Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1173 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The only things to improve would be these: free wifi that works for all the hostel premises, night lamps per bunk bed because now everybody wakes up when someone enters the room at night, the same with the doors in all premises & rooms because they are really loud so they wake people up. Small but important things!!
    Sanni K November 2015
    Fantastic location, international fun.
    Steve Y November 2015
    Wish I coud stay longer, nice hostel in a great place.
    Swetlana S November 2015
    Great little hostel for solo traveller as loads of activities arranged and common area to meet people. Cleaned regularly and staff very helpful. Would gladly stay here again!
    Ruth G November 2015
    Funny place
    Quirin L November 2015
    Really nice, laid-back hostel with great facilities. Very close to town and woolies!
    Holly S November 2015
    There is nothing particularly wrong with this hostel. The pool and bike hire service are convenient. This seems like more of a party hostel.... not so relaxed more dirty and noisey.
    John V November 2015
    Good location, very relaxed atmosphere. The room I was in didn't have individual bedside lamps, which is a bit annoying when not everyone goes to sleep at the same time. The kitchen is clean, the bathroom facilities look a bit used occasionally, but they are cleaned regularly, too.
    Al W October 2015
    One of the best hostels during my 3-months-stay in Australia and definitively the best value for money! Very clean and quiet and very good offers: Free pancakes, lighthouse walk, movie evening, free wifi!
    Bettina H October 2015
    The environment is very good, all the staff are quite friendly. It's a nice staying place, I would like to stay here again as I come to byron bay.
    YI RU H October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1173 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money