Search YHA

Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

  • Customer reviews of Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1465 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Awesome hostel and the hosts are great. Definitely coming back for longer next time. Cheers guys
    Cheryl L September 2015
    It was my second stay in this hostel. Perfect location, nice and clean hostel. Easy to make the booking, great value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very recommended to stay in this place. Book early if possible. We will be back.
    Benedicto (Nino) U September 2015
    We had a most amazing stay at the Grampians Eco YHA. Bec and Stu went out of their way to ensure that we had all that we needed...from the beautiful fire on a cold night to collecting groceries on their run into the main town, even offering us rice from their own kitchen when we had none. The place was really clean and we felt totally at home. We will definitely stay again! :)
    Kim W September 2015
    Amazing place, big open spaces and 2 light filled relaxing rooms (one noisy one quiet). Great kitchen and dining area. Owners cooked up pancakes for everyone one day..... It's on our return list
    Karen U September 2015
    We had a fantastic time! The hostel was so lovely - clean, open and modern. The managers Bec and Stu were so friendly and helpful. I travelled with my 3 children aged 11, 12 & 15 and they thoroughly enjoyed their time there. They loved the games room! We will definitely be back!
    Nicole W September 2015
    I would recommend this YHA but a private room, roommate were uncourteous, towing up drunk on the floor in the middle of the room and down the hallway. I did not get any sleep and made the rest of my tour to Adelaide a bad time. The Staff left a key out for me, seeing how I did not get there until 10pm. A very nice spot to come and relax
    James M September 2015
    Location is amazing and the scenery is even more amazing it's spectacular. The people that run it are awesome very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is thinking of staying in Halls Gap.
    Rebecca C September 2015
    Really nice hostel even if the people staying there were a bit boring
    Louis F September 2015
    I would rate this is the 2nd best hostel in Victoria after the newer Apollo Bay hostel, however this hostel has a larger lounge with a fireplace & a more relaxing mountain setting. Though it's not as funky and fun as the Byron Bay hostel next to the Buddha bar. But for conservative Victoria, very good.
    David A September 2015
    Excellent stay for the family. Wood fires are terrific in winter. Good hiking information provided.
    Clare H September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1465 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money