Search YHA

Kangaroo Island YHA

  • Customer reviews of Kangaroo Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (402 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Comfortable, homey, friendly, well located, great view.
    100%
    Mark S February 2016
    A light breakfast is included in the cost of your room. The hostel is walking distance from the ferry terminal, even with luggage, and day tours can be arranged. Sally and Bill are very friendly and helpful, and attract friendly people - the Happy Hour on Saturday night was testament to that! We had a lovely stay once again and will definitely go back.
    98%
    Liz L February 2016
    Très bonne auberge mais la cuisine était sale !!
    75%
    Pauline D January 2016
    A very quiet and friendly place to stay.
    90%
    Rob G January 2016
    Fantastic location and very friendly staff. Highly recommend!
    98%
    Jen Tuckwell K December 2015
    Generally a good hostel, the atmosphere and location were excellent and the complimentary breakfast was very welcome. Unfortunately, doing laundry was bizarrely expensive and there was slight shortage of toilets and showers unless you had a premium room (which I believe had their own - though not having stayed in one I can't be certain).
    80%
    Daniel December 2015
    I stayed at YHA during my tour on Kangaroo Island it was an amazing experience. Friendly staff, excellent location and free breakfast was exceptional.
    95%
    Ibrahim s November 2015
    The staff is extremely friendly. Our ferry back to Adelaide was at 7pm on the check out date, they were not only let us to keep the luggage at common room, still let us to hang around and using their facilities. When they went out to Kingcoste for replenishing foods and cleaning utilities, they even invited us to go together for a short visit. We do enjoy the most natural scenery and the stay in KI.
    98%
    Natalie C November 2015
    Nice and friendly staff. Beautiful view and weather.
    100%
    Malou N November 2015
    The staff have some good ideas about local attractions and it is a good spot for pickups for tours. It seems the managers are trying to make improvements but it really needs some work. My booking was mucked up andwas first told I would be in 3 different rooms over a 5 night stay, but I ended up in a room that was right alongside the kitchen and dining rooms for the whole time and with a group there, it was exceptionally noisy. There is a rec room on the neighbouring lot - but has no windows you can open making it very stuffy. On the upside - the showers are hot and the beds are comfy
    65%
    Tori B November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    402 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & security
    90%
    Value for money
    88%