Search YHA

Brisbane City YHA

  • Customer reviews of Brisbane City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5443 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We had a great stay at this hostel. Would definitely recommend.
    88%
    Rosie J February 2016
    The staff at this hostel were fantastic - really helpful, patient and kind. They provide a great introduction to Brisbane and this coupled with the overall cleanliness, functionality of the hostel makes it an ideal place to stay in an unfamiliar city - you can get organised, sleep well, take advantage of the many tours on offer with YHA discounts and there are some good social events as well. I am moving to Brisbane so this was a good start and home away from home.
    92%
    Sandra K S February 2016
    I was checked into a private room with a double bed, I went to sleep upon arrival whereupon I was woken up by two members of staff who let themselves into the room saying I was not meat to be there and the room had ants. I told them I didn't mind and that I was asleep, and eventually they left. The ants were not a big problem, nor were the cockroaches I encountered in my room, but the blaring music from speakers in the corridors which went on until 10pm was very annoying ( I asked the staff member in the lobby to turn if off, to which he replied that it stays on until 9:30). The mattress was terrible, the springs creaked and stuck into my back. In addition the air con was stuck at one setting (though I could turn it on and off) so it was either too cold or too hot in the room.
    58%
    Duncan H February 2016
    Very friendly staff, clean, free pancakes on Sunday and well located! Can definitely recommend it :)
    95%
    Hannah W February 2016
    This was a perfect average hostel and was fine to stay in. There are a lot of other hostels in the area though, all with slightly better locations and more competitive prices. Facilities were fine and quite clean. Having to pay for luggage storage is a downside.
    65%
    Jessica A February 2016
    One of the best hostels I've been. Super nice staff, the bathrooms were always clean.
    95%
    Leopoldo S January 2016
    The staff is the best.
    82%
    Chen S January 2016
    On arrival I said I can not climb to an upper bunk. The receptionist upgraded me to a room of my own with wheelchair access and own toilet and bathroom and I did not have to pay more. I now know when booking accommodation I can request a lower bunk. When I tell friends and family I always stay at YHA when I have to come to Brisbane (for Specialists Appointments) they are surprised how inexpensive it is and the facilities available.
    100%
    Elisabeth R January 2016
    Handy location close to CBD and transport. Some rooms suffer rail noise. Great kitchen/dining/lounge area on top floor with great views.
    85%
    David P January 2016
    I am from PNG. I stayed for nearly 3 weeks and I enjoyed the experience. Facilities are clean and staff are friendly. I will recommend my friends in my Country to stay at YHA when visiting Brisbane.
    95%
    Jack T January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    5443 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    85%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    79%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & security
    86%
    Value for money
    79%