Brisbane City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Brisbane City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (7603 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Its a good hostel, clean and very good facilities. It’s starts getting a little bit old and the staff was not so friendly unfortunately!
75%
Pia Victoria W 16/01/2018
The private room with en suite bathroom was up to hotel reservation quality. Position wasn’t great facing the other hostel as noise was a slight issue but that’s not out the YHA responsibility. Would definitely recommend and stay again.
98%
James S 15/01/2018
Good location.. room nice size air con too.swimming pool looked nice with seating area..very secure.. for all ages 5-6 to elderly couple 70 + stayed whilst I stayed.. reception very helpful.. lone pine amazing.. emundi market fab too. Brisbane South quays is lovely with pool and beach over looking river.. free river boats.. or go further upstream for €5.00 return.. the Brisbane wheel was great too.. shows expensive in theatre €80.00 each.. go out in evening life music and great pics everywhere is light up beautifully.. Only down side showers cold..
85%
Jenny F 14/01/2018
I travel with my Mum and have been staying in YHA's ever since I can remember. The Brisbane YHA is located in the centre of Brisbane and is close to everything we have ever wanted to visit while we are away from home. The staff are always friendly and very helpful. The rooms and facilities are spacious and always clean. We feel safe and looked after whenever we're in Brisbane. In future we will continue to stay at YHA's for all our away from home stays.
100%
Alexandra L 10/01/2018
Coles near the hostel, easy walk to the city, cool people and cool rooftop!
98%
Richard H 10/01/2018
Big hostel but really well organised and clean.
88%
Annette V 09/01/2018
This is a nice hostel, rooms clean, friendly staff. Shout out to the front desk--Leishelle and Carolynn are the ambassadors of Brisbane--thank you ladies for being my "family" 10,000 km from home. Look forward to seeing you all in just under a year. Jenn
100%
John (Jenn) C 08/01/2018
Great area, looks good from afar but had all my toiletries stolen. I was gutted
45%
James P 08/01/2018
The hostel felt a lot more corporate than ones I’m used to. It’s services didn’t lend itself to a short-term / budget traveller, and it felt as though the hostel was designed to squeeze as much money out of the customer as possible. Examples to this include a ‘premium’ WiFi only being available in rooms and on the rooftop, whereas the free WiFi was only available in the lounge- which has minimal seating arrangements and hardly any table space. The baggage room was also minimal, and as we were going on a trip in the middle of our stay, had to resort to storing our bags in a paid locker, resulting in us racking up a $30 locker fee! Maybe I am just used to hostels which are more accommodating to the budget traveller, and in which these usual aspects are free and included. All in all, this hostel is clean, has plenty of cooking and food storage space, but doesn’t lend itself to the budget traveller, who is keen to be sociable. The hostel didn’t really have a homely vibe, and felt much more like a hotel in many instances. For what it was, it felt expensive.
58%
Anton B 08/01/2018
We heard about it on the YHA website and we loved staying here every min. We plan on coming back that's for sure. :-) It's so close to everything and I felt very safe there.
100%
Dominic K 08/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
89%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL