Search YHA

Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1373 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Way too expensiv for what they offer, very over ruled and not the easy going vibe you expect in a place like Byron, many young party people guests but still quiet and a bit anonymous atmosphere in general...
    52%
    Guest February 2017
    Quiet, friendly but a great atmosphere for party also. Close to the beach and center! One of the best on 4 months of travel across of the world
    98%
    Sebastien V February 2017
    Staff were lovely. Two fans in a room of ten hot bodies in the middle of Summer did not make for a very enjoyable sleep. Would recommend a few extra fans per room! Absolutely fantastic location.
    75%
    Tiarna H February 2017
    Pros: Nice pool, short walk to most places, shuttle to bus station, friendly people on reception, good pressure in showers. Cons: Lockers too small (stayed in 5 bed that really should have had only 4 in, no room for bags), no air con, toilet seats falling off, deposit has to be paid for plates/cutlery, can be noisy in rooms around pool, common areas locked overnight (so useless for finding place to make international calls without disturbing roommates)
    62%
    Francesca A February 2017
    I stayed at this hostel for 2 and a half months and had a wonderful time. Great staff, chill music, and excellent location.
    100%
    Jacob S February 2017
    Amazing vibe and atmosphere! Location is perfect! Only matter is the bedrooms are way too hotttt! They could change the fans because they are hopeless or well why not an aircon. And second is the close the kitchen at 10pm! So ok can't even get a cool water during the night. That is annoying especially with the hot rooms. So I would sort that out. Get a 24 hr fridge some where for drinks at least. But otherwise perfect place for real! I spend the best 5 days of my holidays there! Thank you! Ariel
    92%
    Ariel A February 2017
    In general my stay was pretty good. A big shout out for the guys at the reception, they were all so friendly and helpful! The big downside was the wi-fi... horrible connection and you could only "get" it in a small section of the hostel.
    95%
    Laura M February 2017
    Good location 5 min walk from Byron beach and bars/restaurants and a Woolworths. Nice looking pool area but didn't have time to use. No air con so very uncomfortable nights sleep. Had a twin room but still had to share the bathroom, only 3 showers between a whole floor of rooms it looked like (inc dorms) so probably at least 25+ people?! Kitchen was big, lots of fridges but not the cleanest. Staff were friendly and helpful though.
    68%
    Lydia S February 2017
    We got what we expected from a hostel stay. The location was good, could easily walk right to the centre. The staff were a bit variable, the younger staff on arrival seemed a bit away with the fairies. The beds were comfortable. The main issue that we had was the dorm rooms were so hot at night- there was just a fan above the door which didn't really do much so everyone slept with their dorm rooms door's open otherwise sleeping would have been impossible. We used the pool once and that was fine. The toilets were a bit gross but the showers were fine & the bedrooms were clean enough. There was a facility to rent bikes which is good although we didn't use it. There's a cafe next door which comes in handy.The free wifi was very temperamental & you could only get it in the common room, but I think there was an option to pay $5 per day for wifi. A pretty average hostel- you get what you pay for.
    72%
    Lucy B February 2017
    No air con and terrible ventilation in rooms, facilities very old as well. Which is alright but not for the price they charge, expected more.
    58%
    andy z February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    77%
    1373 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    64%
    Condition of facilities
    68%
    Efficiency of service
    83%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    75%
    Safety & Security
    80%
    Value for Money
    68%