Search YHA

Wollongong YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Wollongong YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (350 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Had a good time, staff are friendly, and felt welcoming. Public facilities are clean but it would be good if they have a pool table to help pass time. I also noticed there's a couple who were complaining about the noise and did not have a good sleep. Don't they get its a hostel and there will be a lot of noise expected?
    85%
    Patrick P February 2017
    The room had a bad smell in them Much like wet dog, both groups had to buy Glen 20 to mask the smell. The small fans were not adequate in Australian heat. You need to look at upgrading the fans, I know its a hostel and can't expect aircon for such a cool cost but maybe hire additional fans out over summer
    68%
    michael b February 2017
    Excellent - thank you!
    100%
    Robert J January 2017
    Really appreciated the free upgrade when the hostel could not accommodate our request in their normal configuration.
    85%
    Talia D January 2017
    Stayed here for a night NYE with 2 mates. Bathroom and room a bit dirty. Staff very efficient replying to emails and very friendly in reception. Also very helpful on recommendations on where to go out on NYE. Good quiet location and short walk to North Gong Hotel. Cheap accommodation for a night.
    78%
    Sean D January 2017
    A very basic hostel. Rooms were quite small and there were only two bathrooms for several dorms to share. Kitchen was okay. Our dorm had its own terrace which was nice.
    62%
    Jessika S December 2016
    This hostel is different from other hostels. They do not book tours from this hostel. It's part of Wollongong University so there are students living there long term. The location is good.
    78%
    Ingrid G December 2016
    The whole hostel area is 'tired' - needs a makeover, particularly the kitchen!
    65%
    Keren R November 2016
    Friendly reception staff but absolutely filthy bathrooms with little bugs flying around. Wouldn't recommend staying here.
    68%
    Sarah October 2016
    The hostel was clean and the facilities were good, although the rooms are tiny.
    72%
    Marie G September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    80%
    350 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    71%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    91%
    Location
    83%
    Overall atmosphere
    70%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    78%