Search YHA

Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (978 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I had the best time in Cape Byron, I could have stayed forever! A great and friendly hostel, when I go back to Byron I'll definitely stay there again.
    Asta S November 2015
    Had an awesome stay and loved the walking tour to the lighthouse!
    Michelle H November 2015
    Book for 3 males in a 5 male share, and they'll put you in a 5 mixed share... But you would be 6 sometimes in the room when one of the girl would bring another guy in the middle of the night... Enjoy!
    Jerome S October 2015
    Helpful staff and great position. I had very disrupted sleep from people coming into the room after going to bed and another guest snoring very badly and not responding to attempts to disturb him (not your fault, I know but not helpful).
    Mark W October 2015
    The hostel is only a few minutes walk from the beach and close to shops. Friendly and helpful staffs. I really enjoyed the free lighthouse tour with Todd. It was great!
    Jieyi X October 2015
    Very friendly staf, will help you with everything. Rooms are good, only too small to fit 4 surfboards for 4 guys, so make sure your roommates dont bring along their surfboards;)
    Luc S October 2015
    Location is great and staff is kind but the hostel itself is old and filthy. Such a difference with the other YHA's I stayed in!! Better try the other YHA Byron hostel
    Cristina H October 2015
    Absolute favorite hostel on my journey so far! Cheap, easy, clean, lovely atmosphere, great location, friendly and helpfull staff and awesome bus drivers.
    Nina Skak R September 2015
    The host is super duper friendly, and the place is really cosy and convenient, being near to the beach and supermarkets.
    Muhammad Faiz B August 2015
    The staff was really helpful and friendly. The lighthouse tour with Todd was awesome :-).
    Sandra W August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    978 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money