Search YHA

Brisbane City YHA

  • Customer reviews of Brisbane City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4997 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Good location, yes you do need to walk 1km into the city but that's 10-15mins and a nice walk. Coles is 5mins around the corner and some nice pubs/restaurants. Generally a very clean and safe hostel and very comfortable. Be aware if you're on floor 4 which is right below the kitchen, it is a bit noisy in the evenings as the sound carries down and there is nothing to absorb the noise! That area closes at 11:30pm thankfully so you've got some chance of getting some sleep after that time.
    88%
    Katherine G September 2015
    A very large kitchen and lot of space to move around. I love the idea of having A plug in my locker for me to use to recharge my phone whenever!
    100%
    Stephane S August 2015
    nice tidy room, pity the toilet next to our room was blocked for 24 hours, but rest of loos were excellent, lovely staff
    100%
    Helen M August 2015
    Incredible good value for money. Close to city. Clean and friendly!
    98%
    Zac M August 2015
    Very pleased with this this hostel. Friendly atmosphere and excellent location for getting around. The staff is very accommodating. The rooftop showcases the city in all of its glory. The hostel also has some wonderful group activities. Above all, however, I felt safe, secure and comfortable and would not hesitate to return.
    95%
    Victor A August 2015
    This is a smart hostel - the vibes are good , the location is very good being close to city & South Bank galleries & ferries. But we were disappointed that the TV downstairs was broken & not fixed in the 6 nights we stayed there.
    98%
    Margaret J August 2015
    Lovely place with splendid views of the river and Brisbane skyline from the rooftop terrace. The YHA is new, clean, well-equipped and the staff I was in contact with very helpful and friendly.
    90%
    Simon C August 2015
    loud, unsafe - someone stole our food
    60%
    B K August 2015
    Very nice hostel and decent location to the city and adjoining areas. Things like 7 eleven though are not easily accessible for late night needs. The staff was friendly enough but not really good at giving directions. On site restaurant was very good and decently priced. I would stay here again if I come back to Brisbane.
    70%
    Victoria W August 2015
    Brisbane City YHA is pretty good value for money. Safe facilities, clean beds, clean bathrooms - I'll definitely be staying here again!
    85%
    Melissa C August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    4997 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    81%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & security
    89%
    Value for money
    83%