Search YHA

Brisbane City YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Brisbane City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5774 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Clean hostel in convenient location
    82%
    J C May 2016
    A bit of an uphill walk from the bus station - should take about 10-12 mins depending on the load you're carrying. Kind of out of central area and you'd have to walk back into the city. Facilities are pretty average. For big city hostel I was expecting showers that functioned appropriately. I probably would've gotten a better shower from the rain in Cairns to be honest. The shower head and drains were plugged. Gross. Rooms are a bit cramped. Was there for a couple nights so if you can bear with it then no biggie. I would've found another place if I had stayed any longer. Rest of the facilities are good. The staff are friendly and helpful.
    72%
    Emily T May 2016
    The building is on a hill side, which means that the reception is on the third floor of the building, though on the ground floor of one street level.. One needs to drive two blocks to access the parking on the other side of the building.
    95%
    Allan L May 2016
    It could be much more cleaner everywhere!!! People are not taking care properly!!! Bathroom and Kitchen do not look very inviting...
    78%
    Olga N May 2016
    Brisbane Hostel is recommendable although its central location make it a very noisy place. Storage of luggage - cycling gear and bicycle - should be free especially if one stays for a long time there. Secure lockers for bicycles should also be standard even within a not very bicycle friendly environment. However, I'd like to seize the chance to comment on the YHA hostel in Melbourne where my food was stolen from the community kitchen. I stayed there around before the time of the Grand Prix. As there are security cameras almost everywhere in today's Australia why didn't the staff make use of the recorded material to investigate? This definitely wasn't good service in Melbourne.
    75%
    Martin B May 2016
    Nice clean hostel with a great rooftop view and swimming pool. Enjoyed my stay thanks alot!
    98%
    Luke S May 2016
    To pay lockers for storage backpack was difficult to accept. I had no choice, so I did it, but I didn't appreciate. And fares are announced minimum AUD $ 4 and it's AUD $ 6 minimum for 4 hours. Expensive ! ! ! Organize you to do not have to store your stuffs !
    95%
    Michael J May 2016
    Very enjoyable stay nice and clean and very helpful staff that nothing was a problem. Bit disappointed the air conditioning didnt work.
    95%
    Gary Douglas F May 2016
    Aircon was difficult to use, couldnt personalise it. Small bare room and pricey for what it is but perfectly located. Will return thank you.
    78%
    Trent W May 2016
    The good: The pool The location of the Hostel The Staff The Air Con The not so good: Having to pay a minimum of $6 to store bags (rip off) The WiFi was ridiculously slow No change rooms/showers on pool level just a small toilet Lack of power points in 4 bedroom dorms
    68%
    Michael G May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    5774 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    93%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & security
    93%
    Value for money
    89%