Search YHA

Strahan YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Strahan YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (144 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    A well run hostel. Plenty of clean tea towels in the kitchen - most important. Comfortable beds in the cabins. Good showers. What more could you want.
    95%
    Suzanne W May 2016
    Nice place to stay but highly overpriced when travelling as a couple. Avoid rooms 3-4 unless you want to sleep in the kitchen ;-)
    72%
    F C April 2016
    When traveling by motorcycle the security of the bike and luggage is often a problem and if the weather is inclement or the mornings are dewy this is an additional concern. I was able to park my motorcycle under cover outside my room - great stuff. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms were a bit tired but perfectly OK The kitchen was large and had everything I needed. Overall a good place to stay
    92%
    Jeff C March 2016
    Friendly welcome right through to helpful departure plus they have wild platypus in the stream at edge of property!
    100%
    Stuart M March 2016
    It's close enough to everything yet far enough to feel like it's in the bush. I checked in early, so very appreciative of that.
    88%
    Helen W February 2016
    Bordering on the bush, attractive grounds and facilities; comfortable warm bed; hot shower and attentive manager
    95%
    Janet S January 2016
    Leaving the key out for me was a life savior!
    100%
    Casey M January 2016
    Excellent stay. Warm, friendly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Very obliging and helpful staff. Upgraded to a different room. Would certainly recommend to friends and visitors and would come here again if I'm in the area.
    100%
    Heather C December 2015
    very good value for money. The beds and bedding were excelent. Best nights sleep I have had since I left home,3 months ago. Very good position Lots of room in the kitchen. It was run on a family feel basis.
    95%
    Knell R December 2015
    Wifi was down.
    75%
    WaiYin L December 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    144 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    80%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & security
    85%
    Value for money
    87%