Search YHA

Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1126 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Todd's walking tour was awesome! Quite a noisy hostel, not much sleep, otherwise perfect.
    98%
    Caroline H May 2016
    Generally, the hostel was Ok, but a couple of things were not to our liking. The room was the most expensive we have paid for a double room in a hostel, but we have paid less and stayed in rooms with more facilities: others have been en-suite with air-con, a fridge, and lock up cupboards. There seemed to be a general smoking policy throughout the hostel as opposed to a non-smoking policy with a dedicated smoking area. We were unfortunate to be located between two rooms were there were smokers. The bathrooms were cleaned between 7.30 am and 9.00 am. While there was always a bathroom available, it meant that at those times, the bathrooms were crowded.
    80%
    Geoff H April 2016
    There needs to be an awesome button on this survey. I loved it, service, facilities & location. I've stayed at a lot of hostels and I can't fault this one. Suits All age level which I appreciate being in my 40's I totally connected with my younger roomies. Thank you
    100%
    Samantha W April 2016
    Great location (beach, restautant, bars, grocery store etc.), nice people and a fun (and free) walking tour with Todd made our stay amazing!
    90%
    Nick April 2016
    This hostel was great, really friendly staff, so close to the beach and really social. However, definitely not family friendly; we were kept up at 3am by some incredibly noisy people, who then clearly became very comfortable with eachother and allowed the whole hostel to listen. So perhaps a night guard or 24 hour member of staff is needed, for more control and comfort for guests. Otherwise I really enjoyed my stay!
    82%
    Maddy W April 2016
    Free bike and bodyboard, twice a week free day tour, Free bus to drive you catching Greyhound Bus Wifi doesn't work very well
    72%
    SIANGTING H April 2016
    Really enjoyed our stay, good location, comfy beds and really helpful and friendly staff! Tod's walking tour was really good too!
    100%
    Katie H April 2016
    A great stay in a fab hostel! Everybody was friendly and welcoming. If I ever go back to Byron I would 100% return here! The walking tour that Todd done of the lighthouse was fab and very enjoyable :) thank you so much for a great stay!! Keep up your good work!
    100%
    Michelle S April 2016
    Amazing hostel! Would definitely stay here again. The location was amazing (walking distance to the beach), the staff were super friendly & helpful & the pool was lovely!
    100%
    Alexa P April 2016
    +Hostel was Nice, +Staff was VERY Friendly and helpful, +Location was exzellent ! +free Guided Tour to lighthouse -wifi was not good and was turned off from 22:00-07:00 -someone Stole my Food & drinks from the fridge >would definitely Go there Again !
    90%
    Anna G April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    1126 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    99%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    84%