Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1613 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I had a fabulous experience at the YHA in Byron Bay! The location is great and the service was even better! Jonas was extremely nice and went way out of his way to help me out.
    100%
    Amy G February 2017
    I don't usually like to stay in hostels or dorms anymore, but here I felt absolutely comfortable. Cleanest hostel I have seen so far! Also not a party place, so you can get your sleep. I would stay here again!
    98%
    Ruth A February 2017
    A very hot sweaty dorm with only a slow ceiling fan not over the beds, so had to sleep with the door propped open. No lockers for security. A nice pool, kitchen, seating area etc but major renevations going on so very noisy early in the morning and continuing all day, really they should close whilst this is taking place. A good location easy to get to from the greyhound stop and opposite Woolworths
    88%
    Lara S February 2017
    The staff are friendly, and super helpful and knowledgeable about the different tours in the area. They were patient, fixed my booking mistakes easily. At the end of our stay we did not leave till later in the day so they gave my granddaughters and I a card so we could access the washrooms which was very much appreciated. It is a great place and when all the construction is finished, a much larger place.
    100%
    Dave T February 2017
    Love it, feels like home
    100%
    Sabrina K February 2017
    Great staff No air condition Old rooms Slow wifi
    90%
    Nogah l February 2017
    The staff was super friendly and beyond helpful! The facility was clean and well maintained and although the location may not be right at the beach, it's at the beginning of the strip so you won't miss anything and it's a short two blocks from the bus stop. Also, the pool was a great place to be when the sun started to go down. If I had more time I would have stayed here longer!
    100%
    Krystyna J February 2017
    Very clean hostel, staff extremely friendly and efficient! Nice pool and good wifi connection, rooms a lil hot but over all a great experience! Thank you!:) Nat & Si
    95%
    Natalie F February 2017
    Absolutely amazing! Great atomosphere and the staff do everything they can to help! Watch out for Mr. Grumpy who seems to come on to work from about 8/9ish. He's not a rule breaker let's just say that and he reminds me of someone who wasn't invite to party's as a kid so is taking it out on the ones who like to stay up late just talk amongst themselves. Other that him. It's a great place!
    98%
    Natasha E February 2017
    The only bad thing is that they are under construction now to become bigger and is quite noisy early in the morning for few hours. They provide you with ear plugs. I guess that whenever they will be finished it would be worth all that noise :o) The overall experience was very good and the staff very helpfull and nice.
    100%
    Lucia G January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    1613 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    80%