Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1504 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great hostel on a perfect location!!!
    85%
    Demi November 2016
    It doesn't' provide free storage after check out. Luggage can only be stored in paid locker. This is not a common practice. YHA should disclose the locker rental charges and let backpacker knows it when booking. For me as a YHA member, I won't accept it. I'll choose another hostel.
    62%
    Kamtong L November 2016
    Just ok hostel, not so personal. If I'm gonna visit Byron Bay again I would never stay here again and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
    70%
    Alex S October 2016
    Very friendly staff, nice bars and close to the beach. All the facilities are clean and nice.
    92%
    Dennis N October 2016
    Clean hostel, nice staff, good facilities. Would stay there again.
    85%
    J. October 2016
    The staff were very unfriendly with arrogant attitude especially the woman who I asked to open the kitchen which was half an hour late. No smiles except from the chirpy lovely cleaning lady...the only person who was happy to be there. Too much of a noisy party place with no respect or consideration for others trying to sleep.
    65%
    Sandra W October 2016
    I really enjoyed my stay , the staff was very friendly and very helpful.
    100%
    Monique B October 2016
    Would recommend this hostel to everyone and would come back at any time!
    95%
    Maite B October 2016
    Rooms only had one big light, no individual lights, so when I wanted to sleep and other people were up at midnight the big light was on.
    75%
    Yamila P October 2016
    I would not recommend this hostel at this time, as there is very heavy construction going on on the lot next door and it was extremely disturbing! Once construction is finished I would have no problem recommending this hostel.
    82%
    Rachael F October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    1504 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    89%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    83%