Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1446 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Really clean place, friendly staff and the location is dead set centre of everything. Beach, pubs, grocery store, beach. And staff are breezy and atmosphere is calm.
    90%
    Ayak T September 2016
    Had an awesome stay, however there was a massive construction site right next to us- 10 meters from our room, that started at about 6am and lasted all day making it impossible to get a good sleep in or relax at the hostel. I think some warning of this should've been made when we booked. Other than that the hostel was perfect
    95%
    Tilia O September 2016
    There a construction site just next to the YHA, and the workers starts at 7:30!!! Impossible to sleep after that time!
    78%
    Karim E September 2016
    First hostel experience. Nice and tidy everyone was kind. Nice atmosphere . Easy to get there , everything is so close. Perfect stay and super cheap.
    100%
    Zsofia F September 2016
    My overall experience was very good! But I think the kitchen should be open and accessible at a earlier time in the morning, instead of 7am; open from 6 or 6.30am would be more ideal for early birds😊 🐥
    98%
    Amie Jane B September 2016
    This was one of the best hostels I stayed in so far!! It was clean, relaxing, the people are really helpful and friendly, the kitchen and the terrace are huge and it's not far too the beach. But on my last two days I got a little bit disappointed, because there is a working site behind the building and it was really loud already before 7 in the morning, that was just too early for me. Apart from that everything was great and I enjoyed it!
    88%
    Jana R September 2016
    The staff were super helpful and friendly! It was a little noisy at night. But all over all good!
    95%
    Lisa K September 2016
    I can really recommand yha. It was one of the best maybe the best hostel that I have booked. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. One thing that was not so good my room was next to the kitchen. So you can't sleep long in the morning.
    82%
    Dominik L September 2016
    If you've come to Byron to relax, then this is the hostel for you. Out of the main strip (but still so close) it's the perfect place to wander back to after a meal and a few quiet drinks, knowing that you'll get a good night's rest. My person experience: I had to have a tooth removed while I was on holiday and decided to stay here. I slept during the day and night with no problems from noisy hostel goers and was able to have a gentle walk to the shop and even the main beach very easily. I caught up with friends who stayed in other hostels and I'm very glad I chose this one.
    90%
    Stephanie L September 2016
    Very nice staff!!
    90%
    Daniele P September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    1446 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    84%