Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1326 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Good
    80%
    lin g May 2016
    Bathrooms and kitchen were clean, rooms a little less. Friendly staff, a few minutes walk away from the Main Street. Atmosphere was a bit lacking, but it's the winter so I guess that's the reason for it. A lot of free food which is always fun, especially the free pancake (only on weekdays). Overall a decent stay!
    75%
    Shir M May 2016
    Such amazing friendly and helpful reception staff, and excellently located within walking distance to all the great restaurants in town and both beaches !
    100%
    Mark L May 2016
    Very good plac to sty in Byron, close to all the things you need an there's always something on offer. Free pancake breakfast was definitely a bonus!
    85%
    Rebecca P May 2016
    Amazing place to stay! Great atmosphere, all the staff were super friendly and helpful. Facilities were really good and clean. Lots of fun activities such as lighthouse walks and $1 pancakes :) Great communal space so you meet lots of great people!
    100%
    Jessica H May 2016
    Loved this place! The staff were so friendly and helpful - particularly Paul, the manager. Felt like a big family- met some lovely people. Don't want to leave. Would return here definitely.
    100%
    Laura S May 2016
    I had my pillow stolen on my second day, likely by one of the employees who clean the rooms. I tried to retrieve my pillow and the staff did not take my problem very seriously and were not particularly helpful in addressing the fact that one of my possessions had been taken. Simply nothing was done and I asked a many times over a number of days if they had found my pillow.
    65%
    Scott E May 2016
    Staff was very friendly. Close to Cheeky Monkeys but a bit dark at night if coming from the centre.
    68%
    Ximena C May 2016
    Female dorm was very smelly and dusty. I did not get any sleep due to drunken loud people walking around at night and slamming doors. Due to not getting any sleep left on first night of stay at 3am to sleep in my car. Had a better sleep in my car than would have in the dorm. Had 2 nights booked and didn't even want to stay second night so booked a hotel and left YHA. Would not ever want to stay there again.
    35%
    KIMBERLEY D May 2016
    Very noisy.. The curfew wasn't managed. Entry keys constantly did not work. I had to ask for three keys No towels available for two days. I ended up getting an unused towel from another room Floors were dirty Staff were very friendly and helpful though
    80%
    Frances J May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    1326 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    85%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & security
    87%
    Value for money
    81%