Search YHA

Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1702 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nicely built hostel in perfect location, but there is hardly anyone ever around.
    Antje N October 2016
    It was fairly quiet so there wasn't much going on and they were obviously using this time to renovate areas. Showers were great and hot, though bathrooms were cold, as was the hostel generally. Rooms were nice and bed was comfy. Good base to explore the area.
    Jocelyn October 2016
    YHA Halls Gap was good, very good. I had always wanted to stay there from seeing the place online and having visited the Gampians area already. I enjoyed the comfort and excellent facilities. Stuart and Rebecca were fantastic hosts, very good at making you feel home away from home. Will stay again in future visits.
    Adrian C October 2016
    Everything was good there.
    Shuang G October 2016
    An economical hostel for bush walkers and others enjoying the amazing Grampians.
    Richard W October 2016
    Great location. Kangaroos at the back door! Easy to get to by public transport. Bus pick up 100mt away. Halls Gap supermarket very expensive.
    Frances Anne M October 2016
    I enjoyed my stay there. Very clean rooms with lockers and clean showers as well. There is a well equipped kitchen with most of the facilities. The center is at a walking distance from the hostel, so the accessibility was good. A few issues that I think the YHA people need to consider here: On the ground floor, the disability toilet was obstructed by repair works or garbage. They need to make sure that it is cleaned up for people with disability to be able to use it. The reading room beside the kitchen could have been cleaner as well.
    Darshan K October 2016
    Very good service and friendly atmosphere
    Bruce G October 2016
    The staff are very friendly, dedicated and innovative. The reptile room is outstanding, great karma for everyone. The aspect is a big drawcard, patrons can mingle in the eating areas and lounge rooms and still view the great outdoor panorama. It is ideally located in Halls Gap, the gateway to the Grampians.
    Helen E October 2016
    Loved the snakes and Lizards as hostel pets! Staff friendly and helpful. Great location and facilities.
    Megan H September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1702 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money