Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1300 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    No working lighters to light the stove. The door to our room was broke and it was really hard to get the door locked. Toilets and showers dirty, did not get cleaned properly. Friendly staff and good location, but unfortunately one of the worse YHAs I stayed at in Australia.
    58%
    Emelie April 2016
    At Weekend they charged 10$ more. Didn't know this before. The dishes was clean but facilities were pure. The Lady from the reception came three times during my stay in the room. I was napping. She didn't closed the door.
    60%
    Daniela B April 2016
    Schönes und sauberes hostel. Coole Lage und ruhige Lage. Einzigster Kritikpunkt: Es gibt keinen kostenfreien Gepäckraum. Lediglich kostenpflichtige Schließfächer
    92%
    Michael Z April 2016
    This hostel has a very good atmosphere.
    98%
    jenny W April 2016
    +Good located Hostel, modern facilities, comfortable beds, nice Pool and big TV room - Not so many activities to meet new people
    88%
    Fabian D April 2016
    Great place to stay
    100%
    Tracey lea S April 2016
    My sister and I stayed at this hostel and were very impressed by the service we received at the front counter. Jonas and the other guy (didn't get his name) were very friendly and answered every question we had and just made us feel very welcomed! Unfortunately, we witnessed one or two of the OTHER staff members, stealing our milk and yoghurts from the fridge that we had just bought from Woolworths. I would still recommend this hostel as most of the staff displayed a friendly and positive attitude, the rooms were very clean and the overall atmosphere was great!
    98%
    Genevieve M April 2016
    Fantastic, affordable accommodation in wonderful Byron Bay. Love coming back here, thanks YHA!
    100%
    David F April 2016
    Good Hostel, friendly reception, good localisation. A little bit dirty under the beds, And NO FREE COFFEE AND TEA.. :( Like usually in the others YHA.
    82%
    Lucie T April 2016
    I had a great time here met some great people and the staff are lovely.
    95%
    Charlie S April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    1300 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & security
    90%
    Value for money
    84%