Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1145 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Was a really good stay. Very chill atmosphere =]
    Robert B October 2015
    Katie M October 2015
    Very helpful staff, dorm rooms are small and not well laid out as far as lockers, power sockets and lights are concerned.
    Robert G September 2015
    The staff are friendly and helpful. I like the free guided tour to the lighthouse. The location is not as close as cape Byron yha to the beach. The free wifi does not work in the dining area or TV room. I booked a tour of kayak with dolphins in the reception. I saw the dolphins as they promised, but it was shorter than the advertisement.
    Jing L September 2015
    Close to greyhound stop and to the beach. Booked the tuesday surf special and it was great, good value for money. Nice place and friendly staff, who was helpful in answers to my questions.
    Jayne L September 2015
    Everybody is very nice and helpful. The Lounge Area is absolutely awesome
    Laurentius C.M. K September 2015
    Nice place to stay. Internet is a bit slow but except that I can't complain.
    Sylvain R September 2015
    I found this hostel on the net. It charges fair room rates and is close to the beach. It is in CBD of Byron Bay. The bus from Brisnane stops at the bus station which is next to Visitors Information Office. The hostel provides a variety of amenities in the kitchen ,batherooms and common room. Higlky recommended
    Bit Mo H September 2015
    probably the best place to stay in Byron
    Sam G August 2015
    Loved our stay here 😊 location was perfect, friendly staff and great facilities. We loved taking the bikes out to explore and the movie night was perfect for a quiet night in and meet new people. Thank you, would definitely recommend to others.
    Laura R August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1145 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money