Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1705 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nice hostel, clean and calm, in a nice ce area. However the Wifi connection is really bad.
    82%
    Flora J May 2017
    I had an awesome experience at Byron Bay YHA! The staffs were really warm, helpful and friendly! As there was still construction ongoing at the YHA, long story short, one of the staff graciously offered to help us drive our car out from the carpark. There is a cozy lounge area for people to hang around and the YHA atmosphere is welcoming and lively. YHA also offers discount at a nearby bar called Cheeky Monkeys (yummy food and wild vibes ;))
    82%
    Leyi H May 2017
    The Hostel is pretty close to shops, the beach and the lighthouse walk. The staff is friendly and helps you with everything, also tours and so on. Bathrooms and bedeooms are clean. The kitchen is pretty small, which can lead to pretty busy times where you have to wait a bit to make your dinner, still alright though and probably at every Hostel to specific times! Can definatly recommend the Hostel when you're in Byron.
    90%
    Celina P May 2017
    Hostel great loacation but under renovation which totally runined our stay I understand it might need to be done but should of closed hostel for the duration seeing as it wasn't peak season, or at least lowered the prices while it is being done. Got a personal alarm from the builders at 6:30/7:00 am each morning. One day it rained so tried to chill in TV room, this was spoilt by the constant drilling. Even if wanted to watch a DVD we couldn't as there was none that we could see around. Temp kitchen had two 4 stoves cramped together right next to the sink so was not the easiest place to cook. The manger man was decent. Always said hello and asked how we were. As for the other staff they barely cracked a smile. Whether it was because we wasn't long termers and they didn't know us we don't know. Rooms were good had enough space and lockers in them.
    60%
    Matt O May 2017
    I had a great stay at Byron Bay YHA. Staff was super helpful and nice, and I met awesome local and international people. It's a quiet hostel, great for chilling and relaxing. The only thing is that as soon as they started making construction/renovations in the place, the new kitchen supplied was really small and uncomfortable for all the people who were staying. I also had electricity issues in my room due to construction. The price was always the same when in my opinion they should have applied a discount for the disadvantages.
    78%
    Lucila G May 2017
    Worked for accommodation there. Best time of my life. Happy days in the Bay!
    100%
    Yohan L May 2017
    Great YHA in Byron bay, awesome facilities & overall great atmosphere!
    98%
    Jasmine S May 2017
    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Can't fault their service. The room was clean, comfortable. The other patrons were a little noisy at times, but overall it was a really great place to see.
    92%
    Belinda H May 2017
    This is a nice, friendly hostel. The staff are very helpful and I did enjoy my time there. Only one drawback, the builders working on the hostel extension start at 7 am promptly and noisily.
    95%
    ronald s May 2017
    The hostel was well-run and friendly. I especially appreciated the group walk to the lighthouse, and the free Wifi option.
    98%
    Julia B May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    89%
    customer rating, based on 1705 reviews
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & Security
    92%
    Value for Money
    82%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!