Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1460 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Excellent situation. Except only one of the several microwave ovens worked. I was kept awake by a group of about 15 people talking outside my room sitting under the Quiet Please sign. I asked them to be quiet at half past 12 and then again at 4am as they continued to sit and talk all night. No one seemed to monitor this situation.
    82%
    Judy B May 2017
    Bathrooms could do with an upgrade and cleaned more thouraghly
    80%
    Elaine m May 2017
    I really liked staying in Byron Bay and also in this hostel. The place really felt like home, so we decided to extend 3 times. Sad that we have to leave, but if I would come back I would definately come back here.
    95%
    Manon D May 2017
    best and a very relaxing atmosphere in all YHA-hostels I stayed in Australia.
    75%
    Niklaus May 2017
    always YHA is good👍🌈
    90%
    mana i April 2017
    Really nice in general. Friendly staff, great location.
    92%
    andrea i April 2017
    One of the worst YHA's I've stayed at. Female bathrooms are disgusting, staff don't care, & you won't get a good nights sleep - too many travelers getting drunk & rooms are very small with very little ventilation. Don't stay here, you'll find better value for money in other hostel l's in Byron, very rundown.
    58%
    Prue J April 2017
    Clean tidy comfortable bed real good value of stay. Much nicer than the other YHA in Byron.
    100%
    Amo D April 2017
    Not a great atmosphere. Many people staying at the hostel work there so they don't socialize. Prices hiked up for Easter.
    45%
    Kennedy U April 2017
    Fab kitchen, bottom floor ladies bathroom flooded in the showers which wasn't a very pleasant experience but this is the only fault I could possibly find :) provided all you need in a hostel, and felt pretty safe and cosy.
    85%
    Victoria G April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    82%
    customer rating, based on 1460 reviews
    Cleanliness
    72%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    77%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!