was very warm, very courteous and very helpful. For myself, a 1st time visitor to Hobart, her clear directions and helpful advice were extremely reassuring. Wish I had similar awesome reception from the other bigger and more prestigious hotels. Thanks again. Cheers!
    K.S. L October 2016
    This hostel is in a great location the down side is it is rather noisy from a chiming clock and traffic. The proximity to wharf area and Salamanca and the city is superb but the kitchen is too small and there was not really a sitting area that was quiet or somewhere to chat to other guests.
    Jill B October 2016
    Great central location, quiet, clean, friendly staff, well equiped kitchen, free wifi. Would happily stay again at this YHA. Lots of stairs to climb!
    Sally W October 2016
    Great on every aspect!
    Anamaria S October 2016
    Amazingly kind staff.
    Gabriela E October 2016
    Surprisingly good standard of room - 3 1/2 star ensuite room for much cheaper than a hotel.
    Natasha S September 2016
    Excellent location, easy to reach all scenic spots and CBD; Very friendly staff; Value for money; Safe to stay
    Karen September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1644 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money