Wollongong YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Wollongong YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (370 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    A convenient place to stay.
    80%
    Peter S May 2017
    Emily was extremely helpful with local knowledge and advice. I was on crutches and the pro-active staff offered a family room alternative which had a disabled bathroom at now additional charge which was very good in my condition. The secure parking underground and lift access was an added convenience.
    88%
    Neil S May 2017
    Staff were very nice and helpful, private room was clean though bathroom had some bad smell, the shower had about 1 minute of hot water while screeching very loudly as did my neighbors showers... Car park space very, very tight, though secure, overall Its fine for a 1 or 2 night stay I was grateful overall but I don't think I would stay a week and whatever you do don't forget ear plugs, if I didn't have them I would have never had any sleep. Bed's also don't face north (for those walking awakened "spiritual" paths)
    72%
    David J May 2017
    Staff were very friendly, and was I surprised by the quality of the bathrooms. Towels are provided, so no need to bring your own if you wish to pack light. A lot of students from the university rent out the rooms and the apartments nearby, so this YHA definitely attracts a younger crowd.
    80%
    Mitchell K April 2017
    The good: location, easy to walk to the Mall; clean; towel is supplied. The bad: 1 fork in the kitchen and 1 light working in the kitchen; 2 bathrooms (with toilets in them) for the 1st floor so it could be a looooong wait to use the toilet when someone is having a leisurely shower or bath.
    68%
    Janelle April 2017
    Just watch out if there are large groups staying, as they tend to take over all the public spaces, like the common room and kitchens and open BBQ space. That's not the fault of the hostel, but it was difficult just to make a cup of tea. Also they were very noisy in the morning and the people next to us, used to slam their door till about 4am while talking loudly and smoking in their room.
    85%
    Jay A April 2017
    OK price-wise & quite centrally located. I liked the spacious lounge & appreciated the nice ironed sheets & towels (an unexpected bonus).
    75%
    Hazel A April 2017
    Unfortunately there is no social life therr, because lot's of students, less travelers. Kitchen/bathroom not clean,uncomfotable
    62%
    Martina S April 2017
    For a basic accommodation for a single night rest, it served us well. My only dislike is the private bathroom in our room which had slimy/mouldy shower walls and had no ventilation eg a small screened window or exhaust fan.
    78%
    Theresia S April 2017
    Great experience, staff was very friendly and approachable. Absolutly no problems with the hotel
    90%
    joshua l April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    80%
    80%
    customer rating, based on 370 reviews
    Cleanliness
    72%
    Condition of facilities
    69%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    84%
    Overall atmosphere
    71%
    Safety & Security
    85%
    Value for Money
    77%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!