Search YHA

Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Cape Byron YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1223 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Perfect location, fantastic atmosphere and awesome staff!! Thanks for the great time!!
    98%
    Federica S September 2016
    Great place to stay. Can get a bit noisy at night. Friendly and helpful staff.
    90%
    Stefan K September 2016
    Cape Byron YHA is the perfect hostel to stay at whilst in Byron Bay. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and there are plenty of communal areas to meet new friends. Todd's walking tour to the lighthouse is a must!
    100%
    Kelly W September 2016
    If you want a party hostel then this may be for you, otherwise avoid. Don't expect things you might get in other hostels like a towel, cutlery, plate etc. Expect a scalding or freezing shower (when other people are using as well) and staff are pretty poor at recommending things to do, e.g "the beach is that way". Re parking, it is very limited and is used up by long-term guests. There is free parking, but about 5-10minute walk
    48%
    Kyle N September 2016
    The hostel is very well located and staff is very friendly but...the cleanliness of rooms, kitchen and bathrooms is not good at all. If you like partying it can be great but if you prefer some calm in the evenings...it is not the place.
    72%
    Arrate I September 2016
    The staff was lovely and the morning walk around Byron Bay was amazing even though it's just a small place there is so much to see and do!
    98%
    Luna M September 2016
    Didn't enjoy my stay here. Was not offered additional key upon booking. Woke early and thirsty so got up at 4am to find a vending machine (Obtain a bottle of water), all vending machines not working. Had to leave the hostel without having the ability to get back in, as I didn't wish to wake my friend. Found the staff later when mentioning this to be quite contradicting (Its only $20 for another key, everyone should be given a key).. Will not stay here again if in Byron Bay, which is quite often as I'm based in the Gold Coast, will not recommend this YHA to others.
    70%
    Tom L August 2016
    Absolutely outstanding for the helpful and friendly staff, the best yha I've stayed in on my travels around austrailia. The atmosphere was brilliant and that location is great. Made to feel extremely welcome travelling with my 9 year old boy which can be daunting. Will definitely tell my friends and be returning 😃
    100%
    Ruth B August 2016
    Special thanks to Tod and the team at Cape Byron - we loved them all and especially enjoyed our accompanied walk to The Lighthouse (twice!) Staying at the hostel was an uplifting, life-changing experience. We were absorbed into the vibrant atmosphere and enjoyed kindness beyond belief (and we are two ladies approaching 70). We imagined that all that customer service would be reserved for the young and attractive. So - many thanks.
    100%
    Janet S August 2016
    Location good. Not good: bathrooms were not clean, dripping water, sheets of te bed was not clean. There were luise in the bed. You can do better, so come on!!!
    62%
    Maria S August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    1223 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    79%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    91%
    Value for Money
    87%