Search YHA

Kangaroo Island YHA

76%
Penneshaw , SA

Kangaroo Island YHA hostel overlooks beautiful Hog Bay in the town of Penneshaw. The hostel has a garden with sea views, on-site ...

$27
Check availability
  • Kangaroo Island YHA - Hammock with a view
  • Kangaroo Island YHA Backpackers - Bedroom with a view
  • Kangaroo Island YHA Backpackers - Self Catering Kitchen
  • Kangaroo Island YHA Backpackers - Bright Spacious Rooms
  • Kangaroo Island YHA Backpackers - Great place to chill out
  • Kangaroo Island YHA Backpackers - Internet Available
  • Kangaroo Island YHA - Kitchen View
  • Kangaroo Island YHA Backpackers - Ferry across the road
  • Specials -Kangaroo Island 3 Day Super Special
Right now in Penneshaw ...
11:09 PM
|
13°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Kangaroo Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (361 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel is within walking distance to everything in Penneshaw. The Isola Pizza place is great, but only open in the late afternoon and evenings. Also, note that wifi is hard to come by, the hostel will give 1 hr free for the length of your stay.
    72%
    Jennifer L April 2015
    Perfect position. Really comfy beds and knowledgeable host. Would recommend highly. Kitchen could have been a bit bigger but adequate room outside (weather prevailing).
    95%
    Jessica C March 2015
    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Also a mine of information about the island. I had a wonderful time.
    95%
    John d November 2014
    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hostel is in a good location, close to the ferry and beach. It was very quiet (almost empty), the kitchen is in good condition and clean, but the room was a bit damp and smelt funny. I even had a few bugs crawling on me in the night.
    72%
    Sam W April 2014
    So called double room was an airless, dark cubicle at the back of the building. Extra bunk beds took up all floor space. No one in their right minds would spend one night there let alone the three for which we were booked. We stayed elsewhere. Manager unhelpful.
    20%
    Michael I February 2014
    it seems that hostel is being let run down due to its auction in next few months. Location is awesome
    60%
    john m February 2014
    small kitchen
    75%
    Franzi N January 2014
    Hostel clean and comfortable. We were able to use the facilities all day on the day we were leaving and leave our bags which was brilliant. We visited when it was a bit cooler, if very hot would be uncomfortable as no fans in the room we were in.
    95%
    Samantha P January 2014
    Close to ferry. Good food options. Grocery store next door. Tour buses will pick up at hostel. All good!
    90%
    Frank G January 2014
    Great staff, nice facility, very close to town & ferry.
    100%
    David R December 2013
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    76%
    361 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    72%
    Condition of facilities
    67%
    Efficiency of service
    77%
    Friendliness of staff
    83%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    74%
    Safety & security
    77%
    Value for money
    72%