Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1231 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very clean and enough chill areas. The room (5 bed dorm) was a little bit too small, and no AC so very hot. No luggage storage (you can pay 3 dollars for a safe..) You have to pay for all facilities (bikes, surfboards, body boards), lot of other hostels in Byron do it for free. It's quite an expensive hostel (50 dollar p/night) and you still have to pay for your bike etc. The location is good, near supermarket and shopping street.
    72%
    Elisa B February 2016
    Friendly staff, big and clean kitchen, sweet pool, big rooms. The wifi (premium) was really good. Only thing I would have to comment on is the water pressure and temperature in the showers, which varied quite a bit. To sum up: I loved staying here and would easily stay here again! :)
    98%
    Charlotte O February 2016
    A friend and I stayed at this hostel for a week and we absolutely loved it! It is not the most modern hostel, but the atmosphere is amazing, the common kitchen was always(!) clean and the staff is really friendly and helpful.They will book everything for you at the reception! The fact that most of the common areas were outdoors just made us like it even better, and it was very easy to meet and get to know other people aswell. I should also mentione that the location is perfect and in walking distance to everything. I have stayed at bigger hostels, for instance in Sydney, but my experice is that the smaller ones (or at least YHA) are much more personal and cozy. Stay at YHA and you will have an amazing time in Byron!
    98%
    Susanne R January 2016
    Made my experience of Byron so much better! Everyone wanted to talk and general atmosphere was good
    98%
    Ellen C January 2016
    This hostel was clean and staff were welcoming and helpful. The location of this hostel was also good, close to the main streets of Byron and walking distance to the beach.
    85%
    Robyn B January 2016
    I stayed in room 24, it was extremely hot to the point I was unable to sleep. The fan barely functioned which exacerbated things. I attempted to sleep outside and in the common room but wasn't allowed. Plus the wifi wouldn't work in my room, even though I paid for the premium wifi.
    52%
    Morgan B January 2016
    The experience I had in this hostel was 100% positive. I met and made memories with so many incredible people! Especially some of the workers 😊
    90%
    Lana M January 2016
    I had a great time at this hostel. It is clean, the staff is friendly and the kitchen is also well equiped. Also there is a nice pool.
    78%
    Lenneke January 2016
    I had a great time at the yha! I was really surprised by the bathrooms: really clean and modern ! Would definitely recommend to others! Thanks :)
    90%
    Hannah M January 2016
    This is an excellent hostel in a fabulous place.
    85%
    Thomas W January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    1231 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    87%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    85%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & security
    89%
    Value for money
    82%