Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1467 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Would recommend this hostel to everyone and would come back at any time!
    Maite B October 2016
    Rooms only had one big light, no individual lights, so when I wanted to sleep and other people were up at midnight the big light was on.
    Yamila P October 2016
    I would not recommend this hostel at this time, as there is very heavy construction going on on the lot next door and it was extremely disturbing! Once construction is finished I would have no problem recommending this hostel.
    Rachael F October 2016
    The Byron Bay YHA is a great hostel, very clean, nice common areas and very friendly and helpful staff members.
    Lisa-Marie M October 2016
    The main reason I wouldn't recommend or go back is that there is major construction being done at the hostel, this started at 6.30 with heavy machinery being used right out side the rooms. There was no warning of this and no mention about it. The works went on most of the day so it was hard to rest in the middle of the day after an early start. I am sure this is a process that will be finished in the near future but it is an extensive extension to the hostel. I would give it 12 months to be finished. The pancakes were great and the team friendly. close enough to the beach and shops.
    Julie A October 2016
    YHA, I'm SO glad we stayed with you! So super awesome. Professional, clean and real friendly staff + service. Loved our stay (at YHA Byron Bay and YHA Sydney Harbour) :) Australia should be so proud of you!!! Will definitely return to YHA (and check out all the other YHA branches) when I visit Aussie again :) Cheers from Singapore!
    Grace L October 2016
    The Swedish giant looked after us at reception.
    Tom C September 2016
    Amazing stay here in a fabulous location. Super friendly and helpful staff. Fab relaxed atmosphere we loved it.
    Heather S September 2016
    Really clean place, friendly staff and the location is dead set centre of everything. Beach, pubs, grocery store, beach. And staff are breezy and atmosphere is calm.
    Ayak T September 2016
    Had an awesome stay, however there was a massive construction site right next to us- 10 meters from our room, that started at about 6am and lasted all day making it impossible to get a good sleep in or relax at the hostel. I think some warning of this should've been made when we booked. Other than that the hostel was perfect
    Tilia O September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1467 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money