Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1394 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nice yha hostel, close to supermarket (the other yha hostel further up the road is closer to the beach and other shops though). Pancakes in the morning are incredible!!! Basic shared dorm but good kitchen facilities. Would def visit again!
    92%
    Kathryn S July 2016
    Very convenient location, stayed for the splendour in the grass festival and was comfortable and welcoming, thank you!
    80%
    Eleanor K July 2016
    Really friendly staff, great environment!
    92%
    Dane G July 2016
    Awesome time had
    100%
    Nicholas P July 2016
    Amazing atmosphere, no cliques, staff made everyone feel welcome. Perfect if you're travelling alone. A mix of ages, not exactly a party hostel if that's what you require but the clubs are minutes walk away from the hostel which is perfect. Lovely area to sit outside.
    88%
    Mollie Y July 2016
    Friendly staff, great location, free parking & heaps of local things to see and do within walking distance. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and the hostel has a chilled atmosphere. Keep up the awesome work guys :)
    100%
    Kit R July 2016
    They played annoying music outside my room all day until 2230. However my overall stay was positive and I rented out a bike for the whole day for $5. Kitchen facilities were good.
    75%
    Rex R July 2016
    So great stat. The staff was wonderful :)
    100%
    Matthias B July 2016
    This hostel is in a good location, near Woolworths and Aldi, and the main street through Byron. It's not even a ten minute walk to the beach. I felt safe here, everyone was friendly, great staff. The only downside was the cleanliness of the bathrooms, or lack thereof. Not sure how often or how thoroughly they get cleaned but could be better. That being said, it's also up to the traveller to clean up after themselves, bathrooms included! For myself it was nice because it was quite quiet most nights. Would be cool if the hostel offered more experiences within the hostel in order for travellers to get to know each other better. Overall a good stay, would stay again.
    82%
    Paige S July 2016
    Poor free wifi. Bit too many restrictions for my taste. Otherwise nice facility and clean. Extra costs for luggage storage, better wifi, etc
    78%
    Janos D July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    1394 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    90%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & Security
    91%
    Value for Money
    87%