Search YHA

Kangaroo Island YHA

  • Customer reviews of Kangaroo Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (396 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I stayed at YHA during my tour on Kangaroo Island it was an amazing experience. Friendly staff, excellent location and free breakfast was exceptional.
    Ibrahim s November 2015
    The staff is extremely friendly. Our ferry back to Adelaide was at 7pm on the check out date, they were not only let us to keep the luggage at common room, still let us to hang around and using their facilities. When they went out to Kingcoste for replenishing foods and cleaning utilities, they even invited us to go together for a short visit. We do enjoy the most natural scenery and the stay in KI.
    Natalie C November 2015
    Nice and friendly staff. Beautiful view and weather.
    Malou N November 2015
    The staff have some good ideas about local attractions and it is a good spot for pickups for tours. It seems the managers are trying to make improvements but it really needs some work. My booking was mucked up andwas first told I would be in 3 different rooms over a 5 night stay, but I ended up in a room that was right alongside the kitchen and dining rooms for the whole time and with a group there, it was exceptionally noisy. There is a rec room on the neighbouring lot - but has no windows you can open making it very stuffy. On the upside - the showers are hot and the beds are comfy
    Tori B November 2015
    My friends and I stayed at the Kangaroo Island Hostel for 1 night. The hostel staff was fantastic,this hostel has the best staff I've ever come across they incredubly polite and friendly.Every details was perfect,great service,great room,beautiful view over looking at the water.very peacefull atmosphere.The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.complementary breakfast was included.we really enjoyed our stay and difinitely come back again.highly recommended.thanks again...see you next time.
    Melody A October 2015
    The hostel is just a few minutes walk from the ferry terminal so it is super convenient. Right around the corner there are some cafes and a supermarket. The couple running the YHA are friendly and facilities provided are definitely adequate. The hostel faces the sea so it is a nice place to relax.
    Mary C October 2015
    Hosts Sally and Bill are very accommodating and the facilities were excellent! The rates are very affordable and you get more than you expect. Very near the ferry terminal. Had a great nights sleep and availed of the complimentary breakfast they provide. Highly recommend the YHA.
    Deepa M October 2015
    One of my best YHA experiences I ever made. Sally and Bill were very friendly - more like friends than like managers. Thanks again for everything ! :-)
    Claudine H October 2015
    Lovely clean hostel - very happy to have a free breakfast as well!!! :) this was a nice touch and it was convenient for my tour of the island.
    Lucy m October 2015
    This hostel provided everything that we needed for our school group plus parents from China.
    Flora M October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    396 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money