Search YHA

Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Halls Gap - Grampians Eco YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1640 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This is the best YHA Iv stayed in and the first that had more of the independent backpacker's feel. The owners are welcoming, the shared facilities spacious and the location central. The local wildlife and hostel pets are a bonus! Definitely stay here again.
    92%
    Heather S July 2016
    The hostel reception does not open until 5pm to check in, and it had a strong smell of cigarettes inside.
    65%
    Victoria H July 2016
    I had a very good experience!
    95%
    Tiago L July 2016
    It was a great stay, the staff were friendly. I lived that the location was central to many of the walking/hiking trails as well as the local shops and cafes. The people in the hostel were really nice, I'd definitely recommend a stay here!
    95%
    Natalie R July 2016
    5th time I've stayed at the Gramps YHA and certainly not the last. Lovely staff and nice atmosphere.
    98%
    Richard A July 2016
    Place was warm and friendly. Kitchen had everything we needed. Fires in both living rooms each night. Heating in room. Showers hot and clean. Snakes/Lizard enclosures in one living room a real bonus - my 11 yo said it was just like a petting zoo only better. Fabulous place.
    100%
    Bev Y July 2016
    Beds were squeaky and rocky, staff was friendly, amenities were good
    88%
    Poh Hian N July 2016
    We had a fantastic time at Halls Gap YHA! rooms and bathrooms were spotless, and the entire hostel was fresh, light and open. Loved the walk sign-out by the front door, made us feel very safe knowing they'd check up on us if we hadn't returned.
    98%
    Daniella R July 2016
    Excellent hostel and so close to lots of walks and other outdoor activities. Families and older couples staying there so you know straight away it's going to be peaceful and not a party house!! Lots of facilities including firepits and bbqs which I didn't use but I've recommended this place to a friend and we're both planning on coming back soon
    100%
    Cathryn H July 2016
    The location of the hostel is great and my overall experience was great. In the winter months it is just a little bit to cold in the whole house, so everyone need to walk in jackets. I order to this the living areas where a little bit lonely.
    85%
    Teresa S June 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    1640 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    89%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    90%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    90%