Strahan YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Strahan YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (168 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This is not a typical hostel, it's merely an 8 bed male dorm (I'm guessing there must be a female one as well) in a cabin in a caravan park. The dorm was basic but clean, very quiet thanks to there being only one other guest the night I stayed and the bed was very comfortable thanks to a beautifully soft mattress. The location is pretty good if you're driving, being only a 3 minute drive to the port and main shopping street and is a few minutes walk to a supermarket. The whole place was nice and quiet but had a friendly atmosphere thanks to 2 big kitchens where travellers congregate to cook, eat and talk, although the oven is terrible because there's no temperature markings on the dial so it's impossible to know what temperature you're cooking at. Although it was quiet the night I stayed, groups often stay there so there are bound to be times when a rowdy, noisy bunch stays. But undoubtedly the worst thing was the manager, a nasty old man who seems really irritated if you ask him a question and can't seem to answer a simple question with a simple answer. He answers in riddles in a really smarmy tone of voice. Also he has the hide to charge $2 for wi-fi and then says he can't guarantee it'll work. Knowing how bad it was in most parts of Tasmania I didn't bother.
    62%
    Craig P May 2017
    nice place to spot platypus :)
    84%
    Irina P March 2017
    Worst hostel we have stayed. The cabin was extremely small with bunked bed. Bathroom in very poor conditions and dirty.
    56%
    Marius B March 2017
    all good!
    91%
    Heike W February 2017
    Pity they don't tell you there is free Wi-Fi at the hostel. They prefer to send you to the visitor centre in town to get the free half hour Tas Gov wifi
    80%
    Carmel D February 2017
    Perfect for the younger guests with large kitchen and lovely places to meet each other
    82%
    Grace V February 2017
    Helpful staff, very restricted wifi, good place to see possums and platypus, window of room didn't shut properly so very cold at night and also pretty dark in the dorm, well equipped kitchen
    82%
    Tina N February 2017
    My first complaint has to be about the gentleman who checked me in. He provided good information but part way through decided to take a phone call from a tour group. He clearly knew the tour leader and remained on the phone chatting whilst I stood in reception. Once he'd finished the call he handed me my keys and I drove to my cabin. The lock mechanism was difficult and I struggled to get in and out as the key wouldn't release from the lock. The bathrooms are old and tired and desperately in need of a facelift. The cabin itself is fine. I was told to make use of the kitchen sooner than later as the tour group and Chinese family would Take over and I would struggle to access the kitchen. No problem because I can eat out however, I obtained the wifi code from the office but couldn't access the internet. Everyone else seemed to have a personalised code so I asked him about this. He became rude about everyone wanting to access the wifi (it is advertised with free wifi). I explained how I wanted to book a tour and he just stared at me. I should add that he was with the tour guides he'd spoken to earlier and was drinking alcohol. He was no help so I walked away. As I did so he made a rude comment about tourists being stupid. I returned and asked what he'd said to which he walked away to get me a wifi code (it didn't work anyway). The tour guides put their heads down and didn't want to discuss the situation with me. This man is in the tourist business, if He doesn't like tourists then I suggest he leaves the trade. Rude, obnoxious behaviour and comments made in order to show off to the tour guides is simply not Ok. I'm upset and disgusted and as a result will never use YHA again. I've toured all of Tasmania and he is the only rude person I've met. Shame on you.
    42%
    Mandy R February 2017
    Easy access with clean facilities. The manager is friendly and offered great local tips. Rooms adjoining the kitchen are a bit loud. After 9pm, be patient at the observation area near the river to see a platypus.
    91%
    Chanelle H January 2017
    Overall the hostel was clean and cosy, the kitchen was tidy, our room was warm and our beds were very comfortable. Slightly disappointed that the wifi didn't reach into our room on one phone but we had no problems with another phone. Wasn't quite sure why as everywhere else had great wifi signal. The bathrooms and ovens could do with an upgrade but we're perfectly usable. If you need a stop over in strahan then this place provides everything you need!
    87%
    Sarah K December 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    83%
    customer rating, based on 168 reviews
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    70%
    Efficiency of service
    83%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    85%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & Security
    80%
    Value for Money
    78%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!