Search YHA

Kangaroo Island YHA

  • Customer reviews of Kangaroo Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (375 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It's fantastic here! Walking distance to the ferry as well as to everywhere else...we'll be back.
    100%
    Liz L August 2015
    Excellent free breakfast !
    80%
    Matthias K August 2015
    Friendly welcome and great facilities for groups
    100%
    Flora Botting H August 2015
    YHA Penneshaw is near the ferry and a great value for money facility that is ideal for individuals, families or school groups.
    95%
    Craig B August 2015
    Charming hostel, with a VERY nice staff : they always smile, they're helpful! A big plus! Location is perfect what's more! Kitchen well equipped but perhaps a little bit small if the hostel is full... No worry for us!
    100%
    Samuel D July 2015
    Very friendly staff more than happy to help and answer questions or provide advice about the best things to see. Great location close to the ferry and Penneshaw shops/cafes/hotel. Great prices. Excellent kitchen and breakfast facilities.
    100%
    Maree C July 2015
    Great location with an amazing view. With the free bike hire you can explore the beauty in and around Penneshaw. Wish I was there for longer.
    100%
    Will U July 2015
    Thank you for a great stay. The view over Hogs Bay from the hostel is definitely a million dollar view and very relaxing. Thank you Bill for driving me to the ferry terminal to catch the ferry. I wouldn't have made it otherwise.
    100%
    Anna C July 2015
    Dirty kitchen & bathroom. Common area is also the reception, & outside door is left open so it's cold and uncomfortable. Staff attitude poor and this hostel is trading off the good name of the YHA.
    48%
    Gavino S July 2015
    We had a most enjoyable stay- we were a group of 2 adults and 4 international students and the locality, price and service was excellent.
    100%
    Alan B June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    375 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    76%
    Condition of facilities
    72%
    Efficiency of service
    81%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & security
    80%
    Value for money
    77%