Search YHA

Brisbane City YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Brisbane City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (6214 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great stay! Warm welcome- felt like I was staying in a hotel, not a hostel. Immaculately clean living area and hostel and general. Great mattress and pillow (a big plus compared to previous hostel with springy, dirty mattresses). Overall a 5/5! Loved our stay here
    Ariel V October 2016
    I liked it very much, everything was just wat I expected!
    Joke v October 2016
    I have stayed at this hostel many times and I find the whole experience very good. It is only a 10 min walk to the city centre, there is a Coles supermarket across the road and the staff are efficient and friendly. The hostel is spotless and there are 2 big TV lounges. There is also a free walking tour of the city and a shuttle bus service to the airport - the Hostel is only a few minutes walk to the Roma St railway station.
    Janice Mary H October 2016
    Check-in was prompt and the receptionist was courteous and efficient. He answered my queries about airport transport for the next day, and sold me a Skytrain ticket which saved me time the next morning. I appreciated that security details such as requiring keycard entry to the adjoining bjilding where my room was. While the decor was plain, the room was spacious and spotless, and I had a restful night in a quiet zone. I only stayed one night but would have liked to explore the rooftop pool and other facilities. I would definitely book to stay here again.
    IMOGEN PUA I October 2016
    This was a lovely hostel to spend my first month in Brisbane in while I looked for a job and a room. The staff were friendly and helpful, the weekly activities were great (loved the rooftop yoga!) and there was stuff going on without it turning into a party hostel. Good location in the city centre near to Roma Street station. I rarely had to wait to use the kitchen although at any one time a few of the hobs would be not working. Great view at night from the roof. I only have two criticisms, which are that the powerpoints in the lockers can be awkward i.e. when charging your phone overnight - it would be good to have sockets by the beds - and that the free WiFi was only available in the reception area.
    Rachel Sinclair B October 2016
    Awesome, relaxed and vibrant atmosphere.
    Lee v October 2016
    Was very good, felt like a hotel.
    Monique B October 2016
    Not enough showers/toilets. Hand dryers from bathroom can be overheard in the next rooms, walls thin. Loud at night, management not taking care of screaming people at night and smoking all over the place (not just in designated areas) that is not nice if you are having dinner or breakfast. Bathrooms not really clean, rooms small. Beds okay. No real free wifi - just around reception area, the rest has to be booked extra
    Eva October 2016
    We stay in a family room overnight bit of a squeeze if you were to practice your morning yoga, but more than adequate! Very friendly staff, thanks
    Gillian G October 2016
    Excellent faccilities and locación. Very good this hostel.
    Jose L October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    6214 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money