Search YHA

Wollongong YHA

75%
Wollongong, NSW

A friendly YHA hostel located right in the centre of Wollongong and great for backpackers. Close to the shops, cafes, restaurants, entertainment and beaches.

$31
Check availability
  • Wollongong YHA Hostel - Keiraview Accommodation
  • Wollongong YHA Hostel - Multi-Share Dorm Room
  • Wollongong YHA Hostel - TV Lounge
  • Wollongong Surfer
  • Wollongong Beach
  • Wollongong Coast
Right now in Wollongong...
04:28 PM
|
15°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Wollongong YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (254 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Convenient place to stay for starting/finishing the Grand Pacific Drive. Rooms okay, pretty much just average student residence halls.
    70%
    Calum M June 2015
    There is only two toilet/shower (combined) for 10 + private (double and family) rooms - wouldn't really be a drama if they were separate toilets but it means in the morning it is night impossible to use the toilet. Also the doors bang so loudly shut so it is non-stop smash/bang/crash - BYO ear plugs as always with hostels but it was so loud it woke you up even with the ear plugs. Was acceptable, but have stayed in far more comfortable/well maintained YHA in Australia/World.
    80%
    A A May 2015
    The room was clean and basic but quite small. We had problems sleeping as the fire doors made a lot of noise when they closed plus other guests were up quite late talking and laughing- to be expected on a Saturday night I suppose
    98%
    Susan C May 2015
    Good location...Comfortable beds... I spent 3 nights there with out any problems, I will stay again
    85%
    Bradly H May 2015
    When booking I was actually meaning to book the hotel side of this venue however I was happy enough with the room except the TV is placed terribly you cannot easily watch it and the bathroom is so small.
    80%
    Sharon D May 2015
    The bunk house accomodation is a challenge for those of us in our senior years. But overall ok.
    78%
    Daniel H April 2015
    Good location, friendly staff.
    80%
    Areli O April 2015
    We got out on a floor with all rugby boys. So needless to say they trashed the bathroom and made a mess of the floor with toilet paper. There was no free wifi which before we booked it was advertised as free somewhere. Not many choices in wollongong for hostels, so this one wasn't awful, but it could have been cleaner in general. There was no air con in the room and the fan was really dusty
    58%
    Michelle D April 2015
    This is an excellent hostel with superb facilities. I stayed in a private two bed room; it was probably my best ever stay in a youth hostel, based on 45 years of experience in UK, Europe and Australia.
    95%
    Philip H April 2015
    Paying for a twin share room should be different from paying for a 3m by 5m box that has a double bunk, large cupboard, desk with a book shelf and single chair, as well as a bathroom included in the same tiny space. I've stayed at YHA hostels around the world,they all were better.The money made from cramming two people into a single student room is not worth the bad publicity.
    65%
    Karen B March 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    75%
    254 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    69%
    Condition of facilities
    68%
    Efficiency of service
    77%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    84%
    Overall atmosphere
    66%
    Safety & security
    80%
    Value for money
    70%