Search YHA

Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

  • Customer reviews of Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1502 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very clean hostel. Friendly host who gladly assisted with all requests. Definitely coming back! Would recommend this to all travelers going to halls gap!
    Daryl T November 2015
    One of best hostels in Australia. Great atmosphere and friendly host. Wish I could have stayed longer
    Lisa I November 2015
    Nice hostel with all the facilities. Situated near the walking tracks.
    JeanFrancois K November 2015
    After having organised several Family Camps for Families across the state with Type1 diabetes. I was expecting the experience of coming together to outweigh the facilities, however on this occasion we were pleasantly surprised with not only the cleanliness but the easy layout and access for a multitude of families, but most of all the professionalism and friendliness of our hosts.
    Mylee C November 2015
    Just such a comfortable hideaway in a beautiful location. Rooms were basic and comfortable. Kitchen was brilliant. Had everything. And there were two super chilled and comfortable common rooms. Would stay again and again!
    Claire C November 2015
    Excellent stay - will continue to come back. Has great atmosphere and is clean and comfortable. Highly recommended
    Harry L November 2015
    We first stayed here shortly after it opened, so the place is a bit more tired looking now. However, we found the hostel to be excellent value for money and our room was clean and comfortable. Kitchen area was pretty good too.
    Daniel C November 2015
    All good except that in the half kitchen that was open one complete electric hotplate bank of four was out of action and the second bank of four had at least one plate out of order.
    Mike A November 2015
    Great hostel! I was traveling by myself and arrived with public transport. The stuff is great, they gave me lift to all great hikes, so I could see everlything! For lots of hikes it is also possible to start right from the hostel.
    Mirjam November 2015
    Perfect location just a couple hundred meters from the national park. Also great location to see heaps of kangaroos at dawn and dusk. Extremely friendly staff and very nice facilities. Highly recommend.
    John V November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1502 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money