Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (3239 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Hostel was very nice!
72%
Valentin G 04/02/2018
An awesome big hostel, very clean and tidy. Friendly and nice staff, just ask them and you will get guide and easy to know where to go even though you don't have a plan when you arrive. Very enjoy two-day stay there, have to come back to stay next time driving on Great Ocean Road.
98%
Ziqi L 02/02/2018
Amazing facilities! Loved the tv lounge and super clean kitchens! Thanks to all at YHA Apollo Bay
100%
Laura M 01/02/2018
The hostel is unsecured as the staff propped open the exit with stones so they could drink and party with strangers in the carpark. The room we stayed in was right next to the door and the party continued to 5am. Myself and others got no sleep. I reported this to management and they said "the staff know they can't prop the door open and I will speak to them" but it was repeated the next night so either management didn't act or they ignored management. The hostel was over booked and people stayed in the carpark, the flywire screen had been cut open from a previous breakin and not repaired meaning the room filled up with mosquitos and the wire bed frames squeaked horribly. No sleep in the 2 nights there. Worst YHA we have stayed in.
38%
Michelle F 30/01/2018
This is a lovely hostel. Great kitchen and communal areas and close to the main things in Apollo Bay. Will stay again.
100%
Robert S 29/01/2018
Super nice YHA. Bravo !
92%
Marie-Laure S 28/01/2018
The microwave oven is very dirty. No aircon.
98%
Monica T 28/01/2018
All on 1 level... no stairs. Easy access Surrounded by gardens
98%
Carolyn B 26/01/2018
This is a great YH and deserves a Stay of 2 or 3 nights. I imagine that even in Winter this area is lovely for walking and exploring. The kitchen and Lounge Areas with a separate TV room make the Living Spaces excellent. Certainly a perfect Starting place for the Great Ocean WALK or drive.
98%
Liz M 19/01/2018
we 5 enjoyed our stay in a large enough family room very much, and hope to stay again sometime in the future. Beds were comfortable, good showers/toilet facility - all very clean. great kitchen, well equipped with just enough fridge space. outdoor eating option also good ( we only used the groundfloor kitchenarea) All in all a very pleasant place, close to beach and shops. enough carparks close to building.
100%
Mireille B 19/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
83%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
86%
Friendliness of staff
87%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
83%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL