Search YHA

Brisbane City YHA

  • Customer reviews of Brisbane City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5105 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great value for money for budget-conscious families looking for accommodation within walking distance to SouthBank & the city & who are happy to share community kitchen facility. We parked our car at YHA (very reasonable rate) & walked everywhere for 5 days. Family rooms have own bathroom, the complex is modern, tidy & clean, no problems with noise & very convenient location.
    Frieda B October 2015
    I've stayed here once before but it was in winter- the hostel is really clean and modern but a thing that bothers me a lot is that their airconditioners doesn't work in the rooms. Even if I stayed in a female dorm for 4, it was way too hot!! So I had the same problem in the winter but thought it was just that room. But no. One girl who had stayed there for a few weeks in different rooms said that the aircon doesn't work in any room. So I don't think it's worth the price ä because you cant sleep and youre feeling sick because it's too hot! And if you come with your car and you want to leave it in their carpark, it costs $12 which is too expensive too.
    Edda S October 2015
    Great hostel located close to the Roma street train- and busstation. The city centre and Southbank are within in walking distance. I stayed in a private room with ensuite, but the dorms looked fine as well. Good kitchen facilities with a roof top terrace overlooking the city. The bar/cafe on the premises was closed, but the nearest supermarket is only a 5 minute walk.
    Fenneke O October 2015
    Fab stay here, had it recommended to me and would definitely recommend to others. Friendly staff, clean facilities and generally good atmosphere
    Lauren G October 2015
    The overall stay was fine but did not receive car parking for two nights so that made it very much difficult to travel back and forth.
    Cliff N October 2015
    Best hostel in Australia in my opinion
    Khosrow H October 2015
    The smell of the room was terrible. Condition of other facilities is good, it has snooker besides kitchen.Staffs are nice here. It takes 10 mins walk to bus top and rail station.
    MENGYU L October 2015
    Located very handily for the train and bus stations this hostel is great if you get into the back part but not so nice in the front half of the building! Large kitchen area and a pool make up for that
    Lorraine W October 2015
    Spotlessly clean. Great spacious kitchen and attractive recreational areas on the rooftop with extensive views of the city and the river. Easy access to the city and Southbank. Train station nearby.
    Carol N October 2015
    Really good experience all round. Would definitely stay their again.
    Brendan M October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    5105 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money