Search YHA

Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1614 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very very helpful staff!! This lovely woman tried hard to help us out with our flat tyre!! Good Location, Eco means Eco!
    82%
    Marina M May 2016
    Stu and Rebecca are such a lovely couple. They have plenty of movies to watch, hostel "pets" to keep you company - never thought I would hold a python! I forgot a towel and Rebecca let me borrow one without hesitation. They even offered me their car to use it I wanted! The kitchen was a great size, although a couple appliances were having some issues. They have a good labelling system in the kitchen for food, but unfortunately someone still stole something of mine when I was out for a hike. So just make sure if you've got something desirable, like snacks, just hide them at the back of your cubby! They do have cameras to try and keep people honest, but I didn't think it was a serious enough issue to figure out who was the culprit who stole my bag of chips. Overall, a great getaway. Would highly recommend and would definitely come back in the future.
    90%
    Michelle P April 2016
    Great location. Hostel used to be well maintained, but not any more. Many light bulbs not working, broken fly screen, kitchen taps loose, glass missing from a window in dining area, stained carpet, cardboard boxes of junk in communal areas, junk and old furniture block entrance to disabled toilet. Such a shame for a hostel that used to be so well maintained and looked after. All it needs is someone to give it a deep clean, throw out the junk, and some pro-active maintenance. Please YHA, it's such a shame to see such a wonderful hostel deteriorate because of lack of care and maintenance.
    75%
    Colin April 2016
    Stu & Bec provided great hospitality. They were able to accommodate us at the last minute (our own accommodation wasn't great so we needed to quick plan b). The hostel is clean, looks relatively new and the lounge rooms make you feel you're at home (except that one of the two lounges has several snake enclosures!). Overall, enjoyed our stay here. Good value for money
    92%
    Lisa T April 2016
    It is a reasonably clean , pleasant and well run YHA hostel that is close to most things in Hall's Gap in the Grampians .It offers value for money esp. with the self catering kitchen.
    82%
    Taariq M. H April 2016
    Had a great time at YHA Halls Gap; the building itself is well laid out and has great facilities, two kitchens so it's less crowded, lots of lounge space and our room was nice as well. It's close to the main shops in Halls Gap and also in a great place for driving out to any walks. Plus, they have a snake (and a bunch of lizards) to check out!
    92%
    Ines S April 2016
    This seems a good hostel, I missed out but they have a number of pet snakes and in the evenings sometimes they get one or 2 out to let the guests have a hold. The kangaroos at the oval are a short walk from the hostel, the chalk board is full of great information about where you can go and the registering a walk in the Grampians is a great idea so that someone knows where you've gone. I only stayed 1 night, wish I'd had longer to really appreciate it.
    95%
    Sunil C April 2016
    Best hostel ever. Loved all the reptiles in the lounge room
    98%
    Suzanne P April 2016
    Still the best hostel in the world...
    100%
    Greg R April 2016
    Loved it! Especially the hostels pets and wildlife which comes close to the hostel!
    98%
    Kimberley R April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    1614 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    90%