Search YHA

Brisbane City YHA

  • Customer reviews of Brisbane City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5210 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel had great facilities and friendly staff. Only problem is that music is played in the hallways until about 10pm, which makes it difficult to sleep if there's one directly outside your room. Also there's a hostel next door, directly opposite some of the rooms, and people there during my stay were boisterous and loud well into the early hours of the morning. This is not the place to stay if you need a good nights rest. (also the bathroom had a funny smell). Other than that it's all good.
    Lydia T November 2015
    Comfortable beds, big kitchen, BYO drinks, nice communal area! Would stay again for sure.
    Vanessa B November 2015
    central location, 5-minute walk to Brisbane Transit Centre which is the major pick-up point for tours. The facility is well-managed and residents are well-mannered as well. good choice for first-time or sole travellers concerned with budget
    Wai Ting Wendy T November 2015
    Have stayed in other YHA hostels in UK, USA and NZ and would rate this as absolutely the best. Would recommend it highly.
    Margaret W November 2015
    I ended up paying for two nights (even though I only stayed one night) as there was a mix up with my booking (apparently I booked and paid for the wrong date). The person staying blamed me and was quite offhand in his attitude. They mixed our booking up again, giving us a room that was already booked. Our rooms were also very noisy with people coming in and out all night making a noise.
    Louise W November 2015
    En suite with 6-bunk nixed a very good idea. The nights were very peaceful - I was lucky - I could have been with drunks. The kitchen was great. The company included some very interesting and friendly people, as usual.
    Peter M November 2015
    It's a really nice place to stay. Just stayed there to hit the greyhound bus. Therefore it's perfect.
    Christina November 2015
    Not the place to stay if you want a good nights sleep, the trains and garbo's drove us nuts
    Melissa H November 2015
    I did book a single room ,because I needed some quiet time , but it was the most noisy place I have ever been to . If you travel with a group and you want to scream all night, this is the place to be. Plus , on top of my room was the kitchen , chairs and tables moving all the time. So good for a group , but not for a single traveller. On a positive note , this place is very clean.
    Sophie D November 2015
    We are all ways happy to come and stay at the YHA Brisbane.
    Melissa F November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    5210 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money