Hobart Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hobart Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1830 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staff were helpful. Room was alright but I found it very light at night to sleep as the windows probably need a "blockout" curtain. The kitchen space needs to be bigger / or a separate area to be able to eat your meals as it is a very small area. Pillows probably need to have more body to them as I had to fold mine in half to get neck support. People seemed to be respectful of each other & went about the hostel quietly. I hope these are helpful points to be able to provide a better service to your YHA members. Our stay was satisfactory but I just noted the above points to you for improving the service.
    80%
    Shirley D March 2017
    I arrived after 7 hours travel and simply wanted a warm shower, it wasnt even Luke warm, it was freezing cold. I had a window over looking scaffolding, which was largely dissapointing!! The quality of the room was poor for paying $143 and there wasn't even any shampoo provided. Room furnishings were basic and the bed was uncomfortable, I was lucky to sleep a few hours. Over all I was highly disappointed but I will say the staff were nice and helpful.
    65%
    Melissa B March 2017
    The hostel is well located but if you are driving to the Hostel be advised it is in a one way street. The Staff are friendly and facilities are clean. The only inconvenience is there is no lift meaning you have to carry your luggage up a set of stairs,this did not worry me, but for some it may be awkward.
    88%
    Jeff P March 2017
    My first impression: I enjoyed the sense of humour about having to carry up my 18kg suitcase up 3 flights of stairs. The words on the walls of the stairs made me laugh. Loved it! I actually enjoyed running up and down the stairs, I am all for active living. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm and was lucky to have a good experience for the 6 nights I stayed. Beds were comfortable. You can hear some kind of bells that go off during the day and night, but you get use to it and if you are tired enough you will sleep through it. Housekeeping staff were very friendly and were happy to greet me with a good morning. Bathroom and toilets were clean. They were painting the outside of the building during my stay and i could see some of the levels had been re-painted with gorgeous bright green doors. Woolworths is close by if you turn right from the hostel.
    95%
    Kristy R March 2017
    Best location, clean, friendly, cheap with linen included . Little kitchen and laundry.
    92%
    Serge F March 2017
    The two ladies on Reception were outstanding. They always had a smile and were extremely helpful. My one criticism would be the very small kitchen and TV lounge it would have been good to have somewhere to relax.The pancakes on Sunday were great!
    100%
    Geraldine Y March 2017
    Not enough power outlets, not even one chair in the room and no lockers.
    70%
    Frank K March 2017
    There is no lounge room, kitchen is small.
    72%
    Lihan L March 2017
    Fantastic location, quiet street and a short walk to the harbour.
    100%
    Donald L March 2017
    NO THANKS
    80%
    David F March 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    83%
    1830 customer rating, based on
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    74%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    75%
    Safety & Security
    83%
    Value for Money
    77%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!