Search YHA

Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1258 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Overall always a pleasure to stay here. But! Sometimes people need to remember they are not at home with mum so they need to be a bit more mindful of other people Eg vomit in toilets or on the ground not very good.
    Ralph E E October 2016
    The walk to the Cape Byron Lighthouse with the owner of the hostel on friday morninh was brilliant. I got to see a couple of dolphins and whales, some lizards, turtles and even a wallaby upclose. Furthermore he could give us loads of information about the whole area and the animal population around byron bay.
    Pascal October 2016
    Lovely staff, close to the beach and the centre, felt at home and met some great people!
    Maudy T October 2016
    I stayed 12 days at YHA and met such a good bunch of people, the staff is very friendly and the location is perfect. I hope I'll come back soon, take care guys
    Cecilia r October 2016
    Very noisy. It must be sold as a place to put the bags in a room not as hostel. No control over the noise and nasty behaviour of guests. It's imposible to have a sleep. Alcohol is consumed at any time and anywhere. Screams and music are allowed all along the day and night. It must be what some people is looking for but if you are just a backpacker looking for a nice place to stay I don't recommend it.
    Sereida T October 2016
    Kitchen was dirty and crowded but overall the hostel was fine. Nice staff and free bikes and pool!
    Ira S October 2016
    Great chilled out place to be in Byron, staff was excellent!
    Carolyn October 2016
    Kitchen and toilets were discustingly dirty at all times.
    Yamila P October 2016
    Good location, fun vibe, met a lot of cool people!!
    Nicole H October 2016
    This is a family-run YHA with a great, relaxed vibe and super friendly and helpful staff. It is in an excellent location. The absolute highlight of my stay with going on the fantastic, guided walk through bush, up to the lighthouse, and back along the beach. Todd was a fantastic guide and shared with us his extensive, local knowledge - all with a great sense of humour! Thanks heaps to Todd and the team for a brilliant stay.
    Amanda M October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1258 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money