Search YHA

Strahan YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Strahan YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (160 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Pity they don't tell you there is free Wi-Fi at the hostel. They prefer to send you to the visitor centre in town to get the free half hour Tas Gov wifi
    78%
    Carmel D February 2017
    Perfect for the younger guests with large kitchen and lovely places to meet each other
    80%
    Grace V February 2017
    Helpful staff, very restricted wifi, good place to see possums and platypus, window of room didn't shut properly so very cold at night and also pretty dark in the dorm, well equipped kitchen
    80%
    Tina N February 2017
    My first complaint has to be about the gentleman who checked me in. He provided good information but part way through decided to take a phone call from a tour group. He clearly knew the tour leader and remained on the phone chatting whilst I stood in reception. Once he'd finished the call he handed me my keys and I drove to my cabin. The lock mechanism was difficult and I struggled to get in and out as the key wouldn't release from the lock. The bathrooms are old and tired and desperately in need of a facelift. The cabin itself is fine. I was told to make use of the kitchen sooner than later as the tour group and Chinese family would Take over and I would struggle to access the kitchen. No problem because I can eat out however, I obtained the wifi code from the office but couldn't access the internet. Everyone else seemed to have a personalised code so I asked him about this. He became rude about everyone wanting to access the wifi (it is advertised with free wifi). I explained how I wanted to book a tour and he just stared at me. I should add that he was with the tour guides he'd spoken to earlier and was drinking alcohol. He was no help so I walked away. As I did so he made a rude comment about tourists being stupid. I returned and asked what he'd said to which he walked away to get me a wifi code (it didn't work anyway). The tour guides put their heads down and didn't want to discuss the situation with me. This man is in the tourist business, if He doesn't like tourists then I suggest he leaves the trade. Rude, obnoxious behaviour and comments made in order to show off to the tour guides is simply not Ok. I'm upset and disgusted and as a result will never use YHA again. I've toured all of Tasmania and he is the only rude person I've met. Shame on you.
    35%
    Mandy R February 2017
    Easy access with clean facilities. The manager is friendly and offered great local tips. Rooms adjoining the kitchen are a bit loud. After 9pm, be patient at the observation area near the river to see a platypus.
    90%
    Chanelle H January 2017
    Overall the hostel was clean and cosy, the kitchen was tidy, our room was warm and our beds were very comfortable. Slightly disappointed that the wifi didn't reach into our room on one phone but we had no problems with another phone. Wasn't quite sure why as everywhere else had great wifi signal. The bathrooms and ovens could do with an upgrade but we're perfectly usable. If you need a stop over in strahan then this place provides everything you need!
    85%
    Sarah K December 2016
    Great location and staff have brought me back 14 times. Bathrooms are very tired but that's not why we come to Strahan - the excellent staff more than made up for that.
    90%
    David S December 2016
    A well run hostel. Plenty of clean tea towels in the kitchen - most important. Comfortable beds in the cabins. Good showers. What more could you want.
    95%
    Suzanne W May 2016
    Nice place to stay but highly overpriced when travelling as a couple. Avoid rooms 3-4 unless you want to sleep in the kitchen ;-)
    72%
    F C April 2016
    When traveling by motorcycle the security of the bike and luggage is often a problem and if the weather is inclement or the mornings are dewy this is an additional concern. I was able to park my motorcycle under cover outside my room - great stuff. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms were a bit tired but perfectly OK The kitchen was large and had everything I needed. Overall a good place to stay
    92%
    Jeff C March 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    160 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    85%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    85%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & Security
    81%
    Value for Money
    83%